Response to Amendment and Arguments
The Amendment filed 01/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6, 9-13, 16-18 and 21-26 are currently pending in this application.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 8-10, filed 01/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6, 9-13 and 16-18 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 35 U.S.C. 103 and new claims 21-26 have been considered but are moot. Regarding limitations of the instant case in view of the amended Claims and upon further considerations, a new ground(s) of rejection, necessitated by the amendments is made in view of different interpretation of the previously applied references and/or new prior art as presented in this Office action.
Claim Objections
Claims 12 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 12, line 15, "sensor cover glass" should read - -a sensor cover glass - -
In claim 21, line 2, "to a hold" should read - -to hold - -
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 9, 12-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amenai (US 2004/0047274) in view of Hasegawa (US 2009/0174947).
Regarding claim 1, Amenai teaches a lens assembly (Fig. 1A-8C, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38-43, [0055-0160, 0261-0283]) comprising:
a first micromolding lens (the lens corresponding to the lens 12 in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C, [0097, 0060, 0069]) including a first side (the side corresponding to the lens surface 12b in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C) and a second side (the side corresponding to the lens surface 12a in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C) that is opposite to the first side (the side corresponding to the lens surface 12b in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C), the first side (the side corresponding to the lens surface 12b in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C) including a first mounting surface (the bottom surface of the lens 12 corresponding to the lens surface 12b/12d in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C); and
a second micromolding lens (the lens corresponding to the bottom lens 13 in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C, [0060, 0069]) including a third side (the side corresponding to the lens surface 13b in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C) and a fourth side (the side corresponding to the lens surface 13a in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C) that is opposite to the third side (the side corresponding to the lens surface 13b in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C), the fourth side (the side corresponding to the lens surface 13a in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C) including a second mounting surface (the top surface of the lens 13 corresponding to the lens surface 13a/13d in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C) that is directly affixed to the first mounting surface (the bottom surface of the lens 12 corresponding to the lens surface 12b/12d in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C) to form at least a portion of a micromolding lens stack (the stack corresponding to the image pickup lens unit 110/100/900 in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-43) comprising the first micromolding lens (the lens corresponding to the lens 12 in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C, [0060, 0069]) and the second micromolding lens (the lens corresponding to the lens 13 in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C, [0060, 0069]) in optical series (Fig. 3A-3C, Fig. 1A-7C, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C), the micromolding lens stack (the stack corresponding to the image pickup lens unit 110/100/900 in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-43) having a self-supporting structure (Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C);
Amenai does not explicitly point out that the micromolding lens stack is configured to press upon a cover glass of an image sensor.
Hasegawa teaches that (Fig. 1, Abs, [0020, 0037, 0087-0127]) a lens stack (4 in Fig. 1, [0127]) is configured to press upon a cover glass (the glass plate 3 in Fig. 1, [0127, 0037]) of an image sensor (the image sensor including 1-3 and 11-12 in Fig. 1, [0127]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Hasegawa for the system of Amenai such that in the system of Amenai, the micromolding lens stack is configured to press upon a cover glass of an image sensor. The motivation is to reduce the man-hours for the manufacture and provide good precision and quality for an electronic information device using the electronic element module in an image capturing section or an information recording and reproducing section as an image input device (Hasegawa, [0019, 0020]).
Regarding claim 12, Amenai teaches a camera device (Fig. 1A-8C, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-43, [0005, 0053-0160, 0278-0280]) comprising:
a first micromolding lens (the lens corresponding to the lens 12 in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C, [0097, 0060, 0069]) including a first side (the side corresponding to the lens surface 12b in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C) and a second side (the side corresponding to the lens surface 12a in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C) that is opposite to the first side (the side corresponding to the lens surface 12b in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C), the first side (the side corresponding to the lens surface 12b in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C) including a first mounting surface (the bottom surface of the lens 12 corresponding to the lens surface 12b/12d in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C); and
a second micromolding lens (the lens corresponding to the bottom lens 13 in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C, [0060, 0069]) including a third side (the side corresponding to the lens surface 13b in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C) and a fourth side (the side corresponding to the lens surface 13a in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C) that is opposite to the third side (the side corresponding to the lens surface 13b in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C), the fourth side (the side corresponding to the lens surface 13a in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C) including a second mounting surface (the top surface of the lens 13 corresponding to the lens surface 13a/13d in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C) that is directly affixed to the first mounting surface (the bottom surface of the lens 12 corresponding to the lens surface 12b/12d in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C) to form at least a portion of a micromolding lens stack (the stack corresponding to the image pickup lens unit 110/100/900 in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-43) comprising the first micromolding lens (the lens corresponding to the lens 12 in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C, [0060, 0069]) and the second micromolding lens (the lens corresponding to the lens 13 in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C, [0060, 0069]) in optical series (Fig. 3A-3C, Fig. 1A-7C, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C),
an image sensor (901/902 in Fig. 38A-38C, [0262, 0264]) configured to detect light focused by the micromolding lens stack (Fig. 38A-38C).
