Detailed Action
The instant application having Application No. 18/378,452 has a total of 20 claims pending in the application; there are 3 independent claims and 17 dependent claims, all of which are ready for examination by the examiner. This Office action is in response to the claims filed 2/6/26. Claims 1-15 and 17-21 are pending.
NOTICE OF PRE-AIA OR AIA STATUS
REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-15 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0272802), herein referred to as Kim et al. in view of Michaud et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,646,721), herein referred to as Michaud et al. and in view of Gong (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0006816), herein referred to as Gong.
Referring to claim 1, Kim et al. disclose as claimed, a storage system, comprising: a plurality of non-transitory storage devices, each storage device of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices comprising a plurality of blocks (see fig. 1, showing a storage system with multiple flash memory devices which would contain a plurality of blocks) classified into first type blocks, second type blocks, and third type blocks, and configured to generate internal state information items indicating information on a first number of first type blocks, a second number of second type blocks, and a third number of third type blocks (see para. 43, where a controller determines a count of free blocks, and count of bad blocks and a number of allocated blocks); and generate target state information such that each of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices comprise same number of first type blocks (see para. 22-23, where each device may have a free block threshold on which to trigger garbage collection which would be a target state information for the free blocks); and transmit, to the plurality of non-transitory storage devices, the target state information (see para. 22-23, where each device can have the same timing to trigger the relocation operation, therefore the devices would need to have received the threshold information).
Kim et al. disclose the claimed invention except for a host device configured to: receive, from the plurality of non-transitory storage devices, the internal state information items obtain, based on the internal state information items, an average value of the first number of first type blocks of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices; and where the target state information comprises the average value.
However, Michaud et al. disclose a host device configured to: receive, from the plurality of non-transitory storage devices, the internal state information items (see col. 4, lines 5-15, where an SSD memory management nodule may provide information about the SSD to the host, including elements such as number of bad blocks, amount of replacement blocks and total memory).
Kim et al. and Michaud et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of data storage devices(see Kim et al., abstract and Michaud et al., abstract, regarding data storage devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim et al. to comprise a host device configured to: receive, from the plurality of non-transitory storage devices, the internal state information items, as taught by Michaud et al., in order to allow the host to help manage bad blocks and increase the memory life.
Kim et al. and Michaud et al. disclose the claimed invention except for obtain, based on the internal state information items, an average value of the first number of first type blocks of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices; and where the target state information comprises the average value.
However, Gong discloses obtain, based on the internal state information items, an average value of the first number of first type blocks of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices (see para. 137-139, where statistics about free storage space (free chunks/blocks) of a number of storage devices are collected. An average free space is obtained to be Freesize/X, where Freesize is the number of chunks of idle/unused space in the storage devices and X is the number of storage devices in the first subset);
and where the target state information comprises the average value (see para. 137-139, where an average free space in storage devices is obtained. When combined with Kim et al., para. 22-23, where each device has a free block threshold to try and maintain the similar number of free blocks, this would allow the average value of free blocks to be that free block threshold)
Kim et al. and Gong. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of data storage devices(see Kim et al., abstract and Gong, abstract, regarding data storage devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim et al. to comprise obtain, based on the internal state information items, an average value of the first number of first type blocks of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices; and where the target state information comprises the average value, as taught by Gong, in order to have higher more even performance spread out over a large number of devices (see Kim et al., para. 22, where having a lower number of free blocks leads to lower performance).
As to claim 2, Kim et al., Michaud et al. and Gong also disclose the storage system of claim 1, wherein the first type blocks are configured to perform garbage collection of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices (see Kim et al., para. 22, where the free blocks are used to determine when to perform garbage collection), wherein the second type blocks are configured as not readable and not writeable blocks (see Kim et al., para. 26, where the unusable blocks may include the bad blocks), and wherein the third type blocks are configured as readable and writeable blocks (see para. 2, where there are usable blocks. Also see Kim et al., para. 43, where the allocated blocks are a type of blocks, which would be blocks currently in use).
