DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-12, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et al. US 2022/0010991 published 13 Jan. 2022 and filed 9 Jul. 2021 (hereafter Yang).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches an air purifier (Fig 2) comprising:
a first body (body comprising 242) including a case (242) having an inlet (212) and an outlet (252), and a fan (232) provided inside the case; and
a second body (body comprising 390) coupled to the first body and having a central region (region generally interior of the edge) and an outer edge (circumferential region) around the central region,
wherein the second body includes:
a lower body (374 and/or 310) coupled to the first body;
a cover (390) provided above the lower body; and
an upper body (320) provided between the lower body and the cover, an upper surface of the upper body being higher at the outer edge (circumferential region) than at the central region (valley of vanes 326).
Regarding claim 2, Yang teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Yang further teaches wherein the upper body includes an upper plate (plate of vane that is inclined from the edge to the central valley) that is inclined downward from the outer edge to the central region.
Regarding claim 3, Yang teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Yang further teaches wherein the upper body includes: an upper body edge (circumferential region of upper body 320) provided at the outer edge of the second body; and an upper body central region (central region comprising the valley of vanes 326) within the upper body edge, and wherein the upper body edge extends higher than the upper body central region (as shown in Fig 3).
Regarding claim 4, Yang teaches an air purifier (Fig 2) comprising:
a first body (body comprising 242) including a case (242) having an inlet (212) and an outlet (252), and a fan (232) provided inside the case; and
a second body (body comprising 390) coupled to the first body and having a central region (region generally interior of the edge) and an outer edge (circumferential region) around the central region,
wherein the second body includes:
a lower body (310) coupled to the first body;
a cover (390) provided above the lower body; and
an upper body (body comprising 320, 370, 350) provided between the lower body and the cover, an upper surface of the upper body being higher at the outer edge (circumferential region) than at the central region (valley of vanes 326);
wherein the cover includes: a rim (circumferential region of cover 390) provided at the outer edge of the second body; and a cover central region within the rim (central region of cover 390 above shaft 342), and wherein the upper body includes: an upper body edge provided radially inside the rim; and an upper body central region located below the cover central region.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Upper body edge)][AltContent: textbox (Upper body central region)]
Regarding claim 5, Yang teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Yang further teaches wherein the cover includes: a cover plate (390) having a disc-shape; and a rim protruding downward from the cover plate, and wherein the upper body includes an upper plate that is provided radially inside the rim and is inclined downward radially inward toward the central region of the second body (as shown in Fig 3).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Rim)]
Regarding claim 7, Yang teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Yang further teaches wherein the upper body includes: an upper plate (labeled below) having a height that is higher at the outer edge than at the central region; and a groove (groove between adjacent vanes) protruding downward from the upper plate and provided at a position between the outer edge and the central region.
[AltContent: textbox (Upper plate)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 8, Yang teaches all the limitations of claim 7. Yang further teaches wherein the upper body includes an upper body central region (valley of vanes) located at the central region of the second body, and wherein the groove at least partially surrounds the upper body central region (as shown in Fig 3).
Regarding claims 7 and 9, Yang teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Yang further teaches wherein the upper body includes: an upper plate (labeled below) having a height that is higher at the outer edge than at the central region; and a groove (groove between adjacent vanes) protruding downward from the upper plate and provided at a position between the outer edge and the central region, wherein the second body includes a block passing through the upper plate at a position between the outer edge and the groove, and wherein the block is selectively coupled to the cover.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Block)][AltContent: textbox (Upper plate)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Groove)][AltContent: textbox (Central region)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Central region)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 10, Yang teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Yang further teaches wherein the cover includes a cover plate (390) spaced above the upper body, and wherein a distance between the upper body and the cover plate increases radially inward toward the central region (as shown below where D2 is greater than D1).
