DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendments and response received 07/07/2026 have been entered. Claims 11-24, 36-53 are currently pending in this application. Claims 11-14, 17, 22, 36-39, 42, 47, 50 and 51 have been amended and claims 52 and 53 added by this amendment. Amendments and response are addressed hereinbelow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
In light of the amendments to the claims, the examiner hereby withdraws the previous grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-24 and 36-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koji Kobayashi (JP 2013120592 A) in view of Vasily Panferov et al (US 20140122479 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Kobayashi discloses an information processing apparatus (¶ [9]), comprising:
provide information of a setting screen related to generation of a file name (¶ [13]), wherein the setting screen enables a user to select one or more items from a plurality of items usable for the generation of the file name (¶ [19]), and wherein the setting screen displays a message prompting the user to select, from the plurality of items, an item that makes, each time a file name is automatically generated, the automatically generated file name unique (¶ [16] setting rule necessitates variable portion input), the plurality of items including the item and including another item that does not make, each time a file name is automatically generated, the automatically generated file name unique (¶ [15-16] setting naming convention including fixed and variable portions; ¶ [41] screen directing the user to set rule condition settings for file naming, including detailed condition setting (e.g., item differentiating the filename uniquely; see also ¶ [19]); and
store a file to which a generated file name is assigned into a folder within the information processing apparatus (¶ [36]), (¶ [38-39] named file destination folder).
Kobayashi fails to explicitly disclose the processing apparatus comprising a controller including a processor and a memory.
Panferov, in the same field of endeavor of generating a document name based on selected features providing a unique name (Abstract), teaches the processing apparatus comprising a controller including a processor and a memory (¶ [74]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed for the information processing apparatus as disclosed by Kobayashi which provides information of a setting screen related to generation of a file name to utilize the teachings of Panferov et al which teaches the processing apparatus comprising a controller including a processor and a memory as each element is well known in the art to provide functionality to the processing apparatus in an area of technology where growth is fast and further advancements are not easily foreseen.
Regarding claim 12, Kobayashi discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the controller is further configured to:
store the one or more items, including the item selected by the user (¶ [41] storing rule information comprising selected optional items); and
generate the file name by using values corresponding to the stored one or more items, wherein the item makes each of the automatically generated file names of the stored files unique among the file names (see rejection of claim 11; see ¶ [19] indicating the files are “automatically” named based on the naming convention set by the user).
Regarding claim 13, Kobayashi discloses an information processing apparatus (see rejection of claim 11), comprising:
a controller including a processor and a memory (see rejection of claim 11), the controller configured to:
provide information of a setting screen related to generation of a file name, wherein the setting screen enables a user to select one or more items from a plurality of items usable for the generation of the file name (see rejection of claim 11), and wherein the setting screen displays a message prompting the user to select, from a plurality of items, an item that makes, each time a file name is automatically generated, the automatically generated file name unique, the plurality of items including the item and including another item that does not make, each time a file name is automatically generated, the automatically generated file name unique (see rejection of claim 11); and
store the one or more items, including the item, selected by the user (see rejection of claim 12);
generate file names by using one or more values corresponding to the stored one or more items (¶ [8] file naming for multiple electronic files); and
store files to which generated file names are assigned into a folder within the information processing apparatus (see rejection of claim 11), identified by the user to store the files (¶ [16]),
wherein the item makes each of the automatically generated file names of the stored files unique among the file names (¶ [19]).
Regarding claim 14, Kobayashi discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11), wherein the item that makes, each time a file name is automatically generated, the automatically generated file name unique is an item related to a date (¶ [15]).
Kobayashi fails to explicitly disclose an item that makes the file name unique includes a time.
Panferov et al teaches an item that makes the file name unique includes a time (¶ [41]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed for the information processing apparatus as disclosed by Kobayashi which provides information of a setting screen related to generation of a file name to utilize the teachings of Panferov et al which teaches an item that makes the file name unique includes a time to allow more useful names of files with a minimal amount of effort required by a user.
Regarding claim 15, Kobayashi discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11).
Kobayashi fails to explicitly disclose wherein the file to which the generated file name is assigned is generated based on data generated by scanning a document with a scanner .
Panferov et al teaches the file to which the generated file name is assigned is generated based on data generated by scanning a document with a scanner (¶ [59]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed for the information processing apparatus as disclosed by Kobayashi which provides information of a setting screen related to generation of a file name to utilize the teachings of Panferov et al which teaches the file to which the generated file name is assigned is generated based on data generated by scanning a document with a scanner as a scanner provides a means for accumulating a large number of documents quickly and efficiently.
Regarding claim 16, Kobayashi discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11).
Kobayashi fails to explicitly disclose wherein the file to which the generated file name is assigned is generated based on data received via a facsimile.
