DETAILED ACTION
Application status
This office action is in response to application filed on 10/10/2023 and Preliminary Amendment filed on 03/22/2024. Claims 1-10 are canceled. Claims 11-30 are pending. Claims 11-30 are rejected.
Priority
This application, which discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior Application No. 16/867707, filed 05/06/2020, appears to claim only subject matter directed to an invention that is independent and distinct from that claimed in the prior application, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a divisional application. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/05/2024 and 04/17/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/10/2023. These drawings are unacceptable as FIG. 3-5 are objected because they are not in compliance with § 1.84 and shows incorrect margins, and FIG. 4 is objected because they are not in compliance with § 1.84 and shows incorrect numbers, letters, and reference characters in height.
1.84 Standards for drawings.
(g) Margins. The sheets must not contain frames around the sight (i.e., the usable surface), but should have scan target points (i.e., cross-hairs) printed on two catercorner margin corners. Each sheet must include a top margin of at least 2.5 cm. (1 inch), a left side margin of at least 2.5 cm. (1 inch), a right side margin of at least 1.5 cm. (5/8 inch), and a bottom margin of at least 1.0 cm. (3/8 inch), thereby leaving a sight no greater than 17.0 cm. by 26.2 cm. on 21.0 cm. by 29.7 cm. (DIN size A4) drawing sheets, and a sight no greater than 17.6 cm. by 24.4 cm. (6 15/16 by 9 5/8 inches) on 21.6 cm. by 27.9 cm. (8 1/2 by 11 inch) drawing sheets.
(p) Numbers, letters, and reference characters.
(3) Numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least .32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height. They should not be placed in the drawing so as to interfere with its comprehension. Therefore, they should not cross or mingle with the lines. They should not be placed upon hatched or shaded surfaces. When necessary, such as indicating a surface or cross section, a reference character may be underlined and a blank space may be left in the hatching or shading where the character occurs so that it appears distinct.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
--“a drive device configured to physically move the autonomous storage unit” in claim 1
“a navigation device configured to transmit and receive geographic data and determine the physical location of the autonomous storage unit” in claim 1
“a control device configured to control the autonomous storage unit and transmit and receive data from physically separate systems” in claim 1
The instant specification provides corresponding structure for “a drive device configured to physically move the autonomous storage unit” [00116-00118], “a navigation device configured to transmit and receive geographic data and determine the physical location of the autonomous storage unit” [00122], and “a control device configured to control the autonomous storage unit and transmit and receive data from physically separate systems” [00116-00118].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-13, 15-18, 20-23, 25-27, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morris (US 20140046585 A1), and further in view of Ruth (US 20190220044 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Morris teaches (New) A system configured for directing and controlling an autonomous inventory management system (Morris, at least one para. 0020; “As mentioned above, route scheduling or route selection for a fleet of vehicles is often performed by considering shortest distance or least amount of transit time. For each vehicle in the fleet, it can be desirable to reduce the travel distance or transit time to increase the number of stops, deliveries, or the like that may be performed in a given time period.”), the system comprising:
an autonomous storage unit, wherein the autonomous storage unit comprises at least:
a drive device configured to physically move the autonomous storage unit, a navigation device configured to transmit and receive geographic data and determine the physical location of the autonomous storage unit,
a control device configured to control the autonomous storage unit and transmit and receive data from physically separate systems, the physically separate systems including at least a central system and one or more transport systems; and
wherein the system comprises one or more hardware processors configured by machine-readable instructions to (Morris, at least one para. 0098; “The various illustrative logical blocks and modules described in connection with the embodiments disclosed herein can be implemented or performed by a machine, such as a general purpose processor, a digital signal processor (DSP), an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a field programmable gate array (FPGA) or other programmable logic device, discrete gate or transistor logic, discrete hardware components, or any combination thereof designed to perform the functions described herein.”):
identify, for the autonomous storage unit, a first scheduled arrival time for arriving at a first arrival location (Morris, at least one para. 0033; “The routing module 200 can select a route that reduces or minimizes the energy use, cost, time, and/or distance traveled by a vehicle.”);
schedule, for the autonomous storage unit, a first route to travel from a starting location to the first arrival location (Morris, at least one para. 0011; “In yet another embodiment of a method for dynamically updating vehicle routes, the method includes receiving information related to an initial route of a vehicle subsequent to the vehicle traveling a portion of the initial route. [0035] The waypoints module 205 can access waypoint data useful for constructing a route. The waypoint data can include a starting location, a target or destination location, intermediate waypoint locations, landmarks, and the like.”) on board the first transport system (Morris, at least one para. 0002; “Route selection or optimization has applications in vehicle routing, printed wire circuit layout, chip design and layout, and biological activities. Trucking and other vehicle fleets, for instance, select vehicle routes to deliver goods to various destinations.”);
determine, during the travel to the first arrival location, whether the autonomous storage unit will arrive at the first arrival location at a later time than the first scheduled arrival time (Morris, at least one para. 0074; “the route calculation module 225 may receive information that there is a massive accident that would delay arrival at the destination by hours following the current route and that a new route would delay arrival by only one hour. If the route threshold is satisfied, the new route can be approved automatically by the route calculation module 225.”), (Morris, at least one para. 0024; “the in-vehicle devices 105 can report information to the vehicle management system 150, such as driver location, speed, energy consumption, and so forth. More generally, the in-vehicle devices 105 can be any navigation device or computing device associated with a vehicle or with a driver.”), and the central system (Morris, at least one para. 0045; “The parameter database 240 can include one or more storage databases or other data repositories. In addition to storing the various road parameters described above, the parameter database can store any data that may be used to determine the costs of routes or portions of routes (e.g., legs).”);
recalculate, for the autonomous storage unit, at least one alternate route, based at least in part on determining that the autonomous storage unit will arrive at the first arrival location at a later time than the first scheduled arrival time (Morris, at least one para. 0074; “the route calculation module 225 may receive information that there is a massive accident that would delay arrival at the destination by hours following the current route and that a new route would delay arrival by only one hour. If the route threshold is satisfied, the new route can be approved automatically by the route calculation module 225.”), and
wherein the at least one alternate route is associated with a second scheduled arrival time that is at or before the first scheduled arrival time (Morris, at least one para. 0074; “the route calculation module 225 may receive information that there is a massive accident that would delay arrival at the destination by hours following the current route and that a new route would delay arrival by only one hour. If the route threshold is satisfied, the new route can be approved automatically by the route calculation module 225.”); and
one of: schedule, for the autonomous storage unit, a first one of the at least one alternate routes to continue travel to the first arrival location on board the first transport system (Morris, at least one para. 0007; “The VMS can also provide data representing the initial vehicle route to a navigation device associated with a vehicle or a driver. In response to receiving new data affecting the initial vehicle route, the VMS can also update the initial vehicle route to account for the new data received after formulation of the initial vehicle route. The VMS can also calculate at least one alternative vehicle route based at least in part on the new data. The VMS can also determine whether a difference between the updated initial vehicle route and the at least one alternative vehicle route meets a route change threshold.”); or schedule, for the autonomous storage unit, a second one of the at least one alternate routes to travel to the first arrival location on board a second transport system (Morris, at least one para. 0010; “The operations can also include calculating the initial vehicle route for a first vehicle and calculating the alternative route for a second vehicle, wherein the first vehicle and the second vehicle are different vehicles.”).
