Detailed Action
Claims 1- 20 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shin et al. (US2025/0105439 A1).
Regarding Claim 1: Shin teaches a battery assembly for an electrified vehicle, namely a cell unit, and a battery pack, wherein Shin teaches that the cell unit may be applied to a vehicle such as an electric or a hybrid vehicle (paragraph [0246]). Shin further teaches a battery assembly and a battery pack having a plurality of pouch type battery cells, accommodated in a unit case (paragraph [0067]-[0070], Fig. 1 and 22).
Shin discloses a battery array including a first and a second battery cell, namely a plurality of pouch type battery cell arranged adjacent to one another within the cell unit (Fig. 1 and 14). Shin further discloses a thermal barrier arrange between the first and second battery cell, namely venting member disposed in the inner space of the unit case and between adjacent pouch type battery cells (paragraph [0077], Fig. 1 and 14). Shin teaches that the venting member disposed between the adjacent pouch type battery cells prevent or reduce the propagation of heat and gas generated during a thermal event (paragraph [0079]). Shin additionally discloses that a dimension of thermal barrier is greater than a corresponding dimension of each of the first and second battery cells. Shin teaches that the height of the venting member may be greater than the height of the pouch type battery cell (paragraph [0083]).
Accordingly, Shin discloses each and every limitation of claim 1. Therefore claim 1 is anticipated by Shin.
Regarding Claim 16: Shin discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth above. Shin discloses a venting member 300 arranged between the adjacent pouch-type battery cells 100 and configured to guide flame, heat, gas and other discharged substances generated during a battery-cell event (paragraph [0077], Fig. 1 and 14). Shin further teaches that the venting member have a height greater than the height of the pouch-type battery cells (paragraph [0083]). Shin expressly identifies the claimed dimension of the thermal barrier as the height of the venting member and the claimed corresponding dimension of the first and the second battery cells as the height of the pouch-type battery cells.
Therefore, Shin discloses each and every limitation of claim 16 and is anticipated by Shin.
Regarding Claim 17: Shin discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons set forth above. Shin discloses a cell unit may be applied to a battery pack and that the battery pack may be applied to an electric vehicle or another energy-storage system. Shin also claims a vehicle comprising a plurality of the discloses cell units (paragraph [0011], [0032], [0246]- [0247]). Shin further discloses that the battery assembly includes a battery array comprising a plurality of pouch-type battery cells including a first and a second adjacent battery cells, accommodated within the unica case (paragraph [0070]- [0071]). Shin discloses a venting member arranged between the first and the second adjacent battery cell. The venting member constitute the claimed thermal barrier. Shin further teaches that the height of the venting member may be greater than the height of the battery cell (paragraph [0083]).
Therefore, Shin discloses each and every limitation of claim 17 and is anticipated by Shin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 6, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US20250105439 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Patil et al. (US20240222743 A1).
Regarding Claim 2: Shin discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Shin further discloses that the battery assembly includes and upper case positioned above a plurality of pouch type battery cells and a venting member disposed between adjacent the pouch type battery cells (paragraph Fig. 1 and 2, [0077], [0085]- [0088]). The upper case corresponds to the claimed array cover because it covers and encloses the battery array.
Shin does not disclose a layer positioned vertically between the tops of the first and second battery cells and the array cover, wherein the layer includes a slot receiving a top section of the thermal barrier.
Patil discloses a battery module including a plurality of electrochemical cells, a pre-formed thermal barrier and a cell holder configured to receive both the cells and the thermal barrier. Patil further teaches that the cell holder includes a top cell holder and a bother cell holder. The thermal barrier includes a first locking feature or extension, while the cell holders include corresponding second locking feature in the form of shaped recesses adapted to conformally house when installed (paragraph [0008], [0026], claims 4-6). Patil calls the receiving feature a “shaped recess”. The shaped recess corresponds to the claimed slot because it is elongated receiving feature configured to conformally house a projecting section of the thermal barrier.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Shin’s battery assembly with Patil’s top cell holder positioned between the battery cells and the upper case and provide the top cell holder with Patil’s shaped recess receiving the upper extension of the venting member because Patil teaches physically interlocking pre-formed thermal barrier with a cell holder by conformally housing an extension of the barrier in a corresponding shape recess. Applying Patil’s known retaining interface to Shin would securely position the upper portion of the venting member relative to the battery cells and upper case.