Panferov et al teaches the file to which the generated file name is assigned is generated based on data received via a facsimile (¶ [65]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed for the information processing apparatus as disclosed by Kobayashi which provides information of a setting screen related to generation of a file name to utilize the teachings of Panferov et al which teaches the file to which the generated file name is assigned is generated based on data received via a facsimile as a facsimile communication provides a means for transmitting a large number of documents quickly and efficiently.
Regarding claim 17, Kobayashi discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11), wherein the item that makes, each time a file name is automatically generated, the automatically generated file name unique is an item related to an identification number (¶ [26]).
Regarding claim 18, Kobayashi discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11).
Kobayashi fails to explicitly disclose wherein the information processing apparatus is an apparatus equipped with a scanner.
Panferov et al teaches wherein the information processing apparatus is an apparatus equipped with a scanner (¶ [73]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed for the information processing apparatus as disclosed by Kobayashi which provides information of a setting screen related to generation of a file name to utilize the teachings of Panferov et al which teaches the information processing apparatus is an apparatus equipped with a scanner as a scanner provides a means for accumulating a large number of documents quickly and efficiently.
Regarding claim 19, Kobayashi discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11).
Kobayashi fails to explicitly disclose wherein the information processing apparatus is an apparatus equipped with a facsimile.
Panferov et al teaches the information processing apparatus is an apparatus equipped with a facsimile (¶ [73] and ¶ [65]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed for the information processing apparatus as disclosed by Kobayashi which provides information of a setting screen related to generation of a file name to utilize the teachings of Panferov et al which teaches the information processing apparatus is an apparatus equipped with a facsimile as a facsimile communication provides a means for transmitting a large number of documents quickly and efficiently.
Regarding claim 20, Kobayashi discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11).
Kobayashi fails to explicitly disclose wherein the file to which the generated file name is attached is a PDF file.
Panferov et al teaches wherein the file to which the generated file name is attached is a PDF file (¶ [24]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed for the information processing apparatus as disclosed by Kobayashi which provides information of a setting screen related to generation of a file name to utilize the teachings of Panferov et al which teaches the file to which the generated file name is attached is a PDF file as a PDF file is easily stored, retrieved and transmitted in electronic format.
Regarding claim 21, Kobayashi discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein a name of the folder identified by the user includes a character string input by the user (¶ [19]).
Regarding claim 22, Kobayashi discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11), wherein the item that makes, each time a file name is automatically generated, the automatically generated file name is at least one of an item related to date and time and an item related to an identification number (see rejection of claim 14; see also ¶ [43] wherein a “serial number” may be added).
Regarding claim 23, Kobayashi discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11).
Kobayashi fails to explicitly disclose wherein, a name of the folder identified by the user includes a date
Panferov et al teaches wherein, a name of the folder identified by the user includes a date (¶ [29] and ¶ [64] folder named based on or more tags; tags include dates).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed for the information processing apparatus as disclosed by Kobayashi which provides information of a setting screen related to generation of a file name to utilize the teachings of Panferov et al which teaches a name of the folder identified by the user includes a date to allow more useful names of folders with a minimal amount of effort required by a user.
Regarding claim 24, Kobayashi discloses the information processing apparatus according to claim 13, wherein making each name of the generated file names unique is to make each name of the generated file names being different form each other (¶ [19]).
Regarding claim 36, Kobayashi discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing one or more processors to execute (see rejection of claim 11; processor and memory executing program instructions) a method of controlling an information processing apparatus, the method comprising:
providing information of a setting screen related to generation of a file name, wherein the setting screen enables a user to select one or more items from a plurality of items usable for the generation of the file name, and wherein the setting screen displays a message prompting the user to select, from the plurality of items, an item that makes, each time a file name is automatically generated, the automatically generated file name unique, the plurality of items including the item and including another item that does not make, each time a file name is automatically generated, the automatically generated file name unique (see rejection of claim 11); and
storing a file to which the generated file name is assigned into a folder, within the information processing apparatus, identified by the user to store the file (see rejection of claim 11).
Regarding claim 37, Kobayashi discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 36 (see rejection of claim 36), the method further comprising:
storing the one or more items, including the item selected by the user (see rejection of claim 12); and
generating the file name by using values corresponding to the stored one or more items (see rejection of claim 12),
wherein the item makes the automatically generated file name of each of the stored files (see rejection of claim 12).
Regarding claim 38, Kobayashi discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing one or more processors to execute a method of controlling an information processing apparatus (¶ [17-18] software implemented in PC environment; see rejection of claim 13), the method comprising:
providing information of a setting screen related to generation of a file name, wherein the setting screen enables a user to select one or more items from a plurality of items usable for the generation of the file name, and wherein the setting screen displays a message prompting the user to select, from the plurality of items, an item that makes, each time a file name is automatically generated, the automatically generated file name unique, the plurality of items including the item and including another item that does not make, each time a file name is automatically generated, the automatically generated file name unique (see rejection of claim 13); and
storing the one or more items, including the item, selected by the user (see rejection of claim 13);
generating file names by using one or more values corresponding to the stored one or more items (see rejection of claim 13); and
storing files to which generated file names are assigned into a folder, within the information processing apparatus, identified by the user to store the files (see rejection of claim 13),
wherein the item makes each of the file names of the stored files unique among the file names (see rejection of claim 13).