Morris does not explicitly teach that an autonomous storage unit, wherein the autonomous storage unit comprises at least:
a drive device configured to physically move the autonomous storage unit, a navigation device configured to transmit and receive geographic data and determine the physical location of the autonomous storage unit,
a control device configured to control the autonomous storage unit and transmit and receive data from physically separate systems, the physically separate systems including at least a central system and one or more transport systems; and
wherein the determining is based at least in part on data received from one or more of the navigation device.
However, Ruth, in the same field of endeavor (Ruth, at least one para. 0003; “In one embodiment, the disclosure provides a system for package delivery. In some embodiments, the system for package delivery includes a package container, an autonomous delivery platform, a first multi-use vehicle, and a package container reception point.”) teaches an autonomous storage unit, wherein the autonomous storage unit comprises at least (Ruth, at least one para. 0040; “the first multi-use vehicle 106 may transfer or receive package containers 110 from the autonomous delivery platform 102.”):
a drive device configured to physically move the autonomous storage unit (Ruth, at least one para. 0061; “In some embodiments, the first multi-use vehicle 106 includes a fourth energy storage device 160, a controller 162, a vehicular electromechanical interface 164, a first vehicle communication interface 166, an imaging device 168, a navigation system 170, and an electric drivetrain 172, such as wheels driven by one or more electric motors.”), a navigation device configured to transmit and receive geographic data and determine the physical location of the autonomous storage unit (Ruth, at least one para. 0061; “The controller 162 is further coupled to the navigation system 170, such as one or more of a GPS and magnetometer. Accordingly, the first multi-use vehicle 106 may accurately navigate a delivery route.”),
a control device configured to control the autonomous storage unit (Ruth, at least one para. 0061; “Accordingly, steering and velocity of the first multi-use vehicle 106 may be controlled by the controller 162.”) and transmit and receive data from physically separate systems, the physically separate systems including at least a central system (Ruth, at least one para. 0061; “In some embodiments, the controller 162 may further be configured to transmit a distress signal via the first vehicle communication interface 166.”) and (Ruth, at least one para. 0046; In other embodiments, the distress signal may be transmitted to one or more devices, such as a logistics or operations server.”) and one or more transport systems (Ruth, at least one para. 0061; “The controller is also coupled to the first vehicle communication interface 166. Accordingly, the first multi-use vehicle 106 may be configured to wirelessly communicate directly or indirectly with the autonomous delivery platform 102, the package container reception point 108, and the second multi-use vehicle 104, for example, over the wireless network 138.”); and
wherein the determining is based at least in part on data received from one or more of the navigation device (Ruth, at least one para. 0047; “Accordingly, the system 100 may be configured for routing based on environmental data from one or more sensors associated with the components of the system 100, such as the autonomous delivery platform 102 and the first multi-use vehicle 106.”).
Morris and Ruth are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field as controlling inventory management as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified transporting goods of Morris with teaching of Ruth to transport autonomous storage unit. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so that the first multi-use vehicle (autonomous storage unit ) can adapt for real-time adaptive navigation (Ruth; 0006).
Regarding claim 12, Morris teaches (New) The system of claim 11, wherein one of(Morris, at least one para. 0042; “where an alternate route is calculated in real-time that is different from the initial route, the calculated route output module 230 may have a user interface that can show deviations of the alternative route and show how the distance, time, energy usage, and other parameters compare to the initial route.”).
Regarding claim 13, Morris teaches (New) The system of claim 11, wherein, when the autonomous storage unit is scheduled to continue travel to the first arrival location on board the second transport system, the one or more hardware processors are further configured to (Morris, at least one para. 0010; “The operations can also include calculating the initial vehicle route for a first vehicle and calculating the alternative route for a second vehicle, wherein the first vehicle and the second vehicle are different vehicles.”):
direct the autonomous storage unit to disembark the first transport system at a waypoint between the starting location and the first arrival location (Morris, at least one para. 0077; “if a vehicle breakdown occurs that puts a vehicle out of service, two other vehicles in the fleet can be used to meet the delivery obligations of the vehicle that is out of service. An administrator could approve the changes in the routes so that multiple vehicles and resources could be coordinated for the change in routes.”, it is inherent that the transported package has to be unloaded from the first vehicle and loaded into one of the second vehicle once the first vehicle is not able to deliver the package to the first arrival location); and
direct the autonomous storage unit to board the second transport system at the waypoint (Morris, at least one para. 0077; “if a vehicle breakdown occurs that puts a vehicle out of service, two other vehicles in the fleet can be used to meet the delivery obligations of the vehicle that is out of service. An administrator could approve the changes in the routes so that multiple vehicles and resources could be coordinated for the change in routes.”, it is inherent that the transported package has to be unloaded from the first vehicle and loaded into one of the second vehicle once the first vehicle is not able to deliver the package to the first arrival location).
Even though Morris teaches about unloading the transported package from the first vehicle and loading the package into a second vehicle, Morris does not explicitly teach how the package exchange is conducted by the autonomous storage unit.
