DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 and 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application(s), Application Nos. 63/415054, PCT/US2023/011154, 63/300830, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
Application No. 63/415054 fails to provide adequate support or enablement for:
the linear cuts have a width between 0.01mm and 1mm (as required by claim(s) 5, 19)
a protrusion extending from the outer surface of the boney region (as required by claim(s) 8 and 16)
the cartilage layer further comprises a surface and at least three distinct boney portions protruding from the surface IN ADDITION to a boney region (as required by claim(s) 10 and 18).
the circular cuts have a diameter between 0.01mm and 1mm (as required by claim(s) 13)
Application Nos. PCT/US2023/011154 and 63/300830 fail to provide adequate support or enablement for:
An outer surface of the boney region being provided with a plurality of linear cuts (as required by claim 1)
the cartilage layer further comprises a surface and at least three distinct boney portions protruding from the surface IN ADDITION to a boney region (as required by claim(s) 10 and 18).
An outer surface of the boney region being provided with a plurality of circular cuts (as required by claim 11)
A boney region being provided with a plurality of linear cuts including a first and second set of linear cuts (including the claimed locations thereof) (as required by claim 19)
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9, 11-12, 14-15, 17 are awarded a priority date of October 11, 2022 (the filing date of 63/415054); claim(s) 5, 8, 10, 13, 16, 18-19 are awarded a priority date of October 11, 2023 (the filing date of the current application).
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-2, 9, 11, 19 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Within claim 1, line 2: “curvature said graft” should be replaced with --curvature, said graft-- (for grammatical purposes).
Within claim 1, line 3: “layer and” should be replaced with --layer; and-- (for grammatical purposes).
Within claim 2, line 4: “the first set” should be replaced with --the first set of the linear cuts-- (in order to maintain consistent claim terminology).
Within claim 9, line 1: a comma is missing after “1”.
Within claim 11, line 2: “curvature said graft” should be replaced with --curvature, said graft-- (for grammatical purposes).
Within claim 11, line 3: “layer and” should be replaced with --layer; and-- (for grammatical purposes).
Within claim 19, line 2: “curvature said graft” should be replaced with --curvature, said graft-- (for grammatical purposes).
Within claim 19, line 3: “layer and” should be replaced with --layer; and-- (for grammatical purposes).
Within claim 19, line 9: “includes” should be replaced with –includes:-- (for grammatical purposes).
Within claim 19, line 12: “the first set of cuts” should be replaced with --the first set of linear cuts-- (in order to maintain consistent claim terminology).
Within claim 19, lines 13-14 the two “wherein” clauses appear to be missing paragraph breaks (such that they are each their own paragraphs).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 10, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Within claim 10, lines 1-2: Applicant claims, “the cartilage layer further comprises a surface and at least three distinct boney portions protruding from the surface”; Examiner can not find a written description for BOTH the cartilage layer with at least three distinct boney portions protruding from a surface thereof (as required by the aforementioned claim requirement) AND the boney region with the plurality of linear cuts (as required by claim 1, lines 4-8, from which claim 10 depends). Within Applicant’s disclosure Applicant discloses two different embodiment with protruding structures: the embodiment associated with fig. 22, which includes pegs extending from a cartilage layer, however, this is a chondral graft which would not include the boney region (as required by claim 1); OR the embodiment associated with fig. 26, which includes boney pegs extending from the outer surface of the boney layer (not the cartilage layer as required by claim 10). Examiner is curious if Applicant intended to claim: “The flexible osteochondral graft of claim 1, further comprising at least three distinct boney portions protruding from the outer surface of the boney region” (which would be consistent with the embodiment/ features associated with fig. 26).
Within claim 18, lines 1-2: Applicant claims, “the cartilage layer further comprises a surface and at least three distinct boney portions protruding from the surface”; Examiner can not find a written description for BOTH the cartilage layer with at least three distinct boney portions protruding from a surface thereof (as required by the aforementioned claim requirement) AND the boney region with the plurality of circular cuts (as required by claim 11, lines 4-9, from which claim 18 depends). Within Applicant’s disclosure Applicant discloses two different embodiment with protruding structures: the embodiment associated with fig. 22, which includes pegs extending from a cartilage layer, however, this is a chondral graft which would not include the boney region (as required by claim 11); OR the embodiment associated with fig. 26, which includes boney pegs extending from the outer surface of the boney layer (not the cartilage layer as required by claim 18). Examiner is curious if Applicant intended to claim: “The flexible osteochondral graft of claim 11, further comprising at least three distinct boney portions protruding from the outer surface of the boney region” (which would be consistent with the embodiment/ features associated with fig. 26).
