DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments, see page 6, filed 08/17/2026, with respect to 35 USC § 112 Rejections of claims 6, 10 and 15 have been fully considered and are persuasive. he 35 USC § 112 Rejections of claims 6, 10 and 15 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments see page 6, filed 08/17/2026, with respect to 35 USC § 103 Rejections of claims 1-7, 10 and 12-15 have been fully considered and are not persuasive
Applicant argues that Chen fails to disclose the amended limitation requiring “the outer flow path [to be] recessed in an annular shape in the outer circumferential surface of the core, wherein the at least one cooling fluid inlet is disposed in the outer flow path.” This argument is acknowledged insofar as Chen does not expressly disclose the outer flow path in the claimed annular recessed configuration.
However, the rejection is based on the combination of Chen and Garety (US20230198320A1). Garety teaches a stator having an annular groove recessed in the outer surface of the stator core for conveying cooling fluid, including an annulus formed by a reduced diameter lamination. Garety therefore teaches the claimed annular recessed outer cooling flow configuration. It would have been obvious to modify Chen’s cooling structure to incorporate Garety’s annular recessed cooling passage in order to provide a circumferential cooling fluid distribution passage around the stator core and facilitate distribution of cooling passages. Such a modification is a known of cooling passage configurations for its known purpose and would have yielded predictable results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 10, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN115021439A) in view of Garety (US2023198320A1).
Claim 1
A stator comprising:
a core (Fig. 4) including a yoke (annular back portion of stator core, see Fig. 4) having an annular shape, teeth (radially extending teeth from back yoke, see. Fig. 4) extending inwardly from the yoke (annular back portion of stator core, see Fig. 4) and radially disposed, and a shoe (circumferentially extending portion at radially innermost end of stator teeth, see Fig. 4) disposed at an end of each tooth; and
a cooling flow path disposed inside the core (Fig. 4), wherein at least one cooling fluid inlet (7) is disposed along an outer circumferential surface of the core (Fig. 4), and at least one cooling fluid outlet (8) connected (as illustrated in Fig. 6 and 7) to the at least one cooling fluid inlet (7) is disposed in the yoke (annular back portion of stator core) or the teeth (radially extending teeth from back yoke, see. Fig. 4) in an upper surface of the core (Fig. 4),
wherein the core (Fig. 4) includes two first parts (2) and a second part (1) disposed between the first parts (2),
each of the two first parts (2) is disposed by stacking a plurality of first steel plates (stator punching sheets of 2, see Detailed ways, para. 13) in which holes (201) are disposed at positions corresponding to the at least one cooling fluid outlet (8), wherein stacking the plurality of first steel plates (stator punching sheets of 2, see Detailed ways, para. 13) aligns the holes (201, Detailed ways, para. 13) to form a continuous flow path (see Figs. 6 and 7) toward to the at least one cooling fluid outlet (8),
the second part (1) has a groove (101) disposed in a position corresponding to the at least one cooling fluid inlet (7, see Detailed ways, para. 24) and is disposed by stacking a plurality of second steel plates having a diameter (innermost diameter of 1 formed by recessed yoke portions of 1) less than a diameter (outer diameter of 2) of each of the plurality of first steel plates, wherein the groove (101) overlaps the holes to form a continuous cooling flow path from the at least one cooling fluid inlet (7) to at least one cooling fluid outlet (8), and
an outer flow path (102) is formed between two opposing inner surfaces of the two first parts (2), which are separated by a predetermined distance, and an outer circumferential surface of the plurality of second steel plates
Chen does not expressly disclose: wherein the outer flow path is recessed in an annular shape in the outer circumferential surface of the core, wherein the at least one cooling fluid inlet is disposed in the outer flow path.
Garety conversely teaches a fluid cooled stator 3 having an annulus groove 28 formed on the outer surface of the stator core 6, wherein the annulus groove extends circumferentially around the stator core and receives cooling fluid. Garety further teaches that the annulus groove may be formed by an annulus lamination 48 having a smaller diameter than the other laminations 7 of the stator core, thereby forming the annular recessed passage in the outer surface of the stator core. Garety also teaches that cooling fluid may flow through the annulus groove and through fluid apertures into the stator core.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was filed to modify Chen’s outer cooling fluid passage to include a circumferential annular recess formed in the outer surface of the stator core, as taught by GArety. Such a modification would provide a circumferential distribution passage for distributing cooling fluid around the stator core and would facilitate communication between the external cooling fluid supply and the internal cooling passages of the stator. The modification merely applies Garety’s known annular cooling passage configuration to Chen’s otherwise similar liquid cooled stator structure to achieve the predictable result of distributing cooling fluid circumferentially around the stator core.
