DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment and the Request for Continuing Examination filed on 03/11/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-3, 5-21 are now pending in the application. Claim 1 has been amended, claim 4 has been canceled and new claim 21 has been added by the Applicant.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 210, 214.03, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on applications KR 10-2022-0144627, filed 11/02/2022, and KR 10-2023-0055553, filed 04/27/2023 (Korea), both of record.
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
However, to overcome a prior art rejection, applicant(s) must submit a translation of the foreign priority papers in order to perfect the claimed foreign priority because said papers has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. See MPEP § 213.04
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are not acceptable for examination purposes.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “wherein the second hinge member extends from the second end of the second piezoelectric element in a direction away from the first hinge member “ as recited in new claim 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Currently no drawings depicts such structures of the second hinge member, as the second hinge does not extend from end of second piezoelectric member away from the first hinge member. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 21 recites the new limitation “wherein the second hinge member extends from the second end of the second piezoelectric element in a direction away from the first hinge member”, which is not supported by the original specification or the drawings. Specifically, the second hinge member 1347 extends from the second end of the second piezoelectric element i.e. the end of the 2nd piezoelectric element 1345 on the 1347 side) in a direction towards its first end that is connected to the second frame. However, it cannot be said that the second hinge member 1347 extends from the 2nd end of piezoelectric element 1345 away from the first hinge member 1327, given specification and descriptions in Figs. 5, 6 and 7 that show that the second hinge member 1347 extends from the 2nd end of piezoelectric element 1345 generally towards the side with 132 and the first hinge member 1327. Applicant has not pointed out where the new claim limitation is supported, nor does there appear to be a written description of the claim limitation noted above in the application as filed. Therefore the support for the limitation is not apparent, and applicant has not pointed out where the limitation is supported (see MPEP 2163.04, Sec. I).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the new limitation “wherein the second hinge member extends from the second end of the second piezoelectric element in a direction away from the first hinge member”. However, this limitation is confusing because it is unclear how it can be understood and treated given that is not supported by the original specification or the drawings. Specifically, the second hinge member 1347 extends from the second end of the second piezoelectric element i.e. the end of the 2nd piezoelectric element 1345 on the 1347 side) in a direction towards its first end that is connected to the second frame. However, it cannot be said that the second hinge member 1347 extends from the 2nd end of piezoelectric element 1345 away from the first hinge member 1327, given specification and descriptions in Figs. 5, 6 and 7 that show that the second hinge member 1347 extends from the 2nd end of piezoelectric element 1345 generally towards the side with 132 and the first hinge member 1327. Hence it is unclear in which direction and/or from which element or part is the second hinge supposed to extend away from, or alternatively towards what other element or part? For the purposes of examination, the above limitation will be treated broadly, such that the second hinge can generally extend away from another part or towards another part of the driver. It is suggested to amend the claim and provide explanations on order to remove the new matter and indefiniteness issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Itagaki et al. (hereafter Itagaki, of record) US 20210173175 A1.
In regard to independent claim 1, Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) a lens driving apparatus (i.e. lens driving device, a camera module, and a camera-mounted device, see title, abstract, paragraphs [01,05-33, 49-60,68-79, 81-90, 110-118]) comprising:
a first frame accommodating a lens (OIS movable part 10 with 12 accommodating lens part 2 in movable 11 part, paragraphs [50-60], Figs. 2-4);
a first optical image stabilization (OIS) driver (e.g. 30A, paragraphs [68-70, Figs. 3-6) comprising a first frictional contact portion disposed on the first frame (fixing portion 34a, contact portion 34b of tweezer 34, coupled to 12k portion of stage 12 of 10, for either 30A or 30B, paragraphs [69-80], Figs. 3-6,8), a first piezoelectric element configured to vibrate in a first direction (PZ elements 31,32 of 30A or 30B, paragraphs [20, 69-80,136], Figs. 3-6,8), and a first rod connected to a first end of the first piezoelectric element, in contact with the first frictional contact portion, and configured to move the first frame in the first direction (i.e. as arms 33b of resonance body 33 are both rods that are connected to 31,32 and are both in contact with contact portions 34b by frictional force, given that frictional force is product of pressing/normal force and coefficient of friction between materials of 33b,d and 34b, where the normal force is expressly given as plate spring force that biases 34b against 33b,d and with any additional OIS tweezer force by USM2; Additionally, 34c, 34a contacting 12k are cited as additional structures that also read on the claimed limitation, specifically as coupling portions 34c as rods which are connected to 31,32 and contacting portions 34a, which contact fixing portion 12k, where these two elements are fixed and in physical contact this there is frictional force between them; Finally as noted resonance part 33 with 33b and connected 34c parts of 30A through 33c,33a connected to 12k, are configured to move 10 in e.g. first (X) direction, paragraphs [68-80], Figs. 3-8); and
