DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Adir (US 2021/0180299).
Regarding claim 1, Adir discloses a stowable conduit assembly (8) comprising: a tube (106) being elongated and defined by a perimeter wall (the outer wall of 106) having a first end (the end connected to 102) and a second end (the end connected to 148), the first end having an opening (the central opening at the first end) therein extending through a length of the tube and outwardly through the second end (Fig. 1), the tube being comprised of a bendable material (para. [0050]); the perimeter wall including a first living hinge (the portion at one of the spaces “T” as shown in Fig. 5) and a second living hinge (one of the spaces “T” that are opposite the first living hinge), the first and second living hinges each being elongated and extending from the first end to the second end (as shown in Fig. 4, see how the spaces “T” extend throughout the length of 106), the first living hinge being positioned opposite of the second living hinge (Fig. 5), the first and second living hinges facilitating bending of the perimeter wall along the first and second living hinges (as shown best in Fig. 6), a cross-section of the tube taken perpendicular to a longitudinal axis extending through the first and second ends forming a tubular shape when the first and second living hinges are in a relaxed state (Fig. 5), the first and second living hinges dividing the perimeter wall into a first wall section and a second wall section being positioned opposite of each other (the sections on each side of the first and second living hinges defined above; Fig. 5), the first and second wall sections being collapsible against each other when the first and second living hinges are biased against the relaxed state such that the tube is placed in a flattened state (para. [0060]; Fig. 6); and the first end of the tube being rollable toward the second end when the tube is in the flattened state to form a flat spiral and define a stored condition, the tube being unrolled and the first and second flat hinges returned to a relaxed state to define a deployed condition (when the tube is completely flattened as shown in Fig. 6, the tube is at least capable of being rolled in a flat spiral shape and unrolled back to the relaxed position as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Adir further discloses the stowable conduit assembly according to claim 1, wherein the bendable material is a plastic material.
Regarding claim 3, Adir further discloses the stowable conduit assembly according to claim 2, wherein the tube has a length from the first end to the second end between 15.0 cm and 30.0 cm. (para. [0051])
Regarding claim 4, Adir further discloses the stowable conduit assembly according to claim 3, wherein the tube has an interior diameter between 0.4 cm and 1.25 cm, the tube having an outer diameter being less than 0.1 cm greater than the interior diameter. (para. [0055]; Fig. 4)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adir in view of Pepper (US 2019/0313820).
Regarding claim 5, Adir further discloses the stowable conduit assembly according to claim 4, but fails to disclose a storage container having a size and shape to receive the tube in the stored condition.
Pepper teaches a storage container (300) having a size and shape to receive the tube in the stored condition. (Figs. 7 and 8)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the stowable conduit assembly of Adir to include a storage container as taught by Pepper in order to provide a means to store the tube and stow it for ease of carrying. (para. [0061])
Regarding claim 6, Adir further discloses the stowable conduit assembly according to claim 1, but fails to disclose a storage container having a size and shape to receive the tube in the stored condition.
Pepper teaches a storage container (300) having a size and shape to receive the tube in the stored condition. (Figs. 7 and 8)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the stowable conduit assembly of Adir to include a storage container as taught by Pepper in order to provide a means to store the tube and stow it for ease of carrying. (para. [0061])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is allowed.
Claims 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PAUL J GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753