DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The action is in response to amendments filed on 12/02/2025. Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-11 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by US 20070269837 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Mcgreevy”) in view of US 20060247537 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Matsumoto”), and US 20080059070 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Boyden”).
Regarding claim 1, Mcgreevy, a teaches system facilitating differentiation between parathyroid tissue and thyroid tissue of a subject (system is used to determine fluorescent material from a sample using an emitter/detector and thus can be used to differentiate between parathyroid tissue and thyroid tissue; abstract), comprising:
a light source for illuminating tissue in a target region in the neck area of the subject (2; paragraph [0116]; Figure 1);
a first optical coupler optically coupled with the light source for delivering light from the light source to the tissue (52; paragraph [0046]; Figure 1);
a second optical coupler for collecting optical signals emitted from the tissue responsive to the light (16; paragraph [0047]; Figure 1); and
a detector for detecting intensities of the optical signals emitted from the tissue; wherein the detector can detect differences in intensities of the optical signals between the parathyroid tissue and the thyroid tissue, thereby facilitating differentiation (teaches a detector which would be able to determine fluorescence; paragraphs [0097]-[0098], [0117]-[0119]); but does not explicitly teach wherein the optical signals are autofluorescence, that the detector is a camera, and wherein the light is adapted such that the auto-fluorescence is in a wavelength of about 800-100 nm.
However, Matsumoto teaches wherein the detector detects intensities of optical signals emitting from the tissue that are autofluorescence (paragraphs [0019], claim 2). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of McGreevy, to detect autofluorescence, because doing so provides a detector device capable of measuring detecting distribution of fluorescence to determine anormal tissue.
Further, Boyden, a fluorescent imaging device, teaches a detector being a camera (paragraph [0224]) and wherein the light source is configured to produce light for delivery to the tissue to cause the auto-fluorescence of both the thyroid tissue and the parathyroid tissue is in a wavelength range of about 800-1000 nm (paragraph [0087],[0234]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of McGreevy, in view of Matusomoto, to use a camera as a detector, because it would be the simple substitution of one known element (the detector of McGreevy) with another (the camera of Boyden) in order to achieve a predictable result namely a means detecting intensities of specific tissue region. Further It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of McGreevy, in view of Matusomoto, to have the light source is configured to produce light for delivery to the tissue to cause the auto-fluorescence of both the thyroid tissue and the parathyroid tissue is in a wavelength range of about 800-1000 nm, as taught by Boyden, because doing elicits an auto fluorescent response which can be used to detect for disease detection.
Regarding claim 2, Mcgreevy, in view of Matsumoto, and Boyden, teaches emitting light in an infrared wavelength (paragraph [0087],[0234]; as taught by Boyden).
Regarding claim 4, Mcgreevy, in view of Matsumoto, and Boyden, teaches further comprising a display in communication with the detector for displaying the intensities of the optical signals emitted from the tissue (paragraphs [0119], [0130]; as taught by McGreevy).
Regarding claim 5, Mcgreevy, in view of Matsumoto, and Boyden, teaches further comprising a filter for filtering excess ambient (paragraph [0047]; as taught by McGreevy).
Regarding claim 6, Mcgreevy, in view of Matsumoto, and Boyden, teaches emitting light in an infrared wavelength (paragraph [0087],[0234]; as taught by Boyden).
Regarding claim 7, Mcgreevy, in view of Matsumoto, and Boyden, teaches wherein the collection device is configured to collect optical auto-fluorescence signals (paragraph [0117]-[0119]; Figure 1; as taught by McGreevy).
Regarding claim 8, Mcgreevy, in view of Matsumoto, and Boyden, teaches further comprising a display in communication with the detector for displaying the intensities of the optical signals emitted from the tissue (paragraphs [0119], [0130]; as taught by McGreevy).
Regarding claim 9, Mcgreevy, in view of Matsumoto, and Boyden, teaches wherein the intensities of the optical signals of the parathyroid tissue are about 2-11 times greater than that of the thyroid tissue (teaches a detector which would be able to determine fluorescence; paragraphs [0097]-[0098], [0117]-[0119];as taught by McGreevy).
Regarding claim 10, McGreevy teaches a system facilitating differentiation between parathyroid tissue and thyroid tissue of a subject (system is used to determine fluorescent material from a sample using an emitter/detector and thus can be used to differentiate between parathyroid tissue and thyroid tissue; abstract), comprising:
a light source for illuminating tissue in a target region in the neck area of the subject (52; paragraph [0046]; Figure 1);
an optical coupler optically coupled with the light source for delivering light from the light source to the tissue (12 and 16; paragraph [0118]; Figure 1);
a detector for detecting intensities of the optical signals emitted from the tissue; wherein the detector can detect differences in intensities of the optical signals between the parathyroid tissue and the thyroid tissue, thereby facilitating differentiation (teaches a detector which would be able to determine fluorescence; paragraphs [0097]-[0098], [0117]-[0119]); and
a display in communication with the detector for displaying the intensities of the optical signals emitted from the tissue (paragraphs [0119], [0130]); but does not explicitly teach wherein the optical signals are autofluorescence, that the detector is a camera, and wherein the light is adapted such that the auto-fluorescence is in a wavelength of about 800-100 nm.
However, Matsumoto teaches wherein the detector detects intensities of optical signals emitting from the tissue that are autofluorescence (paragraphs [0019], claim 2) It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of McGreevy, to detect autofluorescence, because doing so provides a detector device capable of measuring detecting distribution of fluorescence to determine anormal tissue.
Further, Boyden, a fluorescent imaging device, teaches a detector being a camera (paragraph [0224]) and wherein the light source is configured to produce light for delivery to the tissue to cause the auto-fluorescence of both the thyroid tissue and the parathyroid tissue is in a wavelength range of about 800-1000 nm (paragraph [0087],[0234]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of McGreevy, in view of Matusomoto, to use a camera as a detector, because it would be the simple substitution of one known element (the detector of McGreevy) with another (the camera of Boyden) in order to achieve a predictable result namely a means detecting intensities of specific tissue region. Further It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of McGreevy, in view of Matusomoto, to have the light source is configured to produce light for delivery to the tissue to cause the auto-fluorescence of both the thyroid tissue and the parathyroid tissue is in a wavelength range of about 800-1000 nm, as taught by Boyden, because doing elicits an auto fluorescent response which can be used to detect for disease detection.
Regarding claim 11, Mcgreevy, in view of Matsumoto, and Boyden, teaches wherein the predetermined wavelength is about 785 nm (paragraph [0087],[0234]; as taught by Boyden).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/02/2025, with respect to the prior art rejections, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABID A MUSTANSIR/Examiner, Art Unit 3791