Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: it is suggested to use a word “a” in front of a phrase “one-to-one” at lines 9 and 11, instead of “an”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a blood oxygen detection unit”, “a heart rate detection unit”, and “a gas composition detection unit” in claims 1, 2, and 3.
Paragraph [0007] discloses a multifunctional atomization device includes a housing, an atomization module and an integrated module. The housing is provided with a storage cavity and an atomization cavity which are distributed along a length direction of the housing, the storage cavity is configured to store an atomized liquid, an end of the atomization cavity away from the storage cavity is provided with an air outlet communicating with an exterior of the housing, the housing is further provided with a gas channel, one end of the gas channel communicates with the exterior of the housing, and another end of the gas channel communicates with the atomization cavity. The atomization module is disposed within the atomization cavity and is configured to atomize the atomized liquid. The integrated module is disposed within the atomization cavity, and a blood oxygen detection unit, a heart rate detection unit and a gas composition detection unit are integrated on the integrated module.
Paragraph [0008] discloses in an optional technical scheme of the above-described multifunctional atomization device, the integrated module includes a block body, the block body is disposed within the atomization cavity, an end surface of an end of the block body facing the gas channel is a detection surface, and the blood oxygen detection unit, the heart rate detection unit and the gas composition detection unit are disposed on the detection surface.
Paragraph [0009] discloses in an optional technical scheme of the above-described multifunctional atomization device, a center of the detection surface is provided with a first mounting hole, multiple second mounting holes arranged in a circle whose center is the first mounting hole, and multiple third mounting holes arranged in a circle whose center is the first mounting hole are arranged on the detection surface, the multiple third mounting holes surround the multiple second mounting holes, the heart rate detection unit includes a heart rate detection member, the heart rate detection member is disposed within the first mounting hole, the blood oxygen detection unit includes multiple blood oxygen detection members, the multiple blood oxygen detection members are disposed within the multiple second mounting holes in an one-to-one correspondence, the gas composition detection unit includes multiple gas detection members, and the multiple gas detection members are disposed within the multiple third mounting holes in an one-to-one correspondence.
Paragraph [0017] discloses the present disclosure provides a multifunctional atomization device. During use, the atomization module atomizes the atomized liquid into an atomized vapor, which is diffused within the atomization cavity. After negative pressure is generated through suction at the air outlet, external gas enters the atomization cavity through the gas channel, and the atomized vapor in the atomization cavity are dispersed through the air outlet, achieving the atomization function. Since the atomization cavity is further provided with the integrated module, the blood oxygen detection unit, the heart rate detection unit and the gas composition detection unit are integrated on the integrated module, so that the multifunctional atomization device also has the functions of measuring the blood oxygen, the heart rate and the gas composition. Therefore, the multifunctional atomization device proposed in the present disclosure offers greater versatility and usefulness, leading to an improved use experience.
Paragraph [0031] discloses as shown in FIGS. 1 to 3, this embodiment provides a multifunctional atomization device. The multifunctional atomization device includes a housing 1, an atomization module 2, and an integrated module 3. The housing 1 is provided with a storage cavity 13 and an atomization cavity 14 which are distributed along a length direction of the housing, the storage cavity 13 is configured to store an atomized liquid, and an end of the atomization cavity 14 away from the storage cavity 13 is provided with an air outlet 121 communicating with an exterior of the housing 1. The housing 1 is further provided with a gas channel 15, one end of the gas channel 15 communicates with the exterior of the housing 1, and another end of the gas channel 15 communicates with the atomization cavity 14. The atomization module 2 is disposed within the atomization cavity 14 and is configured to atomize the atomized liquid. The integrated module 3 is disposed within the atomization cavity 14, and a blood oxygen detection unit, a heart rate detection unit and a gas composition detection unit are integrated on the integrated module 3.