As to claim 3, Kim et al., Michaud et al. and Gong also disclose the storage system of claim 2, wherein the first number of first type blocks, the second number of second type blocks, and the third number of third type blocks corresponds to at least one of: a fourth number of assignable logical block addresses; a fifth number of assignable sub logical block addresses; and a sixth number of assignable logical pages (see Michaud et al., col. 2, lines 44-60, where a flash translation layer is used, which would map logical addresses to physical locations on the storage devices. In addition, both Kim et al. and Michaud et al. involve a host interfacing with multiple flash memory devices which would utilize logical addresses for addressing the flash memory devices).
As to claim 4, Kim et al., Michaud et al. and Gong also disclose the storage system of claim 1, wherein the target state information comprises a first target number corresponding to the third type blocks related to a first storage device of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices, and wherein the first storage device is configured to change the third number of third type blocks in the plurality of blocks of the first storage device, such that an updated third number of third type blocks indicated by an updated internal state information item is the same or substantially similar as the first target number of the target state information (see Kim et al., para. 24, and para. 26, where usable blocks include the minimum required blocks and the spare blocks. See para. 31, where the minimum required block number is calculated for supporting a predetermined storage characteristic. Therefore an updated number of third blocks would be indicated which would be similar to the previous number).
As to claim 5, Kim et al., Michaud et al. and Gong also disclose the storage system of claim 4, wherein the target state information further comprises a second target number corresponding to the second type blocks related to the first storage device, and wherein the first storage device is configured to change the second number of second type blocks in the plurality of blocks of the first storage device, such that an updated second number of second type blocks indicated by the updated internal state information item is equal to or substantially same as the second target number (see Kim et al., para. 24, and para. 26 and 31, where usable blocks include the minimum required blocks and the spare blocks, and may be based on the bad blocks. The minimum required block number is calculated for supporting a predetermined storage characteristic. Therefore an updated number of second blocks would be indicated which would be similar to the previous number).
Referring to claim 9, Kim et al. disclose as claimed, a server, comprising: a controller; and memory storing instructions (see fig. 1, showing a controller and a memory storing instructions), wherein the instructions, when executed by the controller, cause the server to: each storage device of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices comprising a memory cell array comprising a plurality of blocks (see fig. 1, showing a storage system with multiple flash memory devices which would contain a plurality of blocks), each internal state information item of the plurality of internal state information items comprising information on a first number of first type blocks of the plurality of blocks configured to perform garbage collection (see para. 22, where the free blocks are used to determine when to perform garbage collection), a second number of second type blocks of the plurality of blocks configured as not readable and not writable (see para. 26, where the unusable blocks may include the bad blocks), and a third number of third type blocks which are writable and readable (see para. 2, where there are usable blocks. para. 43, where the allocated blocks are a type of blocks, which would be blocks currently in use and where a controller determines a count of free blocks, and count of bad blocks and a number of allocated blocks); and set, by generating target state information, a first target number of first type blocks and a third target number of third type blocks in each storage device of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices (see para. 22-23, where each device may have a free block threshold on which to trigger garbage collection which would be a target state information for the free blocks).
Kim et al. disclose the claimed invention except for receive, from the plurality of non-transitory storage devices, the internal state information items; obtain, based on the internal state information items, an average value of the first number of first type blocks of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices; and where the target state information comprises the average value.
However, Michaud et al. disclose receive, from the plurality of non-transitory storage devices, the internal state information items (see col. 4, lines 5-15, where an SSD memory management nodule may provide information about the SSD to the host, including elements such as number of bad blocks, amount of replacement blocks and total memory).
Kim et al. and Michaud et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of data storage devices(see Kim et al., abstract and Michaud et al., abstract, regarding data storage devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim et al. to comprise receive, from the plurality of non-transitory storage devices, the internal state information items, as taught by Michaud et al., in order to allow the host to help manage bad blocks and increase the memory life.
Kim et al. and Michaud et al. disclose the claimed invention except for obtain, based on the internal state information items, an average value of the first number of first type blocks of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices; and where the target state information comprises the average value.