[AltContent: textbox (D2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (D1)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 11, Yang teaches all the limitations of claim 10. Yang further teaches wherein the cover includes a plurality of ribs protruding from the cover plate toward the upper body, and the plurality of ribs are spaced apart from each other between the outer edge and the central region, and wherein the plurality of ribs have respective lengths toward the upper body that increase radially inward toward the central region (as shown below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Ribs)]
Regarding claim 12, Yang teaches all the limitations of claim 10. Yang further teaches wherein the upper body includes: an upper plate spaced provided below the cover plate; and a plurality of upper ribs protruding from the upper plate toward the cover plate, and spaced apart from each other between the outer edge and the central region, and wherein the plurality of upper ribs have respective lengths toward the cover plate that increase radially inward toward the center region (as shown below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Ribs)]
Regarding claim 16, Yang teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Yang further teaches wherein the outlet has a ring shape (as shown in Figs 1-3), and wherein the central region of the second body is located radially inside the outlet (as shown in Fig 3)
Regarding claim 18, Yang teaches an air purifier (Fig 2) comprising:
a first body (body comprising 242) including a case (242) having an inlet (212) and an outlet (252), and a fan (232) provided inside the case; and
a second body (body comprising 390) coupled to the first body and having a central region (region generally interior of the edge) and an outer edge (circumferential region) around the central region,
wherein the second body includes:
a lower body (318) coupled to the first body;
a cover (390) provided above the lower body; and
an upper body (body comprising 372) provided between the lower body and the cover, an upper surface of the upper body being higher at the outer edge (circumferential region) than at the central region (valley of vanes 326)
wherein the upper body includes: an upper plate (plate comprising 372defining the upper surface of the upper body; and
a fastening boss (labelled below) protruding downward from the upper plate and configured to receive a fastener that couples together the upper body and the lower body, and
[AltContent: textbox (Outer edge)]wherein the upper surface of the upper body is higher at the outer edge than at the fastening boss and is higher at the fastening boss than at the central region.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Fastener)][AltContent: textbox (Central region)][AltContent: textbox (Central region)][AltContent: textbox (Boss)][AltContent: textbox (Boss)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 19, Yang teaches an air purifier (Fig 2) comprising:
a first body (body comprising 242) including a case (242) having an inlet (212) and an outlet (252), and a fan (232) provided inside the case; and
a second body (body comprising 312 and 390) having a center (central poriotn near motor 340) and an outer edge (circumferential portion) around the center, wherein the second body includes:
a lower body (312) coupled to the first body and configured to guide air from the outlet (as shown in Fig 3); and
an upper body (324) provided above the lower body, the upper body including an upper plate (324) that is inclined downward in inward direction from the outer edge to center.
Regarding claim 20, Yang teaches an air purifier (Fig 2) comprising:
a first body (body comprising 242) including a case (242) having an inlet (212) and an outlet (252), and a fan (232) provided inside the case; and
a second body (body comprising 390 and 312) configured to guide air from the outlet (as shown in Fig 3 where air is guided by 312), wherein the second body includes:
a lower body (312) coupled to the first body;
a cover (390) defining a flat upper surface of the second body and provided above the lower body; and
an upper body (380) provided between the lower body and the cover,
wherein a distance between the cover and an upper surface of the upper body is greater at a center of the second body than at a perimeter of the second body (as shown in Fig 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, Yang teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Yang further teaches an upper surface of the upper body being higher at the outer edge (circumferential region) than at the central region (valley of vanes 326).
Yang does not teach wherein the upper surface of the upper body is inclined downward toward the central region and has an inclination angle within a range of 0.25 degrees to 0.35 degrees with respect to a horizontal direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the angle of the inclination of the upper surface of Yang (as shown in Fig 3) by incorporating the angle of 0.25 degrees to 0.35 degrees as an obvious change in shape. See MPEP 2144.04 IV B. For instance, a more gentle angle of 0.25-0.35 would decrease the chance of debris getting stuck in the vane valley.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yun et al. WO 2023046031 published 30 Mar. 2023 and filed 22 Sep. 2021 as translated by EPO (hereafter Yun).
Regarding claim 17, Yang teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Yang does not teach wherein the outer edge of the second body is located further outward than an outer circumferential surface of the case in a radial direction of the first body.
Yun teaches wherein the outer edge of the second body (120) is located further outward than an outer circumferential surface of the case (1168) in a radial direction of the first body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the out edge of the second body of Yang by incorporating the outer edge of the second body located further outward than an outer circumferential surface of the case in a radial direction of the first body of Yun as a matter of obvious design choice for change in shape (MPEP 2144.04 IV B) and in order to prevent the air flow from going upwards and instead directed sideways.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 13, the closest prior art is Yang US 2022/0010991 which teaches an air purifier comprising a first body and a second body coupled to the first body wherein the second body includes a lower body, a cover, and an upper body. Yang does not teach a display configured to emit light outside of the second body, wherein the display includes: a substrate provided below the upper body; and a light source electrically connected to the substrate, wherein the upper body includes an upper plate spaced apart from and provided above the substrate, and wherein a distance between the upper plate and the substrate decreases radially inward toward the central region. The modification would not have been obvious because the prior art does not teach the second body with the display as claimed.
Claim 14-15 depend upon claim 13.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN HOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1776