DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1, 7, and 13, Applicant argues that the prior art of Kinoshita (Pub. No. US 2019/0033686; hereafter Kinoshita) does not disclose “integrated shutter component being mounted along a top edge of a display frame of the display device and the front panel being positioned in front of the display frame of the display device, as required by claim 1, 7 and 13,” however, Kinoshita was not relied upon to disclose such a feature. Chang (U.S. Patent No. 11,079,657; hereafter Chang), the primary reference, discloses “integrated shutter component being mounted along a top edge of a display frame of the display device and the front panel being positioned in front of the display frame of the display device” (see Chang Figs. 3 and 4, items 142, which is disclosed as being “adjacent to the upper case 110,” and 141, which is disclosed as being “adjacent to the front case 120”). Applicant asserts that Chang does not cure the deficiency of Kinoshita, however Applicant does not explain why the structure of Chang does not meet the claim limitation. Applicant’s argument that the combination of Chang in view of Kinoshita does not disclose an integrated shutter component being mounted along a top edge of a display frame of the display device and the front panel being positioned in front of the display frame of the display device is therefore unpersuasive, and the rejections of claims 1, 7, and 13 are therefore maintained.
The remainder of Applicant’s arguments rest on the perceived deficiency of Chang in view of Kinoshita, addressed above, and therefore are similarly unpersuasive, and the rejections of claims 2-6, 8-12, and 14-18 are similarly maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (U.S. Patent No. 11,079,657; hereafter Chang) in view of Kinoshita et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0033686 A1; hereafter Kinoshita).
Regarding claim 1, Chang discloses an embedded camera system for a display device comprising: a camera component, the camera component being physically coupled to the display frame to embed the camera component within the display device (see Chang col. 3, ll. 46-49 “For example, the display module 100 can further include an image-capturing module (not shown in FIG. 1), and an image-capturing side can be disposed in the image-capturing opening 130.”); and, an integrated shutter component (see Chang Fig. 4, item 140), the integrated shutter component being physically coupled to a display frame of the display device (see Chang Fig. 3, items 110 and 140), the integrated shutter component being mounted along a top edge of the display frame (see Chang Figs. 1 and 3, items 110 and 142), the integrated shutter component and the display frame providing a shutter lateral guidance system (see Chang Fig. 3, slot 113 can be construed as a guide for projection 144), the shutter lateral guidance system performing an integrated shutter lateral guidance operation (the slot 113 guides the projection 144 in the lateral direction for opening/closing the shutter), the integrated shutter component comprising a front panel (see Chang Fig. 4, item 141), the front panel being positioned in front of the display frame (see Chang Fig. 3, items 141 and 120), the front panel including a camera obfuscation portion (see Chang Fig. 3, item 143), the shutter lateral guidance system being configured to allow the integrated shutter component to slide laterally a camera accessible orientation and a camera inaccessible orientation (see Chang Figs. 7 and 8, note lateral sliding of the shutter 142), the camera obfuscation portion being positioned in front of the camera component when the integrated shutter component is in the camera inaccessible orientation (see Chang Fig. 3, items 141 and 130).
Chang does not disclose that the front panel includes a camera activity indicia obfuscation portion, the front panel defining a camera aperture and a camera activity aperture, the camera aperture being positioned in front of the camera component when the integrated shutter component is in the camera accessible orientation, the camera activity aperture being positioned in front of a camera activity indicia when the integrated shutter component is in the camera accessible orientation, the camera activity obfuscation portion being positioned in front of a camera activity indicia when the integrated shutter component is in the camera inaccessible orientation.