However, Gong discloses obtain, based on the internal state information items, an average value of the first number of first type blocks of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices (see para. 137-139, where statistics about free storage space (free chunks/blocks) of a number of storage devices are collected. An average free space is obtained to be Freesize/X, where Freesize is the number of chunks of idle/unused space in the storage devices and X is the number of storage devices in the first subset);
and where the target state information comprises the average value (see para. 137-139, where an average free space in storage devices is obtained. When combined with Kim et al., para. 22-23, where each device has a free block threshold to try and maintain the similar number of free blocks, this would allow the average value of free blocks to be that free block threshold)
Kim et al. and Gong. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of data storage devices(see Kim et al., abstract and Gong, abstract, regarding data storage devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim et al. to comprise obtain, based on the internal state information items, an average value of the first number of first type blocks of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices; and where the target state information comprises the average value, as taught by Gong, in order to have higher more even performance spread out over a large number of devices (see Kim et al., para. 22, where having a lower number of free blocks leads to lower performance).
As to claim 10, Kim et al., Michaud et al. and Gong also disclose the server of claim 9, wherein the controller is further configured to: generate the target state information such that the first target number of first type blocks for the plurality of non-transitory storage devices are equal to or substantially the same as each other (see Kim et al., para. 22-23, where each device may have a free block threshold on which to trigger garbage collection which would be a target state information for the free blocks, which would be equal or substantially the same as each other ).
As to claim 11, Kim et al., Michaud et al. and Gong also disclose the server of claim 9, wherein the controller is further configured to: generate the target state information by changing third target numbers of third type blocks such that the plurality of non-transitory storage devices comprise a same number or substantially same number of the first type blocks (see Kim et al., para. 22-23, where each device may have a free block threshold on which to trigger garbage collection. Therefore, as each device performs garbage collection by adhering to that threshold, they would have similar levels of free blocks. Also see para. 23, where all devices function as if they have the same number of free blocks).
As to claim 12, Kim et al., Michaud et al. and Gong also disclose the server of claim 11, wherein the plurality of internal state information items further comprises information indicating garbage collection levels for performing the garbage collection (see Kim et al., para. 22-23, where each device may have a free block threshold on which to trigger garbage collection. Free block information would therefore indicate levels for performing garbage collection).
As to claim 13, Kim et al., Michaud et al. and Gong also disclose the server of claim 12, wherein the controller is further configured to: determine a garbage collection level for each storage device of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices, based on the information indicating the garbage collection levels and the target state information (see Kim et al., para. 22-23, where each device may have a free block threshold on which to trigger garbage collection. Free block information would therefore indicate levels for performing garbage collection).
As to claim 14, Kim et al., Michaud et al. and Gong also disclose the server of claim 9, wherein the first number of first type blocks, the second number of second type blocks, and the third number of third type blocks corresponds to at least one of: a fourth number of assignable logical block addresses; a fifth number of assignable sub logical block addresses; and a sixth number of assignable logical pages (see Michaud et al., col. 2, lines 44-60, where a flash translation layer is used, which would map logical addresses to physical locations on the non-transitory storage devices. In addition, both Kim et al. and Michaud et al. involve a host interfacing with multiple flash memory devices which would utilize logical addresses for addressing the flash memory devices).
Referring to claim 15, Kim et al. disclose as claimed, an operating method of a storage system, comprising: receiving, from the plurality of non-transitory storage devices, internal state information items comprising information on a first number of first type blocks of a corresponding storage device configured to perform garbage collection (see para. 22, where the free blocks are used to determine when to perform garbage collection. See para. 22-23, where each device can have the same timing to trigger the relocation operation, therefore the devices would need to have received the threshold information), a second number of second type blocks of the corresponding storage device configured as not readable and not writable (see para. 26, where the unusable blocks may include the bad blocks), and a third number of third type blocks configured as readable and writeable (see para. 2, where there are usable blocks. para. 43, where the allocated blocks are a type of blocks, which would be blocks currently in use and where a controller determines a count of free blocks, and count of bad blocks and a number of allocated blocks); generating, by the host device, target state information for each storage device of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices such that the plurality of non-transitory storage devices comprise a same number or substantially same number of first type blocks, based on the internal state information items of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices (see para. 22-23, where each device may have a free block threshold on which to trigger garbage collection. Therefore, as each device performs garbage collection by adhering to that threshold, they would have similar levels of free blocks. Also see para. 23, where all devices function as if they have the same number of free blocks); and transmitting, by the host device to the plurality of non-transitory storage devices, a state change signal comprising the target state information and instructing the plurality of non-transitory storage devices to change the internal state information items such that each storage device of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices matches the target state information (see para. 36-39 and para. 43-47, where the controller determines spare blocks and the minimum number of blocks for supporting a predetermined storage characteristic, and may perform relocation or garbage collection to match the target information).