However, Ruth, in the same field of endeavor (Ruth, at least one para. 0003; “In one embodiment, the disclosure provides a system for package delivery. In some embodiments, the system for package delivery includes a package container, an autonomous delivery platform, a first multi-use vehicle, and a package container reception point.”) teaches how the package exchange is executed by the autonomous storage unit (Ruth, at least one para. 0040; “In some embodiments, the vehicular electromechanical interface is configured for releasably coupling to the package container electromechanical interface 119 of the package container 110. Accordingly, the first multi-use vehicle 106 may transfer or receive package containers 110 from the autonomous delivery platform 102.”).
Morris and Ruth are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field as controlling inventory management as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified manual package transferring of Morris with teaching of Ruth to execute the package transferring via autonomous storage unit. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so that the first multi-use vehicle (autonomous storage unit ) can record a log of the transferring the packages (Ruth; 0013).
Regarding claim 15, Ruth teaches (New) The system of claim 11, wherein the autonomous storage unit further comprises an inventory storage device, and wherein one or more of: the autonomous storage unit is a shelf unit, (Ruth, at least one para. 0040 and FIG. 9 as shown below; “the vehicular electromechanical interface is configured for releasably coupling to the package container electromechanical interface 119 of the package container 110. Accordingly, the first multi-use vehicle 106 may transfer or receive package containers 110 from the autonomous delivery platform 102.”, wherein the FIG. 9 illustrate the autonomous storage unit is a shelf unit).
Regarding claim 16, Morris teaches (New) The system of claim 11, wherein recalculating the at least one alternate route for the autonomous storage unit (Morris, at least one para. 0007; “The VMS can also provide data representing the initial vehicle route to a navigation device associated with a vehicle or a driver. In response to receiving new data affecting the initial vehicle route, the VMS can also update the initial vehicle route to account for the new data received after formulation of the initial vehicle route. The VMS can also calculate at least one alternative vehicle route based at least in part on the new data. The VMS can also determine whether a difference between the updated initial vehicle route and the at least one alternative vehicle route meets a route change threshold.”) is based on a set of priorities set by the central system, and wherein the central system is a central inventory control system (Morris, at least one para. 0069; “The automated or machine-based thresholds can include a set of conditions or rules that can be satisfied before the routing module 110 or 200 will proceed with calculating a new route. In one embodiment, the thresholds are selected by the VMS administrators. In another embodiment the thresholds can be selected by the routing module 110 or 200 programmatically. Any number of thresholds can be implemented. The thresholds may be cost-based, information based, or any other type of threshold.”, wherein the central system manages the inventory of goods, when packages are transported).
Regarding claim 17, Ruth teaches (New) The system of claim 16, wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by machine-readable instructions to:
enable the autonomous storage unit to self-monitor its geo location (Ruth, at least one para. 0061; “Accordingly, steering and velocity of the first multi-use vehicle 106 may be controlled by the controller 162. The controller 162 is further coupled to the navigation system 170, such as one or more of a GPS and magnetometer. Accordingly, the first multi-use vehicle 106 may accurately navigate a delivery route.”);
enable the autonomous storage unit to report its geolocation to the central inventory control system (Ruth, at least one para. 0045; “the second multi-use vehicle 104 may be configured to releasably couple to the first multi-use vehicle 106. For example, in the case that the first multi-use vehicle 106 is impaired, the first multi-use vehicle 106 may transmit a distress signal over a wireless connection, for example, to the autonomous delivery platform 102 or the second multi-use vehicle 104. Responsive to the distress signal, the second multi-use vehicle 104 may approach the first multi-use vehicle 106, couple to the first multi-use vehicle 106, and transport the first multi-use vehicle 106 to safety.”, it is inherent that the location has to be communicated to the central system otherwise the second vehicle is not able to reach the first vehicle); and
enable the autonomous storage unit to receive instructions from the central inventory control system (Ruth, at least one para. 0045; “the second multi-use vehicle 104 may be configured to releasably couple to the first multi-use vehicle 106. For example, in the case that the first multi-use vehicle 106 is impaired, the first multi-use vehicle 106 may transmit a distress signal over a wireless connection, for example, to the autonomous delivery platform 102 or the second multi-use vehicle 104. Responsive to the distress signal, the second multi-use vehicle 104 may approach the first multi-use vehicle 106, couple to the first multi-use vehicle 106, and transport the first multi-use vehicle 106 to safety.”, it is inherent that the instructions are received from the central system in order to tow the first vehicle via the second vehicle).
Regarding claim 18, Morris teaches (New) The system of claim 11, wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by machine-readable instructions to enable the autonomous storage unit to communicate with one or more common freight carriers in order to plan one or more of:
a route from the starting location to the first arrival location (Morris, at least one para. 0011; “In yet another embodiment of a method for dynamically updating vehicle routes, the method includes receiving information related to an initial route of a vehicle subsequent to the vehicle traveling a portion of the initial route. [0035] The waypoints module 205 can access waypoint data useful for constructing a route. The waypoint data can include a starting location, a target or destination location, intermediate waypoint locations, landmarks, and the like.”); and
the at least one alternate route to the first arrival location (Morris, at least one para. 0074; “the route calculation module 225 may receive information that there is a massive accident that would delay arrival at the destination by hours following the current route and that a new route would delay arrival by only one hour. If the route threshold is satisfied, the new route can be approved automatically by the route calculation module 225.”).
Even though Morris teaches about the route to the first arrival location and the alternative route to the first arrival location, Morris does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by machine-readable instructions to enable the autonomous storage unit to communicate with one or more common freight carriers in order to plan one or more of:
However, Ruth, in the same field of endeavor (Ruth, at least one para. 0003; “In one embodiment, the disclosure provides a system for package delivery. In some embodiments, the system for package delivery includes a package container, an autonomous delivery platform, a first multi-use vehicle, and a package container reception point.”) teaches how the package exchange is executed by wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by machine-readable instructions to enable the autonomous storage unit to communicate with one or more common freight carriers in order to plan one or more of (Ruth, at least one para. 0047; “Accordingly, the system 100 may be configured for routing based on environmental data from one or more sensors associated with the components of the system 100, such as the autonomous delivery platform 102 and the first multi-use vehicle 106.”):
Morris and Ruth are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field as controlling inventory management as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the route and alternative route of Morris with teaching of Ruth to combine the communication between the autonomous storage unit and the freight carriers. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so that the first multi-use vehicle (autonomous storage unit ) can adapt for real-time adaptive navigation (Ruth; 0047).