Paragraph [0032] discloses according to the multifunctional atomization device provided in this embodiment, during the use, the atomization module 2 atomizes the atomized liquid into an atomized vapor, the atomized vapor is diffused within the atomization cavity 14, after a negative pressure is generated by suction at the air outlet 121, the external gas enters the atomization cavity 14 through the gas channel 15, and the atomized vapor in the atomization cavity 14 are dispersed through the air outlet 121, thereby achieving the atomization function. Since the atomization cavity 14 is further provided with the integrated module 3, the blood oxygen detection unit, the heart rate detection unit and the gas composition detection unit are integrated on the integrated module 3, so that the multifunctional atomization device also has the functions of measuring the blood oxygen, the heart rate and the gas composition. Therefore, the multifunctional atomization device proposed in this embodiment is more versatile in function and more useful in use, thereby improving the use experience of the user. Moreover, whether the harmful gas is contained in the gas is known by detecting the composition of the surrounding gas, so that the user is reminded of keeping away in time, and thus the personal safety is ensured. The physical condition of the user is obtained by detecting the blood oxygen concentration and the heart rate, so that the physical health condition may be known conveniently in time, the patient may see a doctor in due time, and thus the further aggravation of symptoms is avoided.
Paragraph [0033] discloses specifically, as shown in FIGS. 2 and 4, the integrated module 3 includes a block body 31, the block body 31 is disposed within the atomization cavity 14, an end surface of an end of the block body 31 facing the gas channel 15 is a detection surface, and the blood oxygen detection unit, the heart rate detection unit and the gas composition detection unit are disposed on the detection surface. The external gas enters the atomization cavity 14 through the gas channel 15 and flows directly through the detection surface, and the gas composition detection unit detects the gas to obtain a component of the gas. The blood oxygen detection unit and the heart rate detection unit emit the light outwardly through the gas channel 15 to obtain the blood oxygen concentration and the heart rate of the user.
Paragraph 0034] discloses more specifically, a center of the detection surface is provided with a first mounting hole, multiple second mounting holes arranged in a circle whose center is the first mounting hole, and multiple third mounting holes arranged in a circle whose center is the first mounting hole are arranged on the detection surface, the multiple third mounting holes surround the multiple second mounting holes. The heart rate detection unit includes a heart rate detection member 32, the heart rate detection member 32 is disposed within the first mounting hole. The blood oxygen detection unit includes multiple blood oxygen detection members 33, the multiple blood oxygen detection members 33 are disposed within the multiple second mounting holes in an one-to-one correspondence. The gas composition detection unit includes multiple gas detection members 34, and the multiple gas detection members 34 are disposed within the multiple third mounting holes in an one-to-one correspondence. With this arrangement, the gas composition detection unit, the blood oxygen detection unit and the heart rate detection unit are integrated on the integrated module 3, so that multiple functions are simultaneously achieved, the functional diversity of the atomization device is increased, whereby the atomization device has various uses, and the use experience of the user is improved. Moreover, the detection accuracy is improved by means of distribution positions of the heart rate detection member 32, the blood oxygen detection member 33 and the gas detection member 34 on the detection surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, recites the limitation "a first mounting hole" at line 2 in the claim. It is unclear and indefinite to the relationship between “a first mounting hole” and “a heart rate detection member” at line 6 and to whether they are the same or different. Further clarification is required to either further differentiate (a first mounting hole).
Similarly, the limitation "a plurality of second mounting holes" at line 2 in the claim. It is unclear and indefinite to the relationship between “a plurality of second mounting holes” and “a plurality of blood oxygen detection members” at lines 7-8 and to whether they are the same or different. Further clarification is required to either further differentiate (a plurality of second mounting holes).
Furthermore, the limitation "a plurality of third mounting holes" at line 3 in the claim. It is unclear and indefinite to the relationship between “a plurality of third mounting holes” and “a plurality of gas detection members” at line 10 and to whether they are the same or different. Further clarification is required to either further differentiate (a plurality of third mounting holes).
