DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 10/9/2023. Claims 8-21 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/18/2024 and 3/29/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 8-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of US Patent #11870192 Although the claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
App# 18/378057 US Patent #11870192
8. (New) A charging adapter for charging a DC battery of a blind connected with the battery, the battery being charged by an output of an external power supply, the charging adapter comprising a first plug converter and a second plug converter, the first plug converter having a first plug and a second plug, the first plug converter configured to be connected to the second plug converter, the second plug converter comprising a third plug and a fourth plug, the fourth plug of the second plug converter configured to be magnetically connected to the first plug converter's second plug, the third plug of the second plug converter configured to be connected to an input of the DC battery, and the first plug converter's first plug configured to be connected to an output of the DC battery and/or to the output of the external power supply, wherein the first plug, the second plug, the third plug, and the fourth plug each comprise at least two wires for transferring two currents from and to a plus and minus terminal of the DC battery or the output of the external power supply and wherein the first plug, the second plug, the third plug, and the fourth plug each comprise a further wire for serial data transmission.
9. (New) A charging adapter for charging a DC battery of a blind connected with the battery, the battery being charged by an output of an external power supply, the charging adapter comprising a first plug converter and a second plug converter, the first plug converter having a first plug and a second plug, the first plug converter configured to be connected to the second plug converter, the second plug converter comprising a third plug and a fourth plug, the fourth plug of the second plug converter configured to be magnetically connected to the first plug converter's second plug, the third plug of the second plug converter configured to be connected to an input of the DC battery, and the first plug converter's first plug configured to be connected to an output of the DC battery and/or to the output of the external power supply, wherein the first plug, the second plug, the third plug, and the fourth plug each comprise at least two wires for transferring two currents from and to a plus and minus terminal of the DC battery or the output of the external power supply and wherein the first plug, the second plug, the third plug, and the fourth plug each comprise a further wire for controlling a direction of a motor.
10, (New) The charging adapter according to claim 8, wherein the first plug and the second plug of the first plug converter are both located within a housing of the first plug converter and wherein the charging adapter further comprises one or more of wires connecting the first plug with the second plug.
11. (New) The charging adapter according to claim 8, wherein the fourth plug comprises a magnetic male plug configured to be connected to the second plug, and the second plug comprises a magnetic female plug.
12. (New) The charging adapter according to claim 8, wherein the fourth plug comprises a magnetic female plug configured to be connected to the second plug, and the second plug comprises a magnetic male plug.
13. (New) The charging adapter of claim 8, wherein the blind is one of a solar blind, a roller blind, a roman blind, a Venetian blind, a pleated blind, or an electric curtain.
14. (New) The charging adapter of claim 8, wherein the fourth plug is configured to be fixed to a fixing point.
15. (New) The charging adapter of claim 14, wherein the fixing point comprises a hole in a surface and wherein the surface is a part of the window frame, the wall or the profile part of the blind.
16. (New) The charging adapter according to claim 9, wherein the first plug and the second plug of the first plug converter are both located within a housing of the first plug converter and the charging adapter further comprising one or more wires connecting the first plug with the second plug.
17. (New) The charging adapter according to claim 9, wherein the fourth plug comprises a magnetic male plug configured to be connected to the second plug, and the second plug comprises a magnetic female plug.
18. (New) The charging adapter according to claim 9, wherein the fourth plug comprises a magnetic female plug configured to be connected to the second plug, and the second plug comprises a magnetic male plug.
19. (New) The charging adapter of claim 9, wherein the blind is one of a solar blind, a roller blind, a roman blind, a Venetian blind, a pleated blind, or an electric curtain.
20. (New) The charging adapter of claim 9, wherein the fourth plug is configured to be fixed to a fixing point.
21. (New) The charging adapter of claim 20, wherein the fixing point comprises a hole in a surface and wherein the surface is a part of the window frame, the wall or the profile part of the blind.
1. A charging adapter for charging a DC battery of a blind connected with the battery, the battery being charged by an output of an external power supply, the charging adapter comprising a first plug converter and a second plug converter, the first plug converter having a first plug and a second plug, the first plug converter configured to be connected to the second plug converter, the second plug converter comprising a flexible cord having a third plug at one end of the flexible cord, and a fourth plug at another end of the flexible cord, the fourth plug of the flexible cord of the second plug converter configured to be magnetically connected to the first plug converter's second plug, the fourth plug of the flexible cord of the second plug converter configured to be fixed to a window frame, a wall or a profile part of the blind the third plug of the flexible cord of the second plug converter configured to be connected to an input of the DC battery, and the first plug converter's first plug configured to be connected to the output of the external power supply.