Regarding claim 20, Morris teaches (New) The system of claim 11, wherein at least one of: the autonomous storage unit is assigned a budget in order to complete its assigned task (Morris, at least one para. 0005; “The method can also include comparing the updated route cost to a route cost threshold to determine whether to recalculate a new route in place of at least a portion of the first route. The method can also include calculating a second route in response to the updated route cost meeting the route cost threshold, wherein the second route has a second route cost.”, wherein the cost threshold is the budget); and
Regarding claim 21, Morris teaches (New) A method for directing and controlling an autonomous inventory management system (Morris, at least one para. 0020; “As mentioned above, route scheduling or route selection for a fleet of vehicles is often performed by considering shortest distance or least amount of transit time. For each vehicle in the fleet, it can be desirable to reduce the travel distance or transit time to increase the number of stops, deliveries, or the like that may be performed in a given time period.”), the method comprising:
identifying, for an autonomous storage unit, a first scheduled arrival time for arriving at a first arrival location (Morris, at least one para. 0033; “The routing module 200 can select a route that reduces or minimizes the energy use, cost, time, and/or distance traveled by a vehicle.”);
scheduling, (Morris, at least one para. 0011; “In yet another embodiment of a method for dynamically updating vehicle routes, the method includes receiving information related to an initial route of a vehicle subsequent to the vehicle traveling a portion of the initial route. [0035] The waypoints module 205 can access waypoint data useful for constructing a route. The waypoint data can include a starting location, a target or destination location, intermediate waypoint locations, landmarks, and the like.”) on board a first transport system (Morris, at least one para. 0002; “Route selection or optimization has applications in vehicle routing, printed wire circuit layout, chip design and layout, and biological activities. Trucking and other vehicle fleets, for instance, select vehicle routes to deliver goods to various destinations.”), wherein scheduling the first route is based at least in part on the autonomous storage unit communicating with the first transport system;
determining, during the travel to the first arrival location, whether the autonomous storage unit will arrive at the first arrival location at a later time than the first scheduled arrival time (Morris, at least one para. 0074; “the route calculation module 225 may receive information that there is a massive accident that would delay arrival at the destination by hours following the current route and that a new route would delay arrival by only one hour. If the route threshold is satisfied, the new route can be approved automatically by the route calculation module 225.”)(Morris, at least one para. 0024; “the in-vehicle devices 105 can report information to the vehicle management system 150, such as driver location, speed, energy consumption, and so forth. More generally, the in-vehicle devices 105 can be any navigation device or computing device associated with a vehicle or with a driver.”) and a central system (Morris, at least one para. 0045; “The parameter database 240 can include one or more storage databases or other data repositories. In addition to storing the various road parameters described above, the parameter database can store any data that may be used to determine the costs of routes or portions of routes (e.g., legs).”);
recalculating, for the autonomous storage unit, at least one alternate route, based at least in part on determining that the autonomous storage unit will arrive at the first arrival location at a later time than the first scheduled arrival time, and wherein the at least one alternate route is associated with a second scheduled arrival time that is at or before the first scheduled arrival time (Morris, at least one para. 0074; “the route calculation module 225 may receive information that there is a massive accident that would delay arrival at the destination by hours following the current route and that a new route would delay arrival by only one hour. If the route threshold is satisfied, the new route can be approved automatically by the route calculation module 225.”); and
one of: scheduling, for the autonomous storage unit, a first one of the at least one alternate routes to continue travel to the first arrival location on board the first transport system (Morris, at least one para. 0007; “The VMS can also provide data representing the initial vehicle route to a navigation device associated with a vehicle or a driver. In response to receiving new data affecting the initial vehicle route, the VMS can also update the initial vehicle route to account for the new data received after formulation of the initial vehicle route. The VMS can also calculate at least one alternative vehicle route based at least in part on the new data. The VMS can also determine whether a difference between the updated initial vehicle route and the at least one alternative vehicle route meets a route change threshold.”); or scheduling, for the autonomous storage unit, a second one of the at least one alternate routes to travel to the first arrival location on board a second transport system (Morris, at least one para. 0010; “The operations can also include calculating the initial vehicle route for a first vehicle and calculating the alternative route for a second vehicle, wherein the first vehicle and the second vehicle are different vehicles.”).
Morris does not explicitly teach that an autonomous storage unit
wherein scheduling the first route is based at least in part on the autonomous storage unit communicating with the first transport system;
wherein the determining is based at least in part on the autonomous storage unit self-monitoring its geolocation
However, Ruth, in the same field of endeavor (Ruth, at least one para. 0003; “In one embodiment, the disclosure provides a system for package delivery. In some embodiments, the system for package delivery includes a package container, an autonomous delivery platform, a first multi-use vehicle, and a package container reception point.”) teaches an autonomous storage unit (Ruth, at least one para. 0040; “the first multi-use vehicle 106 may transfer or receive package containers 110 from the autonomous delivery platform 102.”)
wherein scheduling the first route is based at least in part on the autonomous storage unit communicating (Ruth, at least one para. 0061; “In some embodiments, the controller 162 may further be configured to transmit a distress signal via the first vehicle communication interface 166.”) and (Ruth, at least one para. 0046; In other embodiments, the distress signal may be transmitted to one or more devices, such as a logistics or operations server.”) with the first transport system (Ruth, at least one para. 0061; “The controller is also coupled to the first vehicle communication interface 166. Accordingly, the first multi-use vehicle 106 may be configured to wirelessly communicate directly or indirectly with the autonomous delivery platform 102, the package container reception point 108, and the second multi-use vehicle 104, for example, over the wireless network 138.”);
wherein the determining is based at least in part on the autonomous storage unit self-monitoring its geolocation (Ruth, at least one para. 0061; “The controller 162 is further coupled to the navigation system 170, such as one or more of a GPS and magnetometer. Accordingly, the first multi-use vehicle 106 may accurately navigate a delivery route.”).
Morris and Ruth are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field as controlling inventory management as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified transporting goods of Morris with teaching of Ruth to transport autonomous storage unit. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so that the first multi-use vehicle (autonomous storage unit ) can adapt for real-time adaptive navigation (Ruth; 0006).