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Within claim 1, lines 5-6: Applicant claims, “an outer surface of the boney region”; it is unclear, and therefore indefinite, if this is the same as OR different from the outer surface (within claim 1, line 4). Claim(s) 2-10, which depend from claim 1, inherit all the problems associated with claim 1.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the radius of curvature of the outer surface" in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Within claim 2, lines 1-5: Applicant claims, “the plurality of linear cuts includes […] a second set of linear cuts within the boney region extending from a location between the surface on the predetermined depth of the first set and substantially through an opposing boney surface”; it is unclear, and therefore indefinite, where the plurality of linear cuts must be located. Within the aforementioned claim requirement the second set of linear cuts (which appear to be a subset of the broader plurality of linear cuts) extends between a location between the surface on the predetermined depth of the first set and substantially through an opposing boney surface; however, within claim 1, lines 5-6 (from which claim 2 depends) the broader set of linear cuts are defined as in/ spanning the outer surface of the boney region. As such, it appears claim 2 is trying to redefine where the plurality of linear cuts maybe located. (PLEASE NOTE: Applicant may want to consider amending claims 1 and 2 such that there is a first set of linear cuts provided in the outer surface of the boney region and a second set of linear cuts within the boney region […]).
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the surface on the predetermined depth" in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Within claim 3, lines 1-7: Applicant claims, “the plurality of linear cuts includes a first set of linear cuts extending from the outer surface of the boney region to a first predetermined depth, a second set of linear cuts within the boney region extending from a location between the outer surface and the first predetermined depth to a second predetermined depth, and a third set of linear cuts within the boney region extending from a location between the first predetermined depth and the second predetermined depth and extending substantially through an opposing boney surface”; it is unclear, and therefore indefinite, where the plurality of linear cuts must be located. Within the aforementioned claim requirement the second set and third sets of linear cuts (which appear to be a subset of the broader plurality of linear cuts) extends between/ thru a location not including the outer surface of the boney region; however, within claim 1, lines 5-6 (from which claim 3 depends) the broader set of linear cuts (i.e. ALL the linear cuts) are defined as in/ spanning the outer surface of the boney region. As such, it appears claim 3 is trying to redefine where the plurality of linear cuts maybe located.
Within claim 11, lines 5-6: Applicant claims, “an outer surface of the boney region”; it is unclear, and therefore indefinite, if this is the same as OR different from the outer surface (within claim 11, line 4). Claim(s) 12-18, which depend from claim 11, inherit all the problems associated with claim 11.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the radius of curvature of the outer surface" in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Within claim 19, lines 5-6: Applicant claims, “an outer surface of the boney region”; it is unclear, and therefore indefinite, if this is the same as OR different from the outer surface (within claim 19, line 4).
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the radius of curvature of the outer surface" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Within claim 19, lines 9-13: Applicant claims, “the plurality of linear cuts includes […] a second set of linear cuts within the boney region extending from a location between the surface on the predetermined depth of the first set of cuts and substantially through an opposing boney surface”; it is unclear, and therefore indefinite, where the plurality of linear cuts must be located. Within the aforementioned claim requirement the second set of linear cuts (which appear to be a subset of the broader plurality of linear cuts) extends between a location between the surface on the predetermined depth of the first set and substantially through an opposing boney surface; however, within claim 9, lines 5-6 the broader set of linear cuts are defined as in/ spanning the outer surface of the boney region. As such, it appears the aforementioned claim requirement is trying to redefine where the plurality of linear cuts maybe located.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the surface on the predetermined depth" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 9, 11-15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2009/0024224 A1).
With respect to claim 1:
Chen et al. discloses a flexible osteochondral graft (plug 8a or 8b), as can be seen in fig. 2, for implantation into an implant site having a radius of curvature (paragraphs [0075-0076]), said graft (plug 14) comprising:
a cartilage layer (cartilage cap 6) (paragraphs [0075-0076]); and
a boney region (osteochondral bone portion 7) attached to the cartilage layer (cartilage cap 6) and having an outer surface (bottom most surface thru which gaps 9 are bored) (paragraphs [0075-0076]), wherein the graft (plug 8a or 8b) has a harvested state (when harvested) with a first radius of curvature (radius of the cartilage cap 6 when harvested) and an implantation state (after the formation of the gaps 9) wherein the outer surface (bottom most surface thru which gaps 9 are bored) of the boney region (osteochondral bone portion 7) is provided with a plurality of linear cuts (gaps 9) that serve to decrease the radius of curvature of the outer surface (bottom most surface thru which gaps 9 are bored) from the first radius of curvature (radius of the cartilage cap 6 when harvested) in the harvested state (when harvested) to a second radius of curvature (radius of the cartilage cap 6 after implantation) configured to complement the radius of curvature of the implant site (paragraphs [0075-0076]). (PLEASE NOTE: With respect to “[the] plurality of linear cuts that serve to decrease the radius of curvature of the outer surface from the first radius of curvature in the harvested state to a second radius of curvature configured to complement the radius of curvature of the implant site”; in the aforementioned claim clause Applicant is claiming a property – specifically, the ability to alter/ decrease the radius of curvature of the outer surface (the articulating surface of the cartilage cap 6) due to the inclusion of the plurality of gaps. As discussed by Applicant within paragraphs [0049-0050], this increased flexibility appears to be a direct result of the inclusion of the cuts/ slits within the graft. Thus the plurality of liner cuts (gaps 9), as disclosed by Chen et al., would inherently create the variable/ decreasing radius of curvature of the articulating surface of the cartilage cap (6) as claimed within the aforementioned claim requirement (even if this inherent feature was not recognized nor recited by Chen et al. at the time (see MPEP 2112).)