a second OIS driver (e.g. 30B, where it is noted that 30A and 30 B have same structure, paragraphs [67-69], Figs. 3-6) comprising a second frictional contact portion disposed on the first frame (fixing portion 34a, contact portion 34b of tweezer 34, coupled to 12k portion of stage 12 of 10, for either 30B or 30A, paragraphs [69-80], Figs. 3-9), a second piezoelectric element configured to vibrate in a second direction different from the first direction (PZ elements 31,32 of 30B or 30A, paragraphs [20, 69-80,136], Figs. 3-6), and a second rod connected to a first end of the second piezoelectric element, in contact with the second frictional contact portion, and configured to move the first frame in the second direction (i.e. as arms 33b of resonance body 33 are both rods that are connected to 31,32 and are both in contact with contact portions 34b by frictional force, given that frictional force is product of pressing/normal force and coefficient of friction between materials of 33b,d and 34b, where the normal force is expressly given as plate spring force that biases 34b against 33b,d and with any additional OIS tweezer force by USM3; Additionally, 34c, 34a contacting 12k are cited as additional structures that also read on the claimed limitation, specifically as coupling portions 34c as rods which are connected to 31,32 and contacting portions 34a, which contact fixing portion 12k, where these two elements are fixed and in physical contact this there is frictional force between them; Finally as noted resonance part 33 with 33b and connected 34c parts of 30A through 33c,33a connected to 12k, are configured to move 10 in e.g. first (Y) direction, paragraphs [68-80], Figs. 3-8),
wherein the first OIS driver (e.g. 30A, or 30B) further comprises a first hinge member having a first end connected to a second end of the first piezoelectric element (i.e. as resonance 33 part between depressed portions 33c, see details in Figs. 6A,B, with one end connected to other end of piezoelectric element 31,32, paragraphs [68-80], e.g. Figs. 6-11, where the resonance part portion between 33c vibrates and bends and considered to act as hinge at least to an extent), and a second end connected to a second frame accommodating the first frame (i.e. as the other opposite protruding end of 33 between 33c, see details in Figs.6A,B, connected to base frame 21,20 at wires 25,255 on base frame 21,20 on one side of fixing portion 21b, and where the base, fixing part 21,20 accommodates the moving part, stage 10,12, e.g. Figs. 6-11, paragraphs [74-76, 59- 62]), and
wherein the second OIS driver (as 30B is equivalent to 30A, paragraphs [68-70]) further comprises a second hinge member having a first end connected to a second end of the second piezoelectric element (i.e. as resonance 33 part between depressed portions 33c see details in Figs. 6A,B, with one end connected to other end of 31,32, of 30B paragraphs [68-80], Figs. 6-11, where the resonance part portion between 33c is vibrates/bends and considered to act as hinge at least to an extent), and a second end connected to the second frame (i.e. as the other opposite protruding end of 33 between 33c, see details in Figs.6A,B, connected to base frame 21,20 at wires 25,255 on base frame 21,20 on one side of fixing portion 21b, and where the base, fixing part 21,20 accommodates the moving part and stage 10,12, e.g. Figs. 6-11, paragraphs [74-76, 59- 62]).
Regarding claim 2, Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) that the first frictional contact portion is disposed on a first contact surface of the first frame, and the second frictional contact portion is disposed on a second contact surface of the first frame, and the first contact surface and the second contact surface are perpendicular to each other (i.e. as each 34a is disposed on different portion 12k surfaces on 12 of 10 that are perpendicular, as depicted in Figs. 6-9, paragraphs [77-80]) .
Regarding claim 3, Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) that the first contact surface is parallel to the first direction, and the second contact surface is parallel to the second direction (i.e. as one 12k is parallel to X and other is parallel to Y direction, as depicted in Figs. 6-9, paragraphs [77-80]) .
Regarding claim 5, Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) further comprising a lens holder accommodating a lens barrel accommodating the lens (as AF moving part 11 with lens holder 111 accommodating a lens barrel with lens of the lens part 2, paragraphs [52, 56-62, 64, 84-87], Figs. 2-4,7), wherein the first frame is a carrier accommodating the lens holder (i.e. as OIS movable part 10 with first stage 12 is accommodating 11 with 111, paragraphs [52-62], Figs. 2-4,7-8).
Regarding claim 6, Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) that the second frame is a housing accommodating the carrier (i.e. as housing base 21,21b is accommodating 10 with 12, paragraphs [52-62], Figs. 2-4,7-8).
Regarding claim 7, Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) further comprising: a supporting frame (16) disposed between the carrier and the housing (as second stage 16 between 21 and 12 of 10, paragraphs [64-66, 86], Figs. 4, 7-8); a first ball assembly (e.g. balls 41 or 43 of supporting part 40, paragraphs [63-67,89], Figs. 4-5. 7-9), configured to guide movement of the carrier in the first direction by the first OIS driver (e.g. supporting movement of 10,12 in X direction by 30A, paragraphs [63-67], Figs. 4-5. 7-9); a second ball assembly (balls 43,or 41 paragraphs [64-66, 86], Figs. 4, 7-8) configured to guide movement of the carrier in the second direction by the second OIS driver (e.g. supporting movement of 10,12 in Y direction by 30B, paragraphs [63-67], Figs. 4-5. 7-9);
a first guide groove assembly formed on surfaces of the carrier and the supporting frame facing each other having the first ball assembly disposed therein (e.g. ball housings 12d,e on 12,10 and 16a on 16 supporting 43, paragraphs [64-67, 94-96], Figs. 4-5. 7-9); and a second guide groove assembly formed on surfaces of the supporting frame and the housing facing each other and having the second ball assembly disposed therein (e.g. ball housings 21d,e on 21/21c and 16b on 16 supporting balls 41, paragraphs [63, 95-96]).
