Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/15/2025.
Claims
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claims 11-15 are withdrawn/cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication 2020/0386941 A1 to Kang et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Kang discloses a detachable light source supply apparatus comprising:
an optical transceiver coupling part detachably attached to an optical transceiver body (Fig. 3A, second optical fiber connector that detachably attaches to optical device block which is an optical transceiver (¶ 6));
an optical input/output unit configured to receive and transmit a light source (Fig. 3A, first optical fiber connector transmits and receives signals from a light source); and
a light source element configured to supply a light source to the optical transceiver body through the optical transceiver coupling part (Fig. 3A, optical power supply (110) provides DC (unmodulated) light to optical device block (transceiver) via second optical fiber connector).
Regarding Claim 2, Kang discloses wherein the optical transceiver coupling part includes an input/output terminal connected to the optical transceiver body (Fig. 3A, second optical fiber connector connected to optical device block (transceiver)).
Regarding Claim 3, Kang discloses wherein the input/output terminal is one of a multichannel input/output terminal and a single channel input/output terminal (Fig. 3A, input/output terminal can be single channel; Fig. 3C, input/output terminal can be multichannel.)
Regarding Claim 4, Kang discloses wherein the optical input/output unit includes an input/output terminal to which an optical fiber is connected (Fig. 3A, optical fiber terminated at first optical fiber connector.)
Regarding Claim 5, Kang discloses wherein the input/output terminal is one of a multichannel input/output terminal and a single channel input/output terminal (Fig. 3A, input/output terminal can be single channel; Fig. 3C, input/output terminal can be multichannel.)
Regarding Claim 6, Kang discloses wherein the light source element is configured to supply a light source in the form of a continuous wave to the optical transceiver body (Fig. 3A, optical power supply (110) configured to produce DC (unmodulated or CW) light to the optical device block (transceiver)).
Regarding Claim 7, Kang discloses wherein the light source element includes a plurality of single-wavelength light emitters and is configured to supply a multi-channel light source to the optical transceiver body (Fig. 3A, ¶ 47, multiple sources wavelength multiplexed to be provided to the optical device block (transceiver)).
Regarding Claim 8, Kang discloses wherein the light source element is configured to supply a multi-channel light source to the optical transceiver body using a single light emitter and an optical splitter (Fig. 3D, single emitter (DC light source) with splitter (light source wavelength demultiplexer).
Regarding Claim 9, Kang discloses wherein the light source element is configured to supply a multi-channel light source to the optical transceiver body using a multi-channel light emitter configured to emit light sources having different wavelengths (Fig. 3D, source and demux supply multi-channel light source to optical device block).
Regarding Claim 10, Kang discloses wherein the light source element is configured to supply a single-channel light source to the optical transceiver body using a single light emitter (Fig. 3A, single-channel light source (optical power supply (110)) supplied to optical transceiver (optical device block)).
Conclusion
/DANIEL G DOBSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634 01/08/2026