Claim 12 is also rejected because it depends on a rejected claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20240373936) in view of Veltz (US 20170173262) and Schmitt (US 20220095681).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a multifunctional atomization device (abstract), comprising:
a housing 3(fig. 1, i.e. called a shell) provided with a storage cavity (35, i.e. called a liquid storage cavity) and an atomization cavity (43, i.e. called a receiving cavity) which are distributed along a length direction of the housing receiving cavity, wherein the storage cavity (35, i.e. called a liquid storage cavity) is configured to store an atomized liquid (i.e. called a liquid), an end of the atomization cavity (43, i.e. called a receiving cavity) away from the storage cavity (35, i.e. called a liquid storage cavity) is provided with an air outlet (33) communicating with an exterior of the housing, the housing 3(fig. 1, i.e. called a shell) is further provided with a gas channel (see figure 5, i.e. as indicated by the hollow arrow heads), one end of the gas channel communicates with the exterior of the housing 3(fig. 1, i.e. called a shell), and another end of the gas channel (see figure 5, i.e. as indicated by the hollow arrow heads) communicates with the atomization cavity (¶ 0030, 0066);
an atomization module (1, i.e. called liquid transfer unit) being disposed within the atomization cavity (43, i.e. called a receiving cavity) and being configured to atomize the atomized liquid (¶ 0044).
Chen discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above, except for an integrated module disposed within the atomization cavity, wherein a blood oxygen detection unit, a heart rate detection unit and a gas composition detection unit are integrated on the integrated module.
However, Veltz teaches an integrated module (111, i.e. integrating sensors) disposed within the atomization cavity 100 (fig. 1; ¶ 0038, i.e. a medical device or a medical system), wherein a blood oxygen detection unit (i.e. sensor detection oxygen in blood) and a heart rate detection unit (i.e. sensor detection heart rate) are integrated on the integrated module (¶ 0292, 0387).
The combination of references are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of medical devices. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chen and Veltz before him or her, to include such sensors/detectors of Veltz because the advantage of the combination of sensors/detectors to provide a convenience and robust integrated medical system. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it provides the ability to detect changes quickly during operations and to introduce suitable mitigation (¶ 0379).
Furthermore, Schmitt teaches a gas composition detection unit (i.e. a gas sensor unit to detect a gas composition) is integrated on the integrated module 102 (fig. 5. i.e. a vaporizer unit) (¶ 0054, 0083).
The combination of references are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of a vaporizer. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chen in view of Veltz and Schmitt before him or her, to include a gas sensor detection of Schmitt because it provides different concentrations and/or combinations of the respective active ingredients for certain areas of application of the capsule. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it allows the vaporized and atomized active ingredient and/or excipient or the corresponding aerosol to reach the finest ramifications of the lungs or respiratory tract when inhaled (¶ 0051).
With respect to claim 2, Chen in view of Veltz and Schmitt discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Schmitt further discloses wherein the integrated module comprises a block body (103, i.e. called a capsule receptacle), the block body is disposed within the atomization cavity (1, i.e. called a capsule), an end surface of an end of the block body facing the gas channel (121, i.e. called a connecting line) is a detection surface (120, i.e. a reading sensor), and the gas composition detection unit (i.e. a gas sensor unit to detect a gas composition) are disposed on the detection surface (¶ 0083).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chen in view of Veltz and Schmitt before him or her, to include a detection surface of Schmitt because it provides different concentrations and/or combinations of the respective active ingredients for certain areas of application of the capsule. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it allows the vaporized and atomized active ingredient and/or excipient or the corresponding aerosol to reach the finest ramifications of the lungs or respiratory tract when inhaled (¶ 0051).
Furthermore, Veltz teaches wherein the integrated module (111, i.e. integrating sensors) comprises the blood oxygen detection unit (i.e. sensor detection oxygen in blood) and the heart rate detection unit (i.e. sensor detection heart rate) (¶ 0292, 0387).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chen and Veltz before him or her, to include such sensors/detectors of Veltz because the advantage of the combination of sensors/detectors to provide a convenience and robust integrated medical system. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it provides the ability to detect changes quickly during operations and to introduce suitable mitigation (¶ 0379).