Regarding claim 22, Morris teaches New) The method of claim 21, wherein one of: (Morris, at least one para. 0042; “where an alternate route is calculated in real-time that is different from the initial route, the calculated route output module 230 may have a user interface that can show deviations of the alternative route and show how the distance, time, energy usage, and other parameters compare to the initial route.”).
Regarding claim 23, Morris teaches (New) The method of claim 21, wherein (Morris, at least one para. 0010; “The operations can also include calculating the initial vehicle route for a first vehicle and calculating the alternative route for a second vehicle, wherein the first vehicle and the second vehicle are different vehicles.”), the method further comprising:
disembarking, by the autonomous storage unit, the first transport system at a waypoint between the starting location and the first arrival location (Morris, at least one para. 0077; “if a vehicle breakdown occurs that puts a vehicle out of service, two other vehicles in the fleet can be used to meet the delivery obligations of the vehicle that is out of service. An administrator could approve the changes in the routes so that multiple vehicles and resources could be coordinated for the change in routes.”, it is inherent that the transported package has to be unloaded from the first vehicle and loaded into one of the second vehicle once the first vehicle is not able to deliver the package to the first arrival location); and
boarding, by the autonomous storage unit, the second transport system at the waypoint (Morris, at least one para. 0077; “if a vehicle breakdown occurs that puts a vehicle out of service, two other vehicles in the fleet can be used to meet the delivery obligations of the vehicle that is out of service. An administrator could approve the changes in the routes so that multiple vehicles and resources could be coordinated for the change in routes.”, it is inherent that the transported package has to be unloaded from the first vehicle and loaded into one of the second vehicle once the first vehicle is not able to deliver the package to the first arrival location).
Even though Morris teaches about unloading the transported package from the first vehicle and loading the package into a second vehicle, Morris does not explicitly teach how the package exchange is conducted by the autonomous storage unit.
However, Ruth, in the same field of endeavor (Ruth, at least one para. 0003; “In one embodiment, the disclosure provides a system for package delivery. In some embodiments, the system for package delivery includes a package container, an autonomous delivery platform, a first multi-use vehicle, and a package container reception point.”) teaches how the package exchange is executed by the autonomous storage unit (Ruth, at least one para. 0040; “In some embodiments, the vehicular electromechanical interface is configured for releasably coupling to the package container electromechanical interface 119 of the package container 110. Accordingly, the first multi-use vehicle 106 may transfer or receive package containers 110 from the autonomous delivery platform 102.”).
Morris and Ruth are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field as controlling inventory management as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified manual package transferring of Morris with teaching of Ruth to execute the package transferring via autonomous storage unit. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so that the first multi-use vehicle (autonomous storage unit ) can record a log of the transferring the packages (Ruth; 0013).
Regarding claim 25, Ruth teaches ((New) The method of claim 21, wherein the autonomous storage unit further comprises an inventory storage device, and wherein one or more of: the autonomous storage unit is a shelf unit, (Ruth, at least one para. 0040 and FIG. 9 as shown below; “the vehicular electromechanical interface is configured for releasably coupling to the package container electromechanical interface 119 of the package container 110. Accordingly, the first multi-use vehicle 106 may transfer or receive package containers 110 from the autonomous delivery platform 102.”, wherein the FIG. 9 illustrate the autonomous storage unit is a shelf unit).
Regarding claim 26, Morris teaches (New) The method of claim 21, wherein one or more of:
recalculating the at least one alternate route for the autonomous storage unit (Morris, at least one para. 0007; “The VMS can also provide data representing the initial vehicle route to a navigation device associated with a vehicle or a driver. In response to receiving new data affecting the initial vehicle route, the VMS can also update the initial vehicle route to account for the new data received after formulation of the initial vehicle route. The VMS can also calculate at least one alternative vehicle route based at least in part on the new data. The VMS can also determine whether a difference between the updated initial vehicle route and the at least one alternative vehicle route meets a route change threshold.”) is based on a set of priorities set by the central system, and wherein the central system is a central inventory control system (Morris, at least one para. 0069; “The automated or machine-based thresholds can include a set of conditions or rules that can be satisfied before the routing module 110 or 200 will proceed with calculating a new route. In one embodiment, the thresholds are selected by the VMS administrators. In another embodiment the thresholds can be selected by the routing module 110 or 200 programmatically. Any number of thresholds can be implemented. The thresholds may be cost-based, information based, or any other type of threshold.”, wherein the central system manages the inventory of goods, when packages are transported);
the autonomous storage unit is assigned a budget in order to complete its assigned task (Morris, at least one para. 0005; “The method can also include comparing the updated route cost to a route cost threshold to determine whether to recalculate a new route in place of at least a portion of the first route. The method can also include calculating a second route in response to the updated route cost meeting the route cost threshold, wherein the second route has a second route cost.”, wherein the cost threshold is the budget).
Regarding claim 27, Ruth teaches (New) The method of claim 21, further comprising:
reporting, by the autonomous storage unit, its geolocation to the central system (Ruth, at least one para. 0061; “Accordingly, steering and velocity of the first multi-use vehicle 106 may be controlled by the controller 162. The controller 162 is further coupled to the navigation system 170, such as one or more of a GPS and magnetometer. Accordingly, the first multi-use vehicle 106 may accurately navigate a delivery route.”) and (Ruth, at least one para. 0045; “the second multi-use vehicle 104 may be configured to releasably couple to the first multi-use vehicle 106. For example, in the case that the first multi-use vehicle 106 is impaired, the first multi-use vehicle 106 may transmit a distress signal over a wireless connection, for example, to the autonomous delivery platform 102 or the second multi-use vehicle 104. Responsive to the distress signal, the second multi-use vehicle 104 may approach the first multi-use vehicle 106, couple to the first multi-use vehicle 106, and transport the first multi-use vehicle 106 to safety.”, it is inherent that the location has to be communicated to the central system otherwise the second vehicle is not able to reach the first vehicle); and
enabling the autonomous storage unit to receive instructions from the central system, based at least in part on the reporting the geolocation (Ruth, at least one para. 0045; “the second multi-use vehicle 104 may be configured to releasably couple to the first multi-use vehicle 106. For example, in the case that the first multi-use vehicle 106 is impaired, the first multi-use vehicle 106 may transmit a distress signal over a wireless connection, for example, to the autonomous delivery platform 102 or the second multi-use vehicle 104. Responsive to the distress signal, the second multi-use vehicle 104 may approach the first multi-use vehicle 106, couple to the first multi-use vehicle 106, and transport the first multi-use vehicle 106 to safety.”, it is inherent that the instructions are received from the central system in order to tow the first vehicle via the second vehicle).