Kim et al. disclose the claimed invention except for transmitting, by a host device to a plurality of non-transitory storage devices, a state check signal; receiving, from the plurality of non-transitory storage devices by the host device, internal state information items; obtain, based on the internal state information items, an average value of the first number of first type blocks of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices; and where the target state information comprises the average value.
However, Michaud et al. disclose transmitting, by a host device to a plurality of non-transitory storage devices, a state check signal (see col. 4, lines 1-15, where an SSD interface receives unique commands from the host, and then sends information about the SSD such as total memory, bad blocks, replacement bad blocks, etc); receiving, from the plurality of non-transitory storage devices by the host device, internal state information items (see col. 4, lines 5-15, where an SSD memory management nodule may provide information about the SSD to the host, including elements such as number of bad blocks, amount of replacement blocks and total memory).
Kim et al. and Michaud et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of data storage devices(see Kim et al., abstract and Michaud et al., abstract, regarding data storage devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim et al. to comprise transmitting, by a host device to a plurality of non-transitory storage devices, a state check signal; receiving, from the plurality of non-transitory storage devices by the host device, internal state information items, as taught by Michaud et al., in order to allow the host to help manage bad blocks and increase the memory life.
Kim et al. and Michaud et al. disclose the claimed invention except for obtain, based on the internal state information items, an average value of the first number of first type blocks of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices; and where the target state information comprises the average value.
However, Gong discloses obtain, based on the internal state information items, an average value of the first number of first type blocks of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices (see para. 137-139, where statistics about free storage space (free chunks/blocks) of a number of storage devices are collected. An average free space is obtained to be Freesize/X, where Freesize is the number of chunks of idle/unused space in the storage devices and X is the number of storage devices in the first subset);
and where the target state information comprises the average value (see para. 137-139, where an average free space in storage devices is obtained. When combined with Kim et al., para. 22-23, where each device has a free block threshold to try and maintain the similar number of free blocks, this would allow the average value of free blocks to be that free block threshold)
Kim et al. and Gong. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of data storage devices(see Kim et al., abstract and Gong, abstract, regarding data storage devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim et al. to comprise obtain, based on the internal state information items, an average value of the first number of first type blocks of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices; and where the target state information comprises the average value, as taught by Gong, in order to have higher more even performance spread out over a large number of devices (see Kim et al., para. 22, where having a lower number of free blocks leads to lower performance).
As to claim 17, Kim et al., Michaud et al. and Gong also disclose the operating method of claim 15, wherein the generating of the target state information comprises: deriving the first number of first type blocks of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices from the internal state information items of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices (see Michaud et al., col. 4, lines 5-15, where the free memory would need to be derived from total memory and bad blocks); calculating a first target number of first type blocks for each storage device of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices; calculating a third target number of third type blocks for each of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices; and generating the target state information for each storage device of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices (see Kim et al., para. 36-39 and para. 43-47, where the controller determines spare blocks and the minimum number of blocks for supporting a predetermined storage characteristic, and may perform relocation or garbage collection to match the target information. Also see para. 22, where there is a free block threshold that is calculated as well).
As to claim 18, Kim et al., Michaud et al. and Gong also disclose the operating method of claim 17, further comprising: receiving, by the host device from each storage device of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices, a state change completion signal that has been generated based on reception of the state change signal (Although not explicitly disclosed, completion and response signals are used for communication between devices and for responding to commands. Therefore, a response signal would be sent back to the host in response to the command).
As to claim 19, Kim et al., Michaud et al. and Gong also disclose the operating method of claim 18, wherein the target state information comprises a first target number corresponding to the first type blocks and a third target number corresponding to the third type blocks for a first storage device of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices (see Kim et al., para. 22, where a number of free blocks is targeted and see Kim et al., para. 42-47, where a minimum number of blocks for supporting a specific storage characteristic is determined. A number of usable blocks would necessarily be targeted by targeting the free blocks, as a number of bad blocks is known), and wherein the receiving of the state change completion signal comprises: determining whether a garbage collection level of the first storage device is satisfied, based on the first target number corresponding to the first type blocks of the first storage device and the third target number corresponding to the third type blocks of the first storage device (see Kim et al., para. 22, where the garbage collection level is compared to a threshold based on the number of free blocks); and changing the third target number of the third type blocks such that the third number of third type blocks in the internal state information items is the same as or substantially the same as to the third target number of the third type blocks in the target state information, when the garbage collection level of the first storage device is satisfied (see Kim et al., para. 22, where the target number of free blocks is disclosed, and therefore the usable blocks would also have to be same across the different non-transitory storage devices. See para. 27, where the number of free blocks are substantially similar, as is the usable blocks. Also see fig. 2).
