6/20Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/11/2025 has been reconsidered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 12/16/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 13 have been amended, and claim 24 has been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the following claims under 35 USC 103 have been considered as thus:
Regarding claim 1 and 13, Applicant asserts that the amended limitation is not disclosed: wherein the predetermined signal profile is determined based on known characteristics of the antenna’s beam walk over frequency; See Examiner’s rejection below that addresses this newly added limitation.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Applicant asserts that the following is not disclosed: known angular offset between the first beam direction at the first frequency and the second beam direction at the second frequency due to beam walk over frequency; however, the assertions are not deemed persuasive: Merrell discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein comparing further includes generating the predetermined signal profile based on a known angular offset between the first beam direction at the first frequency and the second beam direction at the second frequency due to beam walk over frequency (Merrell, col. 5, line 55 – col. 6, line 8: The antenna system 150 also includes a positioner 153 for pointing the beam 155 towards the target satellite 110 (e.g., along an estimate of an aligned direction from the antenna 152 to the target satellite 110, which may be referred to a satellite look angle) using the techniques described herein. In the example of antenna system 150, the positioner 153 includes an alignment mechanism responsive to a control signal from an antenna control unit (ACU) (not shown) to provide pointing of the beam 155 towards the target satellite 110 about two rotational degrees of freedom (e.g., elevation and azimuth). In some examples the antenna 152 may include a phased array of antenna elements, and a positioner 153 for pointing the beam 155 towards the target satellite 110 may include an electronic beamformer (not shown) that forms the beam 155 via the phased array of antenna elements by applying phase and/or amplitude shifting of signals communicated by respective antenna elements of the phased array. In some examples in accordance with the present disclosure, an antenna system 150 may include one or more positioners 153 that collectively provide both a mechanical positioning and an electronic beamforming.
Based on the location of the target satellite 110, the location of the mobile vehicle 102, and the attitude (e.g., yaw, roll, and pitch) of the mobile vehicle 102, the ACU of the antenna system 150 may determine and provide a control signal to the positioner 153 to maintain pointing of the beam 155 at the target satellite 110 as the mobile vehicle 102 and/or the target satellite 110 moves. In some cases the direction of maximum gain of the beam 155 may be aligned with the direction of the target satellite 110. Alternatively, the gain of the beam 155 in the direction from the antenna 152 to the target satellite 110 may be less than the maximum gain of the beam 155, due to the direction of maximum gain being aligned in a direction different from the direction to the target satellite 110. In various examples the misalignment may be due to pointing accuracy limitations of the antenna 152, offsets in sensors of the mobile vehicle 102, offsets of the antenna system 150, or an antenna platform misalignment (e.g., an alignment difference between a sensor of the mobile vehicle 102 and the antenna system 150). The difference between the direction of maximum gain of the beam 155 and the direction from the antenna 152 to the target satellite 110 is referred to herein as the pointing error) Examiner interprets the pointing error as the angular offset, and the )predetermined signal profile defines where the beam should point (directivity).
Regarding claim 8, Applicant asserts that the following is not disclosed: and using a side of a main beam of the antenna to track the first signal so as to center the communication signal on a peak of the antenna's main beam: however, Merrell discloses: and using a side of a main beam of the antenna to track the first signal so as to center the communication signal on a peak of the antenna's main beam (Merrell, col. 8, lines 7-34: Although such peaking operations may provide suitable beam pointing calibration within a similar range of spatial conditions (e.g., a similar orientation of the beam 155 in an azimuth direction of the antenna 152), the antenna pointing offset may not be suitable for other spatial conditions of the antenna system 150 (e.g., other azimuth orientations of the beam 155 in the azimuth direction of the antenna 152). For example, the antenna system 150 may be installed with an antenna platform misalignment between the antenna system 150 and a sensor of the mobile vehicle 102 (e.g., an IRU of the mobile vehicle 102), which in some examples may correspond to rotational offsets between the sensor of the mobile vehicle 102 and the antenna system 150 (e.g., a roll offset, a pitch offset, and/or a yaw offset). Thus, an antenna platform misalignment may be associated with three or more degrees of freedom, whereas an alignment calibration procedure (e.g., a calibration procedure to compensate for an azimuth offset and an elevation offset of the antenna system 150 at a particular spatial condition) may only compensate for two degrees of freedom. Accordingly, when the antenna system 150 is installed on the mobile vehicle 102 with an antenna platform misalignment, a determined antenna pointing offset (e.g., an elevation offset and an azimuth offset) that improves antenna alignment at a given azimuth orientation of the beam 155 may degrade alignment of the beam 155 of the antenna 152 at a different azimuth orientation of the beam 155 (e.g., an opposite azimuth orientation of the beam 155)) Examiner interprets beam 155 as main beam and the roll offset as what measures the side of the beam
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: lines 3-4: “second frequency, the known angular offset due to beam walk over frequency”. For the sake of Examination, it will be interpreted as “[or] the known angular offset due to beam walk over frequency”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merrell (US 10211508 B2) in view of Milroy et al (US 20040233117 A1), hereinafter Milroy.