Regarding claim 8, Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) that a second end of the first hinge member is connected to a surface of the housing parallel to the second direction (i.e. other protruding end of 33 between 33c (30A) connected to wires 25,255 on base frame 21 on one side of fixing portion 21b surface in Y direction, e.g. Figs. 5,11, paragraphs [74-76, 59, 62,68]), and a second end of the second hinge member is connected to a surface of the housing parallel to the first direction (i.e. other protruding end of 33 between 33c (30B) connected to wires 25,255 on base frame 21 on other side of fixing portion 21b surface in X direction, e.g. Figs. 5,11, paragraphs [74-76, 59, 62,68]).
Regarding claim 9, Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) that the first frictional contact portion is coupled to a first accommodation portion disposed in a first edge portion of the carrier (e.g. fixing portion 34a, is disposed accommodation portion of one 12k fixing portion on edge of stage 12 of 10, for either 30A or 30B, paragraphs [69-80,77], Figs. 8,3-6), and the second frictional contact portion is coupled to a second accommodation portion disposed in a second edge portion of the carrier (e.g. fixing portion 34a, is disposed in accommodation portion other 12k fixing portion on other edge of stage 12 of 10, for either 30A or 30B, paragraphs [69-80,77], as depicted in Figs. 8,3-6).
Regarding claim 10, Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) that each of the first frictional contact portion and the second frictional contact portion comprises a friction clamp (i.e. given the position and shape of 12k on edges of 12 with bent part 34a clamped on the 12k portions, paragraphs [69-80,77], as depicted in Figs. 8,3-6).
Regarding claim 11, Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) that each of the first accommodation portion and the second accommodation portion is a groove accommodating the friction clamp (i.e. as 12k form grooves on sides of 12 accommodating bent 34a portions paragraphs [69-80,77], as depicted in Figs. 8,3-6), and the first frictional contact portion and the first accommodation portion are coupled in the first direction, and the second frictional contact portion and the second accommodation portion are coupled in the second direction (i.e. as 34a and 12k on two sides of 12 are coupled in X and Y directions, as depicted in Figs. 3-6, 8-9, e.g. paragraphs [69-80,77]).
Regarding claim 12, Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) that the first hinge member is coupled to a portion of a housing parallel to the first direction, and the second hinge member is coupled to a portion of the housing parallel to the second direction (i.e. as one/another protruding end of 33 between 33c (30A/30B) connected to wires 25,255 on base frame 21 on one/other side of fixing portion 21b surface in X/Y direction, e.g. Figs. 5,11, paragraphs [74-76, 59, 62,68], see also claim 8 above).
Regarding claim 13, Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) further comprising an AF driver (AF driving part 13, e.g. paragraphs [57, 62, 82-92,104], Figs. 4-5,7-11) comprising:
a third frictional contact portion disposed on the lens holder (i.e. as 133a body portions of 133 disposed on 11,111, paragraphs [115-118], Figs. 7-10); a third rod in contact with the third frictional contact portion (i.e. as arms, contacts 133b,133d, paragraphs [115-118], Figs. 7-10); and a third piezoelectric element having a first end connected to the carrier and a second end connected to a first end of the third rod and being configured to vibrate in a direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (i.e. as piezo element 131(132) connected to 12 via portion 12b, and 134,134a, and other end/side connected to 133a, and configured to move 11 in Z direction, paragraphs [23,114-118], Figs. 8-11).
Regarding claim 14, Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) that the first frame is a lens holder accommodating the lens barrel (as first stage OIS 12 fixing part is accommodating movable 11AF part with lens holder 111 and lens part 2, as depicted in Figs. 3-5, 7-11 paragraphs [50-60,64,84]), and the second frame is a carrier accommodating the lens holder (i.e. as e.g. 21,20 accommodates 12 with 11, 111, as depicted in Figs. 3-5, 7-11 paragraphs [50-60,64,84]).
Regarding claim 15, Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) further comprising an AF driver (AF driving part 13, e.g. paragraphs [57, 62, 82-92,104], Figs. 4-5,7-11) comprising:
a third frictional contact portion disposed on the carrier (i.e. as 133a body portions of 133 disposed on 11,111, paragraphs [115-118], Figs. 7-10); a third rod in contact with the third frictional contact portion (i.e. as arms, contacts 133b,133d, paragraphs [115-118], Figs. 7-10); and a third piezoelectric connected to a first end of the third rod and being configured to vibrate in a direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (i.e. as piezo element 131(132) connected to 133a, 133b and configured to move 11 in Z direction, paragraphs [23,114-118], Figs. 8-11).
