DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/02/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Please see response below:
In response to applicant argument, applicant respectfully notes that Cariou's "channel information" in Cariou's "mmWave information" is not "transmit mmWave link information through the mmWave link" as recited in amended Claim 1 (Examiner respectfully disagree with the applicant, see Cariou’s para. 0240, Multi-link element with per-STA profile for each link; para. 0248, link information can be RSSI measurement that was made during beamforming training phase; para. 0175, TSF can be mmWave link information; para. 0200, TBTT information; para. 0226, multi-link TIM for 60 GHz).
In response to applicant argument, applicant's Claim 9 recites "mmWave link a 45 GHz link or a 60 GHz link." As introduced above, Cariou's "sub-10 GHz" is not Applicant's Claim 9's "mmWave link a 45 GHz link or a 60 GHz link." (see Cariou’s para. 0226 and 0236, 60 GHZ link).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cariou et al. (US 2022/0159555 A1, hereinafter “Cariou”).
Regarding claims 1, Cariou discloses a wireless multi-link device (MLD) comprising: a controller configured to generate a millimeter wave (mmWave) beacon (see para. 0171-0172, mmWave beacon); and a wireless transceiver configured to transmit the mmWave beacon to a second wireless MLD through an mmWave link between the wireless MLD and the second wireless MLD (see Figure 3, para. 0121-0122, AP communicates with stations on mmWave links; see para. 0143-0150, AP MLD send a frame to non-AP or Station), wherein the controller is configured to generate Wave link information corresponding to the Wave link (see para. 0189-0191, mmWave information, communicate over mmWave wireless channel; para. 0240, multi-link element with a per-station profile of each link); and wherein the wireless transceiver is configured to transmit the mmWave link information of the mmWave link to the second wireless MLD through the mmWave link (see para. 0189-0191, mmWave information, communicate over mmWave wireless channel; para. 0240, multi-link element with a per-station profile of each link; para. 0248, link information can be RSSI measurement that was made during beamforming training phase; para. 0175, TSF can be mmWave link information; para. 0200, TBTT information; para. 0226, multi-link TIM for 60 GHz).
Regarding claim 15, A wireless access point (AP) of an access point (AP) MLD
comprising: a controller configured to generate a millimeter wave (mmWave) beacon (see para. 0171-0172, AP MLD131 to include one or more mmWave beacon); and a wireless transceiver configured to transmit the mm Wave beacon to a non-AP MLD through an mmWave link between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD (see Figure 3, para. 0121-0122, AP communicates with stations on mmWave links; see para. 0143-0150, AP MLD send a frame to non-AP or Station), wherein the mm Wave beacon comprises a light mm Wave beacon that includes some of, but not all of full Wave link information of the mm Wave link (see para. 0224, short beacon with only update information and/or real time operation parameters).
Regarding claim 18, Cariou discloses a method for wireless communications, the method comprising: at a first wireless multi-link device (MLD), generating a millimeter wave (mmWave) beacon (see para. 0171-0172, mmWave beacon); and from the first wireless MLD, transmitting the mmWave beacon including mmWave link information (see para. 0189-0191, mmWave information, communicate over mmWave wireless channel; para. 0240, multi-link element with a per-station profile of each link) of the mmWave link to a second wireless MLD through an mmWave link between the first wireless MLD and the second wireless MLD (see Figure 3, para. 0121-0122, AP communicates with stations on mmWave links; see para. 0143-0150, AP MLD send a frame to non-AP or Station).
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Cariou discloses wherein the mmWave beacon comprises a light mmWave beacon that does not include full mmWave link information of the mmWave link (see para. 0225, short beacon).
Regarding claim 3, Cariou discloses wherein the wireless MLD comprises an access point (AP) MLD that comprises a wireless AP, and wherein the wireless AP comprises the controller and the wireless transceiver (see Figure 3, para. 0022,0111, 0121).
Regarding claim 4, Cariou discloses wherein the second wireless MLD comprises a non-AP MLD that comprises a non-AP station (STA) (see Figure 3, para. 0121).
Regarding claim 5, Cariou discloses wherein the controller is further configured to generate full mmWave link information of the mmWave link (see para. 0222-0223, multi-link element).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Cariou discloses wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to transmit the full mmWave link information of the mmWave link to the second wireless MLD through a non-mmWave link between the wireless MLD and the second wireless MLD (see para. 0222-0223).
Regarding claim 7, Cariou discloses wherein the non-mmWave link comprises one of a 2.4 Gigahertz (GHz) link, a 5 GHz link, or a 6 GHz link (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to transmit the full mmWave link information of the mmWave link to the second wireless MLD through the mmWave link (see para. 0147 and 0188, channel information).
Regarding claims 9 and 17, Cariou discloses wherein the mmWave link comprises a 45 GHz link or a 60 GHz link (see para. 0240. 60 GHz link).
Regarding claim 10, Cariou discloses wherein the controller is further configured to generate a second mmWave beacon or a beacon extension that contains the full mmWave link information of the mmWave link (see para. 0220-0222, extra information or extension).
Regarding claim 11, Cariou discloses wherein the controller is further configured to generate a multi-link probe response that contains the full mmWave link information of the mmWave link(see para. 0166, probe response with beacon elements).
Regarding claim 12, Cariou discloses wherein the wireless MLD device is compatible with an Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11 protocol (see para. 0016).
Regarding claim 13, Cariou discloses wherein the controller is further configured to generate a unicast frame that contains control or management information of the mmWave link, and wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to transmit the unicast frame through the mmWave link (see para. 0225, unicast with update information).
Regarding claim 14, Cariou discloses wherein the controller is further configured to generate a broadcast frame that contains control or management information of the mmWave link, and wherein the wireless transceiver is further configured to transmit the broadcast frame through a non-mmWave link (see para. 0225, broadcast).
Regarding claim 21, Cariou discloses wherein the mm Wave link information includes timing synchronization function (TSF) time and beacon interval, a service set identifier (SSID), the Basic Service Set (BSS) color of a BSS, the primary channel, the bandwidth (BW) of the BSS operating channel, the channel puncture information, broadcast Target Wake Time (TWT) information, and mmWave link time domain resource structure and schedule information (see para. 0030, channel bandwidth; para. 0218, BSSID and SSID); para. 0223, TWT schedule; para. 0270, TSF; para. 0289, TSF; para. 0168, TBTT; para. 0225, real time operation parameters; para. 0237, beacon interval).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MOHAMMAD S. ANWAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2463
/MOHAMMAD S ANWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463