DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KIM et al. (US 2017/0111347 A1, hereinafter KIM).
Regarding claims 1 and 15 (claim 1 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), KIM discloses an electric vehicle charging method comprising:
establishing a power transfer interface between a power source and an electric vehicle (See Fig.1, discloses a charging cable 210 between a charging station 200 and a vehicle 100);
receiving, via the power transfer interface, a first flow of power from the power source at the electric vehicle (See Pars.91, 97 and 107, discloses power line communication connection between the charger 200 and the vehicle 100. The charger transmits data to the vehicle via power line communication (PLC) [interpreted to be data superimposed on a power signal], the vehicle controller 10 converts the charger data to signals for an in-vehicle network) and;
processing, with an on-board processing unit of the electric vehicle, the first flow of power to determine a first set of power information data from the first flow of power (See Pars.97 and 101 and Fig.2, disclose the vehicle controller converts/decodes the charger data received at the vehicle over PLC. Par.108, discloses the vehicle communication controller routes an authentication request to the vehicle charging controller. The authentication request includes a second key information learned from the charger signal in step#S21. The vehicle charging controller 20 compares the received second key information with a first key information in Step #S23);
processing, with the on-board processing unit of the electric vehicle, the first set of power information data to determine whether the first set of power information data is associated with an authorized power source for at least one charging subscription service for the electric vehicle (See Fig.2, Step#S23 and Par.109, disclose determining if the authentication is successful by comparing the received second key information with a stored first key information); and
receiving, with an on-board charger of the electric vehicle, the first flow of power in response to determining that the first set of power information data is associated with the authorized power source for the at least one charging subscription service for the electric vehicle, wherein the on-board charger of the electric vehicle is configured to charge a battery of the electric vehicle via the first flow of power (See Fig.2, Step#S26 and Par.111, disclose starting the charging process and vehicle charging controller may control charging through the C & C communication with the charger 200).
Regarding claim 16, KIM discloses the method of claim 15 as discussed above, wherein the user device comprises an electric vehicle (See Fig.1, Item#100, discloses an electric vehicle).
Regarding claims 2 and 17 (claim 2 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), KIM discloses the electric vehicle charging method of claim 1 as discussed above, further comprising rejecting, with the on-board charger of the electric vehicle, the first flow of power in response to determining that the first set of power information data is not associated with the authorized power source for the at least one charging subscription service for the electric vehicle (See KIM, Fig.2, Step#S23 and S24, discloses when the authentication fails, the charging process is blocked).
Regarding claim 3, KIM discloses the electric vehicle charging method of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein processing the first set of power information data comprises comparing the first set of power information data to at least one second set of power information data, wherein the second set of power information data is stored in an on- board memory device of the electric vehicle (See Pars.91, 97 and 107, discloses the charger transmits data to the vehicle via power line communication (PLC) [interpreted to be data superimposed on a power signal], the vehicle controller 10 converts the charger data to signals for an in vehicle network. See Fig.2, Step#S23 and Par.109, disclose determining if the authentication is successful by comparing the received second key information with a stored first key information. Par.107, discloses the information transferred from the charger to the vehicle includes type of power supply and power capacity. The information is used to generate a learned second key information which is evaluated by the vehicle charging controller by comparing it to a stored second key information).
Regarding claim 4, KIM discloses the electric vehicle charging method of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the power transfer interface comprises a wireless power transfer interface (See Pars.7-8, disclose the vehicle charging is wireless power transfer system. Par.14 further discloses the charging process may be in a conductive or wireless power transfer manner).
Regarding claim 8, KIM discloses an electric vehicle charging method comprising:
receiving, via a communications module of an electric vehicle, a first wireless signal from a first electric vehicle charging station (See Pars.22 and 85, disclose the charger communicates with the vehicle using a wireless local network),
wherein the first electric vehicle charging station is associated with a charging subscription service (See Fig.2, discloses authenticating the charging station by comparing a learned first key information with a stored second key. The subscription status is interpreted as determination of compatibility using received charging station attributes. Par.107, discloses the information transferred from the charger to the vehicle includes type of power supply and power capacity. The information is used to generate a learned second key information which is evaluated by the vehicle charging controller by comparing it to a stored second key information);
processing, via an on-board processor of the electric vehicle, the first wireless signal to determine a first set of data associated with the first electric vehicle charging station,
wherein the first set of data is configured to identify one or more attributes of the first electric vehicle charging station (See Fig.2, Step#S23 and Par.109, disclose determining if the authentication is successful by comparing the received second key information with a stored first key information);
processing, via the on-board processor of the electric vehicle, the first set of data associated with the first electric vehicle charging station to determine a subscription status for the charging subscription service between the first electric vehicle charging station and the electric vehicle (See Fig.2, Step#S23 and Par.109, disclose determining if the authentication is successful by comparing the received second key information with a stored first key information. Successful authentication is an indication that the charging station is a compatible station with the vehicle. Par.107, discloses the information on the charger 200 may include information on the type of a power supply unit in the charger 200, power capacity. Authentication process generates a second key information based on the received station attributes and compares it to a first key information and determine that the station is part of the vehicle charging network based on the authentication);
initiating, via a wireless power transfer interface, a first flow of power between the first electric vehicle charging station and the electric vehicle in response to determining a valid subscription status for the charging subscription service between the first electric vehicle charging station and the electric vehicle (See Fig.2, Step#S26); and
receiving, with an on-board charger of the electric vehicle, the first flow of power from the first electric vehicle charging station, wherein the on-board charger of the electric vehicle is configured to charge a battery of the electric vehicle via the first flow of power (See Fig.2, Step#S26 and 27, disclose starting charging when it authentication is successful i.e. the charging station is determined to be a valis charging station).
