DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communications: Amendment filed on 11/3/2025.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, and 11-14 are pending. Claims 1, 11, and 12 are independent. Claims 4, 7, and 10 are newly canceled. Claims 13-14 are newly added.
The rejection of claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, and 11-12 under 35 USC § 101 has been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
The previous rejection of claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, and 11-12 under 35 USC § 103 have been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Begun et al. (US2021/0081613) in view of Aoki et al. (US2018/0012194) as made of reference in IDS dated 10/10/2023 and Grossman et al. (US2016/0299904 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Begun et al. discloses a meeting information management system, comprising:
one or more processors (Begun et al. fig. 5 514 para[0199]); and
a display device (Begun et al. fig. 5 520 para[0205]), wherein
the one or more processors are configured to:
acquire minutes information of a meeting (Begun et al. para[0014], document types include meeting minutes, fig. 1 S01 para[0047] import user documents), the meeting information comprising a plurality of information,
extract, from a file stored in a storage based on the minutes information, a keyword tag that represents a feature of a piece of information, and assign the keyword tag to the piece of information in plurality of pieces of information (Begun et al. para[0052]-[0055], determines keyword tag (topic label) to associate with piece of information (chunk) of document).
Begun et al. does not explicitly disclose in a case that all pieces of information in the plurality of pieces of information, to which the keyword tag is assigned are associated with each other, cause the plurality of pieces of information, and the keyword tag associated with each of the plurality of pieces of information, to be displayed together in an identifiable manner on the display device.
However Aoki et al. discloses in a case that all pieces of information in the plurality of pieces of information, to which the keyword tag is assigned are associated with each other, cause the plurality of pieces of information, and the keyword tag associated with each of the plurality of pieces of information, to be displayed together in an identifiable manner on the display device (Aoki et al. fig. 11 para[0073], displays piece of minutes information (meeting ID) associated with feature element (image file))
To be displayed in an order according to a date and time of holding the meeting (Aoki et al. fig. 11 para[0073], orders items according to date and time indicated by time stamp of corresponding meeting).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the labels of Begun et al. with the minutes data of Aoki et al. in order to arrange meeting materials according to associated minutes information (Aoki et al. para[0004]).
Begun et al. does not explicitly disclose in a case that a first piece of information and a second piece of information in the plurality of pieces of information are associated with each other, a first keyword tag is assigned to the first piece of information, and a second keyword tag is assigned to the second piece of information:
Cause a first object image icon associated with the first piece of information, and a second object image icon associated with the second piece of information, to be displayed, on the display device,
Cause the first keyword tag associated with the first piece of information to be displayed, on the display device, in association with the first object image icon, and
Cause the first keyword tag and the second keyword tag associated with the second piece of information to be displayed on the display device, in association with the second object image icon.
However Grossman et al. discloses in a case that a first piece of information and a second piece of information in the plurality of pieces of information are associated with each other, a first keyword tag is assigned to the first piece of information, and a second keyword tag is assigned to the second piece of information:
Cause a first object image icon associated with the first piece of information, and a second object image icon associated with the second piece of information, to be displayed, on the display device, (Grossman et al. fig. 11 para[0073], information (snippet) associated with keyword tags (life issue tag) with relevant images associated with pieces of information),
Cause the first keyword tag associated with the first piece of information to be displayed, on the display device, in association with the first object image icon (Grossman et al. fig. 10 para[0063], displays keyword tag 1010, associated with information 1060, and image icon 1090), and
Cause the first keyword tag and the second keyword tag associated with the second piece of information to be displayed on the display device, in association with the second object image icon (Grossman et al. fig. 9 para[0063], displays first keyword tag 920 with other tags in tag hierarchy with associated information and image icons).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before filing date of the invention to have modified the organization method of Grossman et al. with the organization according to a date and time of holding the meeting (Aoki et al. para[0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the labels of Begun et al. with the organization methods of Grossman et al. in order to track and manage to topics of commentaries (Grossman et al. para[0023]).
In regards to claim 2, Begun et al. as modified by Aoki et al. and Grossman et al. discloses the meeting information management system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to compute a degree of importance of each of a plurality of keywords by extracting the plurality of keywords from the minutes information, and determine, as the keyword tag, a keyword having a highest degree of the importance (Begun et al. para[0158], determines importance of terms extracted from document).
In regards to claim 3, Begun et al. as modified by Aoki et al. and Grossman et al. discloses the meeting information management system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine, as the keyword tag, a keyword selected by a user from among a plurality of keywords extracted from the minutes information (Begun et al. para[0191], user can choose keyword tag (label) to be applied to extracted chunk).
In regards to claim 5, Begun et al. as modified by Aoki et al. and Grossman et al. discloses the meeting information management system according to claim 2, wherein, the one or more processors are farther configured to accept a user input assigning different keyword tag \to the first piece and the second piece of information of information (Begun et al. para[0160], assigns similar labels to chunks with similar contexts).