As to claim 20, Kim et al., Michaud et al. and Gong also disclose the operating method of claim 19, wherein the receiving of the state change completion signal further comprises: setting a new garbage collection level based on the first target number corresponding to the first type blocks and the third target number corresponding to the third type blocks, when the garbage collection level of the first storage device is not satisfied (see Kim et al., para. 22, where if the garbage collection threshold level for free blocks is not met, then it would trigger garbage collection. See para. 24, where the free blocks are calculated to perform garbage collection, which would be a change in the target number).
As to claim 21, Kim et al., Michaud et al. and Gong also disclose the storage system of claim 1, wherein the host device is further configured to: obtain the average value by dividing a total number of the first type blocks of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices by a number of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices (see Gong, para. 137-140, where an average free space is FreeSize divided by X, where X is the number of storage devices and FreeSize is the total number of chunks in an idle (unused) state in the first storage device subset).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. in view of Michaud et al. and Gong and in view of Hahn et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0026406), herein referred to as Hahn et al.
As to claim 6, Kim et al., Michaud et al. and Gong. also disclose performing garbage collection when an available memory area in a corresponding storage device exceeds a preset garbage collection level (see Kim et al., para.22, where garbage collection or relocation operation is performed when the number of free blocks is under some threshold).
Kim et al., Michaud et al. and Gong disclose the claimed invention except for the storage system of claim 1, wherein each storage device of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices comprises a flash translation layer (FTL) configured to generate the internal state information items
However, Hahn et al. disclose wherein each storage device of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices comprises a flash translation layer (FTL) configured to generate the internal state information items (see para. 30, where the FTL stores information related to number of free blocks and bad blocks as well as mapping information).
Kim et al. and Hahn et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of data storage devices(see Kim et al., abstract and Hahn et al., abstract, regarding data storage devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim et al. to comprise wherein each storage device of the plurality of non-transitory storage devices comprises a flash translation layer (FTL) configured to generate the internal state information items, as taught by Hahn et al., in order to receive accurate block information to help manage the storage devices correctly.2058.982US1 53 Client Ref. No.: 140720US01
As to claim 7, Kim et al., Michaud et al., Gong and Hahn et al. also disclose the storage system of claim 6, wherein the FTL is further configured to: set, based on the preset garbage collection level not being satisfied, a new garbage collection level in a preset manner by adjusting at least one of a first target number of first type blocks, a second target number of second type blocks, and a third target number of third type blocks in the target state information (see Hahn et al., para. 30, where the FTL stores information on the number of free blocks and bad blocks. See Kim et al., para. 22, where during a garbage collection operation, a new level would be set by adjusting a number of used and free blocks during garbage collection by moving valid data from one block to another and then creating free blocks).
As to claim 8, Kim et al., Michaud et al., Gong and Hahn et al. also disclose the storage system of claim 6, wherein the FTL is further configured to: change an address mapping table assigned to each of the first type blocks, the second type blocks, and the third type blocks, based on the target state information (see Hahn et al., para. 30, where the FTL stores an address mapping table, and see Kim et al., para. 22, where during a garbage collection operation, valid data is moved from one block to another. Free blocks are created and therefore the address mapping table would be changed based on the target state information).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 2/6/26, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gong.
CLOSING COMMENTS
Conclusion
a. STATUS OF CLAIMS IN THE APPLICATION
The following is a summary of the treatment and status of all claims in the application as recommended by M.P.E.P. 707.07(i):
a(1) CLAIMS REJECTED IN THE APPLICATION
Per the instant office action, claims 1-15 and 17-21 stand rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
b. DIRECTION OF FUTURE CORRESPONDENCES
/A.O/Examiner, Art Unit 2132
/HOSAIN T ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2132