Amenai does not explicitly tech the combined limitations that a sensor cover glass disposed between the image sensor and the second micromolding lens, wherein the sensor cover glass is directly affixed to the second micromolding lens to support a weight of the second micromolding lens pressing on the sensor cover glass.
Hasegawa teaches that (Fig. 1, Abs, [0020, 0087-0127]) a sensor cover glass (the glass plate 3 in Fig. 1, [0127, 0037]) disposed between an image sensor (the image sensor including 11-12 in Fig. 1, [0127]) and a second lens (43 in Fig. 1), wherein the sensor cover glass (the glass plate 3 in Fig. 1, [0127, 0037]) is directly affixed to (Fig. 1) the second lens (43 in Fig. 1) to support a weight of the second lens (43 in Fig. 1) pressing on the sensor cover glass (the glass plate 3 in Fig. 1, [0127, 0037]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Hasegawa for the system of Amenai such that in the system of Amenai, a sensor cover glass disposed between the image sensor and the second micromolding lens, wherein the sensor cover glass is directly affixed to the second micromolding lens to support a weight of the second micromolding lens pressing on the sensor cover glass. The motivation is to reduce the man-hours for the manufacture and provide good precision and quality for an electronic information device using the electronic element module in an image capturing section or an information recording and reproducing section as an image input device (Hasegawa, [0019, 0020]).
Regarding claims 2, 4, 6, 9, 13 and 16, Amenai also teaches the following elements:
(Claims 2 and 13) the second mounting surface (the top surface of the lens 13 corresponding to the lens surface 13a/13d in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C) is directly affixed to the first mounting surface (the bottom surface of the lens 12 corresponding to the lens surface 12b/12d in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C) via an interlocking mechanism (Fig, 3A-3C and Fig. 1B) of the second mounting surface (the top surface of the lens 13 corresponding to the lens surface 13a/13d in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-38C).
(Claims 4 and 16) the micromolding lens stack (the stack corresponding to the image pickup lens unit 110/100/900 in Fig. 3A-3D, Fig. 1B and Fig. 38A-43) is capable of being integrated into a camera device (Fig. 39-43, [0271-0284) without use of a lens barrel or a lens holder (Fig. 1B, Fig. 38A-38C, Fig. 39, Fig. 40C and Fig. 42, [0077]).
(Claim 6) a third micromolding lens (11 in Fig. 3A-3D) including a fifth side (Fig. 3A-3D) and a sixth side (Fig. 3A-3D) that is opposite to the fifth side (Fig. 3A-3D).
(Claim 9) at least one of the first micromolding lens and the second micromolding lens (Fig. 3B, Fig. 38A-38C) is of a round shape (Fig. 3B, Fig. 38A-38C, [0099-0100, 0160]), a prism shape, or a freeform shape.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amenai in view of Hasegawa as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Kanzaki (US 2020/0073077).
Regarding claim 3, Amenai does not teach the following elements.
Kanzaki teaches the following elements (Fig. 1C and Fig. 5-7B, [0047-0048, 0072-0073]):
(Claim 3) a second mounting surface is directly affixed to a first mounting surface (Fig. 1C and Fig. 5-7B, [0047-0048, 0072-0073]) further via an adhesive (the adhesive layer 29 in Fig. 5-7B, [0047-0048, 0072-0073]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Kanzaki for the system of Amenai in view of Hasegawa such that in the system of Amenai in view of Hasegawa,
(Claim 3) the second mounting surface is directly affixed to the first mounting surface further via an adhesive.
The motivation is that centering of lenses can be performed more precisely (Kanzaki, [0014]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amenai in view of Hasegawa as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Chen (US 2019/0199896).
Regarding claim 5, Amenai teaches that a filter element (the optical filter corresponding to 54 in Fig. 11A) in optical series with the micromolding lens stack (Fig. 11A), Amenai does not teach the following elements.