In regard to independent claim 16, Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) a camera module apparatus (i.e. lens driving device of a camera module, and a camera-mounted device, see title, abstract, paragraphs [01,05-33, 49-60,68-79, 81-90, 110-118]) comprising:
a lens (lens of lens part 2, paragraphs [52, 56-62, 64, 84-87], Figs. 2-4,7);
a lens barrel accommodating the lens (as AF moving part 11 with lens holder 111 accommodating a lens barrel with lens of the lens part 2, paragraphs [52, 56-62, 64, 84-87], Figs. 2-4,7);
a first frame accommodating the lens barrel (OIS movable part 10 accommodating lens part 2 in lens barrel 111 of movable 11 part, paragraphs [50-60], Figs. 2-4);
a second frame accommodating the first frame (i.e. as e.g. base frame/OIS fixing part 21,20 accommodates 10 with 12 and 11, 111, as depicted in Figs. 3-5, 7-11 paragraphs [50-60,64,84]);
a first OIS driver (e.g. 30A, paragraphs [68-70, Figs. 3-6) comprising a first frictional contact portion disposed on the first frame (fixing portion 34a, contact portion 34b of tweezer 34, coupled to 12k portion of stage 12 of 10, for either 30A or 30B, paragraphs [69-80], Figs. 3-6,8), a first piezoelectric element configured to vibrate in a first direction (PZ elements 31,32 of 30A or 30B, paragraphs [20, 69-80,136], Figs. 3-6,8), and a first rod connected to a first end of the first piezoelectric element, in contact with the first frictional contact portion, and configured to move the first frame in the first direction (i.e. as arms 33b of resonance body 33 are both rods that are connected to 31,32 and are both in contact with contact portions 34b by frictional force, given that frictional force is product of pressing/normal force and coefficient of friction between materials of 33b,d and 34b, where the normal force is expressly given as plate spring force that biases 34b against 33b,d and with any additional OIS tweezer force by USM2; Additionally, 34c, 34a contacting 12k are cited as additional structures that also read on the claimed limitation, specifically as coupling portions 34c as rods which are connected to 31,32 and contacting portions 34a, which contact fixing portion 12k, where these two elements are fixed and in physical contact this there is frictional force between them; Finally as noted resonance part 33 with 33b and connected 34c parts of 30A through 33c,33a connected to 12k, are configured to move 10 in e.g. first (X) direction, paragraphs [68-80], Figs. 3-8); and
a first hinge member having a first end connected to a second end of the first piezoelectric element (i.e. as resonance 33 part between depressed portions 33c, see details in Figs. 6A,B, with one end connected to other end of piezoelectric element 31,32, paragraphs [68-80], e.g. Figs. 6-11, where the resonance part portion between 33c vibrates and bends and considered to act as hinge at least to an extent), and a second end connected to a second frame accommodating the first frame (i.e. as the other opposite protruding end of 33 between 33c, see details in Figs.6A,B, connected to base frame 21,20 at wires 25,255 on base frame 21,20 on one side of fixing portion 21b, and where the base, fixing part 21,20 accommodates the moving part, stage 10,12, e.g. Figs. 6-11, paragraphs [74-76, 59- 62]), and
a second OIS driver (e.g. 30B, where it is noted that 30A and 30 B have same structure, paragraphs [67-69], Figs. 3-6) comprising a second frictional contact portion disposed on the first frame (fixing portion 34a, contact portion 34b of tweezer 34, coupled to 12k portion of stage 12 of 10, for either 30B or 30A, paragraphs [69-80], Figs. 3-9), a second piezoelectric element configured to vibrate in a second direction different from the first direction (PZ elements 31,32 of 30B or 30A, paragraphs [20, 69-80,136], Figs. 3-6), and a second rod connected to a first end of the second piezoelectric element, in contact with the second frictional contact portion, and configured to move the first frame in the second direction (i.e. as arms 33b of resonance body 33 are both rods that are connected to 31,32 and are both in contact with contact portions 34b by frictional force, given that frictional force is product of pressing/normal force and coefficient of friction between materials of 33b,d and 34b, where the normal force is expressly given as plate spring force that biases 34b against 33b,d and with any additional OIS tweezer force by USM3; Additionally, 34c, 34a contacting 12k are cited as additional structures that also read on the claimed limitation, specifically as coupling portions 34c as rods which are connected to 31,32 and contacting portions 34a, which contact fixing portion 12k, where these two elements are fixed and in physical contact this there is frictional force between them; Finally as noted resonance part 33 with 33b and connected 34c parts of 30A through 33c,33a connected to 12k, are configured to move 10 in e.g. first (Y) direction, paragraphs [68-80], Figs. 3-8), and
a second hinge member having a first end connected to a second end of the second piezoelectric element (i.e. as resonance 33 part between depressed portions 33c see details in Figs. 6A,B, with one end connected to other end of 31,32, of 30B paragraphs [68-80], Figs. 6-11, where the resonance part portion between 33c is vibrates/bends and considered to act as hinge at least to an extent), and a second end connected to the second frame (i.e. as the other opposite protruding end of 33 between 33c, see details in Figs.6A,B, connected to base frame 21,20 at wires 25,255 on base frame 21,20 on one side of fixing portion 21b, and where the base, fixing part 21,20 accommodates the moving part and stage 10,12, e.g. Figs. 6-11, paragraphs [74-76, 59- 62]).
Regarding claim 17, Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) further comprising a lens holder accommodating the lens barrel (as AF moving part 11 with lens holder 111 accommodating a lens barrel with lens of the lens part 2, paragraphs [52, 56-62, 64, 84-87], Figs. 2-4,7), wherein the first frame is a carrier accommodating the lens holder (i.e. as OIS movable part 10 with first stage 12 is accommodating 11 with 111, paragraphs [52-62], Figs. 2-4,7-8), and the second frame is a housing accommodating the carrier (i.e. as housing base 21,21b is accommodating 10 with 12, paragraphs [52-62], Figs. 2-4,7-8).