Regarding claim 1, Merrell discloses:
a method for tracking a signal in a satellite-on-the-move application using an antenna that exhibits beam walk over frequency, the method comprising (Merrell, col. 1, line 66 - col. 2, line 8: FIG. 1 illustrates an example satellite communications system 100 that supports dynamic antenna platform offset calibration in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The satellite communications system 100 includes a mobile vehicle 102 having an antenna system 150 that supports wireless communications with a satellite (e.g., a target satellite 110). Other configurations for supporting dynamic antenna platform offset calibration may have more or fewer components than the satellite communications system 100 of FIG. 1) and (col. 11, line 62-col. 12, line 4: In some examples the antenna system 150-a may include both positioner 153-a and positioner 153-b. For example, the antenna 152-a may be an electro-mechanically steered array such as a variably inclined continuous transverse stub (VICTS) antenna, which may include one mechanical scan axis supported by the positioner 153-a, and one electrical scan axis supported by the positioner 153-b. Alternatively, the antenna system 150-a may include other positioners 153 that may vary from embodiment to embodiment, and may depend on the antenna type of the antenna 152) Examiner notes that VICTS is used to track satellites in motion and beam walk is a result beam steering such that beam directionality may walk with varying frequencies:
using the antenna that exhibits beam walk over frequency to receive, from a remote device, a first signal at a first frequency with a first beam direction (Merrell, col. 1, line 66 - col. 2, line 8) and (col. 11, line 62-col. 12);
using the antenna that exhibits beam walk over frequency to communicate with the remote device a second signal at a second frequency (Merrell, col. 1, line 66 - col. 2, line 8) and (col. 11, line 62-col. 12),
performing over a prescribed time period a periodic physical scan of the antenna about a current pointing direction of the antenna (Merrell, col. 1, lines 34-53: Pointing error associated with an antenna system mounted to a mobile vehicle may result from misalignment between a sensor (e.g., an inertial reference unit (IRU)) of the mobile vehicle and the antenna system (e.g., a mounting platform of the antenna system), which may be referred to as antenna platform misalignment. Antenna platform misalignment may be caused by manufacturing tolerances between the sensor and the antenna system, structural deflections caused by movement and other disturbances, and other factors. In order to compensate for pointing error, whether associated with antenna platform misalignment or other factors, the mobile antenna terminal may perform a signal-based mispointing correction operation such as peaking, conical scan, sine scan, and similar methods. However, mispointing correction operations may not properly correct for antenna platform misalignment in all beam directions. Further, the mispointing correction operations may require a dedicated calibration routine that inhibits user communications, and may require the mobile vehicle to be pointed in orientations associated with the calibration routine);
comparing a strength of the received first signal over the prescribed time period to a predetermined signal profile (Merrell, col. 1, lines 34-53) Examiner interprets inertial reference unit and the scan patters as additional examples of a predetermined signal profile that is compared to the pointing direction,
wherein the predetermined signal profile is determined based on known characteristics of the antenna beam walk over frequency (Merrell, col. 1, lines 34-53) Examiner interprets the pointing error as an example of the known characteristic, and the gain (low/maximum) is indicative of the frequency
whereby said adjusting causes the first signal to converge to the predetermined signal profile resulting in a strength of the second signal to peak (Merrell, col. 7, lines 22-39: In other examples of an alignment calibration procedure in accordance with the present disclosure, the alignment calibration controller may cause incremental changes in orientation of the beam 155 (e.g., incremental changes in antenna azimuth and/or elevation) using the measured signal characteristic and without explicitly basing the pointing directions during the alignment calibration procedure on an estimate of the aligned direction determined from the location and attitude information. By omitting the estimation of an aligned direction, such alignment calibration procedures may not necessarily be based on the location of the antenna 152, the location of the target satellite 110, or the attitude of the mobile vehicle 102. Rather, such alignment calibration procedures may instead determine whether signal strength or signal quality associated with the communicated user data increased or decreased in response to the change in orientation of the beam 155 in order to determine a direction associated with a peak signal characteristic),