Kinoshita discloses that it was well-known in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a camera activity indicator (see Kinoshita Fig. 8, item 7), a camera activity indicia obfuscation portion (see Kinoshita Fig. 10, item 49), and provide a shutter with front panel defining a camera activity aperture, the camera activity aperture being positioned in front of a camera activity indicia when the integrated shutter component is in the camera accessible orientation (see Kinoshita Fig. 8, items 48, 49, and L23), the camera activity obfuscation portion being positioned in front of a camera activity indicia when the integrated shutter component is in the camera inaccessible orientation (see Kinoshita Fig. 10, items 42A and 49). Furthermore, Kinoshita discloses that it was well-known in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the front panel with an aperture (see Kinoshita Fig. 4, item 43) where the aperture has a transparent cover (see Kinoshita Fig. 4, item 44), and the camera aperture being positioned in front of the camera component when the integrated shutter component is in the camera accessible orientation (see Kinoshita Fig. 4, items 6 and 43).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of Chang with an activity indicator light, as shown in Kinoshita, in order to indicate to the user that the camera is active, and to provide a portion of the front of a shutter with an aperture, so that the indicator light can be selectively blocked when the camera is not active, as taught by Kinoshita Fig. 8. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to provide the shutter of Chang with an aperture and a transparent cover like that in Kinoshita, in order to protect the camera and the interior of the device from dirt and dust, even when the camera is in the operable position, and to close off the opening when the camera is not being used, as taught by Kinoshita Figs. 4 and 6.
Regarding claim 7, Chang discloses a display device comprising: a display component (see Chang Fig. 1, item 122); a display frame (see Chang Fig. 1, items 110 and 120); an embedded camera system (see Chang Fig. 1, item 130), the embedded camera system comprising a camera component, the camera component being physically coupled to the display frame to embed the camera component within the display device (see Chang col. 3, ll. 46-49 “For example, the display module 100 can further include an image-capturing module (not shown in FIG. 1), and an image-capturing side can be disposed in the image-capturing opening 130.”); and, an integrated shutter component (see Chang Fig. 4, item 140), the integrated shutter component being physically coupled to the display frame (see Chang Fig. 3, items 110 and 140), the integrated shutter component and the display frame providing a shutter lateral guidance system (see Chang Fig. 3, slot 113 can be construed as a guide for projection 144), the shutter lateral guidance system performing an integrated shutter lateral guidance operation (the slot 113 guides the projection 144 in the lateral direction for opening/closing the shutter) ), the integrated shutter component comprises a front panel, the front panel being positioned in front of the display frame, the front panel including a camera obfuscation portion (see Chang Fig. 4, items 141 and 143), the shutter lateral guidance system being configured to allow the integrated shutter component to slide laterally a camera accessible orientation and a camera inaccessible orientation (see Chang Figs. 7 and 8, note lateral sliding of the shutter 142), the camera obfuscation portion being positioned in front of the camera component when the integrated shutter component is in the camera inaccessible orientation (see Chang Fig. 3, items 141 and 130).
Chang does not disclose that the front panel defining a camera aperture, a camera activity aperture, and a camera activity indicia obfuscation portion, the camera aperture being positioned in front of the camera component when the integrated shutter component is in the camera accessible orientation, the camera activity aperture being positioned in front of a camera activity indicia when the integrated shutter component is in the camera accessible orientation, and the camera activity obfuscation portion being positioned in front of a camera activity indicia when the integrated shutter component is in the camera inaccessible orientation.
Kinoshita discloses that it was well-known in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a camera activity indicator (see Kinoshita Fig. 8, item 7), a camera activity indicia obfuscation portion (see Kinoshita Fig. 10, item 49), and provide a shutter with front panel defining a camera activity aperture, the camera activity aperture being positioned in front of a camera activity indicia when the integrated shutter component is in the camera accessible orientation (see Kinoshita Fig. 8, items 48, 49, and L23), the camera activity obfuscation portion being positioned in front of a camera activity indicia when the integrated shutter component is in the camera inaccessible orientation (see Kinoshita Fig. 10, items 42A and 49). Furthermore, Kinoshita discloses that it was well-known in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the front panel with an aperture (see Kinoshita Fig. 4, item 43) where the aperture has a transparent cover (see Kinoshita Fig. 4, item 44), and the camera aperture being positioned in front of the camera component when the integrated shutter component is in the camera accessible orientation (see Kinoshita Fig. 4, items 6 and 43).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of Chang with an activity indicator light, as shown in Kinoshita, in order to indicate to the user that the camera is active, and to provide a portion of the front of a shutter with an aperture, so that the indicator light can be selectively blocked when the camera is not active, as taught by Kinoshita Fig. 8. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to provide the shutter of Chang with an aperture and a transparent cover like that in Kinoshita, in order to protect the camera and the interior of the device from dirt and dust, even when the camera is in the operable position, and to close off the opening when the camera is not being used, as taught by Kinoshita Figs. 4 and 6.