2. The charging adapter according to claim 1, wherein the first plug and the second plug of the plug converter are both located withing a housing of the first plug converter and the charging adapter further comprising a number of wires connecting the first plug with the second plug.
3. The charging adapter according to claim 1, wherein the first plug, the second plug, the third plug, the fourth plug and the flexible cord each comprise at least two wires for transferring two currents from and to a plus and minus terminal of the DC battery or the output of the external power supply.
4. The charging adapter according to claim 3, wherein the first plug, the second plug, the third plug, the fourth plug and the flexible cord each comprise a further wire for serial data transmission.
5. The charging adapter according to claim 3, wherein the first plug, the second plug, the third plug, the fourth plug and the flexible cord each comprise a further wire for controlling a direction of a motor.
6. The charging adapter according to claim 1, wherein the fourth plug comprises a magnetic male plug configured to be connected to the second plug, and the second plug comprises a magnetic female plug.
7. The charging adapter according to claim 1, wherein the fourth plug comprises a magnetic female plug configured to be connected to the second plug, and the second plug comprises a magnetic male plug.
8. The charging adapter of claim 1, wherein the blind is one of a solar blind, a roller blind, a roman blind, a Venetian blind, a pleated blind, or an electric curtain.
9. The charging adapter of claim 1, wherein the fourth plug is configured to be fixed to a fixing point.
10. The charging adapter of claim 9, wherein the fixing point comprises a hole in a surface and wherein the surface is a part of the window frame, the wall or the profile part of the blind
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wand (CN 210040808). Note Examiner uses Wand (CN 210040808). to make the rejection but relies on the machine translation to clarify position.
As to claim 9 Wand also discloses a charging adapter for charging a DC battery of a blind connected with the battery (see para. [0031]), the battery being charged by an output of an external power supply, the charging adapter comprising a first plug converter (100) and a second plug converter (200),the first plug converter (100) having a first plug (131) and a second plug (110), the first plug converter (100) configured to be connected to the second plug converter (200), the second plug converter (200) comprising a third plug (220) and a fourth plug (210), the fourth plug (210) of the second plug converter (200) configured to be magnetically connected to the first plug converter's second plug (110),
the third plug (220) of the second plug converter (200) configured to be connected to an input of the DC battery (see para. [0031]), and
the first plug converter's first plug (131) configured to be connected to an output of the DC battery and/or to the output (132) of the external power supply,
wherein the first plug (131), the second plug (110), the third plug (220), and the fourth plug (210) each comprise at least two wires (120, see Fig. 2) for transferring two currents from and to a plus and minus terminal of the DC battery or the output (132) of the external power supply and wherein the first plug (131), the second plug (110), the third plug (220), and the fourth plug (210) each comprise a further wire for controlling a direction of a motor ([0036][0046]-[0047] The charging device includes a charging unit 100 that provides electrical energy to the electric curtain, and an adapter 200 that electrically connects the charging unit 100 and the motor of the electric curtain.. The adapter 200 is electrically connected to the motor of the electric curtain through the pluggable motor connector 220 and conducts current with the electric curtain. The electric curtain and the adapter 200 are electrically connected through the pluggable motor connector 220.. The wire passes through the third cylinder 221 and the fourth cylinder 222 and is electrically connected to the motor of the electric curtain).
As to claim 20 Wand discloses the charging adapter of claim 9, wherein the fourth plug is configured to be fixed to a fixing point ([0038] of Wand The adapter 200 can be designed to be separate from the motor of the electric curtain and fixed to the wall surface).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Wand (CN 210040808).
As to claim 21 Wand discloses the charging adapter of claim 20, wherein the surface is a part of the wall ([0038] of Wand The adapter 200 can be designed to be separate from the motor of the electric curtain and fixed to the wall surface).
Wand does not disclose/teach wherein the fixing point comprises a hole in the surface.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wall surface of Wand to a hole in order to securely store the adapter when not in use.