Regarding claim 18, Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) that the first frictional contact portion is connected to a surface of the carrier parallel to the first direction, and the second frictional contact portion is connected to a surface of the carrier parallel to the second direction (i.e. as each 34a is disposed on different portion 12k surfaces in X and Y directions on 12 of 10 that are perpendicular, as depicted in Figs. 6-9, paragraphs [77-80]), and
the first hinge member is connected to a surface of the housing parallel to the first direction (i.e. other protruding end of 33 between 33c (30A) connected to wires 25,255 on base frame 21 on one side of fixing portion 21b surface in X direction, e.g. Figs. 5,11, paragraphs [74-76, 59, 62,68]), and a second end of the second hinge member is connected to a surface of the housing parallel to the second direction (i.e. other protruding end of 33 between 33c (30B) connected to wires 25,255 on base frame 21 on other side of fixing portion 21b surface in Y direction, e.g. Figs. 5,11, paragraphs [74-76, 59, 62,68]).
Regarding claim 19, Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) that the first frictional contact portion is connected to a surface of the carrier parallel to the first direction, and the second frictional contact portion is connected to a surface of the carrier parallel to the second direction (i.e. as each 34a is disposed on different portion 12k surfaces in X and Y directions on 12 of 10 that are perpendicular, as depicted in Figs. 6-9, paragraphs [77-80]), and
the first hinge member is connected to a surface of the housing parallel to the second direction (i.e. other protruding end of 33 between 33c (30A) connected to wires 25,255 on base frame 21 on one side of fixing portion 21b surface in Y direction, e.g. Figs. 5,11, paragraphs [74-76, 59, 62,68]), and the second hinge member is connected to a surface of the housing parallel to the first direction (i.e. other protruding end of 33 between 33c (30B) connected to wires 25,255 on base frame 21 on other side of fixing portion 21b surface in X direction, e.g. Figs. 5,11, paragraphs [74-76, 59, 62,68]).
Regarding claim 20, Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) that the first frame is a lens holder accommodating the lens barrel (as first stage OIS 12 fixing part is accommodating movable 11AF part with lens holder 111 and lens part 2, as depicted in Figs. 3-5, 7-11 paragraphs [50-60,64,84]), and the second frame is a carrier accommodating the lens holder (i.e. as e.g. 21,20 accommodates 12 with 11, 111, as depicted in Figs. 3-5, 7-11 paragraphs [50-60,64,84]).
Regarding claim 21, Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) that the second hinge member extends from the second end of the second piezoelectric element in a direction away from the first hinge member (i.e. as best understood given the above 112 issues, i.e. as resonance 33 part between depressed portions 33c of 30B, see details in Figs. 6A,B, extends from one end that is connected to 2nd other end of 31,32, and away from analogous hinge part resonance 33 part between 33c of 30A, given that 30B extends away from the corner of the base 21 where the 30A is, as best depicted in Fig. 11, 6A,B, see also paragraphs [68-80]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the Remarks dated 03/11/2026 regarding claim 1 and as applied for claim 16 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically, Applicant argues on pages 7-8 of the Remarks that the cited prior art of Itagaki does not disclose the new amended limitations of claim 1, namely that (1) “wherein the first OIS driver further comprises a first hinge member having a first end connected to a second end of the first piezoelectric element, and a second end connected to a second frame accommodating the first frame, and wherein the second OIS driver further comprises a second hinge member having a first end connected to a second end of the second piezoelectric element, and a second end connected to the second frame”, since resonance part 33 of Itagaki does not have a second end that is connected to a second frame accommodating the first frame (OIS movable part 10). The Examiner respectfully disagrees. With respect to the above issue (1) , as noted in the rejections above, the cited prior art of Itegaki teaches all limitations of claim 1, as Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) a lens driving apparatus (i.e. lens driving device, a camera module, and a camera-mounted device, see title, abstract, paragraphs [01,05-33, 49-60,68-79, 81-90, 110-118]) comprising:
a first frame accommodating a lens (OIS movable part 10 with 12 accommodating lens part 2 in movable 11 part, paragraphs [50-60], Figs. 2-4);
a first optical image stabilization (OIS) driver (e.g. 30A, paragraphs [68-70, Figs. 3-6) comprising a first frictional contact portion disposed on the first frame (fixing portion 34a, contact portion 34b of tweezer 34, coupled to 12k portion of stage 12 of 10, for either 30A or 30B, paragraphs [69-80], Figs. 3-6,8), a first piezoelectric element configured to vibrate in a first direction (PZ elements 31,32 of 30A or 30B, paragraphs [20, 69-80,136], Figs. 3-6,8), and a first rod connected to a first end of the first piezoelectric element, in contact with the first frictional contact portion, and configured to move the first frame in the first direction (i.e. as arms 33b of resonance body 33 are both rods that are connected to 31,32 and are both in contact with contact portions 34b by frictional force, given that frictional force is product of pressing/normal force and coefficient of friction between materials of 33b,d and 34b, where the normal force is expressly given as plate spring force that biases 34b against 33b,d and with any additional OIS tweezer force by USM2; Additionally, 34c, 34a contacting 12k are cited as additional structures that also read on the claimed limitation, specifically as coupling portions 34c as rods which are connected to 31,32 and contacting portions 34a, which contact fixing portion 12k, where these two elements are fixed and in physical contact this there is frictional force between them; Finally as noted resonance part 33 with 33b and connected 34c parts of 30A through 33c,33a connected to 12k, are configured to move 10 in e.g. first (X) direction, paragraphs [68-80], Figs. 3-8); and