and adjusting a pointing direction of the antenna based on the comparison, whereby said adjusting causes the first signal to converge to the predetermined signal profile resulting in a strength of the second signal to peak (Merrell, col. 7, line 40 – col. 8, line 6: Accordingly, while supporting user data communications via the beam 155 of the antenna 152 at the misaligned directions (e.g., without requiring inhibiting transmissions of the antenna 152, or while receiving transmissions from the target satellite 110 via the antenna 152), the alignment calibration controller may measure, or receive a measurement of a signal strength or a signal quality for the respective misaligned directions, and determine a “peaked” direction associated with the highest signal strength or signal quality of the user data. The orientation of the beam 155 when peaked may be determined based on the output from an antenna positioning motor or sensors (e.g., positional or angular encoders associated with a positioning mechanism) used to assist in physically positioning the antenna 152 (e.g., directing the boresight of the antenna 152 to the target satellite 110), or by a beamformer used to form the beam 155 from a plurality of antenna elements of a phased array (e.g., a calculation of an orientation of the beam 155 used to determine signal phase and amplitude adjustments for forming the beam 155). For example, in one embodiment in which the antenna 152 is positioned using antenna positioning motors supporting motion in an azimuth direction and in an elevation direction, the azimuth and elevation that result in the antenna 152 receiving the strongest signal are used as the peaked orientation of the beam 155. The difference between the estimated aligned direction between the beam 155 and the target satellite 110 and the peaked direction between the beam 155 and the target satellite 110 may be calculated as an antenna pointing offset, which may then be applied to subsequent pointing operations (e.g., for subsequent communication of user data or for subsequent alignment calibration procedures) by the alignment calibration controller to more accurately orient the beam 155 towards the target satellite 110)
Milroy also discloses:
a method for tracking a signal in a satellite-on-the-move application using an antenna that exhibits beam walk over frequency, the method comprising (Milroy 117, para [0039], A Variable Inclination Continuous Transverse Stub (VICTS) array in an exemplary embodiment includes two plates, one (upper) comprising a one-dimensional lattice of continuous radiating stubs and the second (lower) comprising one or more line sources emanating into the parallel-plate region formed and bounded between the upper and lower plates. Mechanical rotation of the upper plate relative to the lower plate serves to vary the inclination of incident parallel-plate modes, launched at the line source(s), relative to the continuous transverse stubs in the upper plate, and in doing so constructively excites a radiated planar phase-front whose angle relative to the mechanical normal of the array (theta) is a simple continuous function of the relative angle (.psi.) of (differential) mechanical rotation between the two plates. Common rotation of the two plates in unison moves the phase-front in the orthogonal azimuth (phi) direction. Exemplary embodiments of this simple innovative scan mechanism can provide some or all of the following capabilities, including: dramatically reduced component, assembly, and test costs (in one exemplary simple form, there are only three integrated passive RF components of the VICTS, a radiating CTS plate, a lower base plate and a dielectric support, with no phase-shifters, T/R modules, or associated control/power distribution); reduced prime power and cooling requirements (no phase shifters or T/R modules in an exemplary embodiment); improved instantaneous bandwidth (the primary scan mechanism of the VICTS is a "true-time-delay" optical phenomena). Further, extreme composite scan angles are achieved while maintaining moderate scan angles and well-behaved scan impedances in each of the cardinal planes); continuous datastream (the scan mechanism is completely analog and the beam scan angle is therefore continuously defined and well-behaved) and (para [0054], The Cosine factor is included to account for the increase in size of the main beam as the beam is scanned in increasing .theta. due to the corresponding decrease in effective aperture area. The Sine factor is included to account for the increase in .phi. as the beam is scanned to higher values of .theta.. FIG. 4 shows a plot of BW expressed in degrees per percent bandwidth versus rotation angle, .PSI., for the same embodiment whose beam position is described in FIG. 3. As indicated in the plot, BW, the normalized beamwalk is virtually constant with respect to .PSI.. This phenomena contrasts sharply with most fully populated phased arrays whose beam walk over frequency increases non-linearly. This property is particularly useful in applications that require minimum beamwalk at large scan angles),
using the antenna that exhibits beam walk over frequency to receive, from a remote device, a first signal at a first frequency with a first beam direction (Milroy 117, para [0037], FIGS. 26A-26B illustrate an embodiment wherein one part of a VITCS array receives and transmits a right hand circularly polarized (RHCP) signal and a second part receives and transmits a left had circularly polarized (LHCP) signal),
using the antenna that exhibits beam walk over frequency to communicate with the remote device a second signal at a second frequency (Milroy 117, paras [0054] and [0055], In general, grating lobes or repeats of the main antenna beam, can exist when antenna element spacing exceeds one wavelength. Since the beam scan component in planes parallel to the length of the stub occurs as the result of a purely optical (or true time delay) phenomena, namely Snell=s law, involving a continuous source, no grating lobes will occur co-incident within this plane. The optical or true time delay phenomena refers to the feeding of the radiating continuous transverse stubs of the VITCS array in a manner analogous to the way in which an array of discrete elements may be fed with a corporate feed network (commonly referred to as a true time delay feed). In such a configuration, the corporate feed, which includes transmission lines, has a single input port and multiple output ports, where the number of output ports equal the number of discrete elements. The length of the transmission lines may be adjusted so that the antenna main beam radiating from the discrete array maintains a constant position in space independent of frequency. In the VITCS array, the discrete elements and transmission lines are replaced, in this analogy, by a long continuous transverse stub (CTS) element and a long continuous transverse electromagnetic (TEM) wave in a parallel plate respectively. Correspondingly, the antenna beam formed from the energy radiated from the long continuous stub will maintain a constant position in space independent of frequency) ,