Claims 8,14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wand (CN 210040808) in view of Long (US 20070259536).
As to claim 8 Wand also discloses a charging adapter for charging a DC battery of a blind connected with the battery (see para. [0031]), the battery being charged by an output of an external power supply, the charging adapter comprising a first plug converter (100) and a second plug converter (200),the first plug converter (100) having a first plug (131) and a second plug (110), the first plug converter (100) configured to be connected to the second plug converter (200), the second plug converter (200) comprising a third plug (220) and a fourth plug (210), the fourth plug (210) of the second plug converter (200) configured to be magnetically connected to the first plug converter's second plug (110),
the third plug (220) of the second plug converter (200) configured to be connected to an input of the DC battery (see para. [0031]), and
the first plug converter's first plug (131) configured to be connected to an output of the DC battery and/or to the output (132) of the external power supply,
wherein the first plug (131), the second plug (110), the third plug (220), and the fourth plug (210) each comprise at least two wires (120, see Fig. 2) for transferring two currents from and to a plus and minus terminal of the DC battery or the output (132) of the external power supply
Wand does not disclose/teach wherein the first plug, the second plug, the third plug, and the fourth plug each comprise a further wire for serial data transmission.
Long teaches wherein the first plug, the second plug, the third plug, and the fourth plug each comprise a further wire for serial data transmission ([0047] Implementations of the communication connector assembly 1, 2, 40, 50, 60 as a data connector adapter may be used for applications including, but not limited to: universal serial bus, network, fire wire, coaxial, serial, monitor, and other data adapters).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging adapter of Tachikawa to wherein the first plug, the second plug, the third plug, and the fourth plug each comprise a further wire for serial data transmission in order to transfer charging and system data for proper operation.
As to claim 14 Wand in view of Long teaches the charging adapter of claim 8, wherein the fourth plug is configured to be fixed to a fixing point ([0038] of Wand The adapter 200 can be designed to be separate from the motor of the electric curtain and fixed to the wall surface).
As to claim 15 Wand in view of Long teaches the charging adapter of claim 14, wherein the surface is a part of the wall ([0038] of Wand The adapter 200 can be designed to be separate from the motor of the electric curtain and fixed to the wall surface).
Wand in view of Long does not disclose/teach wherein the fixing point comprises a hole in the surface.
However it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wall surface of Wand to a hole in order to securely store the adapter when not in use.
Claims 8, and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tachikawa (JP 2019214871) in view of Long (US 20070259536). Note Examiner uses Tachikawa (JP 2019214871) to make the rejection but relies on the machine translation to clarify position.
As to claim 8. Tachikawa discloses a charging adapter (Fig. 5 charging pole 14, charging cord 20) for charging a DC battery of a blind connected with the battery ([0001] rechargeable storage battery 11), the battery being charged by an output of an external power supply ([0047] This power supply unit 146 can be configured to be electrically connected to the AC adapter 30 via the charging cord 20, and to transmit power from the AC adapter 30 to power the contactless charger 144), the charging adapter comprising:
a first plug converter (Fig. 5 [0048] charging cord 20) and a second plug converter (Fig. 5 charging pole 14), the first plug converter having a first plug (Fig. 5 20b), and a second plug (Fig. 5 20a), the first plug converter configured to be connected to the second plug converter ([0048] Fig. 5 connection housing 146c that can be electrically connected to the connection connector 20a at), the second plug converter comprising a third plug (Fig. 5 144) and a fourth plug (Fig. 5 146c), the third plug of the second plug converter configured to be connected to an input of the DC battery([0058] The contactless charger 144 is a functional unit that enables contactless power supply to the rechargeable battery 11 when it is positioned opposite the power storage portion 11a (see Figure 4) of the rechargeable battery 11 via the power storage surface 12b of the charging mechanism 12) , and the first plug converter's first plug configured to be connected to an output of the DC battery and/or to the output of the external power supply ([0048 The other end of the charging cord 20, the connector 20b, can be connected to the output terminal 30a of the AC adapter 30) wherein the first plug, the second plug, the third plug, and the fourth plug each comprise at least two wires for transferring two currents from and to a plus and minus terminal of the DC battery or the output of the external power supply (cords or wires within the charging cord 20 and charging pole 14).
