DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the applicant's amendment submitted on 08/11/2025. In virtue of this amendment:
Claims 27-34 were previously canceled;
Claims 1-26 are currently amended; and thus,
Claims 1-26 are pending;
Examiner Note: Claims 27-34 is not present on the most recent set of claims, applicant is reminded that the status of every claim must be indicated after its claim, and therefore claims 27-34 needs to be identified as “Cancelled” in order for the amendment to be in compliance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.121 or 1.4.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in ¶73 the applicant labeled “top-side radiating element as [620] for Fig.6; however, Fig.6 labels the corresponding element as [320] .
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claim 24 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to US2002/0140612A1 hereinafter “Kadambi” in view of US2015/0357717A1 hereinafter “Petted”. Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection to claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph is withdrawn in view of the amendment made to the claim.
Claims 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, the claim is dependent on claim 27, which is a canceled claim, thus rendering the claim indefinite.
For the purpose of this office action, the examiner is interpreting the claim as being dependent on claim 7.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites “the metal layer” which renders the claim indefinite, as there is an lack of antecedent basis for said term.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2002/0140612A1 hereinafter “Kadambi” in view of US2015/0357717A1 hereinafter “Petted”.
Regarding claim 24, Kadambi disclose an antenna system (¶50L1-2: the diversity antenna) comprising
an inverted planar inverted "F" antenna (PIFA) (as shown Fig.3A) (Note: although the Figure shows the antenna elements as left/right; however by rotating the antenna +90 degrees, radiating element [12] is now “bottom” and radiating element [11] is now “top” and thus making radiating element [12] an inverted PIFA as the radiating element is below the ground plane [13]) including a bottom-side radiating element (Fig.3A: the “bottom-side” radiating element [12]) ; and
a PIFA including a top-side radiating element (as shown Fig.3A) (Note: although the Figure shows the antenna elements as left/right; however by rotating the antenna +90 degrees, radiating element [11] is now “top” and radiating element [12] is now “bottom” and thus making radiating element [11] a PIFA as the radiating element is above the ground plane [13]) wherein the antenna system is configured such that
the bottom-side radiating element of the inverted flexible PIFA and the top-side radiating element of the flexible PIFA are respectively operable with oppositely directed radiation outwardly away from a mounting surface (as shown Fig.3A) (Note: PIFA is also to be known to radiate an omnidirectional pattern), thereby providing the antenna system with dissimilar (uncorrelated) radiated patterns for coverage redundancy for diversity (Note: since the radiation direction are opposite, the radiation pattern are not the same) and MIMO operations (Note: there are multiple input and multiple output, rendering the antenna MIMO operation)
Kadambi does not disclose the inverted PIFA and PIFA are flexible.
Petted discloses a flexible planar inverted "F" antenna (PIFA) (¶27L1: flexible PIFA)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application modify the antenna elements disclosed by Kadambi with the flexible construction disclosed by Petted.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this allows the antenna to be used with various kinds of articles that do not include flat surface for mounting (¶3L1-8)
Regarding claim 1, Kadambi in view of Petted hereinafter “Kadambi/Petted” discloses in Kadamb the antenna system of claim 24, wherein
the inverted flexible PIFA is configured for an inverted mount to the mounting surface (as shown Fig.3A) (Note: radiating element [12] is now “bottom” mounted on ground plane [13])
a radiation pattern of the bottom-side radiating element is directed outwardly away from the mounting surface when the inverted flexible PIFA is mounted to the mounting surface. (Note: PIFA is also to be known to radiate an omnidirectional pattern)
Regarding claim 2, Kadambi/Petted discloses in Petted the antenna system of claim 24, wherein
the inverted flexible PIFA comprises a bottom-side adhesive for adhesively mounting the inverted flexible PIFA to the mounting surface (¶29L8-11: an adhesive is applied to the cover layer over the ground plate portion) whereby the bottom-side radiating element is configured to radiate outwardly through the bottom-side adhesive and the mounting surface when the inverted flexible PIFA is adhesively mounted to the mounting surface via the bottom-side adhesive. (as shown in Fig.17 for example) (Note: PIFA is also to be known to radiate an omnidirectional pattern)