With respect to claim 4, Chen in view of Veltz and Schmitt discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Chen further discloses wherein the atomization module (1, i.e. called liquid transfer unit) comprises a liquid infiltration member (O, i.e. called an atomizing core) and a conductive heating line (21, i.e. called a heating part), the liquid infiltration member separates the atomization cavity (43, i.e. called a receiving cavity) and the storage cavity (35, i.e. called a liquid storage cavity), the liquid infiltration member (O, i.e. called an atomizing core) is configured to be infiltrated by the atomized liquid (i.e. called a liquid), and the conductive heating line (21, i.e. called a heating part) is configured to heat the atomized liquid (i.e. called a liquid) within the liquid infiltration member (O, i.e. called an atomizing core) (¶ 0005, 0024, 0046).
With respect to claim 5, Chen in view of Veltz and Schmitt discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Chen further discloses wherein the conductive heating line (21, i.e. called a heating part) comprises a first electrode 5 (fig. 5), a conductive heating structure 2 (figures 6 and 8, i.e. called a heating unit) and a second electrode 5 (fig. 5, i.e. same reference number), the conductive heating structure 2 (figures 6 and 8, i.e. called a heating unit) is disposed on the liquid infiltration member (1, i.e. called liquid transfer unit), one end of the first electrode 5 (fig. 5) is electrically connected to one end (22) of the conductive heating structure 2 (figures 6 and 8, i.e. called a heating unit), another end of the first electrode 5 (fig. 5) extends to an outer surface of the housing 3(fig. 1, i.e. called a shell), one end of the second electrode 5 (fig. 5, i.e. same reference number) is electrically connected to another end (see figure 8, 22, i.e. same reference number) of the conductive heating structure 2 (figures 6 and 8, i.e. called a heating unit), and another end of the second electrode 5 (fig. 5, i.e. same reference number) extends to the outer surface of the housing 3(fig. 1, i.e. called a shell) (see figure 5) (¶ 0005, 0043).
With respect to claim 6, Chen in view of Veltz and Schmitt discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Chen further discloses wherein a fixing bracket (4, i.e. called a sealing element) is disposed within the atomization cavity (43, i.e. called a receiving cavity), the fixing bracket is provided with two limiting holes (42, i.e. called electrode connection holes) and a limiting groove (34, i.e. called an inlet passage), the limiting groove is disposed between the two limiting holes (42, i.e. called electrode connection holes) and is spaced apart from each (see figures 2 and 5) of the two limiting holes (42, i.e. called electrode connection holes), the integrated module is disposed within the limiting groove (34, i.e. called an inlet passage), and each of the first electrode (5) and the second electrode 5 (fig. 5, i.e. same reference number) is disposed to pass through a respective one of the two limiting holes (42, i.e. called electrode connection holes) (see figure 2; ¶ 0013, 0043, 0053, 0058).
With respect to claim 7, Chen in view of Veltz and Schmitt discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Chen further discloses wherein a cylinder (not labeled, i.e. the shape of the air outlet passage 33) extending along the length direction (see figures 3 and 5) is disposed within the storage cavity (35, i.e. called a liquid storage cavity), one end (i.e. the upper part of the shell body 31) of the cylinder is connected to an end wall of the storage cavity (35, i.e. called a liquid storage cavity), another end (i.e. the of lower part of the shell body 31) the cylinder is disposed to penetrate into the liquid infiltration member (O, i.e. called an atomizing core), and the gas channel (see figure 5, i.e. as indicated by the hollow arrow heads) is disposed to pass through the cylinder along the length direction (¶ 0044, 0053, 0056, 0063).
