DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to foreign application KR10-2022-0129790 filed on 10/11/2022 and KR10-2023-0117217. The foreign applications are not in English. The certified copy of the foreign priority applications KR10-2022-0129790 and KR10-2023-0117217 have been received.
Filing Dates for the Claims — All Claims Not Entitled to Priority Date
To be entitled to the filing date of the foreign priority application KR10-2022-0129790 that is not in English, an English translation of the non-English language foreign application KR10-2022-0129790 and a statement that the translation is accurate in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55 is required to perfect the claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
To be entitled to the filing date of the foreign priority application KR10-2023-0117217 that is not in English, an English translation of the non-English language foreign application KR10-2023-0117217 and a statement that the translation is accurate in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55 is required to perfect the claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
The foreign applications must adequately support the claimed subject matter, meaning satisfy the written description and enablement requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a). See MPEP §§ 215 and 216. 37 C.F.R. 1.55(g)(3)(ii)-(iii). To demonstrate compliance with 35 U.S.C. 112(a), applicant should point to support for their claimed subject matter in their translations.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment dated 07/01/2026, in which claims 1-2, 7, 9, 10, 16, 18, 20 were amended, claims 8, 11-15 were cancelled, claims 21-25 were withdrawn, has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 recites “the silicon atom of XmSi(NR1R2)n or (XaR3)mSi(NR1R2)n”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purpose of this Action, the above limitation will be interpreted and examined as --a silicon atom of XmSi(NR1R2)n or (XaR3)mSi(NR1R2)n--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to contain a reference to a claim previously set forth. Claims 7 and 10 depend on claim 16 which is presented after claims 7 and 10. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US Pub. 20170148640) in view of Nakatani (US Pub. 20240105443) and Borovik et al. (US Pub. 20020180028).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 2, Fig. 3A, Fig. 3C, Fig. 3D, a selective thin film formation method, comprising:
forming a structure [315 and 305] on a substrate [301] in which a first material film [305] including silicon atoms and oxygen atoms [silicon oxide] and a second material film [315] different from the first material film [305] are exposed;
selectively forming an inhibitor liner [310] only on an exposed surface of the first material film [305] among the first material film [305] and the second material film [315] by applying a compound [alkylsilane] to the structure [315 and 305][paragraph [0025], [0027], [0041], [0043]-[0044], [0047]]; and
selectively forming a third material film [additional material/320] only on an exposed surface of the second material film [315] among the first material film [305] and the second material film [315][paragraph [0037],[0051]];
removing the inhibitor liner [SAM] from the first material film [exposed silicon oxide portion] after forming the third material film [additional layer][Fig. 2, paragraph [0038]];
wherein the forming of the third material film [additional material] is performed at a process temperature having a value in a range of 400°C to 800°C [less than 500°C][paragraph [0047], “a temperature of the patterned substrate is less than 400° C., less than 450° C. or less than 500° C. during each of the operation of forming the self-assembled monolayer and selectively depositing additional material onto the exposed silicon nitride portion according to embodiments”].
Wang et al. fails to disclose
the compound represented by XmSi(NR1R2)n or (XaR3)mSi(NR1R2)n,
wherein: X is a halogen atom, R2, and R3 are each independently an alkyl group, an alkenyl group, an allyl group, or a heterocyclic group, a, m, and n are each independently an integer of 1 to 3, and m+n=4.
Nakatani discloses in paragraph [0115], [0281], [0283], [0284]-[0296]
forming the inhibitor liner using an aminosilane compound containing a structure in which amino groups are directly bonded to silicon (Si), and/or an aminosilane compound containing a fluorosilyl group.
Nakatani further discloses in Fig. 4C, paragraph [0117]-[0147]
wherein the forming of the third material [first film] is performed at a process temperature in a range of about 400 °C to about 800 °C [400 to 550 degrees C].
