DETAILED ACTION
This application is a domestic application, filed 11 Oct 2023; and claims benefit of provisional application 63/415,438, filed 12 Oct 2022.
Claims 23-24 are pending in the current application and are examined on the merits herein.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because in chemical patent abstracts for compounds or compositions, the general nature of the compound or composition should be given as well as its use, e.g., “The compounds are of the class of alkyl benzene sulfonyl ureas, useful as oral anti-diabetics.” Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chamberlain et al. (US 6,617,315, issued 09 Sep 2003, provided by Applicant in IDS filed 20 Aug 2025) in view of Verma (Synlett, 2012, 23, p1099-1100, provided by Applicant in IDS filed 20 Aug 2025).
Chamberlain et al. teaches benzimidazole derivatives and the preparation of the benzimidazole derivatives and pharmaceutical formulations containing them (abstract; column 1, lines 10-15). Benzimidazole compounds of formula (V)
are prepared by reacting a compound of formula (VI)
with a reagent such as an isothiocyanate of formula (VII)
carried out in the presence of a carbodiimide such as dicyclohexyl carbodiimide (column 14, lines 10-35). Chamberlain et al. teaches the working example including general procedures to produce 5,6-dichloro-2-(isopropylamino)-1-(2,3,5-tri-O-acetyl-beta-L-ribofuranosyl)-1H-benzimidazole including the deprotection of the compound (example 24 at column 27, line 15 to column 28, line 25), to give the compound named maribavir and addressing limitations of claim 24. In the general procedure I the appropriate 1,2-phenylenediamine is combined with the appropriate isothiocyanate (1.0–1.25 mmol/mmol of diamine) and anhydrous pyridine (3-5 mL/mmol of diamine) (column 27, lines 40-50). In the general procedure II the appropriate 2-(alkylamino)-1H-benzimidazole was reacted with 1,2,3,5-tetra-O-acetyl-L-ribofuranose, (column 27, line 55 to column 28, line 10).
Chamberlain et al. does not specifically disclose the method comprising reacting the appropriate 4,5-dichloro-1,2-phenylenediamine with diisopropylcarbodiimide (compound 6) and the appropriate isothiocyanate. (claim 23-24)
Verma teaches N,N′-diisopropylcarbodiimide (DIC) is a liquid carbodiimide used in peptide synthesis and contains the functional group RN=C=NR. By using DIC one can avoid the tedious removal of dicyclohexylurea (DCU) formed during the use of dicyclohexylcarbodiimide (DCC), as diisopropylurea (DIU) is comparatively easy to remove at the time of purification. Besides being a less expensive and commercially available reagent, DIC is a good coupling agent and widely used in solid-phase peptide synthesis. As a liquid, it is easier to handle than the commonly used DCC. In synthetic organic chemistry, compounds containing the carbodiimide functionality are dehydrating agents and are often used to activate carboxylic acids towards amide or ester formation (page 1099, section Introduction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Chamberlain et al. in view of Verma in order to select the carbodiimide to be N,N′-diisopropylcarbodiimide. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Chamberlain et al. in view of Verma in order to select the carbodiimide to be N,N′-diisopropylcarbodiimide with a reasonable expectation of success because both Chamberlain et al. and Verma teach the carbodiimide is an art-recognized class of reactant known for the same purpose, Chamberlain et al. teaches the use of a carbodiimide such as, but not limited to, dicyclohexyl carbodiimide, and Verma teaches diisopropyl carbodiimide has known advantages when used in place of dicyclohexyl carbodiimide, providing motivation for selecting the carbodiimide to be diisopropyl carbodiimide.
Double Patenting
Claims 23-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 12,377,078 (reference patent).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Reference claims 1-26 are drawn to the method of preparing compound 2 comprising reacting compound 5 with compounds 6 and 7, having the same structures as the claimed compounds. Reference claim 14 recites the method further comprising reacting compound 2 with compound 8 to provide compound 3, and reacting compound 3 to provide maribavir, where compounds 2 and 3 have the same structures as the claimed compounds, meeting limitations of claims 23-24. Reference claims 2-13 and 15-26 recite further limitations of the method that would fall within the scope of claims 23-24.
Conclusion
No claim is found to be allowable.
/JONATHAN S LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693