With respect to claim 8, Chen in view of Veltz and Schmitt discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Chen further discloses wherein the housing 3 (fig. 1, i.e. called a shell) comprises a main body shell (31) and a shell cover (32, i.e. called a pedestal), the shell cover (32, i.e. called a pedestal) covers the main body shell (31), one end (see figure 2) of the liquid infiltration member (O, i.e. called an atomizing core) is arranged within the shell cover (32, i.e. called a pedestal), another end (see figure 2) of the liquid infiltration member (O, i.e. called an atomizing core) is arranged within the main body shell (31), the liquid infiltration member (O, i.e. called an atomizing core), an inner wall (not labeled, see figure 5) of the main body shell (31) and an outer wall (see figure 5) of the cylinder (not labeled, i.e. the shape of the air outlet passage 33) enclose the storage cavity (35, i.e. called a liquid storage cavity), and the liquid infiltration member (O, i.e. called an atomizing core) and an inner wall of the shell cover (32, i.e. called a pedestal) enclose the atomization cavity (43, i.e. called a receiving cavity) (¶ 0011, 0044, 0056-0057, 0063).
With respect to claim 9, Chen in view of Veltz and Schmitt discloses the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above of which Chen further discloses wherein a first sealing ring (i.e. called sealing element 4 that has 3 sealing rings not labeled, see figure 2) is configured to make a seal between a circumferential outer wall (see figure 2) of the liquid infiltration member (O, i.e. called an atomizing core) and a circumferential inner wall (see figure 2) of the shell cover (32, i.e. called a pedestal);
a second sealing ring (i.e. called sealing element 4 that has 3 sealing rings not labeled, see figure 2) is configured to make a seal between an inner wall of the liquid infiltration member (O, i.e. called an atomizing core) and the outer wall of the cylinder (not labeled, i.e. the shape of the air outlet passage 33); and
a third sealing ring (i.e. called sealing element 4 that has 3 sealing rings not labeled, see figure 2) is configured to make a seal between the circumferential outer wall of the liquid infiltration member (O, i.e. called an atomizing core) and a circumferential inner wall of the main body shell (31) (¶ 0053, 0055-0057).
Claim(s) 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 20240373936) in view of Veltz (US 20170173262) and Schmitt (US 20220095681) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu (US 20130255675).
Regarding claims 10-18, Chen in view of Veltz and Schmitt discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention as set forth above except for wherein a residual liquid adsorption layer is laid on an inner end wall of an end of the atomization cavity away from the storage cavity.
However, Liu teaches wherein a residual liquid adsorption layer 32 (fig. 4, i.e. called an absorption piece) is laid on an inner end wall of an end of the atomization cavity away from the storage cavity (11) (¶ 0033-0034).
The combination of references are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of an atomizing device. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Chen in view of Veltz and Schmitt and Liu before him or her, to include such liquid adsorption feature of Liu because it improves guiding fluid substance, and prevent fluid-leakage. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been obvious because it prevents fluid substances being leaked out (¶ 0034).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the Claim Objections and the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the closest prior art of record are Chen in view of Veltz and Schmitt, the prior art of record references neither discloses, or suggests, in combination with the other limitations of dependent claim 3, “wherein a center of the detection surface is provided with a first mounting hole, a plurality of second mounting holes arranged in a circle whose center is the first mounting hole, and a plurality of third mounting holes arranged in a circle whose center is the first mounting hole are arranged on the detection surface, the plurality of third mounting holes surround the plurality of second mounting holes, the heart rate detection unit comprises a heart rate detection member, the heart rate detection member is disposed within the first mounting hole, the blood oxygen detection unit comprises a plurality of blood oxygen detection members, the plurality of blood oxygen detection members are disposed within the plurality of second mounting holes in an one-to-one correspondence, the gas composition detection unit comprises a plurality of gas detection members, and the plurality of gas detection members are disposed within the plurality of third mounting holes in an one-to-one correspondence.”
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tiron et al. (US 20230190140). Ornelas et al. (US 20240173491). And Rockhold (US 7,654,261).
Conclusion
/KET D DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761