Regarding claim 29, Morris teaches (New) A non-transient computer-readable storage medium having instructions embodied thereon, the instructions being executable by one or more processors to perform (Morris, at least one para. 0098; “The various illustrative logical blocks and modules described in connection with the embodiments disclosed herein can be implemented or performed by a machine, such as a general purpose processor, a digital signal processor (DSP), an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a field programmable gate array (FPGA) or other programmable logic device, discrete gate or transistor logic, discrete hardware components, or any combination thereof designed to perform the functions described herein.”) a method for directing and controlling an autonomous inventory management system (Morris, at least one para. 0020; “As mentioned above, route scheduling or route selection for a fleet of vehicles is often performed by considering shortest distance or least amount of transit time. For each vehicle in the fleet, it can be desirable to reduce the travel distance or transit time to increase the number of stops, deliveries, or the like that may be performed in a given time period.”), the method comprising:
identifying, (Morris, at least one para. 0033; “The routing module 200 can select a route that reduces or minimizes the energy use, cost, time, and/or distance traveled by a vehicle.”);
scheduling, (Morris, at least one para. 0011; “In yet another embodiment of a method for dynamically updating vehicle routes, the method includes receiving information related to an initial route of a vehicle subsequent to the vehicle traveling a portion of the initial route. [0035] The waypoints module 205 can access waypoint data useful for constructing a route. The waypoint data can include a starting location, a target or destination location, intermediate waypoint locations, landmarks, and the like.”) on board a first transport system (Morris, at least one para. 0002; “Route selection or optimization has applications in vehicle routing, printed wire circuit layout, chip design and layout, and biological activities. Trucking and other vehicle fleets, for instance, select vehicle routes to deliver goods to various destinations.”), wherein scheduling the first route is based at least in part on the autonomous storage unit communicating with the first transport system;
determining, during the travel to the first arrival location, whether the autonomous storage unit will arrive at the first arrival location at a later time than the first scheduled arrival time (Morris, at least one para. 0074; “the route calculation module 225 may receive information that there is a massive accident that would delay arrival at the destination by hours following the current route and that a new route would delay arrival by only one hour. If the route threshold is satisfied, the new route can be approved automatically by the route calculation module 225.”), (Morris, at least one para. 0024; “the in-vehicle devices 105 can report information to the vehicle management system 150, such as driver location, speed, energy consumption, and so forth. More generally, the in-vehicle devices 105 can be any navigation device or computing device associated with a vehicle or with a driver.”) and a central system (Morris, at least one para. 0045; “The parameter database 240 can include one or more storage databases or other data repositories. In addition to storing the various road parameters described above, the parameter database can store any data that may be used to determine the costs of routes or portions of routes (e.g., legs).”);
recalculating, for the autonomous storage unit, at least one alternate route, based at least in part on determining that the autonomous storage unit will arrive at the first arrival location at a later time than the first scheduled arrival time, and wherein the at least one alternate route is associated with a second scheduled arrival time that is at or before the first scheduled arrival time (Morris, at least one para. 0074; “the route calculation module 225 may receive information that there is a massive accident that would delay arrival at the destination by hours following the current route and that a new route would delay arrival by only one hour. If the route threshold is satisfied, the new route can be approved automatically by the route calculation module 225.”); and
one of: scheduling, for the autonomous storage unit, a first one of the at least one alternate routes to continue travel to the first arrival location on board the first transport system (Morris, at least one para. 0007; “The VMS can also provide data representing the initial vehicle route to a navigation device associated with a vehicle or a driver. In response to receiving new data affecting the initial vehicle route, the VMS can also update the initial vehicle route to account for the new data received after formulation of the initial vehicle route. The VMS can also calculate at least one alternative vehicle route based at least in part on the new data. The VMS can also determine whether a difference between the updated initial vehicle route and the at least one alternative vehicle route meets a route change threshold.”); or scheduling, for the autonomous storage unit, a second one of the at least one alternate routes to travel to the first arrival location on board a second transport system (Morris, at least one para. 0010; “The operations can also include calculating the initial vehicle route for a first vehicle and calculating the alternative route for a second vehicle, wherein the first vehicle and the second vehicle are different vehicles.”).
Morris does not explicitly teach that an autonomous storage unit
wherein scheduling the first route is based at least in part on the autonomous storage unit communicating with the first transport system;
wherein the determining is based at least in part on the autonomous storage unit self-monitoring its geolocation
However, Ruth, in the same field of endeavor (Ruth, at least one para. 0003; “In one embodiment, the disclosure provides a system for package delivery. In some embodiments, the system for package delivery includes a package container, an autonomous delivery platform, a first multi-use vehicle, and a package container reception point.”) teaches an autonomous storage unit (Ruth, at least one para. 0040; “the first multi-use vehicle 106 may transfer or receive package containers 110 from the autonomous delivery platform 102.”)
wherein scheduling the first route is based at least in part on the autonomous storage unit communicating (Ruth, at least one para. 0061; “In some embodiments, the controller 162 may further be configured to transmit a distress signal via the first vehicle communication interface 166.”) and (Ruth, at least one para. 0046; In other embodiments, the distress signal may be transmitted to one or more devices, such as a logistics or operations server.”) with the first transport system (Ruth, at least one para. 0061; “The controller is also coupled to the first vehicle communication interface 166. Accordingly, the first multi-use vehicle 106 may be configured to wirelessly communicate directly or indirectly with the autonomous delivery platform 102, the package container reception point 108, and the second multi-use vehicle 104, for example, over the wireless network 138.”);
wherein the determining is based at least in part on the autonomous storage unit self-monitoring its geolocation (Ruth, at least one para. 0061; “The controller 162 is further coupled to the navigation system 170, such as one or more of a GPS and magnetometer. Accordingly, the first multi-use vehicle 106 may accurately navigate a delivery route.”).
Morris and Ruth are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field as controlling inventory management as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified transporting goods of Morris with teaching of Ruth to transport autonomous storage unit. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so that the first multi-use vehicle (autonomous storage unit ) can adapt for real-time adaptive navigation (Ruth; 0006).