Borovik et al. discloses in paragraph [0034], [0036]-[0038]
an aminosilane compound represented by XmSi(NR1R2)n [R3xSiAy(NR1R2)4-x-y; when x = 0 ] or (XaR3)mSi(NR1R2)n [R3xSiAy(NR1R2)4-x-y; when x = 1, y=1]
wherein: X is a halogen atom, R2, and R3 are each independently an alkyl group, an alkenyl group, an allyl group, or a heterocyclic group, a, m, and n are each independently an integer of 1 to 3, and m+n=4
It would have been obvious to select aminosilane compound disclosed by Borovik et al. based on its suitability for use as the aminosilane compound in the method of Nakatani. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Nakatani and Borovik et al. into the method of Wang et al. to include the compound represented by XmSi(NR1R2)n or (XaR3)mSi(NR1R2)n, wherein: X is a halogen atom, R2, and R3 are each independently an alkyl group, an alkenyl group, an allyl group, or a heterocyclic group, a, m, and n are each independently an integer of 1 to 3, and m+n=4. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable alternative method for forming inhibitor layer, providing a novel aminosilane compound containing a fluorosilyl group to form an inhibitor layer containing fluorosilyl terminations to prevent adsorption of the precursor (film-forming agent) on the first surface in the film-forming step, and to inhibit (suppress) the progress of the film-forming reaction on the first surface [paragraph [0034], [0037] of Borovik et al., Paragraph [0283]-[0284], [0296] of Nakatani].
Regarding claim 2, Wang et al. discloses in paragraph [0006], [0025], [0041]-[0042]
wherein: before the forming of the inhibitor liner [SAM], a hydroxyl group [OH group] is distributed on the exposed surface of the first material film [silicon oxide], and a hydroxyl group [OH group] is not distributed on an exposed surface of the second material film [silicon nitride][“ Hydroxyl groups on the surface are thought to promote the chemical reaction between the deposition precursor and the exposed silicon oxide portion”; “exposed silicon nitride are not chemically modified by the same chemical preparation which affects the silicon oxide and therefore may not develop hydroxyl termination and may not subsequently react with the deposition precursor in embodiments.”]
Nakatani discloses in paragraph [0087], [0108], [0110]
wherein: before the forming of the inhibitor liner [inhibitor layer], a hydroxyl group [OH group] is distributed on the exposed surface of the first material film [first base//silicon oxide film], and a hydroxyl group [OH group] is not distributed on an exposed surface of the second material film [“the first surface is OH-terminated over the entire region, whereas many regions on the second surface are not OH-terminated.”].
Regarding claims 3-5, Wang et al. discloses applying a silane compound to a hydroxyl group [OH group] distributed on the exposed surface of the first material film [exposed silicon oxide] while the second surface [exposed silicon nitride] is not OH-terminated. Nakatani discloses the silane compound is an aminosilane compound and applying aminosilane compound to a hydroxyl group [OH group] distributed on the exposed surface of the first material film while the second surface is not OH-terminated. Borovik et al. discloses the aminosilane compound represented by XmSi(NR1R2)n or (XaR3)mSi(NR1R2)n. Thus, the combination of Nakatani, Wang et al. and Borovik et al. discloses the claimed process using the claimed compound on the claimed hydroxyl group. Thus, similar to the claimed process, the combination of Nakatani, Wang et al. and Borovik et al. would result to the limitation of claims 3-5 in which “an unshared electron pair of the hydroxyl group reacts with the silicon atom of XmSi(NR1R2)n or (XaR3)mSi(NR1R2)n to leave an amine group from XmSi(NR1R2)n or (XaR3)mSi(NR1R2)n”; “wherein the inhibitor liner is formed by combining XmSi(NR1R2)n or (XaR3)mSi(NR1R2)n from which the amine group is separated and the hydroxyl group from which the unshared electron pair is separated”; “wherein a functional group including an unshared electron pair is not present on the exposed surface of the second material film.”
Regarding claim 6, Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 2, Fig. 3A, paragraph [0051]
wherein the second material film [315] includes single crystal silicon, polysilicon, a silicon nitride, a metal, or a metal oxide [silicon nitride].
Nakatani discloses in paragraph [0298] wherein the second material film [second base] includes single crystal silicon, polysilicon, a silicon nitride, a metal, or a metal oxide.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Nakatani, Wang et al. and Borovik et al. disclosed the claimed process temperature and the claimed compound XmSi(NR1R2)n or (XaR3)mSi(NR1R2)n. Thus, the process temperature disclosed by Nakatani and Wang et al. would have a property of “thermal energy provided in the process temperature is less than a bonding energy between the silicon atom and the halogen atom in XmSi(NR1R2)n or (XaR3)mSi(NR1R2)n”.
