DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to response filed on 7/1/2026. This action is Non-Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 1 recites, “establishing one or more logical links between the one or more applications…generating a logical map…” and “computing an impact score for each of the one or more applications”. The limitations of “establishing”, “generating” and “computing” as drafted are functions that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of a mental process. The limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the function through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, this limitation recites and falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas under Prong 1.
Under Prong 2, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites the following additional elements “continuously receiving application data”, “receiving one or more artifacts”, “present a consolidated view… in a dashboard display...” and “automatically transmitting…a notification to one or more users…”. The additional elements of “continuously receiving”, “receiving one or more artifacts” and “automatically transmitting” are insignificant pre and post solution activity. The additional element “present a consolidated view… in a dashboard display…”, is recited at a high level of generality and thus is an insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Further, the limitation “a processing device” is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer, and/or mere computer components, MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is therefore directed to the judicial exception
Under Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “A processing device” amounts to no more than mere instructions, or generic computer/computer components to carry out the exception, the limitation of “present a consolidated view… in a dashboard display…” is identified as well-understood, routine, conventional activity (2106.05(d)) and the limitations of “continuously receiving” and “receiving”, the courts have identified mere data gathering is also well-understood, routine and conventional activity. Se MPEP 2106.05(d) and MPEP 2106.05(f). Regarding the limitation “…transmitting…a notification to one or more users…”, receiving or transmitting data over a network is well-understood, routine and conventional (2106.05(d), II). The recitation of generic computer instruction and computer components to apply the judicial exception, and the well-understood, routine, conventional activities do not amount to significantly more, thus, cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, claim 1 is not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Claims 2-3, further defines “application data” and a backend server. The additional elements are neither a practical application under prong 2, nor an inventive concept under step 2B as they amount to mere instructions to apply.
Claims 4-6, further defines “impact score”. The additional elements are neither a practical application under prong 2, nor an inventive concept under step 2B as they amount to mere instructions to apply.
Claim 7, further defines the presenting step. The additional elements are neither a practical application under prong 2, nor an inventive concept under step 2B as they amount to insignificant extra-solution activity.
Claims 8-20, contain similar limitations to claims 1-7 and are therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Bendert et al. (US 2024/0338184 A1) and further in view of Koenig et al. (US 8,819,617 B1) and Goyal et al. (US 10,423,410 B1).
As per claim 1 (Amended), Bendert et al. teaches the invention as claimed including, “A system for automated computer software release validation and management, the system comprising:
a processing device;
a non-transitory storage device containing instructions when executed by the processing device, causes the processing device to perform the steps of:
continuously receiving application data associated with one or more applications in a network environment;
establishing one or more logical links between the one or more applications based on the application data, wherein the one or more logical links comprise dependencies of the one or more applications and wherein establishing on or more logical links further comprises generating a logical map illustrating dependent connections across the one or more applications;”
Bendert et al. teaches the use of dependency identification components to identify dependencies of a software component (0013). Software components may have one or more dependencies such as different API’s, other software components that the software component communicates with or utilizes, and the like. Dependency management service may identify and track dependencies to the one or more software components (0021). A GUI may provide a dependency tree (generated logical map) that shows not only direct dependencies but indirect dependencies (0017). A dependency tracker receives status information (0032). Also see 0022.
“receiving one or more artifacts submitted by a user through a dashboard display on a user device, the one or more artifacts associated with a software release, wherein each artifact of the artifact one or more artifacts is associated with one or more checkpoints for validating the software release received from a user device service as proof of and servers as confirmation that the one or more checkpoints have been completed, wherein the one or more checkpoints comprise formatting standards and code review;
computing an impact score for each of the one or more applications based on the one or more artifacts and the one or more logical links between the one or more applications; and”
Bendert et al. teaches the dependency tracking system creates one or more heath indicators for each dependency based upon the dependency status information. A health indicator may be determined based on one or more specified rules. An unhealthy or intermediate indicatory may be assigned when one or both of the dependency of the software components is not up-to-date or had vulnerabilities. Multiple health indicators may be combined to produce an overall dependency health indicator for the software component. Indicator may be displayed (0016). The system may provide a dependency score that determines how dependent one software component is to another (0018). The system may determine when a new version of an object is released or predicted to be released and may notify administrators of other software components that depend on the software component with the new version (0022). Dependency status and recommendation component may calculate one or more status indicators for one or more of the dependencies identified by the dependency determiner component based upon the status information retrieved by the dependency tracker component. Status indicators may be a score, based on a specified formula that considers factors. The status may include a test status of a current version (code review) of the dependency. Status indicators are a score, points may be assigned based upon whether the dependency is up-to-date, has no known vulnerabilities, or the like. For example, if the software component has incorporated and/or tested version 1.6 of a dependency, but version 2.1 is the latest version, fewer points may be given to the software component than if it had incorporated and/or tested version 1.9 of the dependency status indicator may be converted to a percentage of total points possible (0032). Status indicators of all dependencies of a given software component may be aggregated to form a score for the entire software component (0033). Status score of an entire software component may be created by weighted combination of each of the scores of each dependency. A user interface may show the scores for a plurality of software components (0042).