Regarding Claim 18: Shin discloses all of the limitations of claim 17 as discussed above. Shin discloses a cell unit may be applied to a battery pack and that the battery pack may be applied to an electric vehicle or another energy-storage system. Shin further discloses that the battery assembly includes and upper case positioned above a plurality of pouch type battery cells and a venting member disposed between adjacent the pouch type battery cells (paragraph Fig. 1 and 2, [0077], [0085]- [0088]). The upper case corresponds to the claimed array cover because it covers and encloses the battery array.
Shin does not disclose a layer positioned vertically between the tops of the first and second battery cells and the array cover, wherein the layer includes a slot receiving a top section of the thermal barrier.
Patil discloses a battery module including a plurality of electrochemical cells, a pre-formed thermal barrier and a cell holder configured to receive both the cells and the thermal barrier. Patil further teaches that the cell holder includes a top cell holder and a bother cell holder. The thermal barrier includes a first locking feature or extension, while the cell holders include corresponding second locking feature in the form of shaped recesses adapted to conformally house when installed (paragraph [0008], [0026], claims 4-6). Patil calls the receiving feature a “shaped recess”. The shaped recess corresponds to the claimed slot because it is elongated receiving feature configured to conformally house a projecting section of the thermal barrier.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Shin’s battery assembly with Patil’s top cell holder positioned between the battery cells and the upper case and provide the top cell holder with Patil’s shaped recess receiving the upper extension of the venting member because Patil teaches physically interlocking pre-formed thermal barrier with a cell holder by conformally housing an extension of the barrier in a corresponding shape recess. Applying Patil’s known retaining interface to Shin would securely position the upper portion of the venting member relative to the battery cells and upper case.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US20250105439 A1) and Patil et al. (US20240222743 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Eberhard et al. (US9905821 B2).
Regarding Claim 3: Shin discloses all of the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. Shin discloses an upper case positioned above a pouch-type battery cells and a venting member positioned between the adjacent battery cells (paragraph [0077]), while Patil teaches a top cell holder having a shaped recess that receives an upper extension of a thermal barrier (paragraph [0008], [0026]).
Shin and Patil do not disclose that the slot is aligned with a vent of the array cover relative to a length of the battery array.
Eberhard teaches a battery packaging having a ventilation opening in a frame aligned with safety vents of battery cells and corresponding ventilation openings in an adjacent conductor plate alight with the frame openings. The aligned openings provide a venting path through the structures located above the battery cells and avoid blockage of the cell vents (col. 1, line 32-51)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Patil’s barrier receiving recess and Eberhard ventilation openings into Shin’s batter assembly because Eberhard teaches aligned opening through upper battery module structures to avoid blocking vent discharge and to provide a continuous gas path. See Eberhard col. 7, line 15-37.
Regarding Claim 4: : Shin discloses all of the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. Patil teaches that locking features extensions of a pre-formed thermal barrier are sized, spaced and configured to insert into corresponding slots in a cell holder (paragraph [0026], [0033])
Shin and Patil do not teach that the same slot to permit gases to flow to a vent of the array cover.
Eberhard teaches a battery assembly having a vertically adjacent upper components with aligned ventilation opening. Specifically, that the upper frame includes ventilation opening aligned with the safety vents of the battery cells, that the conductor plates include further ventilation opening aligned with the frame opening and that the cover includes ventilation channels that receive gas from the aligned openings and guide it toward an edge of the cover (col. , line).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to size and shape Patil’s barrier-receiving recess as incorporated into Shin’s assembly, to receive the upper section of venting member while providing sufficient clearance for gases guided by the venting member to flow through the recess toward the aligned vent of the upper case, because Eberhard teaches that aligned ventilation openings are provided so that the upper battery module structure do not obstruct the discharge of gases from the battery cells, allowing gases to flow through the opening and into the ventilations channels of the cover. See Eberhard col. 4 line 62-65.
Regarding Claim 5: Shin and Patil disclose all of the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above.
Shin and Patil do not disclose another slot spaced apart from the thermal barrier receiving slot and aligned with a vent of the array cover.
Eberhard teaches a battery module including multiple ventilation openings formed in the upper battery module structures. The ventilation openings are longitudinally distributed and aligned with the corresponding vent structures so that the gases discharged from the battery cells may pass through the upper module structure and into the ventilation channels formed in the cover (col. 4 line 62-65).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide and additional slot aligned with a vent of the array cover because Eberhard teaches that ventilation openings are provided through the upper battery module structure so that the structures do not obstruct gases discharged from the battery cell. Eberhard further teaches that the aligned openings communicate with the ventilation channels in the cover, thereby providing a discharge path for vent gases and reducing gas accumulation within the battery package. See Eberhard col.4 line 66-67, col. 5 line 1-22.
