DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on May 06, 2024 and October 09, 2025 have been submitted for consideration by the Office. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Applicants must continue to share prior art references throughout the patent application process. A supplemental IDS must be submitted if prior art is discovered through a foreign patent application or an International Patent Search, or a related application before a prosecution closes.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of Group I encompassing claims 1-19 without traverse of in the reply filed on October 23, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 20 is withdrawn as being drawn to non-elected subject matters.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Rejection of claim 1, the limitation “a plurality of stiffeners that define one or more folding points of the wiring harness” is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter.
Note that according to specification, stiffeners are rigid or stiff portion which is not able to bend itself, so how come a plurality of stiffeners that define one or more folding points of the wiring harness. However, folding point are folding portions 106, 108 which are flexible itself and able bend whenever needed; therefore, claim 1 mentioning that a plurality of stiffeners that define one or more folding points of the wiring harness are incorrect or misleading.
Additionally, see figures 1 or 2 wherein 102 and 103 defined as two different cables, however, it appears that it is single wire harness integration which having two different end portions 102 and 103. This is not considered as two cables instead it is more appropriate to defined as wire harness with branches. Please clarify.
Appropriate correction is required.
Rejection of claim 3, the limitation “a plurality of stiffeners that define one or more folding points of the wiring harness” is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter.
Specification mentions that stiffeners 120, 122 may include one or more hinge mechanisms (not shown) that facilitate harness folding at folding points 106, 108 and/or define a range of motion of segments 162, 164 at folding points 106, 108, from specification it is not clear how hinge in either 120 or 122 facilitate harness folding at folding points 106, 108 which are folding portion next to 120 or 122 and different from stiffeners 120 and 122, no clear indication how hinge will work and structured in stiffener is not described . And none of figures shows how hinge in each of stiffeners 120 and 122, and after implementation of hinge, are portions 120 and 122 rigid portions or folding portions?; and what is use of folding portions 106 and 108 which is next to portions 120 and 122 . Specification fails to disclose how exactly hinge would work when it will implemented in the stiffeners, and stiffener portion would be stable or rigid anymore, what is function of folding portions 106, and 108 when you have already hinge which works as folding, none of clarification is given properly. Specification is incomprehensive when considered by the ordinary skill in the art Therefore, , claim 3 is unclear or indefinite.
Rejection of claim 4, the limitation “wherein the plurality of stiffeners comprise a first pair of stiffeners symmetrically arranged at a first position along a length of the first and second cables to define a first folding point, and a second pair of stiffeners symmetrically arranged at a second position along a length of the first and second cables to define a second folding point different than the first folding point.” is unclear or indefinite.
See explanation in rejection claim 1, also, stiffeners are rigid or stiff portions while portions 106 are flexible portions which defined as first folding portions and next to stiffeners 106. Therefore, claim 4 has the plurality of stiffeners define a first folding point is ambiguous or incorrect, plurality of stiffeners 120 are next to respective first folding points 106. And similarly, , plurality of stiffeners 122 are next to respective second folding points 108.
Also, claim lacks antecedent basis wherein a term “a length of the first and second cables” in the above limitation mentioned second time is considered to lack antecedent basis.
Therefore, proper clarification is required.
Rejection of claims 5-10, the limitation of claims 5-10 is unclear or indefinite. because it fails to mention that how wire harness comprises instruction such as it is printed or able to access through QR code or wire harness has digital storage, chip integrated which has instruction stored ..so on. Without underlying structure as mentions in specification it is impossible to have instruction access through wire harness and this necessary underlying structure missing in the claim. Also, note that instruction appears to be printed subject matter.
Therefore, proper clarification is required.
Rejection of claims 13-19, A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 13-19 recite the broad recitation a carrier plate coupled to the wiring harness, wherein the carrier plate carries a plurality of first connector portions configured to be mated with a corresponding plurality of second connector portions of a main body to form a plurality of electrical connectors of an electronic control unit connection system. so on until claim 19, and the claims also recite the wiring harness of claim 1 which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation, additionally, claim 1 which predecessor of claims 13-19 are limited to the wire harness while claims 13-19 mentions positively claiming details subject matter beyond the wire harness such as a carrier plate, connectors, electronic control unit connection system. so on . The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Note that dependent claims should be within scope of independent claim. See terminology such as when claiming an airplane as primary invention and independent claim, claiming positively structure of run way and terminal are irrational as well as misleading based on independent claim which only defines airplane. Therefore, these claims should be cancelled or correctly amended and introduced under proper amendment.
Proper clarification is required.
Rejection of claims 2-19, claims 2-19 are further rejected by one or more reasons are mentioned above by the rejection of one or more preceding claims.
Note: The rejection under USC 102 and USC 103 below with modified language are given to advance prosecution; however, proper clarification is required under rejection of USC 112 above to consider the rejection under USC 102 and USC 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) (whichever apply) as being anticipated by Inoa et al. (US20150136484, herin referred to as Inoa).
