DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 filed 10/11/2023 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11: typos “ration” and “partiuclar” in the last line of the claim.
Claim 12: there is no claim 12, claim 10 is repeated twice instead. Misnumbered claim 10 – the second occurrence of “claim 10” - has been renumbered claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Due to the presence of two (2) different instances of “claim 10”, the dependency of claim 13 is unclear. For examination purposes, claim 13 will be considered to depend from renumbered claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 12, 14, 16, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lennartson et al. (US20230023283A1), hereafter Lennartson.
Regarding claims 1 and 14,
Lennartson discloses a non-transitory machine readable medium (Fig. 10, memory 1006; paragraph 109-112) storing a method program for execution by a set of processing units (Fig. 10, processors 1004), the program for a PIM detection RAN application deployed across one or more RICs (Fig. 1, macrocells 102-1, 102-2) for detecting PIM in a RAN (paragraph 3-4, 53-54) comprising a plurality of RAN base stations (Fig. 1, small cells 106-1 thru 106-4) for servicing a plurality of users located across a plurality of regions (i.e. sites/clusters; Abstract), each region comprising at least one RAN base station (Fig. 1) comprising sets of instructions for a method (Fig. 4-5) for a particular region serviced by a particular RAN base station, detecting (i) high UL noise for the particular region (Fig. 4, step 402; paragraph 7, 15, 64, 130; correlate downlink traffic load with measured uplink noise) and (ii) antenna imbalance for the particular region (paragraph 66; site/group of base stations interact/induce PIM interference based on relative position of antennas; paragraphs 14, 136; detection of in-line PIM caused in the radio/coax/antennas + external PIM via site carriers).
Lennartson further shows, based on said detecting, determining whether high KPI impact is detected for the particular region (Fig. 4, step 404-406; Fig. 5, step 504; paragraph 93-100) and when high KPI impact is detected for the particular region, generating a PIM alert (i.e. alarm) to notify an operator of the particular RAN base station that services the particular region that PIM is detected for the particular region (Fig. 5, step 506; paragraph 101; trigger alarm if estimated PIM is above threshold).
Regarding claims 3 and 16,
Lennartson discloses displaying the PIM alert through user interface to notify the operator (paragraph 103).
Regarding claims 4, 7, 17, and 19,
Lennartson discloses detecting high UL noise for the particular region comprises calculating an average UL per-PRB interference measurement for a particular/strongest (i.e. maximum) receiver antenna branch of a set of receiver antenna branches of the particular RAN base station (Fig. 6; paragraph 79-97; average PRB uplink noise over all receiver branches per sector/carrier; maximum PIM interference created by aggressor carriers across sectors/branches) and determining that the calculated average UL per-PRB interference measurement is greater than an interference threshold specified for the particular region (paragraph 89, 101; trigger alarm if correlation and/or estimated PIM is above a threshold based on average UL per-PRB interference/noise).
Regarding claim 12,
Lennartson discloses each RAN base station in the plurality of RAN base stations comprises a respective set of base station components (Fig. 1, 6, 11; sectors/carriers/branches of the base station), wherein the RAN application communicates with each respective set of base station components of each RAN base station via a particular RIC that interfaces with the RAN application and the respective set of base station components (Fig. 1, macrocell base stations 102 connect small cells 106 to the core network 110).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lennartson in view of Hasarchi et al. (US20170250765A1), hereafter Hasarchi.
Regarding claims 2 and 15,
Lennartson discloses detecting antenna imbalance for the particular region (paragraph 66; site/group of base stations interact/induce PIM interference based on relative position of antennas; paragraphs 14, 136; detection of in-line PIM caused in the radio/coax/antennas) when high KPI impact is not detected (external PIM not detected) but does not expressly disclose distinguishing between a PIM alert when high KPI impact is detected and generating an antenna imbalance alert to notify the operator of the particular RAN base station that services the particular region that antenna imbalance is detected for the particular region even when high KPI impact is not detected for the particular region.
Hasarchi discloses analogous art (Title: Automatic Mapping and Handling PIM and Other Uplink Interferences in Digital Distributed Antenna Systems) including generating an antenna imbalance alert to notify the operator of the particular RAN base station that services the particular region that antenna imbalance is detected for the particular region even when high KPI impact is not detected for the particular region (paragraphs 46, 89-102; Fig. 8, step 8008; submit report on design value deviations of RRU antennas/resource filters – i.e. internal PIM as in Lennartson - even if external PIM is not detected in step 8004).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Lennartson by generating an antenna imbalance alert to notify the operator of the particular RAN base station that services the particular region that antenna imbalance is detected for the particular region even when high KPI impact is not detected for the particular region, as shown by Hasarchi, thereby isolating and identifying root causes generating problems in the network.