Claims 7, 10, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US Pub. 20170148640) in view of Nakatani (US Pub. 20240105443), Borovik et al. (US Pub. 20020180028) and Brick (US Pub. 20230343581).
Regarding claims 16 and 18, Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 2, Fig. 3A, Fig. 3C, Fig. 3D, a selective thin film formation method, comprising:
forming a structure [315 and 305] on a substrate [301] in which a first material film [305] including silicon atoms and oxygen atoms [silicon oxide] and a second material film [315] different from the first material film [305] are exposed;
selectively forming an inhibitor liner [310] only on an exposed surface of the first material film [305] among the first material film [305] and the second material film [315] by applying a compound [alkylsilane] to the structure [315 and 305][paragraph [0025], [0027], [0041], [0043]-[0044], [0047]]; and
selectively forming a third material film [additional material/320] only on an exposed surface of the second material film [315] among the first material film [305] and the second material film [315][paragraph [0037],[0051]];
removing the inhibitor liner [SAM] from the first material film [exposed silicon oxide portion][Fig. 2, paragraph [0038]].
Wang et al. fails to disclose
the compound represented by XmSi(NR1R2)n or (XaR3)mSi(NR1R2)n,
wherein: X is a halogen atom, R2, and R3 are each independently an alkyl group, an alkenyl group, an allyl group, or a heterocyclic group, a, m, and n are each independently an integer of 1 to 3, and m+n=4;
wherein XmSi(NR1R2)n or (XaR3)mSi(NR1R2)n includes a haloaminosilane or an alkylaminosilane.
Nakatani discloses in paragraph [0115], [0281], [0283], [0284]-[0296]
forming the inhibitor liner using an aminosilane/alkylaminosilane compound containing a structure in which amino groups are directly bonded to silicon (Si), and/or an aminosilane/ alkylaminosilane compound containing a fluorosilyl group.
Nakatani further discloses in Fig. 4C, paragraph [0117]-[0147]
wherein the forming of the third material [first film] is performed at a process temperature in a range of about 400 °C to about 800 °C [400 to 550 degrees C].
Borovik et al. discloses in paragraph [0034], [0036]-[0038]
an aminosilane compound represented by XmSi(NR1R2)n [R3xSiAy(NR1R2)4-x-y; when x = 0 ] or (XaR3)mSi(NR1R2)n [R3xSiAy(NR1R2)4-x-y; when x = 1, y=1];
wherein: X is a halogen atom, R2, and R3 are each independently an alkyl group, an alkenyl group, an allyl group, or a heterocyclic group, a, m, and n are each independently an integer of 1 to 3, and m+n=4;
wherein XmSi(NR1R2)n or (XaR3)mSi(NR1R2)n includes a haloaminosilane or an alkylaminosilane.
It would have been obvious to select aminosilane compound disclosed by Borovik et al. based on its suitability for use as the aminosilane compound in the method of Nakatani. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Nakatani and Borovik et al. into the method of Wang et al. to include the compound represented by XmSi(NR1R2)n or (XaR3)mSi(NR1R2)n, wherein: X is a halogen atom, R2, and R3 are each independently an alkyl group, an alkenyl group, an allyl group, or a heterocyclic group, a, m, and n are each independently an integer of 1 to 3, and m+n=4; wherein XmSi(NR1R2)n or (XaR3)mSi(NR1R2)n includes a haloaminosilane or an alkylaminosilane. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable alternative method for forming inhibitor layer, providing a novel aminosilane compound containing a fluorosilyl group to form an inhibitor layer containing fluorosilyl terminations to prevent adsorption of the precursor (film-forming agent) on the first surface in the film-forming step, and to inhibit (suppress) the progress of the film-forming reaction on the first surface [paragraph [0034], [0037] of Borovik et al., Paragraph [0283]-[0284], [0296] of Nakatani].
Wang et al. fails to disclose
removing the inhibitor liner from the first material film by wet etching or dry etching.
Nakatani discloses in paragraph [0239]
removing the inhibitor liner from the first material film by wet etching or dry etching [heat treatment is a dry process].
Brick discloses in paragraph [0029]
removing the inhibitor liner from the first material film by wet etching or dry etching.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Nakatani and Brick into the method of Wang et al. to include removing the inhibitor liner from the first material film by wet etching or dry etching. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable method for removing the inhibitor liner [paragraph [0029] of Brick].