Rejection of claim 1, Inoa discloses a wiring harness (see figures 6-7) for robotic installation in a vehicle (note that “for” defines intended use or having capacity), comprising:
a first cable and a second cable that each carry electrical conductors in the form of wiring (see parallel wires or cables 2) ;
a plurality of stiffeners (non-bendable tube portions 13) and one or more folding points of the wiring harness ( bendable tube portions 12) ; and
a rigid gripping member (a clamp 6) mechanically coupled between the first and second cables to define a distance (see figures), wherein the rigid gripping member is configured to be grabbable by a robotic arm and manipulated to fold and unfold the wiring harness at the folding points defined by the plurality of stiffeners (wherein by having claimed structure herein the rigid gripping member 6, it intended to use or having capacity to be grabbable by a robotic arm and manipulated to fold and unfold the wiring harness at the folding points defined by the plurality of stiffeners, note that note that “for” defines intended use or having capacity) .
Note : Reference Ruediger EP0543469 is more suitable reference based on figures; however, claim language claims different or broader, therefore rejection is given based on claim language.
Rejection of claim 2, Inoa discloses the wiring harness of claim 1, wherein the distance corresponds to a width between the first and second cables in an installation position within a body of the vehicle (see distance between two cables as mentioned in the rejection of claim 1 above).
Rejection of claim 4, Inoa discloses the wiring harness of claim 1, wherein the plurality of stiffeners comprise a first pair of stiffeners symmetrically arranged at a first position along a length of the first and second cables next to first folding points, and a second pair of stiffeners symmetrically arranged at a second position along the length of the first and second cables next to second folding points different than the first folding points (see non-bending portions 13 at one ends are next to bending portions 12 and non-bending portions 13 at other ends are next to other bending portions 12 in figures 6-7 of Inoa).
Rejection of claim 11, Inoa discloses the wiring harness of claim 1, wherein the rigid gripping member is a first cross-stiffening member mechanically coupled between the first and second cables at a first position along a length of the first and second cables and defines the distance as a first distance, and further comprising: at least a second cross-stiffening member mechanically coupled between the first and second cables and configured to define a second distance (see more than one clamps between two cables in figures 6-7 of Inoa).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoa.
Rejection of claim 12, Inoa discloses the wiring harness of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the second distance is different than the first distance.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to the second distance is different than the first distance since it would be possible based on user need slight change in one cross stiffing member size than other in order to fit in place or position which required adjustment in size cross stiffing member also it is considered be old, and known; or it could be manufacturing defect wherein one cross stiffing member size than other, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoa in view of Tsunoda et al. (US20060056165, herein referred to as Tsunoda).
Rejection of claim 3, Inao discloses the wiring harness of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the plurality of stiffeners further comprise at least one hinge.
Tsunoda discloses the plurality of stiffeners further comprise at least one hinge (see hinge 31 in rigid member 29 in figure 8A-8B of Tsunoda ).
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention of the wiring harness of Inao to have hinge in rigid member as taught by Tsunoda so that the wire harness easily contracted and extended using a hinge based on users need or utilized by length requirement to connect components at both ends.
Claims 5-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoa in view of Kato et al. (DE112016001554, herein referred to as Kato).
Rejection of claim 5, Inao discloses the wiring harness of claim 4, but fails to disclose further comprising instructions that enable a robotic actuator to fold or unfold the wiring harness.
Kato discloses instructions that enable a robotic actuator to fold or unfold the wiring harness (see 5 or 5a in figure, and further see specification wherein it contains instructions).
It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have wire harness with recording mediums or tags with information or bar codes because the recording medium 5a contains the mounting position information 611 and sequence information 613 relating to the cable harness 2 in its folded form, recorded in an electromagnetically or optically readable format. Therefore, when the wiring harness 2 is installed in the vehicle 10, the mounting position information 611 and sequence information 613 are read by a reading device from the recording medium 5a, which was provided together with the wiring harness 2 in the folded form. The automation robot 9 installs the wiring harness 2 into the vehicle 10 using the information read out above.. Also, note that accessing information through different QR codes provided on different parts of body of the product for installation, user manual, intended use, identification, or alerts are well known and old.
Additionally, it is considered printed matter..2111.05. no relationship between the substrate and the info so it is not given patentable Weight…. Further See 10/236,088 PTAB decision…see pg. 25-26 wherein the board stated that “the difference between the claimed subject matter and the applied prior art resides in the particular indicia printed on the elongated member and, specifically, in the attachment of a set of instructions to the product. "Where the printed matter is not functionally related to the substrate, the printed matter will not distinguish the invention from the prior art in terms of patentability.” In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 1339, 70 USPQ2d 1862, 1864 (Fed. Cir. 2004). In this case, instructions about how to use a product, such as the combined writing instrument and calendar of Fisher, are not functionally related to the calendar strip on which they are printed. They merely convey information to the user in the same manner they would if they were printed elsewhere. Appellant is not entitled to a patent to an otherwise unpatentable method of making a known product by simply attaching a set of instructions to that product”.
Rejection of claim 6-10, claims 6-10 are rejected by or not given patentable weight as same reason applied to rejection of claim 5 above.
Pertinent Prior Arts
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent arts in the present case, all of which disclose various wire harnesses.
Communication
/PARESH PAGHADAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847