DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 08/10/2026 has been entered. Claim 20 has been cancelled. Claims 21 has been newly added.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 21, line 4, delete “pow-er” and replace with “power”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Priem (US 2017/0214349) in view of Loncarevic (US 2010/0052615).
Regarding claim 1, Priem discloses a storage system (100) configured for use with an energy management system (170, 180, 165), comprising:
a rechargeable battery (fig. 1, element 140 and ¶ 0019);
a grid detection circuit (100 and/or 165) operably connected to (see fig. 1 and ¶ 0019) the rechargeable battery (142) such that when an AC power source is not detected by the grid detection circuit (¶ 0022; the genset 100 may automatically activate in response to the ATS 165 or the controller 110 detecting that the utility power fails, and automatically stop in response to the ATS 165 or the controller 110 detecting that the utility power is back) and a voltage at the rechargeable battery falls below a threshold voltage (¶ 0022; the genset 100 may automatically start to charge the battery 140 in response to the battery monitor 142 detecting that the battery condition (e.g., state of charge) is below a predetermined condition); and
a switch (fig. 1, element 165) operably connected to the grid detection circuit (110 via a communication interface 160).
Priem fails to teach the grid detection circuit places the rechargeable battery into a sleep mode, the switch configured to override the grid detection circuit so that the rechargeable battery exits the sleep mode until a voltage at the rechargeable battery is equal to or greater than a predetermined voltage.
Loncarevic further teaches a battery management system is able to control the charging and discharging of the batteries. The battery management system includes a central controlling microcontroller, and during discharging of the associated cell to monitor the state of the associated cell and to inform the central controlling microcontroller when a minimum charging state has been reached, so as to cause the central controlling microcontroller to disconnect the associated cell from the load in claim 14. Therefore, the battery enters sleep mode after the disconnection between the battery cells and the load.
Further, Loncarevic further discloses when the battery voltage reaches total maximum voltage and the charging process is stopped by the central microcontroller, the battery cells are ready to exit the sleep mode (non-discharging mode) as long as the cell voltages are above cell voltage min reset, the central microcontroller can re-enable (waking up the battery cells) the discharging process in ¶¶ 0114-0115 and abstract.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Priem to incorporate with the teaching of Loncarevic by controlling the charging/discharging the battery cells based on the battery states, because it would be advantageous to prevent excessive discharging/charging the battery cells and further prolong the service life of the whole battery.
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Priem does not disclose wherein the switch is connected across at least one resistor of a DC protection circuit or a resistor that is not part of the DC protection circuit.
Loncarevic further teaches a switch is connected across at least one resistor of a DC protection circuit or a resistor (see fig. 9 above) that is not part of the DC protection circuit (see fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Priem to incorporate with the teaching of Loncarevic by connecting the switch with a resistor, because it would be advantageous to prevent unreliable operation or battery damage while preserving ultra-low sleep current.
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Priem fails to teach wherein the grid detection circuit is configured to wake-up the rechargeable battery if the voltage at the rechargeable battery is above a first recoverable level and the switch is configured to wake-up the rechargeable battery if the voltage at rechargeable battery is above a second recoverable level different from the first recoverable level.
However, Loncarevic further discloses wherein the grid detection circuit (central controlling microcontroller; 14) is configured to wake-up the rechargeable battery (start discharging the battery) if the voltage at the rechargeable battery is above a first recoverable level (¶ 0115; Cell voltage min reset=the lowest voltage amongst cell voltages must reach this value to re-enable discharging) and the switch (central control microcontroller; 14) is configured to wake-up the rechargeable battery if the voltage at rechargeable battery is above a second recoverable level different from the first recoverable level (¶ 0114; when the highest cell voltage reach “cell voltage max”, the battery cells are ready to discharge when they need to).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Priem to incorporate with the teaching of Loncarevic by controlling the charging/discharging based on different cell voltage parameters, because it would be advantageous to protect the battery cells from overcharging or undervoltage and further prolong the service life of the whole system.
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Priem in view of Loncarevic discloses wherein the first recoverable level is about (interpret as “above” or “below”) 2V per cell (3.7 V; Loncarevic, ¶ 0115) and the second recoverable level is about (interpret as “above” or “below”) 3V per cell (4.25V; Loncarevic, ¶ 0114).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Priem in view of Loncarevic discloses wherein the switch is configured to override the grid detection circuit (the genset 100 may automatically activate in response to the ATS 165 or the controller 110 detecting that the utility power fails, and automatically stop in response to the ATS 165 or the controller 110 detecting that the utility power is back) but it fails to disclose the switch is configured to override the grid detection circuit for about 5 minutes. However, to choose 5 minutes for overriding the grid detection circuit, absent any criticality, is only considered to be the “optimum” value of the overriding time of the controller, as stated above, that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been able to determine using routine experimentation based, among other things, on the desired accuracy and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art in order to maintain the power supply to the load without major interruption. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) and MPEP 2144.04 and 2144.05.