a second OIS driver (e.g. 30B, where it is noted that 30A and 30 B have same structure, paragraphs [67-69], Figs. 3-6) comprising a second frictional contact portion disposed on the first frame (fixing portion 34a, contact portion 34b of tweezer 34, coupled to 12k portion of stage 12 of 10, for either 30B or 30A, paragraphs [69-80], Figs. 3-9), a second piezoelectric element configured to vibrate in a second direction different from the first direction (PZ elements 31,32 of 30B or 30A, paragraphs [20, 69-80,136], Figs. 3-6), and a second rod connected to a first end of the second piezoelectric element, in contact with the second frictional contact portion, and configured to move the first frame in the second direction (i.e. as arms 33b of resonance body 33 are both rods that are connected to 31,32 and are both in contact with contact portions 34b by frictional force, given that frictional force is product of pressing/normal force and coefficient of friction between materials of 33b,d and 34b, where the normal force is expressly given as plate spring force that biases 34b against 33b,d and with any additional OIS tweezer force by USM3; Additionally, 34c, 34a contacting 12k are cited as additional structures that also read on the claimed limitation, specifically as coupling portions 34c as rods which are connected to 31,32 and contacting portions 34a, which contact fixing portion 12k, where these two elements are fixed and in physical contact this there is frictional force between them; Finally as noted resonance part 33 with 33b and connected 34c parts of 30A through 33c,33a connected to 12k, are configured to move 10 in e.g. first (Y) direction, paragraphs [68-80], Figs. 3-8),
wherein the first OIS driver (e.g. 30A, or 30B) further comprises a first hinge member having a first end connected to a second end of the first piezoelectric element (i.e. as resonance 33 part between depressed portions 33c, see details in Figs. 6A,B, with one end connected to other end of piezoelectric element 31,32, paragraphs [68-80], e.g. Figs. 6-11, where the resonance part portion between 33c vibrates and bends and considered to act as hinge at least to an extent), and a second end connected to a second frame accommodating the first frame (i.e. as the other opposite protruding end of 33 between 33c, see details in Figs.6A,B, connected to base frame 21,20 at wires 25,255 on base frame 21,20 on one side of fixing portion 21b, and where the base, fixing part 21,20 accommodates the moving part, stage 10,12, e.g. Figs. 6-11, paragraphs [74-76, 59- 62]), and
wherein the second OIS driver (as 30B is equivalent to 30A, paragraphs [68-70]) further comprises a second hinge member having a first end connected to a second end of the second piezoelectric element (i.e. as resonance 33 part between depressed portions 33c see details in Figs. 6A,B, with one end connected to other end of 31,32, of 30B paragraphs [68-80], Figs. 6-11, where the resonance part portion between 33c is vibrates/bends and considered to act as hinge at least to an extent), and a second end connected to the second frame (i.e. as the other opposite protruding end of 33 between 33c, see details in Figs.6A,B, connected to base frame 21,20 at wires 25,255 on base frame 21,20 on one side of fixing portion 21b, and where the base, fixing part 21,20 accommodates the moving part and stage 10,12, e.g. Figs. 6-11, paragraphs [74-76, 59- 62]).
Specifically, Itegaki teaches that the first OIS driver (e.g. 30A, or 30B) further comprises a first hinge member having a first end connected to a second end of the first piezoelectric element (i.e. as resonance 33 part between depressed portions 33c, see details in Figs. 6A,B, with one end connected to other end of piezoelectric element 31,32, paragraphs [68-80], e.g. Figs. 6-11, where the resonance part portion between 33c vibrates and bends and considered to act as hinge at least to an extent), and a second end connected to a second frame accommodating the first frame (i.e. as the other opposite protruding end of 33 between 33c, see details in Figs.6A,B, connected to base frame 21,20 at wires 25,255 on base frame 21,20 on one side of fixing portion 21b, and where the base, fixing part 21,20 accommodates the moving part, stage 10,12, e.g. Figs. 6-11, paragraphs [74-76, 59- 62]), and that the second OIS driver (as 30B is equivalent to 30A, paragraphs [68-70]) further comprises a second hinge member having a first end connected to a second end of the second piezoelectric element (i.e. as resonance 33 part between depressed portions 33c see details in Figs. 6A,B, with one end connected to other end of 31,32, of 30B paragraphs [68-80], Figs. 6-11, where the resonance part portion between 33c is vibrates/bends and considered to act as hinge at least to an extent), and a second end connected to the second frame (i.e. as the other opposite protruding end of 33 between 33c, see details in Figs.6A,B, connected to base frame 21,20 at wires 25,255 on base frame 21,20 on one side of fixing portion 21b, and where the base, fixing part 21,20 accommodates the moving part and stage 10,12, e.g. Figs. 6-11, paragraphs [74-76, 59- 62]). The hinge member (as one hinge for each of first 30A and second 30B driving part) as resonance 33 part that is between depressed portions 33c, see details in Figs. 6A,B, has one end connected to other end of piezoelectric element 31,32, paragraphs [68-80], e.g. Figs. 6-11), and has a second end connected to the second frame, i.e. as the other opposite protruding end of 33 part between 33c, see details in Figs.6A,B, that is connected to base frame 21,20 at wires 25,255 on base frame 21,20 on one side of fixing portion 21b as best show in details of Figure 11. Furthermore, the base, fixing part i.e. 21,20 accommodates the moving part and stage 10,12, as clearly depicted in Figs. 6-11, paragraphs [74-76, 59- 62].
