DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because the claim should presumably read: “…associated with a specific [a] performance tier.”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9-14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oki et al. (US 2021/0311760).
With respect to claim 1, Oki discloses: in response to a first instruction from a user, providing a computing infrastructure as a service by creating a flexible cloud namespace in a software-defined data center (SDDC), wherein the flexible cloud namespace comprises a logical construct with a plurality of resources in the SDDC ([0042], “compute, storage, and network” correspond to “plurality of resources”, [0044]); and
in response to a second instruction from the user, deploying virtual computing instances in the flexible cloud namespace such that the virtual computing instances executes in the flexible cloud namespace of the SDDC using the resources that are supported by underlying SDDC management entities ([0044], virtual machines, i.e., VMs correspond to “virtual computing instances”).
With respect to claim 2, Oki discloses: wherein the resources comprise a plurality of compute and storage resources in the SDDC ([0017], [0023)].
With respect to claim 9, Oki discloses: wherein providing the computing infrastructure as the service comprises, based on the first instruction from the user, generating a network configuration for the flexible cloud namespace ([0036]).
With respect to claim 10, Oki discloses: wherein the network configuration for the namespace comprises at least one of a network Classless Inter- Domain Routing (CIDR) configuration, a network segment configuration, a firewall configuration, an elastic IP address (EIP) configuration, a virtual private network (VPN) configuration ([0025]), and a Network Address Translation (NAT) rule.
With respect to claim 11, Oki discloses: wherein in response to the first instruction from the user, providing the computing infrastructure as the service comprises: based on the first instruction from the user, creating a resource pool in a cloud computing environment; based on the first instruction from the user, performing storage setup in the cloud computing environment; and based on the first instruction from the user, performing network configuration setup in the cloud computing environment ([0044]-[0046]).
With respect to claim 12, Oki discloses: in response to a third instruction from a second user, creating a second flexible cloud namespace in the SDDC, wherein the second flexible cloud namespace comprises a second logical construct with a second plurality of resources in the SDDC that are isolated from the resources of the logical construct for the first flexible cloud namespace ([0035], multiple namespaces are created).
With respect to claims 13, 14, 17, and 18, they recite similar limitations as claims 1, 2, 10, and 11, respectively, and are therefore rejected under the same citations and rationale.
With respect to claim 19, it recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is therefore rejected under the same citations and rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-8, 15, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oki et al. (US 2021/0311760) in view of Raduchel (US 2016/0050272).
With respect to claim 3, Oki does not specifically disclose: wherein providing the computing infrastructure as the service comprises, based on the first instruction from the user, creating a plurality of capacity profiles (CPs) to represent compute and storage capacity of the flexible cloud namespace.
However, Raduchel discloses: wherein providing the computing infrastructure as the service comprises, based on the first instruction from the user, creating a plurality of capacity profiles (CPs) to represent compute and storage capacity of the flexible cloud namespace ([0023], [0063]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Raduchel to enable a GUI that allows display and maintenance of profiles with their corresponding storage and compute cycles for migration and resource sharing purposes.
With respect to claim 4, Raduchel discloses: creating the CPs to represent the compute and storage capacity of the flexible cloud namespace comprises: based on the first instruction from the user, creating a compute profile to represent the compute capacity of the flexible cloud namespace; and based on the first instruction from the user, creating a storage profile to represent the storage capacity of the flexible cloud namespace (id.).
With respect to claim 5, Raduchel discloses: wherein the compute profile comprises a configuration of virtual processors and memory ([0023], [0063], [0064], the processor is shared, therefore, it functions as a virtual processor).
With respect to claim 6, Raduchel discloses: wherein the compute profile is one of a general purpose compute profile, a memory-optimized compute profile or a compute-optimized compute profile (id.).
With respect to claim 7, Raduchel discloses: wherein the storage profile comprises a configuration of storage throughput and storage capacity ([0061]).
With respect to claim 8, Raduchel discloses: wherein the storage profile is associated with a specific a performance tier (id.).
With respect to claims 15 and 16, they recite similar limitations as claims 3 and 4, respectively, and are therefore rejected under the same citations and rationale.
With respect to claim 20, it recites similar limitations as claim 3 and is therefore rejected under the same citations and rationale.
Conclusion
/WISSAM RASHID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195