Regarding claim 30, Ruth teaches ((New) The non-transient computer-readable storage medium of claim 29, wherein the autonomous storage unit further comprises an inventory storage device, and wherein one or more of: the autonomous storage unit is a shelf unit, (Ruth, at least one para. 0040 and FIG. 9 as shown below; “the vehicular electromechanical interface is configured for releasably coupling to the package container electromechanical interface 119 of the package container 110. Accordingly, the first multi-use vehicle 106 may transfer or receive package containers 110 from the autonomous delivery platform 102.”, wherein the FIG. 9 illustrate the autonomous storage unit is a shelf unit).
Claim(s) 14, 19, 24, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morris (US 20140046585 A1) and Ruth (US 20190220044 A1), and further in view of Siegel (US 10514690 B1).
Regarding claim 14, Morris teaches (New) The system of claim 11, wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by machine-readable instructions to (Morris, at least one para. 0098; “The various illustrative logical blocks and modules described in connection with the embodiments disclosed herein can be implemented or performed by a machine, such as a general purpose processor, a digital signal processor (DSP), an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a field programmable gate array (FPGA) or other programmable logic device, discrete gate or transistor logic, discrete hardware components, or any combination thereof designed to perform the functions described herein.”):
determine, while at the first arrival location, a second arrival location for the autonomous storage unit;
direct the autonomous storage unit to move to a boarding position at the first arrival location; and
direct the autonomous storage unit to board a third transport system departing for the second arrival location.
Morris does not explicitly teach determine, while at the first arrival location, a second arrival location for the autonomous storage unit;
direct the autonomous storage unit to move to a boarding position at the first arrival location; and
direct the autonomous storage unit to board a third transport system departing for the second arrival location.
However, Siegel, in the same field of endeavor (Siegel, Col. 1, line 64 - col 2, line 2; “As is set forth in greater detail below, the present disclosure is directed toward the use of two or more autonomous vehicles, working in cooperation, to deliver an item between a source location and a destination location. For example, an autonomous ground based vehicle may transport an item from a source location to a transfer location.”) teaches determine, while at the first arrival location, a second arrival location for the autonomous storage unit (Siegel, Col. 6, lines 40-45; “In this example, the destination location 407 is on a rooftop 413 of an apartment building 408. The navigation path 411 for transport of the item extends to a transfer location 403 that is positioned on a platform 421, extends vertically up from the transition location, and to the destination location 407.”);
direct the autonomous storage unit to move to a boarding position at the first arrival location (Siegel, Col. 6, lines 47-56; “the autonomous ground based vehicle 402, to a second autonomous vehicle for aerial transport along the vertical portion of the navigation path, the autonomous ground based vehicle 402 navigates to the transfer location 403 on the platform 421, and the platform 421, with the autonomous ground based vehicle 402 and the item 410 are aerially transported by autonomous aerial vehicles 404 vertically along the navigation path 411 so that the autonomous ground based vehicle 402 can complete delivery of the item at the destination location 407.”); and
direct the autonomous storage unit to board a third transport system departing for the second arrival location (Siegel, Col. 6, lines 47-56; “the autonomous ground based vehicle 402, to a second autonomous vehicle for aerial transport along the vertical portion of the navigation path, the autonomous ground based vehicle 402 navigates to the transfer location 403 on the platform 421, and the platform 421, with the autonomous ground based vehicle 402 and the item 410 are aerially transported by autonomous aerial vehicles 404 vertically along the navigation path 411 so that the autonomous ground based vehicle 402 can complete delivery of the item at the destination location 407.”).
The combination of Morris, Ruth, and Siegel are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field as controlling inventory management as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the hardware processors of Morris with teaching of Siegel to direct the autonomous storage unit. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so that destination locations that can’t be reached by the autonomous storage unit can be reached through the additional transportation system (aerial vehicle) as shown in FIG. 4.
Regarding claim 19, Morris teaches (New) The system of claim 11, wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured by machine-readable instructions to (Morris, at least one para. 0098; “The various illustrative logical blocks and modules described in connection with the embodiments disclosed herein can be implemented or performed by a machine, such as a general purpose processor, a digital signal processor (DSP), an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a field programmable gate array (FPGA) or other programmable logic device, discrete gate or transistor logic, discrete hardware components, or any combination thereof designed to perform the functions described herein.”):
enable the autonomous storage unit to send one or more messages back to an originating sender and inform the originating sender about a status of a delivery progress, and wherein the central system is assigned to the originating sender; and
enable the originating sender to communicate new instructions to the autonomous storage unit based on the status of the delivery progress.
Morris does not explicitly teach enable the autonomous storage unit to send one or more messages back to an originating sender and inform the originating sender about a status of a delivery progress, and wherein the central system is assigned to the originating sender; and
enable the originating sender to communicate new instructions to the autonomous storage unit based on the status of the delivery progress.
However, Siegel, in the same field of endeavor (Siegel, Col. 1, line 64 - col 2, line 2; “As is set forth in greater detail below, the present disclosure is directed toward the use of two or more autonomous vehicles, working in cooperation, to deliver an item between a source location and a destination location. For example, an autonomous ground based vehicle may transport an item from a source location to a transfer location.”) teaches enable the autonomous storage unit to send one or more messages back to an originating sender (Siegel, Col. 12, lines 20-25; “The control system 860-i may communicate with the marketplace 810, the fulfillment center 830 and/or the customer 840 over the communications network 880, as indicated by line 858-i, through the sending and receiving of digital data.”) and inform the originating sender about a status of a delivery progress, and wherein the central system is assigned to the originating sender (Siegel, Col. 14, lines 40-47; “The navigation module 866-i may include one or more software applications or hardware components including or having access to information or data regarding aspects of a navigation path and/or a navigable path network that includes the navigation paths, including the locations, dimensions, capacities, conditions, statuses or other attributes of the various navigation paths of a navigable path network.”); and
enable the originating sender to communicate new instructions to the autonomous storage unit based on the status of the delivery progress (Siegel, Col. 17, lines 52-58; “The autonomous vehicle monitoring service 890 may also be configured to determine whether a navigation path being traveled by one or more of the autonomous vehicles 850-1, 850-2 . . . 850-n remains optimal or preferred for a given autonomous vehicle, or to communicate instructions for varying the navigation path and/or transferring the item to another autonomous vehicle at the transfer location.”).