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Chang in view of Kinoshita discloses the embedded camera system of claims 1 and 7, respectively, wherein: the integrated shutter component is substantially L-shaped and comprises a top panel, the top panel and the front panel forming the L-shape of the integrated shutter component the top panel being positioned on top of the display frame (see Chang Figs. 3 and 10, which shows a side view of item 140 which is L-shaped).
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Chang in view of Kinoshita discloses the embedded camera system of claims 2 and 8, respectively, wherein: the top panel comprises a guidance component (see Chang Fig. 10, item 144); the display frame defines a lateral guidance portion (see Chang Fig. 10, item 113); and, the guidance component interfaces with the lateral guidance portion when the integrated shutter lateral guidance operation is performed (see Chang Fig. 10, which shows the portions interfacing with each other).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Chang in view of Kinoshita discloses the embedded camera system of claims 3 and 9, respectively, wherein: the guidance component comprises at least one of a guide projection and a top panel guide component (see Chang Fig. 10, item 144, which can be construed as either a guide projection or a top panel guide component); and, the lateral guidance portion comprises at least one of a groove and a slot (see Chang Fig. 10, item 113), the groove interfacing with the guide projection and the slot interfacing with the top panel guide component (see Chang Fig. 10, which shows the portions interfacing with each other).
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Chang in view of Kinoshita discloses the embedded camera system of claims 1 and 7, respectively, but does not disclose that the integrated shutter component comprises a front panel guide projection , the front panel guide projection interfacing with a front portion of the display frame.
Chang discloses that the integrated shutter component has a guide groove, while the display portion has the guide projection (see Chang Fig. 10, items 149 and 161).
Mere reversal of parts is deemed well within the purview of the ordinary workman in the art (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(A)). In this case it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the guide protrusions on the shutter, and the guide grooves on the display, as opposed to vice versa, in order to obtain the guided sliding of the shutter.
Regarding claims 6, and 12, Chang in view of Kinoshita discloses the embedded camera system of claims 1 and 7, respectively, wherein: the integrated shutter component comprises a support projection (see Chang Fig. 5, item 141b), the support projection interfacing with a display component of the display device (see Chang Fig. 10, item 160).
Claim(s) 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Wallace et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0047594 A1; hereafter Wallace) and Kinoshita.
Regarding claim 13, Chang discloses a system comprising: a display device, the display device comprising a display component (see Chang Fig. 1, item 122); a display frame (see Chang Fig. 1, items 110 and 120); an embedded camera system (see Chang Fig. 1, item 130), the embedded camera system comprising a camera component, the camera component being physically coupled to the display frame to embed the camera component within the display device (see Chang col. 3, ll. 46-49 “For example, the display module 100 can further include an image-capturing module (not shown in FIG. 1), and an image-capturing side can be disposed in the image-capturing opening 130.”); and, an integrated shutter component (see Chang Fig. 4, item 140), the integrated shutter component being physically coupled to the display frame (see Chang Fig. 3, items 110 and 140), the integrated shutter component and the display frame providing a shutter lateral guidance system (see Chang Fig. 3, slot 113 can be construed as a guide for projection 144), the shutter lateral guidance system performing an integrated shutter lateral guidance operation (the slot 113 guides the projection 144 in the lateral direction for opening/closing the shutter) the integrated shutter component comprises a front panel, the front panel being positioned in front of the display frame, the front panel including a camera obfuscation portion (see Chang Fig. 4, items 141 and 143), the shutter lateral guidance system being configured to allow the integrated shutter component to slide laterally a camera accessible orientation and a camera inaccessible orientation (see Chang Figs. 7 and 8, note lateral sliding of the shutter 142), the camera obfuscation portion being positioned in front of the camera component when the integrated shutter component is in the camera inaccessible orientation (see Chang Fig. 3, items 141 and 130).
Chang does not specifically disclose a processor; and a data bus coupled to the processor. Chang is directed only to the display and integrated shutter, and does not discuss further details of the display system.