Regarding claim 39, Kobayashi discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 36 (see rejection of claim 36), wherein the item that makes, each time a file name is automatically generated, the automatically generated file name unique is an item related to date and time (see rejection of claim14).
Regarding claim 40, Kobayashi discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 36 (see rejection of claim 36), wherein the file to which the generated file name is assigned is generated based on data generated by scanning a document with a scanner (see rejection of claim 15).
Regarding claim 41, Kobayashi discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 36 (see rejection of claim 36), wherein the file to which the generated file name is assigned is generated based on data received via a facsimile (see rejection of claim 16).
Regarding claim 42, Kobayashi discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 36 (see rejection of claim 36), wherein the item that makes, each time a file name is automatically generated, the automatically generated file name unique is an item related to an identification number (see rejection of claim 17).
Regarding claim 43, Kobayashi discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 36 (see rejection of claim 36), wherein the information processing apparatus is an apparatus equipped with a scanner (see rejection of claim 18).
Regarding claim 44, Kobayashi discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 36 (see rejection of claim 36), wherein the information processing apparatus is an apparatus equipped with a facsimile (see rejection of claim 19).
Regarding claim 45, Kobayashi discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 36 (see rejection of claim 36), wherein the file to which the generated file name is attached is a PDF file (see rejection of claim 20).
Regarding claim 46, Kobayashi discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 36, wherein a name of the folder identified by the user includes a character string input by the user (see rejection of claim 21).
Regarding claim 47, Kobayashi discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 36 (see rejection of claim 36), wherein the item that makes, each time a file name is automatically generated, the automatically generated file name unique is at least one of an item related to date and time and an item related to identification number (see rejection of claim 22).
Regarding claim 48, Kobayashi discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 36 (see rejection of claim 36), wherein a name of the folder identified by the user includes a date (see rejection of claim 23).
Regarding claim 49, Kobayashi discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 38 (see rejection of claim 38), wherein making each name of the generated file names unique is to make each name of the generated file names being different from each other (see rejection of claim 24).
Regarding claim 50, Kobayashi discloses a method of controlling an information processing apparatus (see rejection of claim 11), comprising:
providing information of a setting screen related to generation of a file name, wherein the setting screen enables a user to select one or more items from a plurality of items usable for the generation of the file name, and wherein the setting screen displays a message prompting the user to select, from a plurality of items, an item that makes, each time a file name is automatically generated, the automatically generated file name unique, the plurality of items including the item and including another item that does not make, each time a file name is automatically generated, the automatically generated file name unique (see rejection of claim 11); and
storing a file to which a generated file name is assigned into a folder, within the information processing apparatus, identified by the user to store the file (see rejection of claim 11).
Regarding claim 51, Kobayashi discloses a method of controlling an information processing apparatus (see rejection of claim 13), comprising:
providing information of a setting screen related to generation of a file name, wherein the setting screen enables a user to select one or more items from a plurality of items usable for the generation of the file name, and wherein the setting screen displays a message prompting the user to select, from a plurality of items, an item that makes, each time a file name is automatically generated, the automatically generated file name unique, the plurality of items including the item and including another item that does not make, each time a file name is automatically generated, the automatically generated file name unique (see rejection of claim 13); and
storing the one or more items, including the item, selected by the user (see rejection of claim 13);
generating file names by using one or more values corresponding to the stored one or more items (see rejection of claim 13); and
storing files to which generated file names are assigned into a folder, within the information processing apparatus, identified by the user to store the files (see rejection of claim 13),
wherein the item makes each of the automatically generated file names of the stored files unique among the file names (see rejection of claim 13).
Regarding claim 52, Kobayashi discloses the information processing apparatus of claim 11, wherein the plurality of items includes a date-and-time item, and
wherein the setting screen displays the message instructing the user to select the date-and-time item (see rejection of claim 14 wherein the teaching indicates the “time” item includes the date and time).
Regarding claim 53, Kobayashi discloses the information processing apparatus of claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11),
wherein the message prompts the user to select the item that makes the automatically generated file name unique to avoid duplication of automatically generated file names (¶ [43] wherein the rule is set in cases when a file with the same name exists, indicating a technique to avoid duplication of naming).
Response to Arguments
Applicant should submit an argument under the heading “Remarks” pointing out disagreements with the examiner’s contentions. Applicant must also discuss the references applied against the claims, explaining how the claims avoid the references or distinguish from them.
Conclusion
/JAMARES Q WASHINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681
September 5, 2026