the second frequency offset from the first frequency and with a second beam direction offset in angle from the first beam direction (Milroy, par [0054]);
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Merrell with Milroy to incorporate the features of: the second frequency offset from the first frequency and with a second beam direction offset in angle from the first beam direction. Both arts are considered analogous arts as they both disclose Variable Inclined Continuous Transverse Stub (VICTS) antenna systems regarding satellite movement patterns and communication to remote devices. The modification would render the predictable results of ability to communicate to different remote devices without physically re-steering the antenna; more precise pointing; and increased beam agility for faster directional changes via tuning.
Regarding claim 2, Merrell discloses:
the method according to claim 1 (Merrell, col. 1, line 66 - col. 2, line 8) and (col. 11, line 62-col. 12, line 4),
wherein comparing further includes generating the predetermined signal profile based on a known angular offset between the first beam direction at the first frequency and the second beam direction at the second frequency) due to beam walk over frequency (Merrell, col. 5, line 55 – col. 6, line 8: The antenna system 150 also includes a positioner 153 for pointing the beam 155 towards the target satellite 110 (e.g., along an estimate of an aligned direction from the antenna 152 to the target satellite 110, which may be referred to a satellite look angle) using the techniques described herein. In the example of antenna system 150, the positioner 153 includes an alignment mechanism responsive to a control signal from an antenna control unit (ACU) (not shown) to provide pointing of the beam 155 towards the target satellite 110 about two rotational degrees of freedom (e.g., elevation and azimuth). In some examples the antenna 152 may include a phased array of antenna elements, and a positioner 153 for pointing the beam 155 towards the target satellite 110 may include an electronic beamformer (not shown) that forms the beam 155 via the phased array of antenna elements by applying phase and/or amplitude shifting of signals communicated by respective antenna elements of the phased array. In some examples in accordance with the present disclosure, an antenna system 150 may include one or more positioners 153 that collectively provide both a mechanical positioning and an electronic beamforming.
Based on the location of the target satellite 110, the location of the mobile vehicle 102, and the attitude (e.g., yaw, roll, and pitch) of the mobile vehicle 102, the ACU of the antenna system 150 may determine and provide a control signal to the positioner 153 to maintain pointing of the beam 155 at the target satellite 110 as the mobile vehicle 102 and/or the target satellite 110 moves. In some cases the direction of maximum gain of the beam 155 may be aligned with the direction of the target satellite 110. Alternatively, the gain of the beam 155 in the direction from the antenna 152 to the target satellite 110 may be less than the maximum gain of the beam 155, due to the direction of maximum gain being aligned in a direction different from the direction to the target satellite 110. In various examples the misalignment may be due to pointing accuracy limitations of the antenna 152, offsets in sensors of the mobile vehicle 102, offsets of the antenna system 150, or an antenna platform misalignment (e.g., an alignment difference between a sensor of the mobile vehicle 102 and the antenna system 150). The difference between the direction of maximum gain of the beam 155 and the direction from the antenna 152 to the target satellite 110 is referred to herein as the pointing error), Examiner interprets the pointing error as the angular offset and the predetermined signal profile defines where the beam should point (directivity)
Regarding claim 3, Merrell discloses:
the method according to claim 1 (Merrell, col. 1, line 66 - col. 2, line 8) and (col. 11, line 62-col. 12, line 4),
wherein adjusting the pointing direction of the antenna based on the comparison comprises adjusting the pointing direction to center the second signal on a location of the remote device (Merrell, col. 5, line 55 – col. 6, line 8: The antenna system 150 also includes a positioner 153 for pointing the beam 155 towards the target satellite 110 (e.g., along an estimate of an aligned direction from the antenna 152 to the target satellite 110, which may be referred to a satellite look angle) using the techniques described herein. In the example of antenna system 150, the positioner 153 includes an alignment mechanism responsive to a control signal from an antenna control unit (ACU) (not shown) to provide pointing of the beam 155 towards the target satellite 110 about two rotational degrees of freedom (e.g., elevation and azimuth). In some examples the antenna 152 may include a phased array of antenna elements, and a positioner 153 for pointing the beam 155 towards the target satellite 110 may include an electronic beamformer (not shown) that forms the beam 155 via the phased array of antenna elements by applying phase and/or amplitude shifting of signals communicated by respective antenna elements of the phased array. In some examples in accordance with the present disclosure, an antenna system 150 may include one or more positioners 153 that collectively provide both a mechanical positioning and an electronic beamforming.
