DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: there is no period at the end of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “at least one heating element” in claim 3. This phrase invokes 112(f) because it recites a generic placeholder (“at least one heating element”) modified by functional language (“to heat the extending location”) without reciting sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. The corresponding structure is interpreted as heating element 14, and Paras. [0017]-[0018] describe the heating element as any known type or construction and can include, without limitation, any of direct heating or indirect methods.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “positioning each of a heating element and a holding pad in proximity to an extending edge of the casted article” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what is required for the heating element and the holding pad to be “in proximity” to an extending edge, i.e., how close do these components need to be to the edge to be in proximity to it. For the purpose of examination, this phrase will be interpreted as positioning each of a heating element and a holding pad to engage the casted article. The claim also recites “applying any of a roller or flattening tool having a contact portion for engaging and bending the heated edge until reformed into a final bent or folded profile” which renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear if the roller or flattening tool are applied until the edge is reformed into a final bent or folded profile or if the step is only applying any of a roller or flattening tool, i.e., the flattening tool has a contact portion for engaging and bending the heated edge until reformed into a final bent or folded profile. In other words, it is unclear if “reformed into a final bent or folded profile” is describing the contact portion or if it corresponds to the applying action. For the purposes of examination, this phrase will be interpreted as applying any of a roller or flattening tool, and the flatting tool has a contact portion for engaging and bending the heated edge until reformed into a final bent or folded profile. Claim 2 depends from claim 1 and fails to clarify the indefinite language.
Regarding claim 3, the claim is directed to an assembly for flanging or hemming an edge of an aluminum casted article and each of the components recited in the claim are described with respect to the article (e.g., “at least one heating element placed along an extending location of the blank article in order to heat the extending location” and “a holding pad placed at a further location of the article”) which renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear if the claim is directed to an assembly for working on an article or if the article is part of the claimed assembly. For the purpose of examination, this claim will be interpreted as an assembly for flanging or hemming an edge of an article, and the claim limitations regarding the components placed with respect to the article will be interpreted as those components are capable of being placed in such a manner, e.g., at least one heating element configured to be placed along an extending location of the blank article in order to heat the extending location and any of a roller or flattening tool configured to engaging and bend the headed edge. The claim also recites “a holding pad placed… in proximity to the heating element” which renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear what is required for a holding pad to be in proximity to the heating element. For the purpose of examination, this limitation will be interpreted as the holding pad is configured to be placed on the same edge as the heating element. The claim further recites “any of a roller or flattening tool having a contact portion for engaging and bending the heated edge until reformed into a final bent or folded profile” which renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear if the flattening tool has a contact portion for engaging and bending the heated edge until reformed into a final bent or folded profile or if the roller or flattening tool are fore engaging and bending the heated edge. For the purposes of examination, this phrase will be interpreted as any of a roller or flattening tool, and the flattening tool has a contact portion for engaging and bending the heated edge until reformed into a final bent or folded profile. Claim 4 depends from claim 3 and fails to clarify the indefinite language.
Regarding claim 4, the claim is an assembly claim and recites “following which a subsequent trimming or final fabricating step is employed to complete the article” which renders the claim indefinite because an apparatus and a method are recited in the same limitation, which is impermissible (see MPEP 2173.05(p)(II)). For the purpose of examination, this phrase will be interpreted as the assembly is configured to perform a trimming or final fabricating step after the additional heat element is placed. This claim is also indefinite because it is not clear what parts of the assembly perform the trimming or final fabricating step, i.e., does the additional heating element perform these steps or does the roller or flattening tool perform this step. For the purpose of examination, this phrase will be interpreted as requiring no additional components for these operations and the previously recited components are capable of performing these functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2012/0214015 A1 to Carsley.
Regarding claim 1, Carsley teaches a process for flanging or hemming an edge of an aluminum casted article (Abstract; Para. [0016]), comprising the steps of:
positioning each of a heating element 20 and a holding pad 14 in proximity to an extending edge of the casted article (Figs. 1 and 3; Paras. [0019] and [0022]);
heating the edge of the casted article corresponding to the placement of the heating element 20 (Figs. 1 and 3; Paras. [0022] and [0026]); and
applying any of a roller 22, 24 or flattening tool 22, 24 having a contact portion for engaging and bending the heated edge until reformed into a final bent or folded profile (Figs. 1-5; Paras. [0022] and [0027]).
Regarding claim 2, Carsley teaches the process as described in claim 1 (Figs. 1-5), further comprising the step of either repositioning the at least one heating element 20 or positioning at least one additional heating element 20 at a further location of the casted article, following which a subsequent trimming or final fabricating step is employed to complete the article (Figs. 1-5; Paras. [0026]-[0027]; the method includes a second heating element 20 positioned by the finishing roller 24, i.e., the final fabricating step).
Regarding claim 3, Carsley teaches an assembly for flanging or hemming an edge of an aluminum casted article (Figs. 1-5), comprising:
at least one heating element 20 placed along an extending location of the blank article in order to heat the extending location (Figs. 1 and 3; Para. [0026]);
a holding pad 14 placed at a further location of the article in proximity to the heating element 20 (Figs. 1 and 3-5; Para. [0022]); and
any of a roller 22, 24 or flattening tool 22, 24 having a contact portion for engaging and bending the heated edge until reformed into a final bent or folded profile (Figs. 1-5; Paras. [0026]-[0027]).
Regarding claim 4, Carsley teaches the assembly as described in claim 3 (Figs. 1-5), further comprising at least one additional heating element 20 positioned at a further location of the casted article (Fig. 1; Para. [0026]), following which a subsequent trimming or final fabricating step is employed to complete the article (Figs. 1-5; Paras. [0026]-[0027]).
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0076908 A1 to Shulkin.
Regarding claim 1, Shulkin teaches a process for flanging or hemming an edge of an aluminum casted article (Abstract; Figs. 9-11; Paras. [0020] and [0057]), comprising the steps of:
positioning each of a heating element 914 and a holding pad 908 in proximity to an extending edge of the casted article (Figs. 9-11; Para. [0062]);
heating the edge of the casted article corresponding to the placement of the heating element (Para. [0048] and [0062]); and
applying any of a roller 910, 912 or flattening tool having a contact portion for engaging and bending the heated edge until reformed into a final bent or folded profile (Para. [0062]; Figs. 9-11).
Regarding claim 3, Shulkin teaches an assembly for flanging or hemming an edge of an aluminum casted article (Abstract; Figs. 9-11), comprising:
at least one heating element 914 placed along an extending location of the blank article in order to heat the extending location (Para. [0062]; Figs. 9-11);
a holding pad 908 placed at a further location of the article in proximity to the heating element 914 (Para. [0062]; Figs. 9-11); and
any of a roller 910, 912 or flattening tool having a contact portion for engaging and bending the heated edge until reformed into a final bent or folded profile (Figs. 9-11; Para. [0062]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2005/0284204 A1 teaches an assembly and process for heating and bending a casted aluminum article including a roller and a heating element in the roller (Figs. 1-4; Paras. [0038]-[0039]). US 3,834,199 teaches a process and assembly for heating and rolling an article (Fig. 1; Abstract). US 8,341,992 B2 teaches a process and assembly for hemming an article including heating the article with a heating element and applying a roller to the article to bend it (Abstract; Figs. 1-3).
/MATTHEW STEPHENS/Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725