Bendert et al. does not explicitly appear to teach, “receiving one or more artifacts submitted by a user through a dashboard display on a user device, the one or more artifacts associated with a software release… and server as confirmation that the one or more checkpoints have been completed, wherein the one or more checkpoints comprises, formatting standards and code review;”
Koenig et al. teaches a GUI with sticky notes which can be moved. A summary page or metric page determines which tasks or sticky notes have been completed, and a story within that release. The metrics may be represented in a pie chart (column 15, lines 15-55). The user can change data regarding the projects, releases, stories, tests or other software tracing information. A user can use the sticky note dashboard and move stickies from one release to another, one iteration to another or change the properties of a sticky note to reflect the work being done or the completion of the task that the sticky note represents (column 14,lines 15-25). A single story can comprise multiple tasks that require several different test to thoroughly test capabilities and quality to find any defects (column 16, lines 1-6).
Goyal et al. teaches source code can be tested against a model to reveal whether the source code conforms to formats of authoritative source code (column 3, lines 3-8). If source code complies with the formats exhibited by the authoritative source code, the source code repository server stores the source code to the source code repository. Figure 2 illustrates an example of source code that is compliant with a set of coding rules (column, lines 53-58).
IT would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Bendert et al. with Koenig et al. and Goyal et al. Bendert et al. teaches determining a status indicator/score for software components. The calculation of the score may include a test status of the current version and based on known vulnerabilities. Koenig et al. teaches a sticky note dashboard that allows a user to change the properties of a sticky note to reflect the completion of the task that the stick notes represent. This includes the performance of a test. The test includes test to thoroughly test capabilities and qualities to find any defects. Koenig et al. further teaches a display that represents completed tasks in a pie chart. This will allow Bendert et al. to receive information regarding completed tests which could equate to the test status of the current version of Bendert et al. and thus improve Bendert et. allowing the system to receive completion data in order to determine the status score of components. Goyal et al. teaches a check to see if source code conforms to a format. There are many factors one can check/test in order to determine the health/conformance of a program. Checking that the source code conforms to a format is nothing more than a design choice and would have been obvious to one to add it as one of the rules/tests to be performed by Bendert et al. to determine the health of a program.
“based on the impact score for each of the one or more applications, present a consolidated view of a status of the software release in a dashboard display on the user device, the status comprising a progress of each of the one or more checkpoints for validating the software release an indication that the one or more checkpoints has been completed, in in progress, or has not been completed; and
automatically transmitting, based on the status of the software release, a notification to one or more users associated with the one or more checkpoints, the notification comprising prompts.”
Bendert et al. teaches the dependency tracking system may provide various advanced visualizations in one or more GUIs (dashboard) including a visualization of current dependencies or a particular software component, visualization of past dependencies, visualization of dependency histories, a visualization of number of dependencies, a health of dependencies (status), and the like (0017). The GUI provides a visualization of dependencies and their statuses (progress) among other information (0012). Also see 0015, 0032-0033 and figure 3. A user interface showing scores of a plurality of software components may be provided to a manager or other users. The system may determine when a new version of an object is released or predicted to be released and may notify administrators of other software components that depend on the software component with the new version (0022).
Koenig et al. teaches a GUI with sticky notes which can be moved. A summary page or metric page determines which tasks or sticky notes have been completed, and a story within that release. The metrics may be represented in a pie chart (column 15, lines 15-55). The user can change data regarding the projects, releases, stories, tests or other software tracing information. A user can be in a sticky note dashboard and move stickies from one release to another, one iteration to another or change the properties of a sticky note to reflect the work being done or the completion of the task that the sticky note represents (column 14, lines 15-25). A single story can comprise multiple tasks that require several different test to thoroughly test capabilities and quality to find any defects (column 16, lines 1-6).
As per claim 2, Bendert et al. further teaches, “The system of claim 1, wherein the application data comprises information regarding the dependencies of the one or more applications a computing resource in the network environment, wherein the computing resource is a target of the software release.”
The system may calculate a dependency complexity resource utilization score. This score predicts server workload based upon the software components dependencies and what other software components depend on that software component. For example, if a second software component depends on a first software component and is set to go live, the system may recommend increasing an amount of hardware resources dedicated to the software component (0041). Software components may have one or more dependencies such as different API’s, other software components that the software component communicates with or utilizes, and the like. Dependency management service may identify and track dependencies to the one or more software components (0020-0021).