Based on the location of the target satellite 110, the location of the mobile vehicle 102, and the attitude (e.g., yaw, roll, and pitch) of the mobile vehicle 102, the ACU of the antenna system 150 may determine and provide a control signal to the positioner 153 to maintain pointing of the beam 155 at the target satellite 110 as the mobile vehicle 102 and/or the target satellite 110 moves. In some cases the direction of maximum gain of the beam 155 may be aligned with the direction of the target satellite 110. Alternatively, the gain of the beam 155 in the direction from the antenna 152 to the target satellite 110 may be less than the maximum gain of the beam 155, due to the direction of maximum gain being aligned in a direction different from the direction to the target satellite 110. In various examples the misalignment may be due to pointing accuracy limitations of the antenna 152, offsets in sensors of the mobile vehicle 102, offsets of the antenna system 150, or an antenna platform misalignment (e.g., an alignment difference between a sensor of the mobile vehicle 102 and the antenna system 150). The difference between the direction of maximum gain of the beam 155 and the direction from the antenna 152 to the target satellite 110 is referred to herein as the pointing error).
Regarding claim 4, Merrell discloses:
the method according to claim 1 (Merrell, col. 1, line 66 - col. 2, line 8) and (col. 11, line 62-col. 12, line 4),
wherein comparing the strength of the received first signal to the predetermined signal profile comprises using predefined contours arranged about a Z-axis of the antenna main beam (Merrell, col. 7, lines 22-39); (col. 7, line 40 – col. 8, line 6); and (col.17, lines 16-30: The antenna reference frame 430 may also be a three-dimensional Cartesian coordinate frame, and may be associated with the antenna system 150-d aboard the mobile vehicle 120-d. The X″ axis 431 of the antenna reference frame 430 may be aligned with the longitudinal axis of the antenna system 150-d. The Y″ axis 432 of the antenna reference frame 430 may be aligned with the lateral axis of the antenna system 150-d. The Z″ axis 433 of the antenna reference frame 430 may be aligned with the vertical axis of the antenna system 150-d. The antenna reference frame 430 moves along with (e.g., is fixed with respect to) the antenna system 150-d. In other words, the origin 435 of the antenna reference frame 430 may be fixed with respect to the antenna system 150-d (e.g., at the location of the antenna system 150-d))
Regarding claim 5, Merrell discloses:
the method according to claim 4 (Merrell, col. 1, line 66 - col. 2, line 8) and (col. 11, line 62-col. 12, line 4),
wherein using predefined contours includes using a plurality of circular or elliptical contours that all intersect at a common point along the Z- axis as the predefined contours (Merrell, col. 15, line 36 – col. 16, line 16: FIG. 4 is an illustration 400 showing a global reference frame 410, a mobile vehicle reference frame 420, and an antenna reference frame 430 that may be used to support dynamic antenna alignment offset calibration in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The reference frames may be used to describe positional information associated with a target satellite 110-d and a mobile vehicle 102-d having an antenna system 150-d, and an IRU 280-c, which may be examples of the related components described with reference to FIGS. 1 through 3. For example, the global reference frame 410 may be used to identify a location of the mobile vehicle 102-d and/or the target satellite 110-d. Further, the global reference frame 410, the mobile vehicle reference frame 420, and/or the antenna reference frame 430 may each be used to identify a vector 405 from the antenna system 150-d to the target satellite 110-d. Although each of the reference frames of the illustration 400 are described as three-dimensional reference frames having mutually orthogonal axes, one or more of a global reference frame, a mobile vehicle frame, or an antenna reference frame may be other types of reference frames in other embodiments of dynamic antenna platform offset calibration.