Claim 3/1
The stator of claim 1, further comprising: a partition (formed by diametrically protruded yoke portions of 1) disposed in the outer flow path (102) to block a portion of the outer flow path (102) and limiting a flow direction of the cooling fluid (oil) in the outer flow path (102).
Claim 4/1
The stator of claim 1, wherein the groove (101) is disposed from a position corresponding to the at least one cooling fluid outlet (8) to a position corresponding to the outer circumferential surface of the core (Fig. 4).
Claim 5/3/2/1
The stator of claim 3, wherein a portion of an outer surface of the second steel plates corresponding to the partition (formed by diametrically protruded yoke portions of 1) protrudes, and the groove (101) is disposed from a position corresponding to the at least one cooling fluid outlet (8) to a position corresponding to the outer circumferential surface of the core (Fig. 4).
Claim 6/1
The stator of claim 1, wherein each tooth has a width decreasing inwardly (as evidenced by intersecting lines illustrated below), and a width (circumferential width of tooth) of a portion in which the at least one cooling fluid outlet (8) is disposed is equal to or greater than a sum of the a of the at least one cooling fluid outlet (8) and a width of an inner end of the tooth.
Claim 7
A motor comprising:
a stator including:
a core (Fig. 4) including a yoke (annular back portion of stator core, see Fig. 4) having an annular shape, teeth (radially extending teeth from back yoke, see. Fig. 4) extending inwardly from the yoke (annular back portion of stator core, see Fig. 4) and radially disposed, and a shoe (circumferentially extending portion at radially innermost end of stator teeth, see Fig. 4) disposed at an end of each tooth; and
a cooling flow path disposed inside the core (Fig. 4), wherein at least one cooling fluid inlet (7) is disposed along an outer circumferential surface of the core (Fig. 4), and at least one cooling fluid outlet (8) connected to the at least one cooling fluid inlet (7) is disposed in the yoke (annular back portion of stator core, see Fig. 4) or the teeth (radially extending teeth from back yoke, see. Fig. 4) in an upper surface of the core (Fig. 4);
a housing (4) having an injection port (5) for cooling fluid (oil) connected to an outer flow path (102) disposed on the outer circumferential surface of the core (Fig. 4) of the stator; and
a cooling unit configured to inject the cooling fluid (oil) into the injection port (5),
wherein the core (Fig. 4) includes two first parts (2) and a second part (1) disposed between the first parts (2),
each of the two first parts (2) is disposed by stacking a plurality of first steel plates (stator punching sheets of 2, see Detailed ways, para. 13) in which holes (201, Detailed ways, para. 13) are disposed at positions corresponding to the at least one cooling fluid outlet (8), wherein stacking the plurality of first steel plates (stator punching sheets of 2, see Detailed ways, para. 13) aligns the holes (201, Detailed ways, para. 13) to from a continuous flow path (see Figs. 6 and 7) toward to at least one cooling fluid outlet (8),
the second part (1) has a groove (101) disposed in a position corresponding to the at least one cooling fluid inlet (7) and is disposed by stacking a plurality of second steel plates having a diameter (innermost diameter of 1 formed by recessed yoke portions of 1) less than a diameter (outer diameter of 2) of each of the plurality of first steel plates (stator punching sheets of 2, see Detailed ways, para. 13), wherein the groove (101) overlaps the holes (201, Detailed ways, para. 13) to form a continuous cooling flow path from the at least one cooling fluid inlet (7) to at least one cooling fluid outlet (8), and
an outer flow path (102) is formed between two opposing inner surfaces of the two first parts (2), which are separated by a predetermined distance, and an outer circumferential surface of the plurality of second steel plates.
Chen does not expressly disclose: wherein the outer flow path is recessed in an annular shape in the outer circumferential surface of the core, wherein the at least one cooling fluid inlet is disposed in the outer flow path.