Claim 5, 6, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lennartson in view of Marupaduga (USP 11425620B1).
Regarding claims 5, 6, and 18,
Lennartson discloses LTE and NR carrier signals (paragraph 36, 43) but fails to expressly disclose the interference threshold specified for the particular region is based on those different types of carrier signal type.
Marupaduga discloses analogous art in which interference threshold specified for the particular region is based on those different types of carrier signal type (Col. 5-6, lines 47-6; Col. 20-21, lines 46-14; different interference thresholds for different types of RATs, i.e. 4G LTE/5G NR).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Lennartson by specifying the interference threshold for the particular region based on those different types of carrier signal type, as shown by Marupaduga, thereby controlling interference according to the particular technology being evaluated.
Claims 8-11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lennartson in view of Mansour et al. (US2023038057A1), hereafter Mansour.
Regarding claims 8 and 20,
Lennartson discloses detecting antenna imbalance for the particular region comprises calculating a maximum/minimum (i.e. range) per-branch interference value for the particular region (paragraph 98; different ranges of uplink interference values per aggressor-victim groups) but fails to expressly disclose determining if the range is greater than a threshold specified for the region.
Mansour discloses analogous art (Title; paragraph 1; dynamic HARQ activation in 5G/6G in consideration of PIM) including determining if the range is greater than a threshold specified for the region (paragraph 92; dynamic HARQ activation based on comparing range of measurements to a threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Lennartson by determining if the range is greater than a threshold specified for the region, as shown by Mansour, thereby optimizing HARQ usage based on radio link conditions to more efficiently use resources and improve network throughput.
Regarding claims 9 and 10,
Lennartson discloses determining whether high KPI impact is detected for the particular region (Fig. 4, step 404-406; Fig. 5, step 504; paragraph 93-100) but fails to expressly show calculating a UL Layer 1 HARQ or RLC retransmission ratio and determining the calculated UL Layer 1 or RLC retransmission ratio is greater than a threshold specified for the particular region.
Mansour discloses analogous art (Title; paragraph 1; dynamic HARQ activation in 5G/6G in consideration of PIM) including calculating a UL Layer 1 HARQ or RLC retransmission ratio and determining the calculated UL Layer 1 or RLC retransmission ratio is greater than a threshold specified for the particular region (paragraph 92; dynamic HARQ activation based on comparing measurements to a threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Lennartson by calculating a UL Layer 1 HARQ or RLC retransmission ratio and determining the calculated UL Layer 1 or RLC retransmission ratio is greater than a threshold specified for the particular region, as shown by Mansour, thereby optimizing HARQ usage based on radio link conditions to more efficiently use resources and improve network throughput.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lennartson in view of Tsui et al. (US20220279520A1), hereafter Tsui.
Regarding claim 13 (as best understood),
Lennartson discloses the particular RIC comprises a centralized RIC (paragraph 36; gNB-CU; Fig. 1, macrocell 102-1 is centralized with respect to small cells 106-1 and 106-2) but does not expressly disclose the RAN application comprises an rApp.
Tsui discloses analogous art (Title: Mitigating Interference Relating to Passive Intermodulation (PIM)) including RAN application rApp (Abstract; paragraph 57; management of RIC behaviors via network applications such as rApp).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify Lennartson by providing RAN application rApp, as shown by Tsui, thereby enabling network service management of various entities via one or more RICs using known network applications.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 4, 12, 13, 14, and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1+8, 20, 4, 9, 10 and/or 20, 12+19, and 15 of co-pending Application No. 18/3788882 in view of Lennartson.
Regarding claims 1 and 14,
Both present claims 1 and 14 and copending claims 1+8 and 12 (misnumbered as 10) + 19 recites a method and machine-readable medium with the same preamble, detecting UL noise and antenna imbalance (i.e. interference incident) associated with the particular region, determining whether high KPI impact is detected for the region (i.e. analyzing the pattern of interference) and generating an alert to notify an operator of the particular RAN/region. The differences in terminology and description of the “detecting” and “determining” steps would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing given the similar disclosure and descriptions provided in Lennartson, as shown above, in order to manage various causes and impact of passive intermodulation/PIM in the network.
Dependent claims 3, 4, 12, 13, and 17 are similarly rejected based on co-pending claims 20, 4, 9, 10 and/or 20, and 15.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477