The global reference frame 410 of the illustration 400 is an example of a three-dimensional, topocentric Cartesian coordinate frame. The X axis 411 of the global reference frame 410 may be aligned with the compass heading North. The Y axis 412 of the global reference frame 410 may be aligned with the compass heading East. The Z axis 413 of the global reference frame 410 may be aligned with an earth radian that emanates from the origin 415 of the global reference frame 410 and extends through the center of the earth. The described alignment of the global reference frame 410 may be referred to as a North, East, Down (NED) alignment. Each axis of the global reference frame 410 is orthogonal and forms a 90 degree angle with each of the other axes. In accordance with one embodiment of the present disclosure, the origin 415 of the global reference frame 410 used by the IRU 280-c may be coincident with a latitude and longitude of the mobile vehicle 102-a. In various examples the altitude of the global reference frame 410 may assumed to be zero (e.g., the origin 415 of the global reference frame 410 is at an earth surface, or an otherwise suitable reference elevation such as sea level). In another example, the origin 415 of the global reference frame 410 may be at the center of the earth, the Z axis 413 may be aligned with the compass heading North, and the X axis 411 and the Y axis 412 may each be aligned with a different earth longitude),Examiner notes that contours are identified as radiation patterns.
Regarding claim 6, Merrell discloses:
the method according to claim 5 (Merrell, col. 1, line 66 - col. 2, line 8) and (col. 11, line 62-col. 12, line 4),
wherein a radius of each of the plurality of circular or elliptical contours corresponds to a predetermined power drop of the second signal (Merrell, col. 22, lines 1-23: For example, if the level of received power drops after changing the elevation of the beam 155, the antenna system 150-d may move the beam in the opposite elevation direction. In one embodiment, the antenna system 150-d moves the orientation of the beam 155 by two steps. If the amount of received power increases, the beam 155 is moved another step further in that direction. Another power measurement is made. Each time the amount of receive power increases, the beam 155 is moved another “step” in the same direction that results in the greater signal strength being received in a signal from the target satellite 110-d. Upon measuring a drop in the received power, the direction of the beam 155 may be moved one step back. Once the peak power measurement for elevation has been detected, the antenna may begin a similar search for the peak signal characteristic in the azimuth direction. If the initial azimuth direction was not associated with the peak received power measured from the user data, then the search in the elevation direction may be repeated. If the antenna was not at the elevation associated with the peak received power, then the search in the azimuth direction may again repeated. This process may continue until a direction for the peak received power is determined in both the elevation and the azimuth directions).
Regarding claim 7, Merrell discloses:
the method according to claim 6 (Merrell, col. 1, line 66 - col. 2, line 8) and (col. 11, line 62-col. 12, line 4),
Milroy discloses:
wherein the predetermined power drop is less than 3dB (Milroy, para [0059], FIG. 6 shows the predicted effective coupling, K.sup.2, for different Abase@ dimensions versus rotation angle for a typical geometry. Note that for the larger average value coupling curve (corresponding to a shallow Abase@ dimension) the effective coupling is constant to within .+-.1.5 dB) and (para [0072], Further, if the dimensions and locations of the tuners are properly chosen, the tuners may be used to either increase or decrease the coupling of the stub element. Coupling values of 3 dB or higher are possible).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Merrell with Milroy to incorporate the features of: wherein the predetermined power drop is less than 3dB. Both arts are considered analogous arts as they both disclose Variable Inclined Continuous Transverse Stub (VICTS) antenna systems regarding satellite movement patterns and communication to remote devices. The modification would render the predictable results of improved performance and improved tracking stablility. [MPEP 2144: The rationale to modify or combine the prior art does not have to be expressly stated in the prior art; the rationale may be expressly or impliedly contained in the prior art or it may be reasoned from knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, established scientific principles, or legal precedent established by prior case law. In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988); In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992); see also In re Kotzab, 217 F.3d 1365, 1370, 55 USPQ2d 1313, 1317 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (setting forth test for implicit teachings); In re Eli Lilly & Co., 902 F.2d 943, 14 USPQ2d 1741 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (discussion of reliance on legal precedent); In re Nilssen, 851 F.2d 1401, 1403, 7 USPQ2d 1500, 1502 (Fed. Cir. 1988) (references do not have to explicitly suggest combining teachings); Ex parte Clapp, 227 USPQ 972 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985) (examiner must present convincing line of reasoning supporting rejection); and Ex parte Levengood, 28 USPQ2d 1300 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (reliance on logic and sound scientific reasoning)]