Regarding claim 18, KIM discloses the method of claim 15 as discussed above, further comprising establishing a power transfer interface between the charge source and the user device (See Par.14 further discloses the charging process may be in a conductive or wireless power transfer manner. Fig.1 discloses a charging cable 210 and Fig.4, discloses and Par.23, discloses wireless power transfer from charger to vehicle).
Regarding claim 19, KIM discloses the method of claim 18 as discussed above, wherein the power transfer interface comprises a wireless power transfer interface (See Pars.7-8, disclose the vehicle charging is wireless power transfer system. Par.14 further discloses the charging process may be in a conductive or wireless power transfer manner).
Regarding claim 20, KIM discloses the method of claim 18 as discussed above, wherein establishing the power transfer interface comprises establishing an interface between a charging cable between the charge source and the user device (See Fig.1, Item#210, disclose a charging cable transferring power from the charger 200 to the vehicle 100).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM in view of SHIN (US 2023/0410164 A1, hereinafter SHIN).
Regarding claims 5-7, KIM discloses the electric vehicle charging method of claim 1 as discussed above, However KIM does not disclose further comprising communicating, with an on- board communications module of the electric vehicle, subscription identification data for the at least one charging subscription service for the electric vehicle to at least one remote server.
SHIN discloses an electric vehicle charging system further comprising communicating, with an on- board communications module of the electric vehicle, subscription identification data for the at least one charging subscription service for the electric vehicle to at least one remote server (See Par.64 and Figs.2A-2B, disclose the electric vehicle accesses member information acquisition and transmission part 101 connected to a database DB to provide member confirmation information for confirming membership status of a vehicle owner accessing a charging station to the electric vehicle charging service server, membership status is determined by transmitting the member information (i.e. ID) acquired through the member information acquisition and transmission part 101 to a charging control server).
KIM and SHIN are analogous art since they both deal with vehicle charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by KIM with the teachings of SHIN by communicating, with an on- board communications module of the electric vehicle, subscription identification data for the at least one charging subscription service for the electric vehicle to at least one remote server for the benefit of verifying the membership status of the user before allowing charging.
Claim(s) 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM in view of UPWARD et al. (US 2019/0283616 A1, hereinafter UPWARD).
Regarding claim 9, KIM discloses the electric vehicle charging method of claim 8 as discussed above, However KIM does not disclose further comprising determining, via the on-board processor of the electric vehicle, a first distance between the first electric vehicle charging station and the electric vehicle, wherein the first distance comprises a range of the wireless power transfer interface between the first electric vehicle charging station and the electric vehicle.
UPWARD discloses a vehicle wireless charging system comprising determining, via the on-board processor of the electric vehicle, a first distance between the first electric vehicle charging station and the electric vehicle, wherein the first distance comprises a range of the wireless power transfer interface between the first electric vehicle charging station and the electric vehicle (See Pars.69-70 and Fig.3, Steps#52-54, disclose the electric vehicle detects if it is within a radio signal range of the charging station and exceeds a signal strength as an indication that it is within a wireless charging station charging range).
KIM and UPWARD are analogous art since they both deal with vehicle charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by KIM with the teachings of UPWARD by detecting that the vehicle is withing a charging range of the wireless charging station for the benefit of determining if the vehicle is able to be charged by the detected charging station.
Regarding claim 10, KIM and UOWARD disclose the electric vehicle charging method of claim 9 as discussed above, further comprising discontinuing the first flow of power between the first electric vehicle charging station and the electric vehicle wherein the first distance is greater than a specified threshold (See UPWARD, Fig.3, discloses when the radio signal is determined to be less than a signal strength, returning back to the radio detection. Also UPWARD Par.81, discloses monitoring the proximity of the vehicle to the charging station and terminating charging when the vehicle is no longer proximate to the charging station).
Regarding claims 11-14, KIM and UPWARD disclose the electric vehicle charging method of claim 10 further comprising receiving, via the communications module of the electric vehicle, a second wireless signal from a second electric vehicle charging station, wherein the second electric vehicle charging station is located at a different location from the first electric vehicle charging station (See UPWARD, Fig.3 and Pars.70,81 and 97, disclose determining that a signal received from one of a plurality of wireless charging stations and determining the proximity of the vehicle to the station and starting the charging process. When the vehicle is no longer proximate to the charging station, charging is stopped. The examiner explains that the process will start again at the radio detection step 52 and radio signal strength step 54, wherein a radio signal from another one of the plurality of wireless charging stations is detected and evaluated, proximity to the new charging station is detected and charging is started with the new wireless charging stations).
Conclusion
/AHMED H OMAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859