With respect to claim 4:
Wherein the linear cuts (gaps 9) extend at least 50% into the boney region (the whole length of the osteochondral bone portion 7) into the boney region (osteochondral bone portion 7) (paragraph [0076]).
With respect to claim 5:
Wherein the linear cuts (gaps 9) have a width between 0.01mm and 1mm (the width is 10%-50% of the diameter, the diameter being 8-20 mm; thus the width can be .8-10mm) (paragraph [0076]).
With respect to claim 6:
Wherein the linear cuts (gaps 9) are defined by a Cartesian coordinate system (as can be seen in bottom view of the graft (plug 8b) with linear cuts (gaps 9) in fig. 2, the linear cuts (gaps 9) are arranged in a pattern than can be mapped using a Cartesian coordinate system).
With respect to claim 7:
Wherein the linear cuts (gaps 9) are defined by a polar coordinate system (as can be seen in bottom view of the graft (plug 8a) with linear cuts (gaps 9) in fig. 2, the linear cuts (gaps 9) are arranged in a pattern than can be mapped using a polar coordinate system).
With respect to claim 9:
Wherein the cartilage layer (cartilage cap 6) and the boney region (osteochondral bone portion 7) collectively form a substantially round (substantially cylindrical/ round shape), as can be seen in fig. 2, oblong, oval, rectangular, or irregular shape.
With respect to claim 11.
Chen et al. discloses a flexible osteochondral graft (plug 14), as can be seen in fig. 2, for implantation into an implant site having a radius of curvature (paragraphs [0075-0076]), said graft (plug 14) comprising:
a cartilage layer (cartilage cap 6) (paragraphs [0075-0076]); and
a boney region (osteochondral bone portion 7) attached to the cartilage layer (cartilage cap 6) and having an outer surface (bottom most surface thru which channels 15 are bored) (paragraphs [0075-0076]), wherein the graft (plug 14) has a harvested state (when harvested) with a first radius of curvature (radius of the cartilage cap 6 when harvested) and an implantation state (after the formation of the channels 15) wherein the outer surface (bottom most surface thru which channels 15 are bored) of the boney region (osteochondral bone portion 7) is provided with a plurality of circular cuts (channels 15) that serve to decrease the radius of curvature of the outer surface (bottom most surface thru which channels 15 are bored) from the first radius of curvature (radius of the cartilage cap 6 when harvested) in the harvested state (when harvested) to a second radius of curvature (radius of the cartilage cap 6 after implantation) configured to complement the radius of curvature of the implant site (paragraphs [0075-0076]). (PLEASE NOTE: With respect to “[the] plurality of circular cuts that serve to decrease the radius of curvature of the outer surface from the first radius of curvature in the harvested state to a second radius of curvature configured to complement the radius of curvature of the implant site”; in the aforementioned claim clause Applicant is claiming a property – specifically, the ability to alter/ decrease the radius of curvature of the outer surface (the articulating surface of the cartilage cap 6) due to the inclusion of the plurality of circular cuts. As discussed by Applicant within paragraphs [0049-0050], this increased flexibility appears to be a direct result of the inclusion of the cuts/ slits within the graft. Thus the plurality of circular cuts (channels 15), as disclosed by Chen et al., would inherently create the variable/ decreasing radius of curvature of the articulating surface of the cartilage cap (6) as claimed within the aforementioned claim requirement (even if this inherent feature was not recognized nor recited by Chen et al. at the time (see MPEP 2112).)
With respect to claim 12:
Wherein the circular cuts (channels 15) extend at least 50% (the whole length of the osteochondral bone portion 7) into the boney region (osteochondral bone portion 7)) (paragraph [0076]).
With respect to claim 13:
Wherein the circular cuts (channels 15) have a diameter between 0.01mm and 1mm (0.5-1 mm) (paragraph [0076]).
With respect to claim 14:
Wherein the circular cuts (channels 15) are defined by a Cartesian coordinate system (as can be seen in bottom view of the circular cuts (channels 15) in fig. 2, the circular cuts (channels 15) are arranged in a pattern than can be mapped using a Cartesian coordinate system).