Regarding claim 7, Priem discloses wherein the switch (165; ATS) is connected to (directly/indirectly connected to) an under-voltage pin of an IC of a DC protection circuit (¶ 0051; the controller 110 may stop the genset 100 in response to receiving commands from the battery monitor 142 indicating that the battery condition is below a predetermined battery condition level).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Priem discloses a method/CRSM [¶ 0029] for managing a storage system (100) configured for use with an energy management system (170, 180, 165), comprising:
detecting if an AC power source is present on the storage system (¶ 0022; the genset 100 may automatically activate in response to the ATS 165 or the controller 110 detecting that the utility power fails, and automatically stop in response to the ATS 165 or the controller 110 detecting that the utility power is back);
detecting if a voltage at a rechargeable battery falls below a threshold voltage (¶ 0022; the genset 100 may automatically start to charge the battery 140 in response to the battery monitor 142 detecting that the battery condition (e.g., state of charge) is below a predetermined condition).
However, Priem does not disclose the method further includes: placing the rechargeable battery into a sleep mode; and overriding the sleep mode until the voltage at the rechargeable battery is equal to or greater than a predetermined voltage.
Loncarevic further teaches a battery management system is able to control the charging and discharging of the batteries. The battery management system includes a central controlling microcontroller, and during discharging of the associated cell to monitor the state of the associated cell and to inform the central controlling microcontroller when a minimum charging state has been reached, so as to cause the central controlling microcontroller to disconnect the associated cell from the load in claim 14. Therefore, the battery enters sleep mode after the disconnection between the battery cells and the load.
Further, Loncarevic further discloses when the battery voltage reaches total maximum voltage and the charging process is stopped by the central microcontroller, the battery cells are ready to exit the sleep mode (non-discharging mode) as long as the cell voltages are above cell voltage min reset, the central microcontroller can re-enable (waking up the battery cells) the discharging process in ¶¶ 0114-0115 and abstract.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Priem to incorporate with the teaching of Loncarevic by controlling the charging/discharging the battery cells based on the battery states, because it would be advantageous to prevent excessive discharging/charging the battery cells and further prolong the service life of the whole battery.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Priem discloses wherein overriding the sleep mode comprises using a switch (¶ 0022; the genset 100 may automatically activate
in response to the ATS 165 or the controller 110 detecting that the utility power fails), and wherein the switch is connected (directly/indirectly connected to) to an under-voltage pin of an IC of a DC protection circuit (¶ 0051; the controller 110 may stop the genset 100 in response to receiving commands from the battery monitor 142 indicating that the battery condition is below a predetermined battery condition level).
Regarding claim 15, Priem discloses wherein if the AC power source is present on the storage system and the voltage at the rechargeable battery falls below the threshold voltage, further comprising charging the rechargeable battery (¶ 0022; the genset 100 may automatically start to charge the battery 140 in response to the battery monitor 142 detecting that the battery condition (e.g., state of charge) is below a predetermined condition).
Regarding claim 16, Priem discloses wherein if the AC power source is present on the storage system and the voltage at the rechargeable battery does not fall below the threshold voltage, further comprising operating the storage system under normal operation (¶¶ 0022, 0024; the smart switch 175 can charge the battery 140 and direct
the battery 140 to provide power to the load 190 based on utility demand).
Claim(s) 2, 10, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Priem in view of Loncarevic as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Qureshi et al. US 2007/0241930 (hereinafter Qureshi).
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 19, Priem in view of Loncarevic discloses the system includes an automatic transfer switch (ATS, fig. 1, element 165; Priem), but the ATS is not a magnetic reed switch.
However, Qureshi discloses a device including a microcontroller 304 and reed switches 302-1 and 302-2 in fig. 4. When such a magnetic pole is not sensed by a switch sensor 302, the Reed switch 302 is open, effectively directing microprocessor 304 to enter sleep mode and conserve energy. Responsive to sensing the magnetic pole, a respective Reed switch closes, causing microcontroller 304 to wake-up from sleep mode in ¶ 0024.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Priem in view of Loncarevic to incorporate with the teaching of Qureshi by using reed switch to cause microcontroller to wake-up from sleep mode, because it would be advantageous to reduce quiescent current until activated by a magnetic device and further increase durability of the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under claim objections, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 21, the prior art fails to teach or suggest further inclusion of wherein the grid detection circuit comprises an input side that is configured to connect between a DC power source and a battery management unit (BMU) and an output side that is configured to connect between an output side of an inverter and the AC power source.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 6-7, Applicant argues that “Examiner asserts that Priem discloses a grid detection circuit and a switch. For example, the Examiner asserts that the storage system 100 or the automatic transfer switch (ATS) 165 can be mapped (are analogous) to the grid detection circuit recited in the Applicant's claims, which recite a grid detection circuit operably connected to the rechargeable battery. The Applicant notes, however, that the storage system 100 cannot be operably connected to the battery 140 because the battery 140 is a component (not a separate component) of the storage system 100.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees because the genset 100 further includes communication interface 160, controller 110, generator 130, etc. Those elements are directly/indirectly connected to battery 140.