Garety conversely teaches a fluid cooled stator 3 having an annulus groove 28 formed on the outer surface of the stator core 6, wherein the annulus groove extends circumferentially around the stator core and receives cooling fluid. Garety further teaches that the annulus groove may be formed by an annulus lamination 48 having a smaller diameter than the other laminations 7 of the stator core, thereby forming the annular recessed passage in the outer surface of the stator core. Garety also teaches that cooling fluid may flow through the annulus groove and through fluid apertures into the stator core.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was filed to modify Chen’s outer cooling fluid passage to include a circumferential annular recess formed in the outer surface of the stator core, as taught by GArety. Such a modification would provide a circumferential distribution passage for distributing cooling fluid around the stator core and would facilitate communication between the external cooling fluid supply and the internal cooling passages of the stator. The modification merely applies Garety’s known annular cooling passage configuration to Chen’s otherwise similar liquid cooled stator structure to achieve the predictable result of distributing cooling fluid circumferentially around the stator core.
Claim 10/7
The motor of claim 7, wherein the stator includes a plurality of partitions (formed by diametrically protruded yoke portions of 1) disposed in the outer flow path (102) to limit a flow direction of cooling water in the outer flow path (102), the plurality of partitions are disposed in positions spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance to divide the outer flow path (102) into a plurality of flow paths, and the injection port (5) is formed as a number of injection ports corresponding to the number of the plurality of partitions, and each of the injection ports is disposed in positions adjacent to each of the plurality of partitions, respectively.
Claim 13/7
The motor of claim 7, wherein: the groove (101) is disposed from a position corresponding to the at least one cooling fluid outlet (8) to a position corresponding to the outer circumferential surface of the core (Fig. 4).
Claim 14/8/7
The motor of claim 8, wherein: a portion of an outer surface of the second steel plate corresponding to the partition (formed by diametrically protruded yoke portions of 1) protrudes, and the groove (101) is disposed from a position corresponding to the at least one cooling fluid outlet (8) to a position corresponding to the outer circumferential surface of the core (Fig. 4).
Claim 15/7
The motor of claim 7, wherein each tooth has a width decreasing inwardly (as evidenced by intersecting lines illustrated below), and a width (circumferential width of tooth) of a portion in which the at least one cooling fluid outlet (8) is disposed is equal to or greater than a sum of a width of the at least one cooling fluid outlet (8) and the width of an inner end of the tooth.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as modified by Garety in view of Liu (WO2022110895A1).
Claim 8/7
The motor of claim 7, wherein the stator includes a partition (formed by diametrically protruded yoke portions of 1) disposed in the outer flow path (102) to limit a flow direction of oil in the outer flow path (102), wherein the partition is disposed in a position adjacent to the injection port (5) in the outer flow path (102).
Chen as modified by Garety is silent to: cooling water in the outer flow path.
Liu conversely teaches a motor similar to that of Chen wherein cooling liquid circulated in the motor may be cooling oil, cooling water, or other cooling fluids with fluidity (Detailed ways, para. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen’s motor such that cooling water is circulated in the outer flow path. A modification of Chen to employ a water based cooling instead of an oil based would be advantageous as water is generally a better coolant than oil due to its higher heat capacity and heat transfer efficiency.
Claim 9/8/7
The motor of claim 8, wherein the housing (4) further includes: a main flow path to which the injection port (5) and the cooling unit are connected; and an auxiliary injection port (301) branched from the main flow path and connected to an outer flow path (102) between the partition and the injection port (5), among both ends of the injection port (5).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as modified by Garety in view of Maki (US8466596B2).
Claim 11/10/7
The motor of claim 10, but is silent to: wherein an angle between two adjacent partitions of the plurality of partitions is 360/n degrees, wherein the n represents the number of the plurality of partitions.
Maki conversely teaches divided core partitions (14) where the open angle of a yoke portion is 360/n, where n is the number of divided core partitions (14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen’s motor such that an angle between two adjacent partitions of the plurality of partitions is 360/n degrees, wherein the n represents the number of the plurality of partitions. Creating laminated core angles based on 360/n is that it ensures perfect geometric and magnetic symmetry in both manufacturing.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED F SECK/Examiner, Art Unit 2834 /CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834