Tachikawa does not disclose/teach the fourth plug of the second plug converter configured to be magnetically connected to the first plug converter's second plug.
Long teaches a plug configured to be magnetically connected to a second plug (Fig. 1A -2 and abstract At least one magnet is supported by at least one of the first and second connector bodies and is configured to magnetically retain the first and second connector bodies together.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging adapter of Tachikawa to the fourth plug of the second plug converter configured to be magnetically connected to the first plug converter's second plug in order to assist is easy and accurate electrical connections.
Tachikawa does not disclose/teach wherein the first plug, the second plug, the third plug, and the fourth plug each comprise a further wire for serial data transmission.
Long teaches wherein the first plug, the second plug, the third plug, and the fourth plug each comprise a further wire for serial data transmission ([0047] Implementations of the communication connector assembly 1, 2, 40, 50, 60 as a data connector adapter may be used for applications including, but not limited to: universal serial bus, network, fire wire, coaxial, serial, monitor, and other data adapters).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging adapter of Tachikawa to wherein the first plug, the second plug, the third plug, and the fourth plug each comprise a further wire for serial data transmission in order to transfer charging and system data for proper operation.
As to claim 10 Tachikawa in view of Long teaches the charging adapter according to claim 8, wherein the first plug and the second plug of the first plug converter are both located within a housing of the first plug converter and wherein the charging adapter further comprises one or more of wires connecting the first plug with the second plug (Fig. 5 charging cord 20 with plugs 20a and 20b).
As to claim 11, Tachikawa in view of Long teaches the charging adapter according to claim 8.
Tachikawa does not disclose/teach wherein the fourth plug comprises a magnetic male plug configured to be connected to the second plug, and the second plug comprises a magnetic female plug.
Long teaches wherein a first plug comprises a magnetic male plug configured to be connected to a second plug, and the second plug comprises a magnetic female plug ([0010] the first or second connector is electrically joined to a male or female audio connector. In other examples, the first or second connector is electricity joined to a male or female universal serial bus connector).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging adapter of Tachikawa to wherein a first plug comprises a magnetic male plug configured to be connected to a second plug, and the second plug comprises a magnetic female plug in order to assist is easy and accurate electrical connections.
As to claim 12, Tachikawa in view of Long teaches the charging adapter according to claim 8.
As to claim 13, Tachikawa in view of Long teaches the charging adapter of claim 8, wherein the blind is one of a solar blind, a roller blind, a roman blind, a Venetian blind, a pleated blind, or an electric curtain ([0001] of Tachikawa The present invention relates to pleated screens, horizontal blinds, vertical blinds, pleated screens, fold-up curtains, curtain rails, etc., which enable the opening and closing of shading materials such as screens, slats, and curtains to be controlled electrically).
Claims 9 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tachikawa (JP 2019214871) in view of Long (US 20070259536) in view of Wand (CN 210040808).
As to claim 9, Tachikawa discloses a charging adapter (Fig. 5 charging pole 14, charging cord 20) for charging a DC battery of a blind connected with the battery ([0001] rechargeable storage battery 11), the battery being charged by an output of an external power supply ([0047] This power supply unit 146 can be configured to be electrically connected to the AC adapter 30 via the charging cord 20, and to transmit power from the AC adapter 30 to power the contactless charger 144), the charging adapter comprising:
a first plug converter (Fig. 5 [0048] charging cord 20) and a second plug converter (Fig. 5 charging pole 14), the first plug converter having a first plug (Fig. 5 20b), and a second plug (Fig. 5 20a), the first plug converter configured to be connected to the second plug converter ([0048] Fig. 5 connection housing 146c that can be electrically connected to the connection connector 20a at), the second plug converter comprising a third plug (Fig. 5 144) and a fourth plug (Fig. 5 146c), the third plug of the second plug converter configured to be connected to an input of the DC battery([0058] The contactless charger 144 is a functional unit that enables contactless power supply to the rechargeable battery 11 when it is positioned opposite the power storage portion 11a (see Figure 4) of the rechargeable battery 11 via the power storage surface 12b of the charging mechanism 12) , and the first plug converter's first plug configured to be connected to an output of the DC battery and/or to the output of the external power supply ([0048 The other end of the charging cord 20, the connector 20b, can be connected to the output terminal 30a of the AC adapter 30) wherein the first plug, the second plug, the third plug, and the fourth plug each comprise at least two wires for transferring two currents from and to a plus and minus terminal of the DC battery or the output of the external power supply (cords or wires within the charging cord 20 and charging pole 14).