Regarding claim 8, Merrell discloses:
a method for tracking a signal in a satellite-on-the-move application using an antenna that exhibits beam walk over frequency, the method comprising (Merrell, col. 1, line 66 - col. 2, line 8) and (col. 11, line 62-col. 12):
using the antenna that exhibits beam walk over frequency to receive, from a remote device, a first signal at a first frequency with a first beam direction (Merrell, col. 1, line 66 - col. 2, line 8) and (col. 11, line 62-col. 12);
using the antenna that exhibits beam walk over frequency to communicate with the remote device a second signal at a second frequency (Merrell, col. 1, line 66 - col. 2, line 8) and (col. 11, line 62-col. 12),
and using a side of a main beam of the antenna to track the first signal so as to center the communication signal on a peak of the antenna's main beam (Merrell, col. 8, lines 7-34: Although such peaking operations may provide suitable beam pointing calibration within a similar range of spatial conditions (e.g., a similar orientation of the beam 155 in an azimuth direction of the antenna 152), the antenna pointing offset may not be suitable for other spatial conditions of the antenna system 150 (e.g., other azimuth orientations of the beam 155 in the azimuth direction of the antenna 152). For example, the antenna system 150 may be installed with an antenna platform misalignment between the antenna system 150 and a sensor of the mobile vehicle 102 (e.g., an IRU of the mobile vehicle 102), which in some examples may correspond to rotational offsets between the sensor of the mobile vehicle 102 and the antenna system 150 (e.g., a roll offset, a pitch offset, and/or a yaw offset). Thus, an antenna platform misalignment may be associated with three or more degrees of freedom, whereas an alignment calibration procedure (e.g., a calibration procedure to compensate for an azimuth offset and an elevation offset of the antenna system 150 at a particular spatial condition) may only compensate for two degrees of freedom. Accordingly, when the antenna system 150 is installed on the mobile vehicle 102 with an antenna platform misalignment, a determined antenna pointing offset (e.g., an elevation offset and an azimuth offset) that improves antenna alignment at a given azimuth orientation of the beam 155 may degrade alignment of the beam 155 of the antenna 152 at a different azimuth orientation of the beam 155 (e.g., an opposite azimuth orientation of the beam 155)) Examiner interprets beam 155 as main beam and the roll offset as what measures the side of the beam.
Milroy also discloses:
a method for tracking a signal in a satellite-on-the-move application using an antenna that exhibits beam walk over frequency, the method comprising (Milroy 117, paras [0039]and [0054]),
using the antenna that exhibits beam walk over frequency to receive, from a remote device, a first signal at a first frequency with a first beam direction (Milroy 117, para [0037]),
using the antenna that exhibits beam walk over frequency to communicate with the remote device a second signal at a second frequency (Milroy 117, paras [0054-0055]) ,
the second frequency offset from the first frequency and with a second beam direction offset in angle from the first beam direction (Milroy, par [0054]);
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Merrell with Milroy to incorporate the features of: the second frequency offset from the first frequency and with a second beam direction offset in angle from the first beam direction. Both arts are considered analogous arts as they both disclose Variable Inclined Continuous Transverse Stub (VICTS) antenna systems regarding satellite movement patterns and communication to remote devices. The modification would render the predictable results of ability to communicate to different remote devices without physically re-steering the antenna; more precise pointing; and increased beam agility for faster directional changes via tuning. [Reference MPEP 2144]
Regarding claim 9, Merrell discloses:
the method according to claim 1 (Merrell, col. 1, line 66 - col. 2, line 8) and (col. 11, line 62-col. 12, line 4),
wherein performing the periodic physical scan of the antenna includes performing at least one of a conical scan or a cruciform scan (Merrell, col. 22, lines 24-32: Although the described step track procedure is one example of an alignment calibration procedure that may support dynamic antenna platform offset calibration, many modifications to this procedure can be implemented to improve the likelihood that the beam 155 is at the best pointing elevation and azimuth. Furthermore, other peaking techniques can be employed to provide an alignment calibration procedure, such as, but not limited to, techniques known commonly as conical scan (conscan) or sine scan).
