Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“propulsive force matching control” in claims 1, 3, 7, 8, 9.
“filtering process” in Claim 3
“translation commander” in Claim 7
(Not that the 112f in Claims 3 and 7 don’t necessarily require force matching.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Caoette (US 20120101671 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Caoette discloses a watercraft propulsion system comprising: an engine propulsion device attachable to a hull and including a propeller rotatable about a first propeller axis (Element 18); an electric propulsion device attachable to the hull and including a propeller rotatable about a second propeller axis different from the first propeller axis (Element 20); and a controller (Element 12) configured or programmed to control the engine propulsion device and the electric propulsion device and, when a command is inputted to cause the engine propulsion device and the electric propulsion device to simultaneously generate propulsive forces (during maneuvering, paragraph 60), to perform a propulsive force matching control to match a propulsive force increasing characteristic of the electric propulsion device with a propulsive force increasing characteristic of the engine propulsion device (equal thrust, paragraph 60).
Regarding Claim 7, Caoette discloses a watercraft propulsion system according to claim 1, further comprising: a translation commander to input a translation command to the controller to translate the hull; wherein the controller is configured or programmed to perform the propulsive force matching control when the translation command is inputted from the translation commander. (paragraph 60, maneuvering is in the translation plane.)
Regarding Claim 8, Caoette discloses a watercraft propulsion system according to claim 1, wherein the engine propulsion device and the electric propulsion device are attachable to a stern of the hull. (Caoette, Fig. 1. Both are at the stern.)
Regarding Claim 9, Caoette discloses a watercraft propulsion system comprising: a first propulsion device attachable to a hull and including a propeller rotatable about a first propeller axis, and having a first propulsive force increasing characteristic; a second propulsion device attachable to the hull and including a propeller rotatable about a second propeller axis different from the first propeller axis, and having a second propulsive force increasing characteristic different from the first propulsive force increasing characteristic; and a controller configured or programmed to perform a propulsive force matching control to match the first propulsive force increasing characteristic and the second propulsive force increasing characteristic with each other when both the first propulsion device and the second propulsion device are to be driven. (See rejection Claim 1.)
Regarding Claims 10 and 11, Caoette discloses a watercraft comprising: a hull; and the watercraft propulsion system according to claim 1 (and 9) provided on the hull. (marine vessel, paragraph 4)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Osara (US 20210139123 A1) discloses ICE and electric engines working simultaneously.
/ANDREW POLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615 23 Dec 2025