Priority
The claim to priority to CN 20232149010.x, filed on May 22, 2023 is acknowledged in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on June 3, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “electric conduit” (claim 14) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sha (CN 115968063).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Sha discloses a PCT heater, comprising: a heating assembly (Fig. 1) comprising: a heat-conducting shell (21/211, Fig. 1-2) defining therein a receiving cavity extending in a length direction of the heat-conducting shell (21/211) and comprising a first opening disposed at a first end of the receiving cavity (right end of Fig. 1) and a second opening disposed at a second end of the receiving cavity (left end of Fig. 1); a first restrain element (sealing plug 222, Fig. 1; Par. 46) disposed at the first end (right end of Fig. 1); a second restraining element (sealing plug 221, Fig. 1; Par. 46) disposed at the second opening (left end of Fig. 1); and a Positive Temperature Coefficient (PTC) heat-generating unit (11, Fig. 2; Par. 46) entirely disposed within the receiving cavity between the first restraining element (222) and the second restraining element (221), wherein the first restraining element (222) prevents the PCT heat-generating unit (11) from passing through the first end of the receiving cavity, and the second restraining element prevents the PCT heat-generating unit from passing through the second end of the receiving cavity (Fig. 1-3; Par. 46-47).
Regarding claim 16, Sha discloses the heat conducting shell comprises a first (213) layer and a second layer electrically connected to the first layer (3), wherein the PTC heat-generating unit (11) is in contact with an inner surface of the first layer (Fig. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sha (CN 115968063) in view of Klingebiel et al. (US Pub. 2021/0354530).
Regarding claims 2-3, Sha discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention as set forth above including the first restraining potion (222, Fig. 1) and the PCT heat-generating unit (11) except a dimension of an inner perimeter of the first restraining portion is smaller than a dimension of an outer perimeter of the PTC heat-generating unit, thereby preventing the PTC heat-generating unit from passing through the first end of the receiving cavity; wherein the heating assembly further comprises a wire electrically connected to the PTC heat-generating unit and extending out of the heat-conducting shell through the first end of the receiving cavity; and the dimension of the inner perimeter of the first restraining element gradually decreases in a direction from a center of the receiving cavity to the first end of the receiving cavity. Klingebiel et al. discloses a dimension of an inner perimeter of the first restraining portion (28) is smaller than a dimension of an outer perimeter of the PTC heat-generating unit (PTC element 6 with open surface 30, Fig. 3), thereby preventing the PTC heat-generating unit from passing through the first end of the receiving cavity (via tube 20); wherein the heating assembly further comprises a wire (contact strip 14, Fig. 1-2) electrically connected to the PTC heat-generating unit (6) and extending out of the heat-conducting shell (20) through the first end of the receiving cavity (Fig. 3); and the dimension of the inner perimeter of the first restraining element (28) gradually decreases in a direction from a center of the receiving cavity to the first end of the receiving cavity (31, Fig. 3) (Fig. 3-4) (Par. 39-45). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize in Sha, a dimension of an inner perimeter of the first restraining portion is smaller than a dimension of an outer perimeter of the PTC heat-generating unit, thereby preventing the PTC heat-generating unit from passing through the first end of the receiving cavity; wherein the heating assembly further comprises a wire electrically connected to the PTC heat-generating unit and extending out of the heat-conducting shell through the first end of the receiving cavity; and the dimension of the inner perimeter of the first restraining element gradually decreases in a direction from a center of the receiving cavity to the first end of the receiving cavity, as taught by Klingebiel et al., for the purpose of closing the first end of the cavity with the PTC heat-generating unit.
Regarding claim 4, Klingebiel et al. discloses the first restraining element (28) and the heat conducting shell (30) are s single integral element (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Klingebiel et al. discloses an end cap (24, Fig. 1) at least partially disposed between the first opening and the PTC heat- generating unit (6), wherein the electric wire (14) passes through an aperture in the end cap, and wherein at least a part of the end cap abuts against an inner wall of the heat-conducting shell (Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, Klingebiel et al. discloses the first restraining element (28, Fig. 2-3) comprises: a restraining member fixed to the first end of the heat-conducting shell (20); wherein the heating assembly further comprises a wire electrically (14, Fig. 1-2) connected to the PTC heat-generating unit (6) and extending through an aperture in the restraining member (Fig. 1-4).
Regarding claim 7, Klingebiel et al. discloses an end cap (24, Fig. 1) at least partially disposed between the first restraining member (28, Fig. 1-4) and the PTC heat- generating unit (6, Fig. 3-4), wherein an aperture in the end cap is in communication with the aperture in the restraining member (28), and wherein the electric wire (14) extends through the aperture in the end cap (Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claims 11 and 17, Klingebiel et al. discloses a housing (40, Fig. 5; Par. 47) defining a chamber therein extending in the length direction of the heat-conducting shell, wherein at least part of the heating assembly (4) is disposed in the chamber (Fig. 5; Par. 47-49).
Regarding claim 13, Klingebiel et al. discloses the heat conducting shell (30, Fig. 3), the first restraining element (28, Fig. 3), and the second restraining element (28, Fig. 3) are a single, integral element.
Regarding claim 14, Klingebiel et al. discloses an electric conduit (34, Fig. 2) traversing the opening in one of the first restraining element (28, Fig. 1-4) and the second restraining element (26, Fig. 1-4) and electrically connected to the PTC heat-generating unit (5, Fig. 1-4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HUNG D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
HUNG D. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3761