DETAILED ACTION
This is the fifth office action for US Application 18/379,319 for a Cable Hanger.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7-10, and 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0347727 to Shea et al. Regarding claim 1, Shea et al. discloses a cable hanger (see figure 7) structured to support a number of elongated current lines (210, 215). The cable hanger comprises a body defining a support coupling (105) and a number of supported element couplings (110, 115), wherein the support coupling is a rigid element support coupling (see paragraph 0017). The support coupling is structured to be fixedly coupled with a torque tube of a solar panel installation (see figure 7… support element 105 extends inward on each side, thereby fixing the elongate object 200 relative to the coupling.
Regarding claim 3, the body is made from a generally rigid material (see paragraph 0017), and the rigid element support coupling is a gripping rigid element support coupling (see paragraph 0017). Regarding claim 5, the support coupling is structured to be coupled to an elongated support element (200). Each support element coupling is structured to be coupled to an elongated support element (210, 215). Also, each supported element coupling is structured to support an elongated support element so that the longitudinal axis of each of the supported elements extends generally parallel to the elongated support element (see figures 5-7).
Regarding claim 7, each supported element is one of a generally enclosed coupling, a partially encircling coupling, a generally helical coupling or locking coupling. Regarding claim 8, the body includes a coating that is disposed over substantially all of the body (see para 0017). Regarding claim 9, the body is a unitary body. Regarding claim 10, the body is a slightly flexible body (couplings 110 and 115 flex to lock and unlock).
Regarding claim 21, the supported element coupling is a partially encircling coupling. Regarding claim 22, each supported element coupling is a generally helical coupling. Regarding claim 23, the supported element coupling is a locking coupling. Regarding claim 24, the coating comprises a PVC plastisol (see para 0017).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shea et al. Shea et al. does not specifically disclose the rigid support coupling as a regular convex polygonal rigid element support coupling. However, the specific shape of the coupling is a design preference that would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art based on the desired fit between the coupling and an object from which is hangs or that it supports.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shea et al. in view of US 2020/0403390 to Jette. Regarding claim 4, Shea et al. does not specifically disclose the support coupling as an outwardly flexing gripping rigid element support coupling. Jette provides a teaching for providing a cable hanger with a gripping rigid element support coupling (125) that is an outwardly flexing gripping rigid support element coupling, for securing the hanger on an elongated member (see para 0060). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided a gripping rigid element support coupling with an outwardly flexing gripping rigid support coupling on the cable hanger of Shea et al., to secure the hanger on an elongated member from which it hangs as taught by Jette.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0347727 to Shea et al. in view of US 2022/0074522 to Stubben et al. Shea et al. an arrangement structured to support a number of elongated current lines along a conduit. Shea et al. discloses a cable hanger (see figure 7) structured to support a number of elongated current lines (210, 215). The cable hanger comprises a body defining a support coupling (105) and a number of supported element couplings (110, 115), wherein the support coupling is a rigid element support coupling (see paragraph 0017).
Shea et al. does not disclose a torque tube. Stubben provides a teaching of rigidly coupling a cable hanger (see figure 6… 10) to a torque tube (36). Because both Shea et al. and Stubben disclose cable hangers for suspending cables from a conduit, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have utilized the cable hanger of Shea et al. to achieve the predictable result of suspending cables from a torque tube.
Response to Arguments
With respect to claims 1-10 and 21-24, Applicant's arguments filed 10 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a coupling that is structure to be supported by a substantially rigid, elongated element or “fixedly” coupled) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's argument that Shea does not disclose the use of a torque tube, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The claim language requires that “said coupling is structured to be rigidly coupled with a torque tube of a solar panel installation” and Shea is capable of performing that intended use.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
(toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
STEVEN M. MARSH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/STEVEN M MARSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632