Claims 6, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US20250105439 A1) as applied to claim 2 and 17 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US20250007085 A1)
Regarding Claim 6: Shin discloses all of the limitations as set forth above in claim 1 and 2.
Shin does not disclose that the top-most surface of the thermal barrier is arranged vertically above the layer.
Park discloses a battery module including a barrier positioned between the adjacent battery cells and a frame body including a slot or hole configured to receive the barrier. Park further teaches that the barrier extends through the receiving opening such that an upper portions of the barrier projects above the frame body while another portion remains received within the frame (paragraph [0066], [0069]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow the upper portion of the venting member of Shin projects above the intermediate layer because Park teaches that allowing the barrier to project through the receiving opening securely retains the barrier within the frame structure, reduces gaps between the barrier and the surrounding structure and suppresses leakage of flame and vent gases. See Park [0097], [0105], [0113].
Regarding Claim 14: Shin discloses all of the limitations as set forth above in claim 1. Shin discloses a battery assembly including a plurality of pouch-type battery cells disposed within a unit case, a venting member arranged between adjacent pouch-type battery cells, and an upper case positioned over the battery cells and corresponding to the claimed array cover (paragraph [0071]- [0074], Fig. 1, 22)
Shin does not teach that at least a portion of the thermal barrier projects through a slot in an array cover.
Park discloses a battery module having a barrier disposed between adjacent battery cells and a frame body having a slot or hole configured to receive the barrier. Park teaches that the barrier may be fitted or inserted into the slot and that at least a portion of the barrier may be inserted into or pass through, the hole in the frame body (paragraph [0019], [0095]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Shin’s upper case with a slot through which and upper portion of the venting member projects, in accordance with the barrier receiving slot arrangement taught by Park because Park teaches that inserting or projecting a battery-cell barrier through a slot in a surrounding module structure reduces the gap around the barrier, prevents flames or venting gas from escaping and improves thermal safety. See Park [0086].
Regarding Claim 19: Shin discloses all of the limitations as set forth above in claim 17. Shin discloses a battery assembly including a plurality of pouch-type battery cells disposed within a unit case, a venting member arranged between adjacent pouch-type battery cells, and an upper case positioned over the battery cells and corresponding to the claimed array cover (paragraph [0071]- [0074], Fig. 1, 22)
Shin does not teach that at least a portion of the thermal barrier projects through a slot in an array cover.
Park discloses a battery module having a barrier disposed between adjacent battery cells and a frame body having a slot or hole configured to receive the barrier. Park teaches that the barrier may be fitted or inserted into the slot and that at least a portion of the barrier may be inserted into or pass through, the hole in the frame body (paragraph [0019], [0095]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Shin’s upper case with a slot through which and upper portion of the venting member projects, in accordance with the barrier receiving slot arrangement taught by Park because Park teaches that inserting or projecting a battery-cell barrier through a slot in a surrounding module structure reduces the gap around the barrier, prevents flames or venting gas from escaping and improves thermal safety. See Park [0086].
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US20250105439 A1), Patil et al. (US20240222743 A1) and Park et al. (US20250007085 A1), as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Hermann et al. (US20100136404 A1).
Regarding Claim 7: Shin, Patil and Park disclose all of the limitations as set forth above in claim 6. However, Shin, Patil and Park do not disclose that top-most surface of the thermal barrier is spaced-apart below a bottom-most surface of the array cover.
Hermann teaches a thermal barrier element positioned within the battery pack enclosure to separate groups of battery cells and inhibit propagation of a thermal runaway event (paragraph [0028]). Hermann further teaches an embodiment in which the thermal barrier element terminates before reaching the adjoining upper enclosure wall (paragraph [0031]). Hermann also teaches that the barrier may extend approximately 90% or 95% of the distance between the adjoining enclosure wall (paragraph [0008], [0031]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dimension the thermal barrier of the combined Shin-Patil-Park assembly such its top-most surface terminates below and is spaced apart from the bottom-most surface of Shin’s upper case, as taught by Hermann because Hermann teaches using a partial height thermal barrier arrangement that leaves a gap between the barrier and an adjoining enclosure wall while continuing to divide the battery cell into groups, inhibit propagation of a thermal runaway event and that such gap may accommodate pressure equalization or provide access for battery pack components such as cooling circuit or electrical interconnections. See Hermann [0007], [0027], [0031].