Chen teaches the following elements (Fig. 3-5B and Fig. 7A-12, [0071-0072]):
(Claim 5) a micromolding lens stack (20 in Fig. 3-5B and Fig. 7A-12) is coupled to a filter element (the filtering element 60 in Fig. 3-5B and Fig. 7A-12, [0072]) via an adhesive (the glue layer 40 in Fig. 3-5B and Fig. 7A-12, [0072]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Chen for the system of Amenai in view of Hasegawa such that in the system of Amenai in view of Hasegawa,
(Claim 5) the micromolding lens stack is coupled to the filter element via an adhesive.
The motivation is that the size and the manufacturing costs of the fixed-focus camera module can be effectively reduced, so as to improve the product competitiveness of the fixed-focus camera module (Chen, Abs).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amenai in view of Hasegawa as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Takumi (WO 2011/052325A1) and Marie (US 2021/0080680)
Regarding claim 10, Amenai already teaches the micromolding lens stack (the stack corresponding to the image pickup lens unit 100/900 in Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-43). Amenai does not teach the following elements.
Takumi teaches the following elements (Fig. 7-8, Page 8 of English translation of WO 2011/052325A1):
(Claim 10) an external wall of a lens stack is coated with a non-transparent coating layer (Fig. 7-8, Page 8, Paragraph 5, in order to form the light shielding layer 12 for blocking light on the outer circumferential surface of the lens stack 11 in the radial direction, a light shielding paint is applied or a light shielding film is deposited).
Marie teaches the following elements (Fig. 2 and 5, [0045, 0042]):
(Claim 10) a non-transparent coating layer (44 in Fig. 5, [0045, 0042]) coated on an external wall of a lens (14L in Fig. 2 and 5) is a visible and near infrared non-transparent coating layer (44 in Fig. 5, [0045, 0042]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Takumi and Marie for the system of Amenai in view of Hasegawa such that in the system of Amenai in view of Hasegawa,
(Claim 10) an external wall of the micromolding lens stack is coated with a visible and near infrared non-transparent coating layer.
The motivation is to prevent light leakage by blocking light on the outer circumferential surface of the lens stack in the radial direction (Takumi, Page 8, Paragraph 5), and it helps to suppress stray light, and absorb visible and near infrared light as desired (Marie, [0042, 0045]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amenai in view of Hasegawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Weng (US 2009/0134483).
Regarding claim 11, Amenai already teaches the micromolding lens stack (the stack corresponding to the image pickup lens unit 100/900 in Fig. 1B, Fig. 11A and Fig. 37, Fig. 38A-43). Amenai does not teach the following elements.
Weng teaches the following elements (Fig. 1H and Fig. 2-3, [0017, 0027-0028]):
(Claim 11) an external wall of a lens stack (the outside wall of the lens set 126 in Fig. 1H and Fig. 2, [0017]) is coated with one or more electro-magnetic interference shielding materials (134/134a in Fig. 1H and Fig. 2-3, [0017, 0027-0028]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Weng for the system of Amenai in view of Hasegawa such that in the system of Amenai in view of Hasegawa,
(Claim 11) an external wall of the micromolding lens stack is coated with one or more electro-magnetic interference shielding materials.
The motivation is to provide protection against electromagnetic interference (EMI) resulting from electromagnetic radiation (Weng, [0017, 0006]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amenai in view of Hasegawa as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Lo (US 2017/0193687).
Regarding claim 17, Amenai already teaches the camera device (Fig. 39-43, [0005, 0278-0280]) is capable of being integrated into a camera assembly (Fig. 39-43, [0005, 0278-0280]). Amenai does not teach the following elements.
Lo teaches the following elements (Fig. 13A-13E, [0090, 0097-0100]):
(Claim 17) a camera assembly (Fig. 13A-13E, [0090, 0097-0100]) is a depth camera assembly configured to determine depth information for one or more objects in a local area (0097, 0100]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Lo for the system of Amenai in view of Hasegawa such that in the system of Amenai in view of Hasegawa,
(Claim 17) the camera device is capable of being integrated into a depth camera assembly configured to determine depth information for one or more objects in a local area.
The motivation is to provide a head mounted display (HMD) system able to detect the environment around the user and detect objects in the user's field of vision (Lo, [0090, 0097]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amenai (US 2004/0047274) in view of Takumi (WO 2011/052325A1) and Hasegawa (US 2009/0174947).
