CTNF 18/379,346 CTNF 96924 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being unpatentable by Park (US) . Regarding claim 10, Park discloses a battery system (fig. 1), comprising: a plurality of racks (110_1, 110_2, …, 110_n, fig. 1); and a system manager to manage the plurality of racks (220, fig. 2), each rack of the plurality of racks having: at least one rack battery connected between a first battery terminal and a second battery terminal (battery 211 is connected between two terminals, fig. 2); a rack switch (213, fig. 2) connected between the at least one rack battery and the first battery terminal; and a rack manager (215, fig. 2) configured to estimate a state of charge of the at least one rack battery (the battery management unit 130 may determine a charge or a discharge of the battery pack 100 based on the battery voltage and/or a state of charge (SOC), paragraph [0046]), transmit the estimated state of charge to the system manager, and control the rack switch (paragraph [0046]-[0048]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 2, 3, 11, 12, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2015/0194707), and White et al. (US 2011/0089901), herein after White . Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a battery system, comprising: a plurality of racks (110_1, …, 110_n fig. 1); and a system manager to manage the plurality of racks (130, fig. 1, paragraph [0042]), each rack of the plurality of racks having: at least one rack battery connected between a first battery terminal and a second battery terminal (two battery terminals 101, fig. 1); a rack switch (120_1,.., 120_n, fig. 1) connected between the at least one rack battery and the first battery terminal (the switches are connected between the battery and batter terminal, fig. 1); and a rack manager configured to estimate a state of charge of the at least one rack battery, transmit the estimated state of charge to the system manager (The main management unit 220 may collect parameters (for example, the cell voltage, charge and discharge current, and temperature) of the batteries 211(from the module management units, fig. 2 ), and may determine the state of charge (SOC) and/or a state of health (SOH) of the batteries 211, paragraph [0071]). Although, Park substantially teaches all the elements of a battery system, however, park does not explicitly disclose that battery manager controls the rack switch such that, the system manager being configured to: receive the state of charge of each of the at least one rack battery from the respective rack manager, open the rack switch to disconnect any of the at least one rack battery having a state of charge of 0% or 100%, and continuously discharge or charge any rack battery not disconnected. White discloses a controller assembly to control the switches during charging and discharging of the battery (paragraph [0040]). White further discloses the controller receive the state of charge of each of the at least one rack battery from the respective rack manager ( the present system can utilize computer instructions for measuring the state of charge of a battery pack system module, paragraph [0028]), open the rack switch to disconnect any of the at least one rack battery having a state of charge of 0% or 100% (disconnecting a charge switch, and actuating shunt resistors within balancing circuits to partially discharge battery pack system modules that have attained a predetermined high state of charge, paragraph [0028] The predetermined level of charge can be the maximum level of charge for the battery pack system module, paragraph [0080] which is with 100% SOC), and continuously discharge or charge any rack battery not disconnected (By automatically partially discharging battery pack system modules that have reached the predetermined high state of charge, the simultaneous charging of each module within a battery pack system can be continued without exceeding the predetermined high state of charge in any battery pack system module, paragraph [0029]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Park’s battery manager to include the instruction about controlling the switches based on the state of charge of the batteries during charging as taught by White, in order to charge the batteries selectively to ensure optimal charge balancing, prevents severe overcharging, and maximizes your battery bank's lifespan. Regarding claim 2, Park in view of white discloses the battery system of claim 1. White further discloses wherein in a charge mode, the system manager is configured to: open the rack switch of the at least one rack battery reaching a state of charge of 100%, continuously charge any rack battery not disconnected (paragraph [0029]), and stop charging the battery system if a state of charge of any rack battery connected to a closed rack switch reaches 100% and a preset number of rack switches are open (paragraph [0103]-[0104] the controller would stop providing the current when all the battery reached to their highest state of charge). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Park’s battery manager to include the instruction about controlling the switches based on the state of charge of the batteries during charging as taught by White, in order to charge the batteries selectively to ensure optimal charge balancing, prevents severe overcharging, and maximizes your battery bank's lifespan. Regarding claim 3, Park further discloses wherein the system manager is configured to close the rack switch of any rack battery having a rack voltage with a difference from a battery voltage, which difference is equal to or less than a preset reference value, from among any rack battery connected to open rack switches if the rack batteries connected to closed rack switches are discharged and the battery voltage between the first and second battery terminals is lowered (paragraph [0009]). Regarding claim 11, Park discloses the battery system of claim 10. However, Park is silent about controlling the switches of the battery during charging and discharging based on the state of charge of the batteries. White discloses a controller assembly to control the switches during charging and discharging of the battery (paragraph [0040]). White further discloses in a charge mode, the system manager is configured to: open the rack switch of the at least one rack battery reaching a state of charge of 100%, continuously charge any rack battery not disconnected(paragraph [0029]), and stop charging the battery system if a state of charge of any rack battery connected to a closed rack switch reaches 100% and a preset number of rack switches are open (paragraph [0103]-[0104] the controller would stop providing the current when all the battery reached to their highest state of charge). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Park’s battery manager to include the instruction about controlling the switches based on the state of charge of the batteries during charging as taught by White, in order to charge the batteries selectively to ensure optimal charge balancing, prevents severe overcharging, and maximizes your battery bank's lifespan. Regarding claim 12, Park further discloses wherein the system manager is configured to close the rack switch of any rack battery having a rack voltage with a difference from a battery voltage, which difference is equal to or less than a preset reference value, from among any rack battery connected to open rack switches if the rack batteries connected to closed rack switches are discharged and the battery voltage between the first and second battery terminals is lowered (paragraph [0056]). Regarding claim 19, Park discloses a method for managing a battery system (fig. 2), comprising: managing, by a system manager, a plurality of racks (battery 1, 2, 3, n, fig. 2), estimating a state of charge of at least one rack battery, transmitting the estimated state of charge to the system manager (paragraph [0046]), However, Park is silent about the battery manager is capable of controlling a rack switch to disconnect any of the at least one rack battery having a state of charge of 0% or 100% based on the estimated state of charge, and continuously discharging or charging any rack battery not disconnected. White discloses a controller assembly to control the switches during charging and discharging of the battery (paragraph [0040]). White further discloses the controller receive the state of charge of each of the at least one rack battery from the respective rack manager ( the present system can utilize computer instructions for measuring the state of charge of a battery pack system module, paragraph [0028]), open the rack switch to disconnect any of the at least one rack battery having a state of charge of 0% or 100% (disconnecting a charge switch, and actuating shunt resistors within balancing circuits to partially discharge battery pack system modules that have attained a predetermined high state of charge, paragraph [0028] The predetermined level of charge can be the maximum level of charge for the battery pack system module, paragraph [0080] which is with 100% SOC), and continuously discharge or charge any rack battery not disconnected (By automatically partially discharging battery pack system modules that have reached the predetermined high state of charge, the simultaneous charging of each module within a battery pack system can be continued without exceeding the predetermined high state of charge in any battery pack system module, paragraph [0029]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Park’s battery manager to include the instruction about controlling the switches based on the state of charge of the batteries during charging as taught by White, in order to charge the batteries selectively to ensure optimal charge balancing, prevents severe overcharging, and maximizes your battery bank's lifespan. Regarding claim 20, Park in view of White discloses the method of claim 19. White further discloses the method further comprising: opening the rack switch of at least one rack battery reaching a state of charge of 100%, continuously charging any rack battery not disconnected(paragraph [0029]), and stopping the battery system from charging if a state of charge of any rack battery connected to a closed rack switch reaches 100% and a preset number of rack switches are open(paragraph [0103]-[0104] the controller would stop providing the current when all the battery reached to their highest state of charge). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Park’s battery manager to include the instruction about controlling the switches based on the state of charge of the batteries during charging as taught by White, in order to charge the batteries selectively to ensure optimal charge balancing, prevents severe overcharging, and maximizes your battery bank's lifespan . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 4, 5, 13, 14 , is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2015/0194707), and White (US 2011/0089901) , as applied to claim s above, and further in view of Scheucher (US 8,860,377) . Regarding claim 4, Park in view of White discloses the battery system of claim 1. However, Park and white are silent about the discharging of the batteries are controller based on the state of charge. Scheucher discloses a controller (495, fig. 7) to control the discharging of the battery selectively (Col. 22, lines 16-29). Scheucher further discloses controller is configured to control the switches such that open a rack switch of the at least one rack battery reaching a state of charge of 0%, continuously discharge any rack battery not disconnected, and stop discharging the battery system if a state of charge of any rack battery connected to a closed rack switch reaches 0% and a preset number of rack switches are open (The microprocessor can connect a particular battery to a load until such time as its state of charge is seen to be approaching 0% (fully discharged). From that point, the microprocessor can disconnect said battery from the load, Col. 24; lines 29-30; if the battery has 0% soc it will not discharge more ). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Park’s battery manager to include the instruction about controlling the switches based on the state of charge of the batteries during discharging as taught by Scheucher, in order to protect the weak battery from severe over-discharge and allows you to utilize the remaining capacity of the healthy battery without interruption. Regarding claim 5, Park further discloses wherein the system manager is configured to close the rack switch of any rack battery having a rack voltage with a difference from a battery voltage, which difference is equal to or less than a preset reference value, from among any rack battery connected to open rack switches if the rack batteries connected to the closed rack switches are charged and the battery voltage between the first and second battery terminals increases (paragraph [0011]). Regarding claim 13, Park in view of White discloses the battery system of claim 10. However, Park and white are silent about the discharging of the batteries are controller based on the state of charge. Scheucher discloses a controller (495, fig. 7) to control the discharging of the battery selectively (Col. 22, lines 16-29). Scheucher further discloses controller is configured to control the switches such that open a rack switch of the at least one rack battery reaching a state of charge of 0%, continuously discharge any rack battery not disconnected, and stop discharging the battery system if a state of charge of any rack battery connected to a closed rack switch reaches 0% and a preset number of rack switches are open (The microprocessor can connect a particular battery to a load until such time as its state of charge is seen to be approaching 0% (fully discharged). From that point, the microprocessor can disconnect said battery from the load, Col. 24; lines 29-30; if the battery has 0% soc it will not discharge more ). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Park’s battery manager to include the instruction about controlling the switches based on the state of charge of the batteries during discharging as taught by Scheucher, in order to protect the weak battery from severe over-discharge and allows you to utilize the remaining capacity of the healthy battery without interruption. Regarding claim 14, Park further discloses wherein the system manager is configured to close the rack switch of any rack battery having a rack voltage with a difference from a battery voltage, which difference is equal to or less than a preset reference value, from among any rack battery connected to open rack switches if the rack batteries connected to the closed rack switches are charged and the battery voltage between the first and second battery terminals increases (paragraph [0011]) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 6, 7, 15, 16 , is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2015/0194707), and White (US 2011/0089901) , as applied to claim s above, and further in view of Choi et al. (US 2017/0054134), herein after Choi . Regarding claim 6, Park in view of White discloses the battery system of claim 1. However, Park is silent about the controlling the charging or discharging based on the state of charge of the battery. White discloses a controller assembly to control the switches during charging and discharging of the battery (paragraph [0040]). White further discloses in a charge mode: each of the rack managers is configured to calculate a state of charge of a corresponding rack battery by a current integration method and transmit the calculated state of charge to the system manager (paragraph [0056]-[0057]), the system manager is configured to open a first rack switch connected to a first rack battery reaching a state of charge of 100% from among the plurality of rack batteries(disconnecting a charge switch, and actuating shunt resistors within balancing circuits to partially discharge battery pack system modules that have attained a predetermined high state of charge, paragraph [0028] The predetermined level of charge can be the maximum level of charge for the battery pack system module, paragraph [0080] which is with 100% SOC) and continuously charge remaining rack batteries, a first rack manager is configured to manage the first rack battery(By automatically partially discharging battery pack system modules that have reached the predetermined high state of charge, the simultaneous charging of each module within a battery pack system can be continued without exceeding the predetermined high state of charge in any battery pack system module, paragraph [0029]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Park’s battery manager to include the instruction about controlling the switches based on the state of charge of the batteries during charging as taught by White, in order to charge the batteries selectively to ensure optimal charge balancing, prevents severe overcharging, and maximizes your battery bank's lifespan. However, Park and White are silent about detecting the state of charge based on open circuit voltage and controlling the switches according to it. Choi discloses detect an open circuit voltage of the first rack battery, update a state of charge of the first rack battery on the basis of the open circuit voltage, and transmit the updated state of charge to the system manager (paragraph [00014]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park’s control system in view of White to include the instruction to determine the state of charge of the battery based on both current integration method and with the open circuit voltage as taught by Choi., in order to use OCV measurement to correct or recalibrate the SOC obtained from current integration to achieve a more accurate SOC estimate, which constitutes the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions. Regarding claim 7, Park in view of White and Choi discloses the battery system of claim 6. Park further discloses wherein the system manager is configured to close the first rack switch if a difference between a rack voltage of the first rack battery and a battery voltage between the first and second battery terminals is less than or equal to a preset reference value (paragraph [0009]).However, Park is silent about a controller to control the switches based on SOC of the battery racks. White discloses the controller which is configured to close the switches based on the updated state of charge state of the first rack battery is less than 100% (paragraph [0028]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Park’s battery manager to include the instruction about controlling the switches based on the state of charge of the batteries during charging as taught by White, in order to charge the batteries selectively to ensure optimal charge balancing, prevents severe overcharging, and maximizes your battery bank's lifespan. Regarding claim 15, Park in view of White discloses the battery system of claim 10. However, Park is silent about the controlling the charging or discharging based on the state of charge of the battery. White discloses