DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: There is a duplicate word in the limitation of lines 3-4 “cause the the processor”. A possible correction would read - - cause the processor - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because it is directed to a computer-readable storage medium, which encompasses signals per se. A possible claim correction would read - - a non-transitory computer-readable medium - - . This is the interpretation that will be used in the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 11-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kitamura et al. (US PGPub 2007/0033818 A1).
As to claim 1, Kitamura et al. teaches a calibration method for an electronic compass (figure 7), comprising:
acquiring an initial sphere center coordinate of a current calibration (figure 7, step 2, paragraph [0063]);
acquiring a preset number of magnetic field data collected by a magnetic sensor (figure 7, step 3, paragraph [0079]);
determining a target magnetic field interference level of an environment according to the preset number of magnetic field data and the initial sphere center coordinate (figure 7, step 4, paragraphs [0065], [0070], and [0079]);
determining a target number of the magnetic field data according to the target magnetic field interference level (figure 7, step 6, paragraphs [0065], [0069], [0079]); and
performing spherical magnetic field fitting according to the target number of magnetic field data to calibrate the electronic compass (figure 7, step 7, paragraphs [0059] and [0080]).
As to claim 2, Kitamura et al. teaches wherein the determining the target magnetic field interference comprises:
for each of the preset number of magnetic field data, calculating a distance value between the magnetic field data and the initial sphere center coordinate;
acquiring a radius of a spherical magnetic field corresponding to the initial sphere center coordinate; and
determining the target magnetic field interference level of the environment according to the radius and the preset number of distance values (paragraph [0064]).
As to claim 5, Kitamura et al. teaches wherein the target number is n1 K1, n1 is an integer greater than or equal to 4 and K is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (figure 6).
As to claim 11, Kitamura et al. teaches wherein the determining the target number of the magnetic field data comprises: determining the target number of the magnetic field data corresponding to the target magnetic field interference level according to a correspondence relationship between a magnetic field interference level and a number of the magnetic field data (figure 6 and paragraphs [0081]-[0082]).
As to claim 12, Kitamura et al. teaches wherein the current calibration is not a first calibration, and the initial sphere center coordinate of the current calibration is a target sphere center coordinate of a previous calibration (paragraph [0079]).
As to claim 13, Kitamura et al. teaches an electronic device (paragraphs [0051] and [0067]), comprising:
a processor (for performing the method of figure 7); and
a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the the processor (for storing the method of figure 7) to:
acquire an initial sphere center coordinate of a current calibration (figure 7, step 2, paragraph [0063]);
acquire a preset number of magnetic field data collected by a magnetic sensor (figure 7, step 3, paragraph [0079]);
determine a target magnetic field interference level of an environment according to the preset number of magnetic field data and the initial sphere center coordinate (figure 7, step 4, paragraphs [0065], [0070], and [0079]);
determine a target number of the magnetic field data according to the target magnetic field interference level (figure 7, step 6, paragraphs [0065], [0069], [0079]); and
perform spherical magnetic field fitting according to the target number of magnetic field data to calibrate an electronic compass (figure 7, step 7, paragraphs [0059] and [0080]).
As to claim 14, Kitamura et al. teaches wherein the determining the target magnetic field interference level comprises:
for each of the preset number of magnetic field data, calculating a distance value between the magnetic field data and the initial sphere center coordinate;
acquiring a radius of a spherical magnetic field corresponding to the initial sphere center coordinate; and
determining the target magnetic field interference level of the environment according to the radius and the preset number of distance values (paragraph [0064]).
As to claim 20, Kitamura et al. teaches a computer-readable storage medium, storing computer program instructions thereon (for storing the method of figure 7 and figure 2), wherein when executed by a processor, cause the processor to:
acquire an initial sphere center coordinate of a current calibration(figure 7, step 2, paragraph [0063]);
acquire a preset number of magnetic field data collected by a magnetic sensor (figure 7, step 3, paragraph [0079]);
determine a target magnetic field interference level of an environment according to the preset number of magnetic field data and the initial sphere center coordinate (figure 7, step 4, paragraphs [0065], [0070], and [0079]);
determine a target number of the magnetic field data according to the target magnetic field interference level (figure 7, step 6, paragraphs [0065], [0069], [0079]); and
perform spherical magnetic field fitting according to the target number of magnetic field data to calibrate an electronic compass (figure 7, step 7, paragraphs [0059] and [0080]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitamura et al. (US PGPub 2007/0033818 A1).
As to claims 3 and 15, Kitamura et al. teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as noted above for claims 2 and 14 respectively, further including calculating an error value (offset information; paragraphs [0065]-[0068]),
determining a target error range where the error value is located (figure 4 and paragraphs [0054]-[0055]), and
determining a magnetic field interference level corresponding to the target error range as the target magnetic field interference level of the environment (figure 6).
Kitamura et al. does not explicitly teach calculating an error value for estimating a spherical uniformity of the spherical magnetic field by a following formula, wherein err represents the error value, N represents the preset number, ri represents an i-th distance value, and R represents the radius of the spherical magnetic field corresponding to the initial sphere center coordinate:
e
r
r
=
∑
i
=
1
N
(
r
i
-
R
)
2
.
One skilled in the art would recognize the error calculation to be a representation of the physical world and system having a limited number of forms possible to allow one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to arrive at the above form through mathematics and the system being represented by the mathematical calculations with predictable results.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kitamura et al. to have calculating the error value by a following formula, wherein err represents the error value, N represents the preset number, ri represents an i-th distance value, and R represents the radius of the spherical magnetic field corresponding to the initial sphere center coordinate:
e
r
r
=
∑
i
=
1
N
(
r
i
-
R
)
2
because it is within the skill of an ordinary skilled person to represent the physical world through the error calculation above with predictable results.
As to claim 4, Kitamura et al. as modified teaches further comprising: calibrating the electronic compass according to a target sphere center coordinate of a previous calibration and a six-axis algorithm, in response to determining that the error value is greater than an upper limit value of an error range corresponding to a highest magnetic field interference level (figures 6-7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 and 16-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Patel et al. (US PGPub 2010/0312509 A1) and Tu et al. (US PGPub 2015/0000145 A1) teach systems with similarities to the disclosed invention.
/JENNIFER BAHLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853