Regarding claim 18, Amenai teaches a method (Fig. 1A-8C and Fig. 38A-43, [0055-0160, 0261-0283]) comprising:
directly affixing (Fig. 1A-1B and Fig. 38A-38C) a first mounting surface (the bottom surface of the lens 1 corresponding to the lens surface 1b in Fig. 1B, Fig. 38A-38C) of a first micromolding lens (the lens corresponding to the lens 1 in Fig. 1B, Fig. 38A-38C, [0060, 0069]) to a second mounting surface (the top surface of the lens 2 corresponding to the lens surface 2a in Fig. 1B, Fig. 38A-38C) of a second micromolding lens (the lens corresponding to the lens 2 in Fig. 1B, Fig. 38A-38C, [0060, 0069]) to assemble at least a portion of a micromolding lens stack (the stack corresponding to the image pickup lens unit 100/900 in Fig. 1B and Fig. 38A-43) of a self-supporting structure (the stack corresponding to the image pickup lens unit 100/900 in Fig. 1B and Fig. 38A-43) comprising the first micromolding lens and the second micromolding lens in optical series (Fig. 1B, Fig. 38A-38C), the first micromolding lens (the lens corresponding to the lens 1 in Fig. 1B, Fig. 38A-38C, [0060, 0069]) including a first side (the side corresponding to the lens surface 1b in Fig. 1B, Fig. 38A-38C) and a second side (the side corresponding to the lens surface 1a in Fig. 1B, Fig. 38A-38C) that is opposite to the first side (the side corresponding to the lens surface 1b in Fig. 1B, Fig. 38A-38C), the first side (the side corresponding to the lens surface 1b in Fig. 1B, Fig. 38A-38C) including the first mounting surface (the bottom surface of the lens 1 corresponding to the lens surface 1b in Fig. 1B, Fig. 38A-38C), the second micromolding lens (the lens corresponding to the lens 2 in Fig. 1B, Fig. 38A-38C, [0060, 0069]) including a third side (the side corresponding to the lens surface 2b in Fig. 1B, Fig. 38A-38C) and a fourth side (the side corresponding to the lens surface 2a in Fig. 1B, Fig. 38A-38C) that is opposite to the third side (the side corresponding to the lens surface 2b in Fig. 1B, Fig. 38A-38C), the fourth side (the side corresponding to the lens surface 2a in Fig. 1B, Fig. 38A-38C) including the second mounting surface (the top surface of the lens 2 corresponding to the lens surface 2a in Fig. 1B, Fig. 38A-38C); and.
aligning (Fig. 1B, Fig. 38A-38C) the first micromolding lens (the lens corresponding to the lens 1 in Fig. 1B, Fig. 38A-38C, [0060, 0069]) with the second micromolding lens (the lens corresponding to the lens 2 in Fig. 1B, Fig. 38A-38C, [0060, 0069]).
Amenai does not teach that applying a protective coating to an external wall of the micromolding lens stack, and affixing the micromolding lens stack on a cover glass of an image sensor.
Takumi teaches that (Fig. 7-8, Pages 2-9 of English translation of WO 2011/052325A1) applying a protective coating to an external wall of a lens stack (Fig. 7-8, Page 8, Paragraph 5, in order to form the light shielding layer 12 for blocking light on the outer circumferential surface of the lens stack 11 in the radial direction, a light shielding paint is applied or a light shielding film is deposited).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Takumi for the system of Amenai such that in the system of Amenai, applying a protective coating to an external wall of the micromolding lens stack. The motivation is to prevent light leakage by blocking light on the outer circumferential surface of the lens stack in the radial direction (Takumi, Page 8, Paragraph 5).
Hasegawa teaches that (Fig. 1, Abs, [0020, 0037, 0087-0127]) affixing (Fig. 1) a lens stack (4 in Fig. 1) on a cover glass (the glass plate 3 in Fig. 1, [0127, 0037]) of an image sensor(the image sensor including 1-3 and 11-12 in Fig. 1, [0127]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Hasegawa for the system of Amenai in view of Takumi such that in the system of Amenai in view of Takumi, affixing the micromolding lens stack on a cover glass of an image sensor. The motivation is to reduce the man-hours for the manufacture and provide good precision and quality for an electronic information device using the electronic element module in an image capturing section or an information recording and reproducing section as an image input device (Hasegawa, [0019, 0020]).
Claims 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amenai in view of Hasegawa as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Fukai (JP2010197816A).
Regarding claims 21-25, Amenai teaches that a filter element (the optical filter corresponding to 54 in Fig. 11A). Amenai does not teach the following elements.
Fukai teaches the following elements (Fig. 1, Pages 1-4 of English translation of JP2010197816A):
(Claim 21) a second lens (the second lens 40 in Fig. 1) includes one or more lens foot (the feet corresponding to 43 and 44 in Fig. 1) configured to hold (Fig. 1, since the feet corresponding to 43 and 44 of the second lens 40 contact/hold the plate 50 and the filter 70 is held by the plate 50 and the second lens 40, the feet corresponding to 43 and 44 of the second lens 40 is indirectly support or help to hold the filter 70 in Fig. 1) a filter assembly (the filter 70 in Fig. 1) between the one or more lens foots (the feet corresponding to 43 and 44 in Fig. 1).