Therefore, the cited prior art of Itegaki teaches all limitations of claim 1 including the limitations raised under issue (1) above.
Additionally, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., specific form, shape, or connection to base) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues on pages 7-8 of the Remarks that the cited prior art of Itagaki does not disclose limitations of claim 16, namely that (2) “a first OIS driver comprising a first frictional contact portion disposed on the first frame, a first piezoelectric element configured to vibrate in a first direction, a first rod connected to a first end of the first piezoelectric element, in contact with the first frictional contact portion, and configured to move the first frame in the first direction, and a first hinge member having a first end connected to a second end of the first piezoelectric element and a second end connected to the second frame; and a second OIS driver comprising a second frictional contact portion disposed on the first frame, a second piezoelectric element configured to vibrate in a second direction different from the first direction, a second rod connected to a first end of the second piezoelectric element, in contact with the second frictional contact portion, and configured to move the first frame in the second direction, and a second hinge member having a first end connected to a second end of the second piezoelectric element and a second end connected to the second frame,” because Itegaki fails to teach such recited features, but without providing any additional explanations.
The Examiner strenuously disagrees. With respect to the above issue (2) , as noted in the rejections above, the cited prior art of Itegaki teaches all limitations of claim 16, as Itagaki teaches (see Figs. 1-11) a camera module apparatus (i.e. lens driving device of a camera module, and a camera-mounted device, see title, abstract, paragraphs [01,05-33, 49-60,68-79, 81-90, 110-118]) comprising:
a lens (lens of lens part 2, paragraphs [52, 56-62, 64, 84-87], Figs. 2-4,7);
a lens barrel accommodating the lens (as AF moving part 11 with lens holder 111 accommodating a lens barrel with lens of the lens part 2, paragraphs [52, 56-62, 64, 84-87], Figs. 2-4,7);
a first frame accommodating the lens barrel (OIS movable part 10 accommodating lens part 2 in lens barrel 111 of movable 11 part, paragraphs [50-60], Figs. 2-4);
a second frame accommodating the first frame (i.e. as e.g. base frame/OIS fixing part 21,20 accommodates 10 with 12 and 11, 111, as depicted in Figs. 3-5, 7-11 paragraphs [50-60,64,84]);
a first OIS driver (e.g. 30A, paragraphs [68-70, Figs. 3-6) comprising a first frictional contact portion disposed on the first frame (fixing portion 34a, contact portion 34b of tweezer 34, coupled to 12k portion of stage 12 of 10, for either 30A or 30B, paragraphs [69-80], Figs. 3-6,8), a first piezoelectric element configured to vibrate in a first direction (PZ elements 31,32 of 30A or 30B, paragraphs [20, 69-80,136], Figs. 3-6,8), and a first rod connected to a first end of the first piezoelectric element, in contact with the first frictional contact portion, and configured to move the first frame in the first direction (i.e. as arms 33b of resonance body 33 are both rods that are connected to 31,32 and are both in contact with contact portions 34b by frictional force, given that frictional force is product of pressing/normal force and coefficient of friction between materials of 33b,d and 34b, where the normal force is expressly given as plate spring force that biases 34b against 33b,d and with any additional OIS tweezer force by USM2; Additionally, 34c, 34a contacting 12k are cited as additional structures that also read on the claimed limitation, specifically as coupling portions 34c as rods which are connected to 31,32 and contacting portions 34a, which contact fixing portion 12k, where these two elements are fixed and in physical contact this there is frictional force between them; Finally as noted resonance part 33 with 33b and connected 34c parts of 30A through 33c,33a connected to 12k, are configured to move 10 in e.g. first (X) direction, paragraphs [68-80], Figs. 3-8); and
a first hinge member having a first end connected to a second end of the first piezoelectric element (i.e. as resonance 33 part between depressed portions 33c, see details in Figs. 6A,B, with one end connected to other end of piezoelectric element 31,32, paragraphs [68-80], e.g. Figs. 6-11, where the resonance part portion between 33c vibrates and bends and considered to act as hinge at least to an extent), and a second end connected to a second frame accommodating the first frame (i.e. as the other opposite protruding end of 33 between 33c, see details in Figs.6A,B, connected to base frame 21,20 at wires 25,255 on base frame 21,20 on one side of fixing portion 21b, and where the base, fixing part 21,20 accommodates the moving part, stage 10,12, e.g. Figs. 6-11, paragraphs [74-76, 59- 62]), and
