DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
Applicant’s amendments filed 4/16/26 resolve all the previous 112 issues.
Regarding He, Applicant asserts He does not read on the claims because He discloses an antenna or coil embedded into the wall of the housing, rather than arranged inside the housing. However, the broadest reasonable interpretation of antennas positioned “within” a housing as recited would include antennas embedded in a housing.
Regarding Rahman, Applicant asserts Rahman only shows crossed antennas for the external device, and refers to Figures 6 and 7 of Rahman. However, as noted in the previous rejection, Rahman also shows the orthogonal antennas may be arranged in the implantable device at Figure 13.
Regarding the double patenting, these rejections are maintained but will be reconsidered upon allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 17, 19, 23, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US 2006/0167521) in view of Rahman (US 2008/0172109).
Regarding claim 1, He discloses substantially the same invention as claimed (Figure 6 shown above for example), including an implantable neuro-modulator device (abstract; Paragraph 1), comprising a hermetically sealed housing (Figure 6; Paragraphs 45, 54-55), wherein a first antenna for communicating with external devices and/or for wirelessly receiving electrical energy is positioned within the housing, defining a first antenna aperture (Paragraphs 28-30).
Further regarding claim 1, He does not disclose multiple antennas as recited. However, Rahman teaches including first and second antennas for communicating with external devices and/or for wirelessly receiving electrical energy, each defining first and second antenna apertures, wherein the first and the second antenna apertures are oriented at a right angle with respect to each other (Figure 13: orthogonal antennas in implantable device 100; Paragraphs 42-43), in order to maximize signal transfer regardless of antenna orientation:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify He as taught by Rahman to include first and second antennas as recited, in order to maximize signal transfer regardless of antenna orientation.
Regarding claims 2-3, He discloses the housing is made of plastic or polymer (Paragraph 54), which would be electromagnetically transparent as recited.
Regarding claim 4, He discloses the housing comprises a first housing part (Figure 6: molded part 86) and a second housing part (Figure 6: header 83), where the first housing part comprises a container which is closed at one end (Figure 6) and has a first sealing ring (Figure 6: metal ring 80) at the opposite or second end. He also discloses the plastic or polymer material allows the housing to be molded in a variety of shapes (Paragraph 50), including a round cross-section (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 6, He discloses the second housing part (Figure 6: 83) comprising a ring and feed-through element as recited (Paragraph 55).
Regarding claim 17, 19, He discloses a rechargeable energy storage device, control unit, and pulse generating means as recited (Figure 1).
Regarding claim 23, He discloses using large aperture antennas (Paragraph 32).
Regarding claim 26, the antenna configuration of Rahman includes antenna selection as recited (Paragraphs 42-43).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US 2006/0167521) and Rahman (US 2008/0172109) in view of Rowland (US 2014/0155710).
Regarding claim 5, He or Rahman do not disclose specifically machining a ceramic material as recited. However, Rowland teaches ceramic materials are recognized for RF transparency in implantable device housings (Paragraph 7) and are typically machined from a monolithic piece of ceramic material (Paragraphs 8-9, 32). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify He and Rahman as taught by Rowland to include machined ceramic as recited, since such a modification would have amounted to selecting a known suitable material and typical manufacturing process for IMD housings.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US 2006/0167521) and Rahman (US 2008/0172109) in view of Shah (US 2018/0133487).
Regarding claim 7, He or Rahman do not explicitly disclose a lead as recited. However, Shah teaches a feedthrough contact element is typically electrically connected to an electrode lead, in order to deliver electrical stimulation to a target site (Paragraph 16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify He and Rahman as taught by Shah to include a lead as recited, in order to deliver electrical stimulation to a target site.
Claim(s) 8-9, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US 2006/0167521) and Rahman (US 2008/0172109) in view of Waataja (US 2014/0214129).
Regarding claims 8-9, 11-13, He or Rahman do not disclose an overmold as recited. However, Waataja teaches an overmold including a header portion and suture holes (Figures 2A-B; Paragraph 51), in order to facilitate placement of the device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify He and Rahman as taught by Waataja to include an overmold as recited, in order to facilitate placement of the device.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US 2006/0167521) and Rahman (US 2008/0172109) and Waataja (US 2014/0214129) in view of Boling (US 2012/0290057).
Regarding claim 10, He or Rahman or Waataja do not disclose the angled lead guide member as recited. However, Boling teaches an angled lead guide member as recited (Figure 3; Paragraph 90), in order to optimally position a lead for a particular target. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify He and Rahman and Waataja as taught by Boling to include an angled lead guide member as recited, in order to optimally position a lead for a particular target.
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US 2006/0167521) and Rahman (US 2008/0172109) in view of Colvin (US 2006/0161204).
Regarding claims 14-16, He and Rahman do not disclose the dimensions as recited. However, Colvin teaches diameters and lengths as recited (Paragraphs 20, 34), in order to suitably size the device for implantation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify He and Rahman as taught by Colvin to include the dimensions as recited, in order to suitably size the device for implantation.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US 2006/0167521) and Rahman (US 2008/0172109) in view of Schmidt 1 (US 2002/0161404).
Regarding claim 18, He or Rahman do not disclose a solid state battery as recited. However, Schmidt teaches a solid state battery (abstract), in order to avoid liquids or volatile materials which may damage electronics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify He and Rahman as taught by Schmidt to include a solid state battery as recited, in order to avoid liquids or volatile materials which may damage electronics.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US 2006/0167521) and Rahman (US 2008/0172109) in view of Schmidt 2 (US 2002/0183800).
Regarding claim 20, He or Rahman do not disclose two charging circuits as recited. However, Schmidt 2 teaches two charging circuits as recited (Figure 2), in order to optimize power delivery and conservation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify He and Rahman as taught by Schmidt 2 to include two charging circuits as recited (Figure 2), in order to optimize power delivery and conservation.
Claim(s) 21-22, 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He (US 2006/0167521) and Rahman (US 2008/0172109) in view of Knipfer (US 2010/00274309).
Regarding claims 21-22, He or Rahman do not disclose dividers as recited. However, Knipfer teaches subdividing space within a housing, including a larger energy storage compartment, in order to help support respective components (Figures 3-4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify He and Rahman as taught by Knipfer to include the configuration as recited, in order to help support respective components.
Regarding claims 24-25, the antennas of Rahman are essentially rectangular as recited (Figure 13).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-26 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/176,550 in view of Rahman (US 2008/0172109). The copending application recites substantially the same invention except for the orthogonal antennas. However, Rahman teaches including first and second antennas for communicating with external devices and/or for wirelessly receiving electrical energy, each defining first and second antenna apertures, wherein the first and the second antenna apertures are oriented at a right angle with respect to each other (Figure 13: orthogonal antennas in implantable device 100; Paragraphs 42-43), in order to maximize signal transfer regardless of antenna orientation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the copending application as taught by Rahman to include first and second antennas as recited, in order to maximize signal transfer regardless of antenna orientation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Barror (US 2017/0100597) shows a microstimulator with ceramic housing.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eugene T Wu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796