Tachikawa does not disclose/teach the fourth plug of the second plug converter configured to be magnetically connected to the first plug converter's second plug.
Long teaches a plug configured to be magnetically connected to a second plug (Fig. 1A -2 and abstract At least one magnet is supported by at least one of the first and second connector bodies and is configured to magnetically retain the first and second connector bodies together.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging adapter of Tachikawa to wherein the fourth plug of the second plug converter configured to be magnetically connected to the first plug converter's second plug in order to assist is easy and accurate electrical connections.
Tachikawa does not disclose/teach and wherein the first plug, the second plug, the third plug, and the fourth plug each comprise a further wire for controlling a direction of a motor.
Wand teaches and wherein the first plug, the second plug, the third plug, and the fourth plug each comprise a further wire for controlling a direction of a motor ([0036][0046]-[0047] The charging device includes a charging unit 100 that provides electrical energy to the electric curtain, and an adapter 200 that electrically connects the charging unit 100 and the motor of the electric curtain.. The adapter 200 is electrically connected to the motor of the electric curtain through the pluggable motor connector 220, and conducts current with the electric curtain. The electric curtain and the adapter 200 are electrically connected through the pluggable motor connector 220.. The wire passes through the third cylinder 221 and the fourth cylinder 222 and is electrically connected to the motor of the electric curtain).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging adapter of Tachikawa to and wherein the first plug, the second plug, the third plug, and the fourth plug each comprise a further wire for controlling a direction of a motor in order to properly operate and use the blinds.
As to claim 16 Tachikawa in view of Long in view of Wand teaches the charging adapter according to claim 9, wherein the first plug and the second plug of the first plug converter are both located within a housing of the first plug converter and the charging adapter further comprising one or more wires connecting the first plug with the second plug (Fig. 5 charging cord 20 with plugs 20a and 20b).
As to claim 17 Tachikawa in view of Long in view of Wand teaches the charging adapter according to claim 9.
Tachikawa does not disclose/teach wherein the fourth plug comprises a magnetic male plug configured to be connected to the second plug, and the second plug comprises a magnetic female plug.
Long teaches wherein a first plug comprises a magnetic male plug configured to be connected to a second plug, and the second plug comprises a magnetic female plug ([0010] the first or second connector is electrically joined to a male or female audio connector. In other examples, the first or second connector is electricity joined to a male or female universal serial bus connector).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging adapter of Tachikawa to wherein a first plug comprises a magnetic male plug configured to be connected to a second plug, and the second plug comprises a magnetic female plug in order to assist is easy and accurate electrical connections.
As to claim 18 Tachikawa in view of Long in view of Wand teaches the charging adapter according to claim 9.
Tachikawa does not disclose/teach wherein the fourth plug comprises a magnetic female plug configured to be connected to the second plug, and the second plug comprises a magnetic male plug.
Long teaches wherein a first plug comprises a magnetic male plug configured to be connected to a second plug, and the second plug comprises a magnetic female plug ([0010] the first or second connector is electrically joined to a male or female audio connector. In other examples, the first or second connector is electricity joined to a male or female universal serial bus connector).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging adapter of Tachikawa to wherein the fourth plug comprises a magnetic female plug configured to be connected to the second plug, and the second plug comprises a magnetic male plug in order to assist is easy and accurate electrical connections.
As to claim 19 Tachikawa in view of Long in view of Wand teaches the charging adapter of claim 9, wherein the blind is one of a solar blind, a roller blind, a roman blind, a Venetian blind, a pleated blind, or an electric curtain ([0001] of Tachikawa The present invention relates to pleated screens, horizontal blinds, vertical blinds, pleated screens, fold-up curtains, curtain rails, etc., which enable the opening and closing of shading materials such as screens, slats, and curtains to be controlled electrically).
Conclusion and Related Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nien et al (US 20200052515) is cited for having a charging system for an electric window covering, which includes a motorized assembly controlling the movement of the electric window covering, and a power supply device including a rechargeable power unit and a first remaining power detection circuit.
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859