Regarding claim 3, Kadambi/Petted discloses in Petted the antenna system of claim 24, wherein
the inverted flexible PIFA comprises a bottom side including inner and outer surfaces (as shown in Fig.5 for example), and an adhesive along the outer surface of the bottom side for adhesively mounting the bottom side of inverted flexible PIFA to the mounting surface (¶29L8-11: an adhesive is applied to the cover layer over the ground plate portion); and
the bottom-side radiating element is along the inner surface of the bottom side such that the bottom-side radiating element is configured to radiate outwardly through bottom side and the adhesive along the outer surface of the bottom side. (as shown in Fig.17 for example) (Note: PIFA is also to be known to radiate an omnidirectional pattern)
Regarding claim 4, Kadambi/Petted discloses in Petted the antenna system of claim 3, wherein
the inverted flexible PIFA is internally adhesively mountable, via the adhesive, along an inner surface of a forward- facing part of an enclosure (¶29L8-11: an adhesive is applied to the cover layer over the ground plate portion; when the flexible PIFA is to be applied to a surface), whereby
the bottom-side radiating element is operable for radiating forwardly through the forward-facing part of the enclosure when the inverted flexible PIFA is adhesively mounted to the inner surface of the forward-facing part of the enclosure. (as shown in Fig.17 for example) (Note: PIFA is also to be known to radiate an omnidirectional pattern)
Regarding claim 5, Kadambi/Petted discloses in Petted the antenna system of claim 3, wherein
the inverted flexible PIFA is internally adhesively mountable, via the adhesive, along an inner surface of a top- facing part of an enclosure (¶29L8-11: an adhesive is applied to the cover layer over the ground plate portion; when the flexible PIFA is to be applied to a surface),whereby
the bottom-side radiating element is operable for radiating upwardly through the top-facing part of the enclosure when the inverted flexible PIFA is adhesively mounted to the inner surface of the top-facing part of the enclosure. (as shown in Fig.17 for example) (Note: PIFA is also to be known to radiate an omnidirectional pattern)
Regarding claim 6, Kadambi/Petted discloses in Petted the antenna system of claim 24, wherein
the inverted flexible PIFA comprises a flexible printed circuit board (PCB) having a metal layer on a first side that is covered by a cover layer (¶29L1-4: the flexible polyimide PCB having a metal layer; the cover layer is applied over the metal layer), the flexible PCB comprising
a second side opposite the first side; and the second side is foldable or bendable to form the bottom-side radiating element and a top-side ground plane spaced apart from and/or generally parallel to each other such that the bottom-side radiating element and the top-side ground plane are defined by the flexible PCB. (¶30L1-7: the PCB is folded around the dielectric element into the structure shown in Fig.7)
Regarding claim 7, Kadambi/Petted discloses in Petted the antenna system of claim 6, wherein
the second side is foldable or bendable relative to a dielectric to form the bottom-side radiating element and the top- side ground plane spaced apart from and/or generally parallel to each other. (¶30L1-7: the PCB is folded around the dielectric element into the structure shown in Fig.7)
Regarding claim 8, Kadambi/Petted discloses in Petted the antenna system of claim 27 (see 112 rejection above for examiner’s interpretation), wherein
the dielectric comprises foam (¶28L8-10: a dielectric material (e.g., a foam)) or air. (¶2L13-16: an air gap resides between the main element and the ground plate.)
Regarding claim 9, Kadambi/Petted discloses in Petted the antenna system of claim 6, wherein
the inverted flexible PIFA comprises a flexible dielectric element around which the second side is foldable or bendable to form the bottom-side radiating element and the top-side ground plane spaced apart from and/or generally parallel to each other. (¶30L1-7: the PCB is folded around the dielectric element into the structure shown in Fig.7)
Regarding claim 10, Kadambi/Petted discloses in Petted the antenna system of claim 6, wherein
the flexible PCB is configured such that the inverted flexible PIFA is freestanding and/or self-supporting (¶30L1-7: the PCB is folded around the dielectric element into the structure shown in Fig.7) such that air is the only dielectric between the bottom-side radiating element and the top- side ground plane. (¶2L13-16: an air gap resides between the main element and the ground plate.)
