.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20, 31-35 are cancelled. Claims 28, 29 and 37 are withdrawn. Claim 21,23-27,36,39, and 40 were amended. claims 21-27, 30, 36 and 38-40 have been examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-27, 30,36,40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morgan (US 2010/000009) in view of McGuckin, Jr. (EP 2907403). The device of Morgan teaches,
With respect to claim 21, A helmet for a wearer, the helmet comprising:
an outer helmet shell (118);
an inner panel (410), bottom side surface closest to head of the user (Figure 4);
a second inner panel (412) another of the spaced apart panels (figure 4)
a plurality of shock absorbers (130) disposed between the first inner panel (Figure 3) and the outer helmet shell (118), wherein the first inner panel (410) is nearer to the wearer than the outer helmet shell (118) when the helmet is worn by the wearer (Figure 3), the first inner panel and the outer helmet shell being configured to move toward one another when the at least two liquid-containing shock absorbers are compressed upon receiving an impact to the helmet (Figure 2), wherein each of the first inner panel and the outer helmet shell have a larger surface area than a lateral dimension (width) of the at least two shock absorbers (130), wherein the first inner panel (1410) includes a shock absorbing material (130) and is connected to the second inner panel (142), wherein the shock absorbing material occupies a greater volume of the helmet than that of the liquid-containing shock absorbers (figure 2).
The device of Morgan substantially discloses the claimed invention but is lacking a liquid filled shock absorber.
The device of McGuckin Jr. teaches a shock absorbing element made from a liquid filled material (para 0029). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilize the shock absorbing liners as taught by McGuckin Jr. in order to provide adjustable impact control (para 0029).
With respect to claim 22, wherein the shock absorbing material (para 0045) of the first inner panel is a substantially rigid foam (para 045).
With respect to claim 23, wherein the second inner panel is made from the same material as the first inner surface (para 0045).
With respect to claim 24, wherein at least one additional shock (130 absorber is disposed between the second inner panel and the outer helmet shell (Figure 3). The device of Morgan substantially discloses the claimed invention but is lacking a liquid filled portion. The device of McGuckin Jr. teaches a shock absorbing element made from a liquid filled material (para 0029). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilize the shock absorbing liners as taught by McGuckin Jr. in order to provide adjustable impact control (para 0029).
With respect to claim 25, wherein at least one addition shock absorber (130) is disposed between a third inner panel (414) and the outer helmet shell (128).
The device of Morgan substantially discloses the claimed invention but is lacking a liquid filled shock absorber.
The device of McGuckin Jr. teaches a shock absorbing element made from a liquid filled material (para 0029). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilize the shock absorbing liners as taught by McGuckin Jr. in order to provide adjustable impact control (para 0029).
With respect to claim 26, wherein a continuous material (128) is positioned between (figure 1) the first inner panel (410) the outer helmet shell (218).
With respect to claim 27, wherein of the first (410) and second inner panels (412) move independently of each other (the panels are taught by be adjustable and replaceable therefore move in an out of the garment independently of each other, as currently required by the claim).
With respect to claim 30, wherein the at least two liquid-containing shock absorbers (130) are connected to each other (at 134).
With respect to claim 36, A helmet comprising:
an outer helmet shell(218);
a first inner surface panel (410);
a second inner surface panel (412);
a plurality of compressible (130) shock absorbers (130) disposed between the first inner surface and the outer helmet shell (Figure 3); and
a connection (friction) that couples the first inner surface to the second surface (142) the connection (friction) restricting independent movement of the first and second surfaces relative to one another (Figure 2).
The device of Morgan substantially discloses the claimed invention but is lacking a liquid filled shock absorber.
The device of McGuckin Jr. teaches a shock absorbing element made from a liquid filled material (para 0029). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilize the shock absorbing liners as taught by McGuckin Jr. in order to provide adjustable impact control (para 0029).
With respect to claim 40, wherein another plurality of shock absorbers is disposed between the second inner surface and the outer helmet shell (Figure 2).
The device of Morgan substantially discloses the claimed invention but is lacking a liquid filled shock absorber.
The device of McGuckin Jr. teaches a shock absorbing element made from a liquid filled material (para 0029). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilize the shock absorbing liners as taught by McGuckin Jr. in order to provide adjustable impact control (para 0029).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 38-39 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892
Please Note, the art of recorded cited in the PTO-892 may be relevant to the features of the invention both claimed and unclaimed or are relevant to the overall inventive concept. The best art has been set forward in the office action, as determined by the examiner and the art references provided are to establish other significant and relevant art and to promote compact prosecution.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RICHALE LEE. QUINN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3765
/RICHALE L QUINN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732