(Claim 22) the one or more foot (the feet corresponding to 43 and 44 in Fig. 1) of the second lens (the second lens 40 in Fig. 1) is configured to hold (Fig. 1, since the feet corresponding to 43 and 44 of the second lens 40 contact/hold the plate 50 and the filter 70 is held by the plate 50 and the second lens 40, the feet corresponding to 43 and 44 of the second lens 40 is indirectly support or help to hold the filter 70 in Fig. 1) the filter assembly (the filter 70 in Fig. 1) with one or more interlocks (the interlocks corresponding to 43 and/or 44A in Fig. 1) of the one or more lens foot (the feet corresponding to 43 and 44 in Fig. 1) to allow the filter assembly (the filter 70 in Fig. 1) to be inserted at a bottom (Fig. 1) of the second lens (the second lens 40 in Fig. 1).
(Claim 23) a filter assembly (the filter 70 in Fig. 1) disposed between the second lens (the second lens 40 in Fig. 1) and a sensor cover plate (the plate 50 in Fig. 1), wherein the second lens (the second lens 40 in Fig. 1) includes one or more lens foot (the feet corresponding to 43 and 44 in Fig. 1) configured to hold (Fig. 1, since the feet corresponding to 43 and 44 of the second lens 40 contact/hold the plate 50 and the filter 70 is held by the plate 50 and the second lens 40, the feet corresponding to 43 and 44 of the second lens 40 is indirectly support or help to hold the filter 70 in Fig. 1) the filter assembly (the filter 70 in Fig. 1) between the one or more lens foot (the feet corresponding to 43 and 44 in Fig. 1).
(Claim 24) an airgap (Fig. 1) disposed between the filter assembly (the filter 70 in Fig. 1) and the second lens (the second lens 40 in Fig. 1).
(Claim 25) the one or more foot (the feet corresponding to 43 and 44 in Fig. 1) of the second lens (the second lens 40 in Fig. 1) holds (Fig. 1, since the feet corresponding to 43 and 44 of the second lens 40 contact/hold the plate 50 and the filter 70 is held by the plate 50 and the second lens 40, the feet corresponding to 43 and 44 of the second lens 40 is indirectly support or help to hold the filter 70 in Fig. 1) the filter assembly (the filter 70 in Fig. 1) with one or more interlocks (the interlocks corresponding to 43 and/or 44A in Fig. 1) of the one or more lens foot (the feet corresponding to 43 and 44 in Fig. 1) to allow the filter assembly (the filter 70 in Fig. 1) to be inserted at a bottom (Fig. 1) of the second lens (the second lens 40 in Fig. 1).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Fukai for the system of Amenai in view of Hasegawa such that in the system of Amenai in view of Hasegawa,
(Claim 21) the second micromolding lens includes one or more lens foot configured to a hold a filter assembly between the one or more lens foots.
(Claim 22) the one or more foot of the second micromolding lens is configured to hold the filter assembly with one or more interlocks of the one or more lens foot to allow the filter assembly to be inserted at a bottom of the second micromolding lens.
(Claim 23) a filter assembly disposed between the second micromolding lens and the sensor cover glass, wherein the second micromolding lens includes one or more lens foot configured to hold the filter assembly between the one or more lens foot.
(Claim 24) an airgap disposed between the filter assembly and the second micromolding lens.
(Claim 25) the one or more foot of the second micromolding lens holds the filter assembly with one or more interlocks of the one or more lens foot to allow the filter assembly to be inserted at a bottom of the second micromolding lens.
The motivation is that the position in the optical axis orthogonal Y direction of each optical element involved in image formation are controlled (secured) with high accuracy in the assembly process, and no adjustment is required (Fukai, Page 4, Paragraph 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 26 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the prior art of record discloses or suggests all the combination of a method as set forth in claim 18.
Regarding claim 26, none of the prior art discloses or suggests a method recited in claim 18, wherein inserting a filter assembly between one or more lens foot of the second micromolding lens, and wherein “inserting the filter assembly between the one or more lens foot of the second micromolding lens is performed prior to placing the micromolding lens stack on a cover glass of an image sensor, and wherein the filter assembly is disposed between the second micromolding lens and the cover glass” in combination with the other required elements of the claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAN LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871