Regarding claim 7, Wang et al. fails to disclose
wherein the third material film includes a material including same atoms as the second material film.
Wang et al. discloses the second material film is silicon nitride.
Nakatani discloses in paragraph [0148], [0298]
wherein the third material film [First Film] includes a material [a SiN film] including same atoms [silicon and nitrogen] as the second material film [second base/ SiN film].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Nakatani into the method of Wang et al. to include wherein the third material film includes a same type of material including substantially same atoms as the second material film. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable material of the third material film formed on exposed SiN surface.
Regarding claim 10, Nakatani discloses in paragraph [0283] that the aminosilane compound contains a fluorosilyl group. Borovik et al. discloses in paragraph [0034], [0036]-[0038] an aminosilane compound containing halogen which includes fluorine, chlorine, iodine and bromine. Therefore, the combination of Nakatani and Borovik et al. suggest wherein X is fluorine.
Regarding claim 17, Wang et al. discloses wherein forming the inhibitor liner includes:
distributing a hydroxyl group on the exposed surface of the first material film and
applying a silane compound to the hydroxyl group [OH group]
Nakatani discloses
the silane compound is an aminosilane compound;
wherein forming the inhibitor liner includes:
distributing a hydroxyl group on the exposed surface of the first material film and
applying an aminosilane compound to the hydroxyl group [OH group].
Borovik et al. discloses the aminosilane compound represented by XmSi(NR1R2)n or (XaR3)mSi(NR1R2)n.
Thus, the combination of Nakatani, Wang et al. and Borovik et al. discloses the claimed process using the claimed compound on the claimed hydroxyl group. Thus, similar to the claimed process, the combination of Nakatani, Wang et al. and Borovik et al. would result to the limitation of claim 17 in which “leaving an amine group from XmSi(NR1R2)n or (XaR3)mSi(NR1R2)n by reacting an unshared electron pair of the hydroxy group with a silicon atom of XmSi(NR1R2)n or (XaR3)mSi(NR1R2)n, and bonding XmSi(NR1R2)n or (XaR3)mSi(NR1R2)n from which the amine group has been separated and the hydroxyl group from which the unshared electron pair is separated.”
Regarding claim 19, Wang et al. discloses in paragraph [0006], [0025], [0041]-[0042]
wherein: the second material film includes single crystal silicon, polysilicon, silicon nitride, silicon oxycarbide, silicon oxynitride, or silicon oxyboride, and a hydroxyl group [OH group] is not distributed on an exposed surface of the second material film [silicon nitride][“exposed silicon nitride are not chemically modified by the same chemical preparation which affects the silicon oxide and therefore may not develop hydroxyl termination and may not subsequently react with the deposition precursor in embodiments.”]
Nakatani discloses in paragraph [0062], [0083], [0087], [0108], [0110], [0298]
wherein: the second material film [second base includes single crystal silicon, polysilicon, silicon nitride, silicon oxycarbide, silicon oxynitride, or silicon oxyboride, and
a hydroxyl group [OH group] is not distributed on an exposed surface of the second material film [“the first surface is OH-terminated over the entire region, whereas many regions on the second surface are not OH-terminated.”].
Regarding claim 20, Wang et al. discloses in paragraph [0047]
wherein the third material film [additional material] is performed at a process temperature having a value in a range of 400°C to 800°C [less than 500°C][“a temperature of the patterned substrate is less than 400° C., less than 450° C. or less than 500° C. during each of the operation of forming the self-assembled monolayer and selectively depositing additional material onto the exposed silicon nitride portion according to embodiments”].
Wang et al. fails to disclose
wherein the third material film includes a silicon nitride, polysilicon, a metal, or a metal oxide.
Nakatani discloses in paragraph [0148], [0298]
wherein the third material film includes a silicon nitride, polysilicon, a metal, or a metal oxide.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Nakatani into the method of Wang et al. to include wherein the third material film includes a silicon nitride, polysilicon, a metal, or a metal oxide. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable material of the third material film formed on exposed SiN surface.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7, 9-10, 16-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Overall, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The claims stand rejected and the Action is made FINAL.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SOPHIA T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893