With respect to claim 15:
Wherein the circular cuts (channels 15) are defined by a polar coordinate system (as can be seen in bottom view of the circular cuts (channels 15) in fig. 2, the circular cuts (channels 15) are arranged in a pattern than can be mapped using a polar coordinate system).
With respect to claim 17:
Wherein the cartilage layer (cartilage cap 6) and the boney region (osteochondral bone portion 7) collectively form a substantially round (substantially cylindrical/ round shape), as can be seen in fig. 2, oblong, oval, rectangular, or irregular shape.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 16 (and potentially 10, 18, see note below) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2009/0024224 A1) in view of Hodorek et al. (US 2006/0235542 A1).
Chen et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as discussed above. However, Chen et al. does not disclose a protrusion extending from the outer surface (bottom most surface thru which gaps 9/ channels 15 are bored) of the boney region (osteochondral bone portion 7) (as required by claim(s) 8 and 16).
Hodorek et al. teaches a graft (implant 10), as can be seen in figs. 1-4, for implantation into an implantation site having an implantation site radius of curvature, said graft (implant 10) comprising:
a cartilage layer (top portion with bearing surface 20) (paragraph [0037]); and
a boney region (bottom portion 22) attached to the cartilage layer (top portion with bearing surface 20) and having an outer surface (bottom surface of bottom portion 22 not including the pegs 28), wherein the outer surface (bottom surface of bottom portion 22 not including the pegs 28) of the boney region (bottom portion 22) is provided with a cuts (parting lines 32) that serve to increase the flexibility of the graft (implant 10) thereby allowing the graft (implant 10) to complement the implantation site radius of curvature (paragraphs [0023, 0037-0038]). The boney region (bottom portion 22) further comprises protrusions (pages 28) extending from the outer surface (bottom surface of bottom portion 22 not including the pegs 28) which can further enhance the connection of the graft (implant 10) to the underlying bone (paragraph [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the protrusions (pages 28), as taught by Hodorek et al., on the outer surface (bottom most surface thru which gaps 9/ channels 15 are bored) of the boney region (osteochondral bone portion 7), as disclosed by Chen et al., in order to improve the connection of the graft (plug 8a, 8b, 14) to the underlying bone, as taught by Hodorek et al.. (PLEASE NOTE: With respect to claim(s) 10, 18: As discussed above (associated with the rejection of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph), Examiner is unsure how the claimed structure of claims 10 and 18 is meant work. But if Applicant is intending to claim the “at least three distinct boney portions protruding from the outer surface of the boney region” (which would be consistent with the embodiment/ features associated with fig. 26), then the aforementioned rejection can also be used for claims 10 and 18 as Hodorek et al. teaches four protrusions (pages 28), which could make up the “at least three distinct boney portions” as claimed.)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim(s) 19 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 2:
Examiner can find no reference alone nor in combination which render obvious:
A flexible osteochondral graft (as required by claim 1) wherein the boney region comprises: BOTH a first set of linear cuts (that extend thru the outer surface of the boney region to a predetermined first depth) AND a second set of linear cuts (that extend from a predetermined second depth, which is between the predetermined first depth and the outer surface of the boney region, and an opposing boney surface).
With respect to claim 3:
Examiner can find no reference alone nor in combination which render obvious:
A flexible osteochondral graft (as required by claim 1) wherein the boney region comprises: ALL OF a first set of linear cuts (that extend thru the outer surface of the boney region to a predetermined first depth), AND a second set of linear cuts (that extend from a predetermined second depth, which is between the predetermined first depth and the outer surface of the boney region, and an predetermined third depth), AND a third set of linear cuts (that extend from a predetermined fourth depth, which is between the predetermined second and third depths, and an opposing boney surface).
With respect to claim 19:
Examiner can find no reference alone nor in combination which render obvious:
A flexible osteochondral graft, said graft comprising:
A cartilage layer with an average thickness of at least 0.5 mm;
A boney region attached to the cartilage layer having an outer surface, wherein the outer surface of the boney region is provided with a plurality of linear cuts (with a width of 0.01-1mm), wherein the plurality of linear cuts comprises:
a first set of linear cuts (that extend thru the outer surface of the boney region to a predetermined first depth) AND a second set of linear cuts (that extend from a predetermined second depth, which is between the predetermined first depth and the outer surface of the boney region, and an opposing boney surface).
(PLEASE NOTE: Although the graft (plug 8a or 8b), as disclosed by Chen et al., discloses a graft including a cartilage layer (cartilage cap 6) and a boney region (osteochondral bone portion 7) with a plurality of linear cuts (gaps 9) (as discussed above). Chen et al. does not disclose multiple sets of linear cuts (gaps 9) which span different AND overlapping depths within the boney region (osteochondral bone portion 7). Additionally, Examiner can find no additional references which would render such a modification obvious.)
Conclusion
/REBECCA S PRESTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3774