Regarding Claim 8: Shin, Patil and Park disclose all of the limitations as set forth above in claim 6. However, Shin, Patil and Park do not disclose that the top-most surface of the thermal barrier is in contact with a bottom-most surface of the array cover.
Hermann teaches a thermal barrier element positioned within the battery pack enclosure to separate groups of battery cells and inhibit propagation of a thermal runaway event (paragraph [0028]). Hermann further teaches a full height embodiment in which the thermal barrier elements extend completely between opposing enclosure walls, including between a lower enclosure wall and an upper enclosure wall. In such arrangement, the upper end of the thermal barrier element reaches and contacts the upper enclosure wall (paragraph [0031], Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dimension the thermal barrier of the combined Shin-Patil-Park assembly such its top-most surface contacts the bottom-most surface of Shin’s upper case, consistent with the full-height of the thermal barrier arrangement taught by Hermann because Hermann teaches extending the thermal barrier elements completely between opposing enclosure walls to separates the battery cells into groups and inhibit the propagation of a thermal runaway. See Hermann [0007], [0027], [0031].
Claims 9, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US20250105439 A1) ) in view of Patil et al. (US20240222743 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US20220410528 A1).
Regarding Claim 9: Shin discloses all of the limitations as set forth above in claim 1. Shin further discloses a venting member, which function as a thermal barrier and that may comprise a heat-resistant material such as mica (paragraph [0084]). Shin doesn’t disclose that the thermal barrier includes mica and aerogel.
Wang discloses a multilayer thermal barrier composite for a battery system including an electrified vehicle. Wang further discloses that the barrier layer may comprise mica, aerogel, combination thereof, or laminates thereof (paragraph [0005], [0134]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the venting member of Shin using a barrier layer including mica and aerogel, as taught by Wang, because Wang teaches that the composite is intended for high-temperature protection and addresses a continuing need for improved barrier design that protect against increasing heat potential. See Wang [0002]- [0003] and [0055]- [0058].
Regarding Claim 12: Shin discloses all of the limitations as set forth above in claim 1. Shin does not teach that the thermal barrier includes a non-symmetrical arrangement of layers of material.
multilayer composites configured for use as thermal barrier, including thermal barrier for electric vehicle battery packs. Wang teaches that its multilayer composite may include a first barrier layer and a first foam layer (paragraph [0020]). Wang’s Fig. 1 shows a two-layer construction consisting of barrier layer adjacent a foam layer. The layers are formed from different materials and are not repeated in a mirror-image arrangement an opposite side if a central layer. Accordingly, Wang’s barrier layers constructions constitute a non-symmetrical arrangement of layers of materials.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Wang’s non-symmetrical multilayer composite as Shin’s venting member because Wang teaches that its multilayer composite is suitable for use as a thermal barrier in an electric vehicle battery packs and designed to provide high temperature protection. See Wang [0003].
Regarding Claim 13: Shin discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Shin doesn’t disclose layers comprising aerogel, glass fiber and polyurethane foam.
Wang discloses a multilayer composite designed for uses as a thermal barrier, including use in electrified vehicle battery packs. Wang teaches a multilayer construction having a first and second barrier layers and a foam layer positioned between the first ad the second barrier layer. See Wang Fig. 2, paragraphs [0063]- [0065], [0262] and [0265]- [0266].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct Shin’s venting member using Wang’s multilayer composite because Wang teaches that the construction provides thermal barrier performance, flame resistance, thermal insulation and compression properties suitable for electric vehicle battery pack. See Wang [0019], [0098].
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US20250105439 A1) in view of Patil et al. (US20240222743 A1) and Wang et al. (US20220410528 A1), as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (WO2022199642 A1). Machine translation is being used for the foreign references mentioned before.
Regarding Claim 10: Shin discloses all of the limitations as set forth above in claim 1 and claim 9.
Wang discloses that the barrier layer of a thermal barrier composite may comprises mica, aerogel or a combination thereof, or laminates thereof for use in an electric vehicle battery pack (paragraph [0005], [0007], [0056]).
Shin and Wang do not disclose arranging the thermal barrier as a sandwich structure including a first mica layer, an aerogel layer positioned between the mica layer and a second mica layer.