In regards to claim 6, Begun et al. as modified by Aoki et al. and Grossman et al. discloses the meeting information management system according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
compute a degree of similarity for each of the plurality of pieces of information, based on a keyword included in each of the plurality of pieces of information (Begun et al. para[0160], determines cluster level score based on confidence of labels), and
determine that all pieces of information in the plurality of pieces of information are associated with each other in a case that the degree of similarity for each of the plurality of pieces of information is equal to, or more than, a threshold value (Begun et al. para[0160], determines if cluster-level score is high enough for a piece of minutes information (chunk) to be associated with another chunk by assigning them the same label based on how similar the chunks are in terms of content).
Claim 11 recites substantially similar limitations to claim 1. Thus claim 11 is rejected along the same rationale as claim 1.
Claims 12 recites substantially similar limitations to claim 1. Thus claim 12 is rejected along the same rational as claim 1.
In regards to claim 13, Begun et al. as modified by Aoki et al. and Grossman et al. discloses the meeting information management system according to claim 2, wherein
The one or more processors are further configured to cause, in a case that the first image icon is selected, the first piece of information, the first keyword tag, and a predetermined number of the plurality of keywords to be displayed, in a descending order of the degree of importance, on a first setting screen, and cause, in a case that the second object image icon is selected, the second piece of information, the second keyword tag and a second predetermined number of the plurality of keywords to be displayed, in descending order of the degree of importance, on a second setting screen (Grossman et al. fig. 9 para[0056], displays selected tag in context of its tag hierarchy along with related idea).
In regards to claim 14, Begun et al. as modified by Aoki et al. and Grossman et al. discloses the meeting information management system according to claim 13, wherein
The one or more processors are further configured to cause, in the case that the second object image is selected, the first keyword tag and the second keyword tag to be displayed in association with each other in a time series manner on the second setting screen (Grossman et al. para[0057], displays identified tag and the parent tag and at least one associated child tag.).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Begun et al. in view of Aoki et al., Grossman et al. and Novak et al. (US11,494,851).
In regards to claim 8, Begun et al. as modified by Aoki et al. and Grossman et al. discloses the meeting information management system according to claim 7.
Begun et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein in a case that where the first piece of information and the second piece of information are associated with each other, the first piece of information and a third piece of information in the plurality of information are associated with each other, and the second piece of information and the third piece of information are not associated with each other, the one or more processors are further configured to:
cause the first object image icon to be displayed on a first layer, and
cause each of the second object image icon, and a third object image icon associated with the third piece of information to be displayed in parallel on a second layer below the first layer.
However Novak et al. discloses wherein in a case that where the first piece of information and the second piece of information are associated with each other, the first piece of information and a third piece of information in the plurality of information are associated with each other, and the second piece of information and the third piece of information are not associated with each other, the one or more processors are further configured to:
cause the first object image icon to be displayed on a first layer (Novak et al. col10 ln30-54, logical grouping of tags may be expanded into a hierarchy of any depth, whereby each layer in the hierarchy provides meta-data about the layer below), and
cause each of the second object image icon, and a third object image icon associated with the third piece of information to be displayed in parallel on a second layer below the first layer (Novak et al. col11 32-35, tags are displayed as object images (graphical representations)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the labels of Begun et al. with the management system of Novak in order to classify and label topics of collaborative events (Novak et al. col1 ln42-68).
In regards to claim 9, Begun et al. as modified by Aoki et al., Grossman et al. and Novak et al. discloses the meeting information management system according to claim 8, wherein
in a case that the first object image icon is displayed on the first layer, and each of the second object image icon and the third object image icon is displayed on the second layer, and in a case where an operation of moving the third object image to a layer below a layer of the second object image is received from a user, the one or more processors are configured to:
cause the third object image icon to be displayed on a third layer below a layer of the second object image (Novak et al. col10 ln45-56, object labels displayed on separate layers of hierarchy), and
cause the first keyword tag, the second keyword tag, and a third keyword tag associated with the third piece of information to be displayed in association with the third object image icon (Novak et al. fig. 14 col10 ln56 to col11 ln35, each tag type contains a plurality of tags that are logically grouped, all tags are dynamic, in that they can change throughout the lifetime of the system. The associated tags and their portrayal may take any format, including graphical representation. A third object image (graphical representation) may be moved from a second hierarchical layer below a first object , to a third hierarchical layer below a second object).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have combined the labels of Begun et al. with the management system of Novak in order to classify and label topics of collaborative events (Novak et al. col1 ln42-68).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg10, filed 11/03/2025, with respect to claims 1-3, 5-6, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 101 rejection of 8/7/25 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, and 11-12 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2141
/MATTHEW ELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2141