Wallace discloses a processor (see Wallace Fig. 9, item 922); and a data bus coupled to the processor (see Wallace Fig. 9, item 924); and a display device (see Wallace Fig. 1, item 140).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of Chang with a processor and data bus like that in Wallace in order to control the display system of Chang.
Chang in view of Wallace does not disclose the front panel defining a camera aperture, a camera activity aperture, and a camera activity indicia obfuscation portion, the camera aperture being positioned in front of the camera component when the integrated shutter component is in the camera accessible orientation, the camera activity aperture being positioned in front of a camera activity indicia when the integrated shutter component is in the camera accessible orientation, and the camera activity obfuscation portion being positioned in front of a camera activity indicia when the integrated shutter component is in the camera inaccessible orientation.
Kinoshita discloses that it was well-known in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a camera activity indicator (see Kinoshita Fig. 8, item 7), a camera activity indicia obfuscation portion (see Kinoshita Fig. 10, item 49), and provide a shutter with front panel defining a camera activity aperture, the camera activity aperture being positioned in front of a camera activity indicia when the integrated shutter component is in the camera accessible orientation (see Kinoshita Fig. 8, items 48, 49, and L23), the camera activity obfuscation portion being positioned in front of a camera activity indicia when the integrated shutter component is in the camera inaccessible orientation (see Kinoshita Fig. 10, items 42A and 49). Furthermore, Kinoshita discloses that it was well-known in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the front panel with an aperture (see Kinoshita Fig. 4, item 43) where the aperture has a transparent cover (see Kinoshita Fig. 4, item 44), and the camera aperture being positioned in front of the camera component when the integrated shutter component is in the camera accessible orientation (see Kinoshita Fig. 4, items 6 and 43).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the device of Chang with an activity indicator light, as shown in Kinoshita, in order to indicate to the user that the camera is active, and to provide a portion of the front of a shutter with an aperture, so that the indicator light can be selectively blocked when the camera is not active, as taught by Kinoshita Fig. 8. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to provide the shutter of Chang with an aperture and a transparent cover like that in Kinoshita, in order to protect the camera and the interior of the device from dirt and dust, even when the camera is in the operable position, and to close off the opening when the camera is not being used, as taught by Kinoshita Figs. 4 and 6.
Regarding claim 14, Chang as modified discloses the embedded camera system of claims 13, wherein: the integrated shutter component is substantially L-shaped and comprises a top panel and a front panel (see Chang Fig. 10, which shows a side view of item 140 which is L-shaped).
Regarding claim 15, Chang as modified discloses the embedded camera system of claim 14, wherein: the top panel comprises a guidance component (see Chang Fig. 10, item 144); the display frame defines a lateral guidance portion (see Chang Fig. 10, item 113); and, the guidance component interfaces with the lateral guidance portion when the integrated shutter lateral guidance operation is performed (see Chang Fig. 10, which shows the portions interfacing with each other).
Regarding claim 16, Chang as modified discloses the embedded camera system of claim 15, wherein: the guidance component comprises at least one of a guide projection and a top panel guide component (see Chang Fig. 10, item 144, which can be construed as either a guide projection or a top panel guide component); and, the lateral guidance portion comprises at least one of a groove and a slot (see Chang Fig. 10, item 113), the groove interfacing with the guide projection and the slot interfacing with the top panel guide component (see Chang Fig. 10, which shows the portions interfacing with each other).
Regarding claim 17, Chang as modified discloses the embedded camera system of claim 13, but does not disclose that the integrated shutter component comprises a front panel guide projection , the front panel guide projection interfacing with a front portion of the display frame.
Chang discloses that the integrated shutter component has a guide groove, while the display portion has the guide projection (see Chang Fig. 10, items 149 and 161).
Mere reversal of parts is deemed well within the purview of the ordinary workman in the art (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(A)). In this case it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the guide protrusions on the shutter, and the guide grooves on the display, as opposed to vice versa, in order to obtain the guided sliding of the shutter.
Regarding claim 18, Chang as modified discloses the embedded camera system of claim 7, respectively, wherein: the integrated shutter component comprises a support projection (see Chang Fig. 5, item 141b), the support projection interfacing with a display component of the display device (see Chang Fig. 10, item 160).
Conclusion
/NOAM REISNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852 3/12/2026