Regarding claim 11, Kadambi/Petted discloses in Petted the antenna system of claim 6, wherein the inverted flexible PIFA comprises
an antenna performance when electrically connected to a wireless device that is maintained when the flexible PCB is bent into a concave shape or into a convex shape. (Clam 1: antenna performance is maintained when said flexible PIFA is bent into a concave shape or into a convex shape)
Regarding claim 12, Kadambi/Petted discloses in Petted the antenna system of claim 24, wherein
the inverted flexible PIFA comprises a cable having a first end electrically connected to the metal layer and having a second end adapted to electrically connect to a wireless device. (¶28L11-12: the flexible PIFA antenna feed to a wireless device is provided by a cable)
Regarding claim 13, Kadambi/Petted discloses in Petted the antenna system of claim 24, wherein
the inverted flexible PIFA comprises a flex circuit that includes or defines the bottom-side radiating element and a top-side ground plane spaced apart from and/or generally parallel to the bottom-side radiating element. (¶30L1-7: the PCB is folded around the dielectric element into the structure shown in Fig.7)
Regarding claim 14, Kadambi/Petted discloses in Petted the antenna system of claim 13, wherein
the flex circuit is foldable or bendable into a generally U-shaped configuration in which the bottom-side radiating element and the top-side ground plane are spaced apart from and/or generally parallel to each other. (¶30L1-7: the PCB is folded around the dielectric element into the structure shown in Fig.7)
Regarding claim 15, Kadambi/Petted discloses in Petted the antenna system of claim 13, wherein
the inverted flexible PIFA comprises an antenna performance when electrically connected to a wireless device that is maintained when the flex circuit is bent into a concave shape or into a convex shape. (Clam 1: antenna performance is maintained when said flexible PIFA is bent into a concave shape or into a convex shape)
Regarding claim 16, Kadambi/Petted discloses in Petted the antenna system of claim 13, wherein
the flex circuit comprises polyimide film and electrical conductor(s) in the polyimide film defining the bottom-side radiating element and the top-side ground plane. (¶28L1-2: a flexible printed circuit board (e.g., a polyimide PCB)
Regarding claim 17, Kadambi/Petted discloses in Petted the antenna system of claim 13, wherein
the flex circuit is foldable or bendable relative to a dielectric to form the bottom-side radiating element and the top- side ground plane spaced apart from and/or generally parallel to each other. (¶30L1-7: the PCB is folded around the dielectric element into the structure shown in Fig.7)
Regarding claim 18, Kadambi/Petted discloses in Petted the antenna system of claim 17, wherein
the dielectric comprises foam (¶28L8-10: a dielectric material (e.g., a foam)) or air (¶2L13-16: an air gap resides between the main element and the ground plate.)
Regarding claim 19, Kadambi/Petted discloses in Petted the antenna system of claim 13, wherein
the inverted flexible PIFA comprises a flexible dielectric element around which the flex circuit is foldable or bendable to form the bottom-side radiating element and the top-side ground plane spaced apart from and/or generally parallel to each other. (¶30L1-7: the PCB is folded around the dielectric element into the structure shown in Fig.7)
Regarding claim 20, Kadambi/Petted discloses in Petted the antenna system of claim 13, wherein
the flex circuit is configured such that the inverted flexible PIFA is freestanding and/or self-supporting such that air is the only dielectric between the bottom-side radiating element and the top- side ground plane. (¶30L1-7: the PCB is folded around the dielectric element into the structure shown in Fig.7)
Regarding claim 21, Kadambi/Petted discloses in Petted the antenna system of claim 13, wherein the flex circuit is thermoformed such that the inverted flexible PIFA is freestanding and/or self-supporting without requiring a flexible dielectric support between the bottom-side radiating element and the top-side ground plane. (¶30L1-7: the PCB is folded around the dielectric element into the structure shown in Fig.7)
Regarding claim 22, Kadambi/Petted discloses in Petted the antenna system of claim 1, wherein
the inverted flexible PIFA comprises a coaxial launch (¶28L12-14: the coaxial cable is soldered to an antenna feedpoint comprising feed tab) and an alternative solder tab launch (¶29L5-6: antenna feed/ground tabs) located along an edge of the inverted flexible PIFA that connects the bottom-side radiating element and a top-side ground plane of the inverted flexible PIFA for reducing distortion of an antenna feedpoint when the inverted flexible PIFA is bent into a concave shape or into a convex shape. (¶28L11-24: the feed point is located along the short edge SE of the flexible PIFA; which experiences the least amount of distortion when the flexible PIFA is bent or flexed; thus such positioning minimizes any distortion int eh antenna)
Regarding claim 23, Kadambi/Petted discloses in Petted the antenna system of claim 24, wherein
the inverted flexible PIFA is configured to be operable with an antenna performance when electrically connected to a wireless device that is maintained when the inverted flexible PIFA is in use. (Clam 1: antenna performance is maintained when said flexible PIFA is bent into a concave shape or into a convex shape)
Regarding claim 25, Kadambi/Petted discloses in Petted the antenna system of claim 24,wherein
the flexible PIFA comprises a flex circuit (¶30L1-7: the PCB is folded around the dielectric element into the structure shown in Fig.7) defining the top-side radiating element and a ground plane spaced apart from and/or generally parallel with the top-side radiating element, wherein
the flex circuit is configured and/or thermoformed such that the flexible PIFA is freestanding and/or self-supporting without requiring a flexible dielectric support between the top-side radiating element and the ground plane (as shown in Fig.7), thereby allowing the use of air as the only dielectric between the top-side radiating element and the ground plane. (¶2L13-16: an air gap resides between the main element and the ground plate.)
Regarding claims 26, the claims recites similar limitations as those seen in claims 1-25 and thus rejected with same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Raymond R Chai/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844