DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13, line 1, “modules” should be –subassemblies--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 11, 12, 14-16, 18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Letendre et al. (US 2022/0097777) in view of Kumar (US 2020/0155386).
Letendre et al., in reference to claim 1, discloses a vehicle body formed of a rigid aluminum space frame comprising a load floor and underbody assembly (50,64), body walls (60,62), and a body roof (63,132), as shown in Figures 1-8 and disclosed in paragraph [0026]. The load floor and underbody assembly (50,64) comprises aluminum structural members (56,58), as disclosed in paragraph [0081]. The body walls (60,62) are formed of aluminum extrusions, as disclosed in paragraph [0070]. The body roof (63,132) is formed by aluminum extrusions, as shown in Figure 7 and disclosed in paragraph [0081]. The load floor (50,64), wall subassemblies (60,62), and roof subassembly are attached to one another to form a rigid assembly, as shown in Figures 3 and 8.
In reference to claim 2, the load floor and underbody (50,64) further comprises an additional structural component (12,14) joined to the underbody for selected purposes, as shown in Figures 3-6 and 8.
In reference to claim 4, discloses the additional structural components (12,14) perform the functions of forming a wheel well, forming mounting brackets for interior components like the driver’s station, and forming attachment points for a battery, as shown in Figures 6 and 8 and disclosed in paragraphs [0064], [0083], [0088], and [0096].
In reference to claim 11, the frames defining the body walls (60,62) and the roof (63,132) comprise an outer covering of a selected material, as shown in Figure 3 and as standard practice in the art.
In reference to claim 12, the outer covering material is selected as opaque material, as shown in Figure 3.
In reference to claim 14, the vehicle is a small bus, as broadly claimed, since the bus can be made of different lengths. Figure 1 shows a smaller variant.
In reference to claim 15, the method includes making a load floor and underbody subassembly (50,64) to form a rigid platform, making two or more wall subassemblies (60,62) comprising hollow aluminum extrusions joined together to form a generally planar structure, making at least one roof subassembly comprising hollow aluminum extrusions joined together to form a roof structure (63,132), and joining the wall subassemblies (60,62) to the load floor (50,64) and the roof subassembly (60,132) to form a rigid structural space frame, as shown in Figures 1-7.
In reference to claim 16, discloses attaching additional structural components (12,14) to perform the functions of forming a wheel well, forming mounting brackets for interior components like the driver’s station, and forming attachment points for a battery, as shown in Figures 6 and 8 and disclosed in paragraphs [0064], [0083], [0088], and [0096].
In reference to claim 18, the frames defining the body walls (60,62) and the roof (63,132) comprise an outer covering of a selected material, as shown in Figure 3 and as standard practice in the art.
In reference to claim 19, the outer covering material is selected as opaque material, as shown in Figure 3.
However, Letendre et al. does not explicitly disclose the load floor and underbody are structural extrusions oriented longitudinally and joined together along their length to form a rigid platform.
Kumar teaches forming a vehicle floor (115) by joining hollow aluminum structural extrusions (205) side by side, as shown in Figures 1-6 and disclosed in paragraph [0005].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the floor of Letendre et al. by joining hollow aluminum structural extrusions side by side, as taught by Kumar, with a reasonable expectation for success to form a lightweight, yet strong floor that can be used to fit vehicles of different widths using a modular construction.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Letendre et al. (US 2022/0097777) and Kumar (US 2020/01555386), as applied to claim 2, in view of Moss et al. (US 2015/0021892).
Letendre et al., as modified, does not disclose how the additional structural components are formed.
Moss et al. teaches forming a vehicle structural component by a process consisting of casting and machining, as disclosed in the abstract.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the additional structural component of Letendre et al., as modified, from a process consisting of casting and machining, as taught by Moss et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to increase mass production and ease of assembly to reduce costs.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Letendre et al. (US 2022/0097777) and Kumar (US 2020/01555386), as applied to claim 1, in view of Kumar (US 2022/0324521).
Letendre et al., as modified, does not disclose the load floor and underbody are formed by structural extrusions of at least two different cross sections.
Kumar teaches forming a load floor and underbody (115) from structural extrusions (405,410) of at least two different cross sections, as shown in Figure 6 and disclosed in the abstract.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the structural extrusions of Letendre et al., as modified, with at least two different cross sections, as taught by Kumar, with a reasonable expectation for success to reduce the weight of the floor reduce fuel consumption.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Letendre et al. (US 2022/0097777) and Kumar (US 2020/01555386), as applied to claims 1 and 15, in view of Ferren et al. (US 2005/0022460).
Letendre et al., as modified, does not disclose pre-wiring any of the subassemblies.
Ferren et al. teaches pre-wiring a vehicle sub-assembly, as disclosed in paragraph [0014].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to pre-wire the subassemblies of Letendre et al., as modified, as taught by Ferren et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to allow for quick assembly of the subassemblies.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Letendre et al. (US 2022/0097777) and Kumar (US 2020/01555386), as applied to claim 1, in view of Lusk et al. (US 2008/0036240).
Letendre et al., as modified, discloses the use of mechanical fasteners to attach the subassemblies, as disclosed in paragraphs [0070] and [0078].
However, Letendre et al., as modified, does not disclose the use of polymer adhesive.
Lusk et al. teaches using the combination of mechanical fasteners and thermoplastic adhesives to connect subassemblies, as shown in Figure 7 and disclosed in paragraph [0169]. Thermoplastic adhesives are a type of polymer adhesive.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use thermoplastic adhesive in combination with the mechanical fasteners of Letendre et al., as modified,, as taught by Lusk et al., to attach subassemblies of Letendre et al., as modified, with a reasonable expectation for success to strengthen the joint, reduce vibrations, and provide a seal between subassemblies.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Letendre et al. (US 2022/0097777) and Kumar (US 2020/01555386), as applied to claim 1.
Letendre et al., as modified, does not disclose the body wall is painted.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to paint the wall subassemblies of Letendre et al., as modified, by painting them before attachment to the load floor as an obvious expedient so the paint booth only needs to be large enough to fit the wall subassembly instead of a fully assembled vehicle.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, 20, and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 February 6, 2026