a controller assembly to control the switches during charging and discharging of the battery (paragraph [0040]). White further discloses in a charge mode: each of the rack managers is configured to calculate a state of charge of a corresponding rack battery by a current integration method and transmit the calculated state of charge to the system manager (paragraph [0056]-[0057]), the system manager is configured to open a first rack switch connected to a first rack battery reaching a state of charge of 100% from among the plurality of rack batteries(disconnecting a charge switch, and actuating shunt resistors within balancing circuits to partially discharge battery pack system modules that have attained a predetermined high state of charge, paragraph [0028] The predetermined level of charge can be the maximum level of charge for the battery pack system module, paragraph [0080] which is with 100% SOC) and continuously charge remaining rack batteries, a first rack manager is configured to manage the first rack battery(By automatically partially discharging battery pack system modules that have reached the predetermined high state of charge, the simultaneous charging of each module within a battery pack system can be continued without exceeding the predetermined high state of charge in any battery pack system module, paragraph [0029]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Park’s battery manager to include the instruction about controlling the switches based on the state of charge of the batteries during charging as taught by White, in order to charge the batteries selectively to ensure optimal charge balancing, prevents severe overcharging, and maximizes your battery bank's lifespan. However, Park and White are silent about detecting the state of charge based on open circuit voltage and controlling the switches according to it. Choi discloses detect an open circuit voltage of the first rack battery, update a state of charge of the first rack battery on the basis of the open circuit voltage, and transmit the updated state of charge to the system manager (paragraph [00014]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park’s control system in view of White to include the instruction to determine the state of charge of the battery based on both current integration method and with the open circuit voltage as taught by Choi., in order to use OCV measurement to correct or recalibrate the SOC obtained from current integration to achieve a more accurate SOC estimate, which constitutes the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions. Regarding claim 16, Park in view of White and Choi discloses the battery system of claim 15. Park further discloses wherein the system manager is configured to close the first rack switch if a difference between a rack voltage of the first rack battery and a battery voltage between the first and second battery terminals is less than or equal to a preset reference value (paragraph [0009]).However, Park is silent about a controller to control the switches based on SOC of the battery racks. White discloses the controller which is configured to close the switches based on the updated state of charge state of the first rack battery is less than 100% (paragraph [0028]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Park’s battery manager to include the instruction about controlling the switches based on the state of charge of the batteries during charging as taught by White, in order to charge the batteries selectively to ensure optimal charge balancing, prevents severe overcharging, and maximizes your battery bank's lifespan . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 8, 9, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2015/0194707), and White (US 2011/0089901) , as applied to claim s above, and further in view of Scheucher (US 8,860,377) ,and Choi (US 2017/0054134) . Regarding claim 8, Park in view of White discloses the battery system of claim 1. White further discloses that the state of charge of the batteries can be measure by current integration method and transmit to the controller ((paragraph [0056]-[0057])). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park’s battery manager to add the instruction to calculate the SOC of the battery based on the current integration as taught by White, in order to continuously tracks exactly how much energy flows in or out of the battery. However, Park and White are silent about disconnecting a battery from the battery system which has reached the SOC of 0% from among the plurality of the batteries. Scheucher discloses the system manager is configured to open a first rack switch connected to a first rack battery reaching a state of charge of 0% from among the plurality of rack batteries and continuously discharge remaining rack batteries, a first rack manager is configured to manage the first rack battery, and the system manager is configured to close the first rack switch and continuously discharge the first rack battery together with the remaining rack batteries if the updated state of charge of the first rack battery exceeds 0% (Col. 22, lines 16-29; Col. 4, lines 57-60). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Park’s battery manager to include the instruction about controlling the switches based on the state of charge of the batteries during discharging as taught by Scheucher, in order to protect the weak battery from severe over-discharge and allows you to utilize the remaining capacity of the healthy battery without interruption. However, they are silent about detecting the state of charge based on open circuit voltage and controlling the switches according to it. Choi discloses detect an open circuit voltage of the first rack battery, update a state of charge of the first rack battery on the basis of the open circuit voltage, and transmit the updated state of charge to the system manager (paragraph [00014]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park’s control system in view of White and Scheucher to include the instruction to determine the state of charge of the battery based on both current integration method and with the open circuit voltage as taught by Choi., in order to use OCV measurement to correct or recalibrate the SOC obtained from current integration to achieve a more accurate SOC estimate, which constitutes the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions. Regarding claim 9, Park in view of White, Scheucher and Choi discloses the battery system of claim 8. Park discloses wherein the system manager is configured to close the first rack switch if a difference between a rack voltage of the first rack battery and a battery voltage between the first and second battery terminals is less than or equal to a preset reference value (paragraph [0010]). However, Park is silent about a controller to control the switches based on SOC of the battery racks. Scheucher discloses a controller to control the connection and disconnection of the battery among the plurality of the batteries during discharging based on the state of charge of the battery (Col. 22, lines 16-29). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Park’s battery manager to include the instruction about controlling the switches based on the state of charge of the batteries during discharging as taught by Scheucher, in order to protect the weak battery from severe over-discharge and allows you to utilize the remaining capacity of the healthy battery without interruption. Regarding claim 17, Park in view of White discloses the battery system of claim 10. White further discloses that the state of charge of the batteries can be measure by current integration method and transmit to the controller ((paragraph [0056]-[0057])). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park’s battery manager to add the instruction to calculate the SOC of the battery based on the current integration as taught by White, in order to continuously tracks exactly how much energy flows in or out of the battery. However, Park and White are silent about disconnecting a battery from the battery system which has reached the SOC of 0% from among the plurality of the batteries. Scheucher discloses the system manager is configured to open a first rack switch connected to a first rack battery reaching a state of charge of 0% from among the plurality of rack batteries and continuously discharge remaining rack batteries, a first rack manager is configured to manage the first rack battery, and the system manager is configured to close the first rack switch and continuously discharge the first rack battery together with the remaining rack batteries if the updated state of charge of the first rack battery exceeds 0% (Col. 22, lines 16-29; Col. 4, lines 57-60). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Park’s battery manager to include the instruction about controlling the switches based on the state of charge of the batteries during discharging as taught by Scheucher, in order to protect the weak battery from severe over-discharge and allows you to utilize the remaining capacity of the healthy battery without interruption. However, they are silent about detecting the state of charge based on open circuit voltage and controlling the switches according to it. Choi discloses detect an open circuit voltage of the first rack battery, update a state of charge of the first rack battery on the basis of the open circuit voltage, and transmit the updated state of charge to the system manager (paragraph [00014]). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park’s control system in view of White and Scheucher to include the instruction to determine the state of charge of the battery based on both current integration method and with the open circuit voltage as taught by Choi., in order to use OCV measurement to correct or recalibrate the SOC obtained from current integration to achieve a more accurate SOC estimate, which constitutes the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions. Regarding claim 18, Park in view of White, Scheucher and Choi discloses the battery system of claim 17. Park discloses wherein the system manager is configured to close the first rack switch if a difference between a rack voltage of the first rack battery and a battery voltage between the first and second battery terminals is less than or equal to a preset reference value (paragraph [0010]). However, Park is silent about a controller to control the switches based on SOC of the battery racks. Scheucher discloses a controller to control the connection and disconnection of the battery among the plurality of the batteries during discharging based on the state of charge of the battery (Col. 22, lines 16-29). It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Park’s battery manager to include the instruction about controlling the switches based on the state of charge of the batteries during discharging as taught by Scheucher, in order to protect the weak battery from severe over-discharge and allows you to utilize the remaining capacity of the healthy battery without interruption. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SADIA KOUSAR whose telephone number is (571)272-3386. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th 7:30am-5:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Julian Huffman can be reached at (571) 272-2147. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. SADIA . KOUSAR Examiner Art Unit 2859 /JULIAN D HUFFMAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/379,346 Page 2 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/379,346 Page 3 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/379,346 Page 4 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/379,346 Page 5 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/379,346 Page 6 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/379,346 Page 7 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/379,346 Page 8 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/379,346 Page 9 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/379,346 Page 10 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/379,346 Page 11 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/379,346 Page 12 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/379,346 Page 13 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/379,346 Page 14 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/379,346 Page 15 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/379,346 Page 16 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/379,346 Page 17 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/379,346 Page 18 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/379,346 Page 19 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/379,346 Page 20 Art Unit: 2859