Wu discloses a multilayer fire-resistant composite having a sandwich-type construction including upper and lower fire-facing layers separated by an intermediate high-temperature-resistant layer (Abstract). Wu teaches that the layers are laminated together to form a thermal insulating barrier capable of resisting flame and heat penetration (Abstract, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the mica and aerogel thermal barrier taught by Wang in the multilayer sandwich arrangement taught by Wu including a first and a second mica outer layers positioned on opposing sides of an intermediate aerogel-containing layer, and to employ the resulting structure as Shin’s venting member because Wu teaches that arranging thermal insulating material in a multilayer sandwich construction improve the resistant to flame and heat through the barrier.
Regarding Claim 11: Shin discloses all of the limitations as set forth above in claim 1 and claim 9.
Wang discloses that the barrier layer of a thermal barrier composite may comprises mica, aerogel or a combination thereof, or laminates thereof for use in an electric vehicle battery pack (paragraph [0005], [0134]).
Shin and Wang do not disclose that the thermal barrier includes aerogel and mica layers arranged in aerogel-mica-aerogel sandwich structure.
Wu discloses a multilayer fire-resistant composite having a sandwich-type construction including upper and lower fire-facing layers separated by an intermediate high-temperature-resistant layer (Abstract, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the mica and aerogel thermal barrier taught by Wang in the multilayer sandwich arrangement taught by Wu including a first and a second aerogel outer layers positioned on opposing sides of an intermediate mica-containing layer, and to employ the resulting structure as Shin’s venting member because Wu teaches that arranging thermal insulating material in a multilayer sandwich construction improve the resistant to flame and heat through the barrier.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US20250105439 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Barnes et al. (US20190270362 A1).
Regarding Claim 15: Shin discloses all of the limitations as set forth above in claim 1. Shin does not disclose that the thermal barrier includes a flap adjacent a top section of the thermal barrier and projecting from the top section of the thermal barrier, and the flap is deflectable from a neutral position to a deflected position in which the flap contacts the array cover.
Barnes discloses a pressure-relief assembly intended for venting an enclosed vehicle space. The assembly includes flexible membrane flaps mounted adjacent an upper portion of a housing. Each flap covers an airflow opening in a closed or at-rest position and pivots or deflects away from the opening into an open position in response to airflow, thereby permitting gas to vent through the assembly (paragraph [0032], [0039]). Barnes therefore teaches the known mechanical principles of a flexible flap positions near an upper region structure, movable between an at-rest position and a deflected position, and interacting with an adjacent housing surface to control vent-gas flow.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Barnes’ deflectable flap mechanism into the upper case of Shin’s venting member because Barnes teaches that a flexible flap responsive to airflow permits controlled pressure relief from an enclosed vehicle structure. See Barnes [0039].
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US20250105439 A1) and further in view of Lee et al. (US20220052409 A1).
Regarding Claim 20: Shin teaches a method of assembling a battery array including positioning a plurality of battery cells within a battery case and interposing a thermal barrier, identified as venting member 300, between a first battery cell C1 and a second battery cell C2 (Fig. 14 and 15, paragraph []).
Shin further teaches a first battery cell and a second battery cell. Also teach that a plurality of pouch-type battery cells 100 are accommodated in the inner space of the unit case 200. Shin also teaches that the first and second adjacent pouch-type cells C1 and C2 on opposite sides of the venting member 300. See Shin Fig. 1, 14 and 15, paragraph [0025], claim 13.
Shin discloses a thermal barrier interposed between the first and second battery cells. Specifically, a venting member 300 is disposed between adjacent pouch-type cells and faces the adjacent cells (paragraph [0149]).
However, Shin doesn’t disclose the assembly operations as sealing a compartment of the battery array using the thermal barrier.
Lee teaches a battery module including a flame retardant side pad positioned between adjacent battery cells, an upper pad positioned between the battery cells and an upper portion between the battery case (paragraph [0019]). Lee teaches using and inter-cell thermal barrier to establish and isolated compartment or region within a battery array so as to contain heat and venting gases generated by an abnormal battery cell (paragraph [0010], [0016]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Shin by sealing the battery array compartment using the thermal barrier as taught by Lee because Lee teaches using an intercell thermal barrier to establish an isolated compartment within the battery module for containing heat and venting gases generated by an abnormal battery cell, thereby reducing propagation of thermal runaway to adjacent battery cells. See Lee [0005], [0016], [0088].
Conclusion
/NMRO/ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725