DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inatani et al. (JP 2018020591 A; hereinafter “Inatani”; previously cited by Applicant) in view of Goto et al. (US 2015/0102656 A1; hereinafter “Goto”; newly cited).
Regarding claim 1, Inatani discloses a vehicle wheel assembly comprising: a cylindrical rim 2; a disk 3 including a central connection portion at 31 connected to a vehicle body (Figs. 1 and 2), and a plurality of spokes 32 arranged to connect the rim and the central connection portion (Figs. 1 and 2); and a wall portion 5 disposed so as to partially close a plurality of air holes (unlabeled holes provided between adjacent spokes shown in Fig. 1) provided between the spokes (Fig. 1), wherein when a radial direction of the rim is defined as a radial direction, a direction parallel to a rotation axis of the rim is defined as an axial direction, a direction away from a vehicle body center line in the axial direction is defined as an axially outward direction, and a direction toward the vehicle body center line in the axial direction is defined as an axially inward direction, the rim includes a cylindrical rim body 10, a ring-shaped spoke connection portion (unlabeled, but clearly shown in Fig. 2) extending axially outward and radially outward from an axially outer end portion of the rim body (Fig. 2), the spokes being connected to the spoke connection portion (Fig. 2), a ring-shaped outer rim flange 21 connected to an axially outer end portion of the spoke connection portion (Fig. 2), and a ring-shaped inner rim flange 22 connected to an axially inner end portion of the rim body for holding a tire together with the outer rim flange (Fig. 2), and when a portion composed of a body outer end that is an axially outer end of the rim body and a portion axially outward of the body outer end of the rim is defined as a rim outer end portion (unlabeled, but shown in Fig. 2), and a ring-shaped portion located on the radially innermost side of an inner peripheral surface of the rim outer end portion is defined as a rim inner peripheral end (Fig. 2), the wall portion includes a facing portion (radially inner portion of 5) provided so as to be spaced apart in the axially outward direction from a portion of the rim inner peripheral end that overlaps at least one air hole of the plurality of air holes in the axial direction (evident from Fig. 1), the facing portion provided to face the portion in the axial direction (evident from Fig. 1), so as to serve as a wall with respect to air flowing axially outward along an inner peripheral surface of the rim body (Figs. 1 and 2), and an outer peripheral portion (radially outer portion of 5) extending radially outward from the facing portion and defining at least a part of one or more openings 12 communicating an inside and an outside of the wall portion in the axial direction (Fig. 2), so as to provide the one or more openings radially outward from the rim inner peripheral end (Fig. 2).
Inatani fails to disclose a length of each of the one or more openings in a circumferential direction of the rim is larger than a length of each of the one or more openings in the radial direction of the rim. Instead, the one or more openings or drain holes 12 of Inatani are shown in Fig. 1 to be circular in shape such that the length in the circumferential direction of the rim is equal to the length in the radial direction of the rim.
Goto, however, teaches a wheel assembly in which one or more openings or drain holes 70 have a shape such that a length of each of the one or more openings in a circumferential direction of the rim is larger than a length of each of the one or more openings in the radial direction of the rim (best shown in Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the wheel assembly of Inatani so that each of the one or more openings are shaped so as have a length in the circumferential direction that is larger than a length in the radial direction, such as taught by Goto, as a well-known alternative drain hole shape that would have a reasonable expectation of success in allowing the drainage of water. It is further noted that this newly claimed shape for the one or more openings is not critical for the practice of Applicant’s invention as evident from paragraph [0029] of Applicant’s specification.
Regarding claim 10, Inatani further discloses the openings are defined by the outer peripheral portion and the rim (Fig. 2), or the outer peripheral portion, the rim, and the spokes.
Regarding claim 11, Inatani further discloses a cap 5 attached to at least one of the rim and the disk, wherein the wall portion is constituted by at least a part of the cap (Figs. 1 and 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to new independent claim 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Note both the previously cited JP 3351344 B2 (See the one or more openings 19 in Fig. 2) and the newly cited US 2,736,610 (See the one or more openings 7’ in Fig. 1) teach each of the one or more openings having a length in the circumferential direction that is larger than a length in the radial direction.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Kip T Kotter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615