DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2020/0284493) in view of Zhu (AU 2021/260530 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a refrigerator (1) comprising:
a first upper partitioned storage (30);
a first lower partitioned storage (40);
a second partitioned storage (20);
a cold air supply duct (400, figs. 6a and 9) configured to divide cold air blown from the second partitioned storage (20) for supply to the first upper partitioned storage (30) and the first lower partitioned storage (40), the cold air supply duct including a guide part (refer to the portion of the back wall of case 11 as can be seen from fig. 6a below) dividing the cold air supply duct into a first cold air supply flow path (414) and a second cold air supply flow path (422), the guide part defining a wall (refer to the portion of the back wall of case 11 as can be seen from fig. 6a below) of an inlet (416) of the first cold air supply flow path and an inlet (426) of the second cold air supply flow path;
an evaporator (130) located in the second partitioned storage (20);
an air blowing fan (250) located in the second partitioned storage (20); and
a first damper (600, fig. 7a) configured to selectively block cold air.
While Lee discloses the first damper (refer to fig. 9, wherein Lee discloses the first damper 600 located in the second partitioned storage which is a freezing compartment), Lee fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first damper is located in the first upper partitioned storage.
However, Zhu teaches a refrigerator compartment (refer to figs. 1-3), comprising a cold air supply duct (5) configured to supply cold air from a second partitioned storage (refer to freezing compartment 1) to a first partitioned storage (2); an evaporator (12) located in the second partitioned storage (1); an air blowing fan (13) located in the second partitioned storage; and a first damper (6) configured to selectively block cold air, the first damper (6) being located in the first partitioned storage (2), in order to avoid that the damper comes into contact with direct cold air in an evaporation chamber (11) that houses the evaporator to produce condensation which might freeze the damper (refer to par. 29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lee such that the first damper is located in the first upper partitioned storage in view of the teachings by Zhu, in order to prevent the damper from comping into contact with direct cold air from the evaporator and therefore preventing freezing of the damper.
Regarding claim 3, Lee as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Lee as modified discloses wherein the first upper partitioned storage (30) includes an upper duct assembly (410b) having an upper cold air outlet (419) to discharge cold air to the first upper partitioned storage, the upper duct assembly being in fluid communication with the cold air supply duct.
Regarding claim 4, Lee as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Lee as modified discloses wherein the cold air supply duct includes a lower cold air outlet (429) at the first lower partitioned storage (40) to discharge cold air to the first lower partitioned storage, and wherein a portion of the cold air supply duct (refer to coupler 432, fig. 5) overlaps a rear surface of the first lower partitioned storage outside the rear surface of the first lower partitioned storage
(refer to the rear-view portion of the refrigerator as in fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Lee as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed
above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Lee as modified discloses wherein the first
lower partitioned storage (40) includes: a lower duct assembly (420) having a lower cold
air outlet (429) to discharge cold air to the first lower partitioned storage, the lower duct
assembly being in fluid communication with the cold air supply duct; and a second
damper (700) configured to selectively block cold air to the lower duct assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-23 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in pages 9-11 of the remarks that the guide part as set forth in claim 1 is not disclosed or made obvious by the prior art of record. This argument has been considered but is not persuasive.
Lee discloses as can be seen from fig.6a below, a back wall of the case which is being considered as a guide part, which divides the cold air supply duct into a first cold air supply flow path (414) and a second cold air supply flow path (422). The guide part defines a wall of an inlet (416) of the first cold air supply flow path and an inlet (426) of the second cold air supply flow path.
For at least the reasons disclosed above, claims 1 and 3-5 remain rejected.
Conclusion
/ANA M VAZQUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763