DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 2/6/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 8 recite, “collecting … at least a portion of the platelet concentrate in a container as a platelet product having an actual platelet concentration, with the pump system being controlled so as to attempt to collect platelet concentrate having the first target concentration.” This line is vague. The exact configuration of the controller being claimed is unclear. Applicant’s specification at [0088] appears to disclose that the controller only keeps track of the platelet concentration, and then adjust the additive to achieve the second target concentration. It also makes the first target concentration unnecessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Min et al (US 2019/0201916.)
Min’s fig. 9 is copied herein, which is identical to applicant’s fig. 2. Min, from [0309], page 20, to [0333], page 32, and figures 50-53, which are labelled as flow circuits 12H, are same as applicant’s flow circuits 12, figures 3-5 and 7 in applicant’s disclosure.
They include the pump system, the valve system, and the separation system including centrifugal (36) and spinning (26) separation devices with the specified functions. Min teaches the controller as configured/programmed for the operation of these systems in part V., Aspects, starting at [0398] on page 39.
As is clearly seen in the teaching of Min, the process steps taught are substantially as disclosed and claimed by the applicant in the cited figures and paragraphs. Min is silent on selecting the first and the second target concentrations, “attempt to collect the platelet concentrate having the first target concentration” and platelet product at the second target concentration. However, the first target concentration, which is the platelet concentrate (PC) concentration, is calculated using an equation presented in claim 6, which is the equation 4 in Min cited in the “draw phase” at [0323]. Min also teaches calculating the platelet concentration similarly, using the same variables. Therefore, selecting the first target concentration and obtaining that platelet concentration is implied. Also, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to confirm that the desired platelet concentration is obtained at this point. However, the selecting of the target concentrations and attempting to collect platelet concentrate and platelet product at that target concentrations are only process steps, not patentable in an apparatus claim.
Further, the claim only requires collecting PC at an actual concentration, which is whatever the attained concentration at the concentrate outlet of the spinning membrane separator (26.) Min clearly teaches this. Furthermore, according to applicant’s disclosure at [0088,] if the concentration of PC is different from the first target concentration, it only would adjust the additive solution to achieve the platelet product concentration to the second target concentration. That is, the controller does not control the process to achieve the first target concentration.
In this regard, applicant’s disclosure states in [0010]: “One possible disadvantage of this conventional approach (which targets a desired final platelet concentration [emphasis] throughout steady state separation) is that it is vulnerable to pump-driven flow inaccuracies.” This means, configuring and operating the system to produce the desired target platelet concentration is already used by the prior arts.
Min teaches the same number and types of concentration sensors in the apparatus, and the Min teaching is the same as in the disclosure. Moreover, [0322] teaches: “On the way to the return bag F4, the plasma passes through spinner outlet sensor M2, which may cooperate with the controller 18 to determine one or more characteristics of the plasma, such as the amount of cellular blood components in the plasma…” which implies concentration based control. The second target concentration to be met is resuspended or diluted platelet concentration. Min, fig. 53 and [0333,] teaches adding platelet additive solution. The platelet product is a resuspended platelet, which is implicitly made to exacting concentrations as required for its medical uses. Therefore, the second target concentration is also implied. Or, at the least, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to dilute the platelet concentrate to the required standards.
Nonetheless, the claim only recites the controller as “configured to,” meaning, it is capable of performing the control process, unless otherwise shown. Selecting target concentrations is only a manual activity. Thus the claims are anticipated. However, as discussed above, having the target concentrations set and the computer programmed to operate the system to the target concentration would also have been routinely obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/KRISHNAN S MENON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777