The combination of Morris, Ruth, and Siegel are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field as controlling inventory management as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the hardware processors of Morris with teaching of Siegel to communicate with the sender. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so that the optimal path can be utilized to reached the destination.
Regarding claim 24, Morris teaches (New) The method of claim 21, further comprising (Morris, at least one para. 0020; “As mentioned above, route scheduling or route selection for a fleet of vehicles is often performed by considering shortest distance or least amount of transit time. For each vehicle in the fleet, it can be desirable to reduce the travel distance or transit time to increase the number of stops, deliveries, or the like that may be performed in a given time period.”):
determining, while at the first arrival location, a second arrival location for the autonomous storage unit;
directing the autonomous storage unit to move to a boarding position at the first arrival location; and
directing the autonomous storage unit to board a third transport system departing for the second arrival location.
Morris does not explicitly teach determining, while at the first arrival location, a second arrival location for the autonomous storage unit;
directing the autonomous storage unit to move to a boarding position at the first arrival location; and
directing the autonomous storage unit to board a third transport system departing for the second arrival location.
However, Siegel, in the same field of endeavor (Siegel, Col. 1, line 64 - col 2, line 2; “As is set forth in greater detail below, the present disclosure is directed toward the use of two or more autonomous vehicles, working in cooperation, to deliver an item between a source location and a destination location. For example, an autonomous ground based vehicle may transport an item from a source location to a transfer location.”) teaches determining, while at the first arrival location, a second arrival location for the autonomous storage unit (Siegel, Col. 6, lines 40-45; “In this example, the destination location 407 is on a rooftop 413 of an apartment building 408. The navigation path 411 for transport of the item extends to a transfer location 403 that is positioned on a platform 421, extends vertically up from the transition location, and to the destination location 407.”);
directing the autonomous storage unit to move to a boarding position at the first arrival location (Siegel, Col. 6, lines 47-56; “the autonomous ground based vehicle 402, to a second autonomous vehicle for aerial transport along the vertical portion of the navigation path, the autonomous ground based vehicle 402 navigates to the transfer location 403 on the platform 421, and the platform 421, with the autonomous ground based vehicle 402 and the item 410 are aerially transported by autonomous aerial vehicles 404 vertically along the navigation path 411 so that the autonomous ground based vehicle 402 can complete delivery of the item at the destination location 407.”); and
directing the autonomous storage unit to board a third transport system departing for the second arrival location (Siegel, Col. 6, lines 47-56; “the autonomous ground based vehicle 402, to a second autonomous vehicle for aerial transport along the vertical portion of the navigation path, the autonomous ground based vehicle 402 navigates to the transfer location 403 on the platform 421, and the platform 421, with the autonomous ground based vehicle 402 and the item 410 are aerially transported by autonomous aerial vehicles 404 vertically along the navigation path 411 so that the autonomous ground based vehicle 402 can complete delivery of the item at the destination location 407.”).
The combination of Morris, Ruth, and Siegel are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field as controlling inventory management as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the hardware processors of Morris with teaching of Siegel to direct the autonomous storage unit. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so that destination locations that can’t be reached by the autonomous storage unit can be reached through the additional transportation system (aerial vehicle) as shown in FIG. 4.
Regarding claim 28, Morris teaches (New) The method of claim 21, further comprising (Morris, at least one para. 0020; “As mentioned above, route scheduling or route selection for a fleet of vehicles is often performed by considering shortest distance or least amount of transit time. For each vehicle in the fleet, it can be desirable to reduce the travel distance or transit time to increase the number of stops, deliveries, or the like that may be performed in a given time period.”):
sending, by the autonomous storage unit, one or more messages to inform an originating sender about a status of a delivery progress, and wherein the central system is assigned to the originating sender; and
receiving, by the autonomous storage unit, new instructions from the originating sender, where the new instructions are sent wirelessly to the autonomous storage unit, and wherein the new instructions are based at least in part on the status of the delivery progress.
Morris does not explicitly teach sending, by the autonomous storage unit, one or more messages to inform an originating sender about a status of a delivery progress, and wherein the central system is assigned to the originating sender; and
receiving, by the autonomous storage unit, new instructions from the originating sender, where the new instructions are sent wirelessly to the autonomous storage unit, and wherein the new instructions are based at least in part on the status of the delivery progress.
However, Siegel, in the same field of endeavor (Siegel, Col. 1, line 64 - col 2, line 2; “As is set forth in greater detail below, the present disclosure is directed toward the use of two or more autonomous vehicles, working in cooperation, to deliver an item between a source location and a destination location. For example, an autonomous ground based vehicle may transport an item from a source location to a transfer location.”) teaches sending, by the autonomous storage unit, one or more messages to inform an originating sender (Siegel, Col. 12, lines 20-25; “The control system 860-i may communicate with the marketplace 810, the fulfillment center 830 and/or the customer 840 over the communications network 880, as indicated by line 858-i, through the sending and receiving of digital data.”) about a status of a delivery progress, and wherein the central system is assigned to the originating sender (Siegel, Col. 14, lines 40-47; “The navigation module 866-i may include one or more software applications or hardware components including or having access to information or data regarding aspects of a navigation path and/or a navigable path network that includes the navigation paths, including the locations, dimensions, capacities, conditions, statuses or other attributes of the various navigation paths of a navigable path network.”); and
receiving, by the autonomous storage unit, new instructions from the originating sender, where the new instructions are sent wirelessly to the autonomous storage unit, and wherein the new instructions are based at least in part on the status of the delivery progress (Siegel, Col. 17, lines 52-58; “The autonomous vehicle monitoring service 890 may also be configured to determine whether a navigation path being traveled by one or more of the autonomous vehicles 850-1, 850-2 . . . 850-n remains optimal or preferred for a given autonomous vehicle, or to communicate instructions for varying the navigation path and/or transferring the item to another autonomous vehicle at the transfer location.”).
The combination of Morris, Ruth, and Siegel are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field as controlling inventory management as the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the hardware processors of Morris with teaching of Siegel to communicate with the sender. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification so that the optimal path can be utilized to reached the destination.
Conclusion
/U.P.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3665 /CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665