Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 2 in the reply filed on 12/8/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-20 are cancelled. Claims 28, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, and 37 were withdrawn. Claim 29 is not drawn to the elected species and therefore is also withdrawn. Claims 21-27, 30, 36, 38, 39 and 40 have been examined on the merits.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a first inner surface (claim 21) and a second inner surface (claim 21), elected figure 2 does not show the outer shell (108), a third inner surface (claim 25) and a continuous material (claim 26), two liquid containing shock absorbers connected to each other (claim 30), the connection including a spring (claim 38) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 21 recites the limitation "the" in respect to a first inner surface. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 21 recites an inner surface, it is unclear if the “inner surface” is the first inner surface or if there an additional inner surface. For purposes of examination the first inner surface has been construed to be the inner surface. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-24, 28, 30, 36 and 38- 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Hoshizaki (US 2019/0328072). The device of Hoshizaki teaches
With respect to claim 21, A helmet for a wearer, the helmet comprising:
an outer helmet shell (102);
an inner surface (104, bottom side surface closest to head of the user, figure 5a);
a second inner surface (104, outer facing surface; figure 5a)
at least two liquid-containing (para 0080) shock absorbers (200) disposed between the first inner surface (104) and the outer helmet shell (102), wherein the first inner surface (104) is nearer to the wearer than the outer helmet shell when the helmet is worn by the wearer (Figure 4a), the first inner surface and the outer helmet shell being configured to move toward one another when the at least two liquid-containing shock absorbers are compressed upon receiving an impact to the helmet (Figure 5b), wherein each of the first inner surface and the outer helmet shell have a larger surface area than a lateral dimension (width) of the at least two shock absorbers (200), wherein the first inner surface includes a shock includes a shock absorbing material (para 0076) and is connected to the second inner surface (Figure 5a), wherein the shock absorbing material occupies a greater volume of the helmet than that of the liquid-containing shock absorbers (Figure 4 and Figure 5a).
With respect to claim 22, wherein the shock absorbing material (para 0076) of the first inner surface is a substantially rigid foam (para 0076).
With respect to claim 23, wherein the second inner surface is made from the same material as the first inner surface (Figure 5a).
With respect to claim 24, wherein at least one additional liquid-containing shock (200 absorber is disposed between the second inner surface and the outer helmet shell (Figure 4b, it is noted that all elements 200 are positioned between the outer shell and the first inner surface and the second inner surface).
With respect to claim 28, wherein (at least some) of the first and second inner surfaces move independently of each other (para 0076, figure 4b).
With respect to claim 30, wherein the at least two liquid- containing shock absorbers (200) are connected to each other (by element 104).
With respect to claim 36, A helmet comprising:
an outer helmet shell(102);
a first inner surface (104, top surface of 104, figure 5a);
a second inner surface (bottom surface 104, figure 5a);
a plurality of compressible liquid-containing (para 0080) shock absorbers (200) disposed between the first inner surface and the outer helmet shell (Figure 5a); and
a connection (central portion figure 5a) that couples the first inner surface to the second surface, the connections restricting independent movement of the first and second surfaces relative to one another (Figure 5a).
With respect to claim 38, wherein the connection includes a spring or is elastic (para 0076, according to Hooke’s Law all material is elastic to at least a degree).
With respect to claim 39, wherein the connection between the first inner surface and second inner surface is rigid (EPS foam) and configured to break at a predetermined force. The language “configured to break at a predetermined force” is functional, the foam of the prior art would be capable of breaking with a force, and therefore is capable of performing the function recited, see MPEP 2114.
With respect to claim 40, wherein another plurality of liquid-containing (para 0080) shock absorbers is disposed between the second inner surface and the outer helmet shell (Figure 5a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshizaki in view of Morgan (US 2010/0000009). The device of Hoshizaki substantially discloses the claimed invention including at least one additional liquid containing shock absorber (200) but is lacking a third inner surface.
The device of Morgan teaches,
With respect to claim 25, a third inner surface (120) wherein at least one additional liquid-containing shock absorber in combination is disposed between a third inner surface and the outer helmet shell.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to include an additional inner surface layer as taught by Morgan in order to provide improved comfort for the user.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshizaki in view of Halldin et al. (US 2020/0178636). The device of Hoshizaki substantially discloses the claimed invention but is lacking a continuous material between the inner surface and outer helmet shell.
The device of Halldin et al. teaches,
With respect to claim 26, wherein a continuous material (4) is positioned between the first surface and the outer helmet shell (Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilize the continuous material taught by Halldin et al. in order to provide improved sliding between the outer shell and the inner components to improve protection to the user (para 0031).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892
Please Note, the art of recorded cited in the PTO-892 may be relevant to the features of the invention both claimed and unclaimed or are relevant to the overall inventive concept. The best art has been set forward in the office action, as determined by the examiner and the art references provided are to establish other significant and relevant art and to promote compact prosecution.
RICHALE LEE. QUINN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3765
/RICHALE L QUINN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732