a second OIS driver (e.g. 30B, where it is noted that 30A and 30 B have same structure, paragraphs [67-69], Figs. 3-6) comprising a second frictional contact portion disposed on the first frame (fixing portion 34a, contact portion 34b of tweezer 34, coupled to 12k portion of stage 12 of 10, for either 30B or 30A, paragraphs [69-80], Figs. 3-9), a second piezoelectric element configured to vibrate in a second direction different from the first direction (PZ elements 31,32 of 30B or 30A, paragraphs [20, 69-80,136], Figs. 3-6), and a second rod connected to a first end of the second piezoelectric element, in contact with the second frictional contact portion, and configured to move the first frame in the second direction (i.e. as arms 33b of resonance body 33 are both rods that are connected to 31,32 and are both in contact with contact portions 34b by frictional force, given that frictional force is product of pressing/normal force and coefficient of friction between materials of 33b,d and 34b, where the normal force is expressly given as plate spring force that biases 34b against 33b,d and with any additional OIS tweezer force by USM3; Additionally, 34c, 34a contacting 12k are cited as additional structures that also read on the claimed limitation, specifically as coupling portions 34c as rods which are connected to 31,32 and contacting portions 34a, which contact fixing portion 12k, where these two elements are fixed and in physical contact this there is frictional force between them; Finally as noted resonance part 33 with 33b and connected 34c parts of 30A through 33c,33a connected to 12k, are configured to move 10 in e.g. first (Y) direction, paragraphs [68-80], Figs. 3-8), and
a second hinge member having a first end connected to a second end of the second piezoelectric element (i.e. as resonance 33 part between depressed portions 33c see details in Figs. 6A,B, with one end connected to other end of 31,32, of 30B paragraphs [68-80], Figs. 6-11, where the resonance part portion between 33c is vibrates/bends and considered to act as hinge at least to an extent), and a second end connected to the second frame (i.e. as the other opposite protruding end of 33 between 33c, see details in Figs.6A,B, connected to base frame 21,20 at wires 25,255 on base frame 21,20 on one side of fixing portion 21b, and where the base, fixing part 21,20 accommodates the moving part and stage 10,12, e.g. Figs. 6-11, paragraphs [74-76, 59- 62]).
Specifically, Itegaki teaches two separate drivers 30A and 30 B that have same structural components, and are configured to move 10 in e.g. first (X) and second (Y) directions, respectively, and the cited structural components were not arbitrarily selected (see paragraphs [67-69], Figs. 3-6). Further, Itegaki teaches the first rod connected to a first end of the first piezoelectric element, in contact with the first frictional contact portion, and configured to move the first frame in the first direction, i.e. as arms 33b of resonance body 33 are both rods that are connected to 31,32 and are both in contact with contact portions 34b by frictional force, given that frictional force is product of pressing/normal force and coefficient of friction between materials of 33b,d and 34b, where the normal force is expressly given as plate spring force that biases 34b against 33b,d and with any additional OIS tweezer force by USM2; Additionally, 34c, 34a contacting 12k are cited as additional structures that also read on the claimed limitation, specifically as coupling portions 34c as rods which are connected to 31,32 and contacting portions 34a, which contact fixing portion 12k, where these two elements are fixed and in physical contact this there is frictional force between them; Finally as noted resonance part 33 with 33b and connected 34c parts of 30A through 33c,33a connected to 12k, are configured to move 10 in e.g. first (X) direction, paragraphs [68-80], Figs. 3-8).
The analogous parts of the second driver 30B for driving the stage in second (Y) directions, read on the second limitation of item (1) above, namely the second rod connected to a first end of the second piezoelectric element, in contact with the second frictional contact portion, and configured to move the first frame in the second direction, i.e. as arms 33b of resonance body 33 are both rods that are connected to 31,32 and are both in contact with contact portions 34b by frictional force, given that frictional force is product of pressing/normal force and coefficient of friction between materials of 33b,d and 34b, where the normal force is expressly given as plate spring force that biases 34b against 33b,d and with any additional OIS tweezer force by USM3; Additionally, 34c, 34a contacting 12k are cited as additional structures that also read on the claimed limitation, specifically as coupling portions 34c as rods which are connected to 31,32 and contacting portions 34a, which contact fixing portion 12k, where these two elements are fixed and in physical contact this there is frictional force between them; Finally as noted resonance part 33 with 33b and connected 34c parts of 30A through 33c,33a connected to 12k, are configured to move 10 in e.g. first (Y) direction, paragraphs [68-80], Figs. 3-8). Moreover, resonance part contact portions 33b have elongated rod shape as do the coupling portions 34c. As explained above, the operation of both drivers 30A and 30B involves friction force at the above described friction points.
It is noted that "[t]he use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968))." MPEP §2123. Although the cited reference(s) is/are different from the invention disclosed by Applicant, the language of Applicant's claims is sufficiently broad to reasonably read on the cited reference(s).
The same answers also apply to similar limitations recited in independent claim 16.
Therefore, the cited prior art of Itegaki teaches all limitations of claim 16 including the limitations raised under issue (2) above.
No additional substantial arguments were presented after page 8 of the Remarks dated 03/11/2026.
Conclusion
/MARIN PICHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872