On pages 6-7, Applicant argues that “Examiner asserts that the automatic transfer switch (ATS) 165 can also be mapped to a switch recited in the Applicant's claims. The Applicant notes, however, that the grid detection circuitry and the switch are two distinct claim limitations and cannot be dual mapped by the single automatic transfer switch (ATS) 165. Thus, for at least this reason, Priem does not render obvious the Applicant's claims.”
However, examiner respectfully disagrees because the prior art clearly teaches a battery condition monitored by a battery monitor 142, a power outage monitored by an automatic transfer switch (ATS) 165 or the controller 110; the genset 100 may automatically activate in response to the ATS 165 or the controller 110 detecting that the utility power fails, and automatically stop in response to the ATS 165 or the controller 110 detecting that the utility power is back in ¶¶ 0021-0022. Further, the claimed limitations do not exclude the automatic transfer switch (ATS) being a grid detection circuitry or define any specific of the grid detection circuitry that is notably different from the ATS.
On pages 7-8, Applicant argues that “claim 1 recites that the grid detection circuit places the battery into sleep mode when (a) an AC power source is not detected AND (b) the battery voltage falls below a threshold, which a conjunctive condition tied specifically to AC grid absence. Conversely, Loncarevic's alleged sleep mode is not conditioned on AC grid absence, as it is purely a cell voltage protection mechanism without any AC grid detection component. The Examiner conflates two structurally and functionally distinct mechanisms.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees because Priem clearly discloses the genset 100 may automatically activate in response to the ATS 165 or the controller 110 detecting that the utility power fails (AC power source is not available) and automatically stop in response to the ATS 165 in ¶ 0022. The genset 100 may automatically start to charge the battery 140 in response to the battery monitor 142 detecting that the battery condition (e.g., state of charge or battery voltage) is below a predetermined condition in ¶ 0022. Therefore, the cited prior art does disclose the claimed limitations as stated above.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
On page 8, Applicant argues that “the Examiner's motivation to combine -to prevent excessive discharging/charging the battery cells and further prolong service life (see office action p.4)- is generic and does not specifically address why a person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify a genset remote start control system (as disclosed in Priem) with a multi-cell lithium-ion battery management system (as disclosed in Loncarevic) to achieve the specific claimed architecture of a storage system for use with an energy management system. Thus, for at least this reason, Priem in view of Loncarevic does not render obvious the Applicant's claims”
Examiner respectfully disagrees because Priem is a standby/backup power controller. It decides when a genset starts or stops based on detected conditions so that backup power is available when the grid is gone. Loncarevic is a BMS that monitors cell voltage/SOC and disconnects the load when a minimum charge state is reached so the pack is not destroyed by over-discharge. Furthermore, Loncarevic teaches disconnecting at minimum charge state to prevent damage in ¶ 0004 of Loncarevic. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method of enhancement to a "base" device (method, or product) in the prior art and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
On page 8, Applicant argues that “the Examiner maps the ATS 165 in Priem as the switch recited in the Applicant's claims. The Applicant notes, however, that the switch recited in the Applicant's claims is configured to override the grid detection circuit. The ATS 165 in Priem, however, is described as sending auto-start commands to the controller 110 -the ATS 165 does not override any grid detection circuit to exit a battery sleep mode. The Applicant respectfully submits that such mapping does not correctly reflect the functional and structural character of the claimed switch, which is a hardware override element that directly enables exit from sleep mode based on battery voltage reaching a predetermined level. Thus, for at least this reason, Priem does not render obvious the Applicant's claims”
Examiner respectfully disagrees because Loncarevic clearly discloses a battery management system can control the charging and discharging of the batteries. The battery management system includes a central controlling microcontroller, and during discharging of the associated cell to monitor the state of the associated cell and to inform the central controlling microcontroller when a minimum charging state has been reached, so as to cause the central controlling microcontroller to disconnect the associated cell from the load in claim 14 and ¶ 0004. Therefore, the battery enters sleep mode after the disconnection between the battery cells and the load. Further, Loncarevic further discloses when the battery voltage reaches total maximum voltage and the charging process is stopped by the central microcontroller, the battery cells are ready to exit the sleep mode (non-discharging mode) as long as the cell voltages are above cell voltage min reset, the central microcontroller can re-enable (waking up the battery cells) the discharging process in ¶¶ 0114-0115 and abstract.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZIXUAN ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 10/01/2026