As per claim 3, Bendert et al. further teaches, “The system of claim 2, wherein the computing resource is a backend server comprising data used by one or more functions of the one or more applications.”
The system may calculate a dependency complexity resource utilization score. This score predicts server workload based upon the software components dependencies and what other software components depend on that software component. For example, if a second software component depends on a first software component and is set to go live, the system may recommend increasing an amount of hardware resources dedicated to the software component (0041). Software components may have one or more dependencies such as different API’s, other software components (backend server) that the software component communicates with or utilizes, and the like. Dependency management service may identify and track dependencies to the one or more software components (0021-0023).
As per claim 4, Bendert et al. further teaches, “ The system of claim 3, wherein the impact score indicates a degree of dependency of an application on the computing resource.
The system may provide a dependency score that determines how dependent one software component is to another (0018).
As per claim 5, Bendert et al. further teaches, “The system of claim 1, wherein the impact score is a composite score comprising one or more subscores, wherein each of the one or more subscores indicate a degree of impact along a specified dimension.
The dependency tracking system creates one or more heath indicators for each dependency based upon the dependency status. An unhealthy or intermediate indicatory may be assigned when one or both of the dependency of the software components is not up-to-date or had vulnerabilities. Multiple health indicators may be combined to produce an overall dependency health indicator for the software component. Indicator may be displayed (0016). The system may calculate a dependency complexity resource utilization score. This score predicts server workload based upon the software components dependencies and what other software components depend on that software component. For example, if a second software component depends on a first software component and is set to go live, the system may recommend increasing an amount of hardware resources dedicated to the software component (0041). Status score of an entire software component may be created by weighted combination of each of the scores of each dependency. A user interface may show the scores for a plurality of software components (0042).
As per claim 6, Bendert et al. further teaches, “The system of claim 5, wherein the specified dimension comprises one of application performance, application security, and application uptime.”
The system may calculate a dependency complexity resource utilization score. This score predicts server workload based upon the software components dependencies and what other software components depend on that software component. For example, if a second software component depends on a first software component and is set to go live, the system may recommend increasing an amount of hardware resources dedicated to the software component (0041). The dependency tracking system creates one or more heath indicators for each dependency based upon the dependency status. An unhealthy or intermediate indicatory may be assigned when one or both of the dependency of the software components is not up-to-date or had vulnerabilities. Multiple health indicators may be combined to produce an overall dependency health indicator for the software component. Indicator may be displayed (0016).
As per claim 7, Bendert et al. further teaches, “The system of claim 1, wherein presenting the impact score comprises displaying a user dashboard on a user computing device, wherein the user dashboard comprises one or more interface elements for accepting the one or more artifacts from a user.”
Dependency tracking system may provide various advanced visualizations in one or more GUIs including a visualization of current dependencies or a particular software component, visualization of past dependencies, visualization of dependency histories, a visualization of number of dependencies, a health of dependencies, and the like (0017). Also see figure 3 and paragraph 0012. User can confirm or deny the dependency (0013).
As per Claims 8-20, contain similar limitations to claims 1-7 and are therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/6/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot due to amendments. Please see above rejection regarding the new limitations.
Regarding 35 U.S.C 101 rejection
Applicant argues that the current claims are similar to USPTO Subject Matter Eligibility Example 42. The examiner disagrees. Example 42 states that the claim integrates the method of organizing human activity into a practical application and has a specific improvement over prior art by allowing remote standardized users to share information in real time in a standardized format regardless of the format in which the information was input by the user. The claimed invention converts information inputted by a user in a non-standardized form to a standardized format and automatically generates a message when this occurs. This is different from what the applicant is claiming. As claimed, data is received, data is interpreted to establish/determine dependencies, more data such as artifacts is submitted/received, a score is computed based on the received artifacts and the logical links/dependencies, and this information is presented to the user using a dashboard and as a notification. MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) Abstract Ides Groupings state, III Mental Process A, states, “claims do recite a mental process when they contain limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind, including for example, observations, evaluations, judgements, and opinions. Examples of claims that recite mental processes include: a claim to “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying results of the collection and analysis….Electric Power Groups v. Alstrom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016);”. As claimed under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claimed invention is doing nothing more that collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying results of the collection and analysis and therefore the rejection stands.
Regarding 35 U.S.C 103
Applicants’ arguments are moot due to amendments. Please see the above rejections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Olejarz et al. (US 2023/0029624 A1) teaches auditing release readiness for a software application. A release readiness score for the application is generated based on assessment criteria (abstract).
/MARK A GOORAY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2199
/LEWIS A BULLOCK JR/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2199