Regarding claim 10, Merrell discloses:
the method according to claim 1 (Merrell, col. 1, line 66 - col. 2, line 8) and (col. 11, line 62-col. 12, line 4),
wherein a location of the second frequency in an operating band of the antenna is different from a location of the first frequency in the operating band of the antenna (Merrell, col. 11, lines 24-61: In some examples the antenna system 150-a may include a positioner 153-a coupled to the antenna 152-a, which may be an example of a positioning mechanism for physically pointing the beam 155-a of the antenna 152-a. (e.g., when the direction of highest gain of the beam 155-a of the antenna 152-a is fixed relative to the aperture of the antenna 152-a). For example, the antenna 152-a may be a direct radiating two-dimensional array which results in an antenna boresight being normal to a plane containing the antenna elements of the array. As another example, the antenna 152-a may be a reflector antenna, and the feed elements and/or the reflector of the antenna 152-a can be mechanically steered by the positioner 153-a to point the beam 155-a at the target satellite 110-a. In some examples the positioner 153-a may be an elevation-over-azimuth (EL/AZ), two-axis positioner that provides adjustment of the beam 155-a in azimuth and elevation. In some examples the positioner 153-a may be a three-axis positioner to provide adjustment in azimuth, elevation, and skew. The positioner 153-a may be responsive to a control signal 272-a from ACU 270 to mechanically point the beam 155-a of the antenna 152-a in the direction of the target satellite 110-a as the mobile vehicle 102-a and/or the target satellite 110-a moves.
(41) In some examples the antenna system 150-a may include a positioner 153-b coupled between the modem 230 and the transceiver 210, which may be an example of a beamformer for electronically directing the beam 155-a. For example, the antenna 152-a may be a non-movable, fully electronic scanned phased array antenna. In such a case, the positioner 153-a can include feed networks and phase controlling devices to properly phase signals communicated with some or all of the antenna elements of the antenna 152-a to steer the beam (e.g., in azimuth and elevation). The positioner 153-b may be responsive to a control signal 272-b from ACU 270 to electronically point the beam 155-a of the antenna 152-a in the direction of the target satellite 110-a as the mobile vehicle 102-a and/or the target satellite 110-a moves) Examiner notes that frequency-dependent beam pointing (beam squint) and control of the beam steering via variable inclination is what makes up the mechanisms of VICTS antenna systems, and that directions may vary.
Regarding claim 11, Merrell discloses:
the method according to any one of claim 1 (Merrell, col. 1, line 66 - col. 2, line 8) and (col. 11, line 62-col. 12, line 4),
wherein a location of the second frequency in an operating band of the antenna is opposite from a location of the first frequency in the operating band of the antenna (Merrell, col. 11, lines 24-61) Examiner notes that frequency-dependent beam pointing (beam squint) and control of the beam steering via variable inclination is what makes up the mechanisms of VICTS antenna systems, and that directions may vary.
Regarding claim 12, Merrell discloses:
the method according to claim 1 (Merrell, col. 1, line 66 - col. 2, line 8) and (col. 11, line 62-col. 12, line 4),
further comprising using a variable inclination continuous transverse stub (VICTS) antenna as the antenna that exhibits beam walk over frequency (Merrell, col. 1, line 66 - col. 2, line 8) and (col. 11, line 62-col. 12, line 4), Examiner notes that VICTS is used to track satellites in motion and beam walk is a result beam steering such that beam directionality may walk with varying frequencies.
Claim 13 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 1.
Claim 14 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 9.
Claim 15 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 2.
Claim 16 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 3.
Claim 17 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 11.
Claim 18 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 12.
Claim 19 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 4.
Claim 20 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 5.
Claim 21 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 6.
Claim 22 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 7.
Regarding claim 23, Merrell discloses:
an antenna system for use in satellite-on-the-move applications, comprising (Merrell, col. 1, line 66 - col. 2, line 8) and (col. 11, line 62-col. 12, line 4):
a variable inclination continuous transverse stub (VICTS) antenna (Merrell, col. 1, line 66 - col. 2, line 8) and (col. 11, line 62-col. 12, line 4);
and the controller according to claim 13 operatively coupled to the VICTS antenna (Merrell, Fig. 2, Antenna Control Unit 275 and VICTS Antenna 150a)
Regarding claim 24, Merrell discloses:
the method according to claim 1 (Merrell, col. 1, line 66 - col. 2, line 8),
wherein said predetermined signal profile comprises a known angular offset between the first beam direction at the first frequency and the second beam direction at the second frequency (Merrell, col. 5, line 55 – col. 6, line 8),
[Or] the known angular offset due to beam walk over frequency
References Cited But Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as thus:
Milroy et al US 20230093195 A1 disclose a VICTS sub-array in coherently combined large array antenna structure
Milroy et al US 20160181700 A1 discloses an augmented e-plane taper technique for VICATS antennas
Milroy US 5266961 A discloses a continuous transverse stub element devices with beam walk (variable beam squint) and polarization that can be either elliptical or circular
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
. 14. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KIMBERLY JENKINS whose telephone number is (571)272-0404. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8a-5p EST.
/KIMBERLY JENKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648