DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s 03/03/2026 amendment or response in the application of TANIO for “WIRELESS ACCESS SYSTEM, CENTRALIZED CONTROL STATION, SIGNAL PROCESSING METHOD, AND RECORDING MEDIUM” filed 10/12/2023. The amendment or response to the claims have been entered. No claims have been canceled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-7 are now pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ITO et al. (US 2023/0261746 A1), hereinafter ITO, in view of LOZHKIN (US 2018/0076989 A1).
Regarding claim 1, ITO discloses a wireless access system comprising:
a centralized control station (central station reception unit 1, see figure 1); and an access point connected (base station device 2, see figure 1) to the centralized control station through an optical network (the central station is connected to base station via optical network 4, see figure 1), the access point including:
a modulator that performs he E/O conversion unit 224 performs intensity modulation on the electrical signal outputted from the antenna device 221 corresponding to itself to generate the optical signal of the wavelength corresponding to itself. The E/O conversion unit 224 outputs the generated optical signal to an optical multiplexing unit 225, see ¶ 0088 and figure 8); and
an optical signal convertor that converts the analog modulation signal to an optical uplink signal (the E/O conversion unit 224 performs intensity modulation on the electrical signal outputted from the antenna device 221 corresponding to itself to generate the optical signal of the wavelength corresponding to itself. The E/O conversion unit 224 outputs the generated optical signal to an optical multiplexing unit 225, see figure 8 and ¶ 0088),
the centralized control station including (Central Station Device, see figures 1, 2, 5-6, 9-10, 13-14, 17, 21):
an electrical signal convertor that converts the optical uplink signal transmitted from the access point to the centralized control station through the optical network, to an electrical uplink signal (the O/E conversion unit 121a generates electrical signals different for each of the wavelengths by demodulating the optical signals of each of the wavelengths received from the optical transmission path 4. The O/E conversion unit 121a outputs each of the generated electrical signals to the signal processing control unit 123a, see ¶ 0092 and figure 9);
a filter that performs, on the electrical uplink signal, a filtering process for extracting an analog extraction signal including a signal component corresponding to the analog uplink signal, from the electrical uplink signal (the O/E conversion unit 121a outputs each of the generated electrical signals to the signal processing control unit 123a, see ¶ 0092 figure 9);
a signal convertor that converts the analog extraction signal to a digital uplink signal representing a signal level of the analog extraction signal by two or more bits; and a signal processor that performs a predetermined digital signal process on the digital uplink signal (the signal processing unit 124 operates in accordance with the type of the wireless system allocated in advance. The signal processing unit 124 performs signal processing such as demodulation processing on the signals received from the signal processing control unit 123 according to the specifications of each of the wireless systems. The signal processing unit 124 outputs the electrical signal generated as a result of the signal processing to the transmission path directed toward the host device, see ¶ 0067).
ITO fails to disclose the access point performs pulse width modulation process for uplink transmission to the central control station and the central control station comprising a filter for filtering process for extracting an analog extracting signal.
In the same field of endeavor, LOZHKIN discloses a transmission device for Radio over Fiber (RoF) or IFoF (see ¶ 0032). The transmission device 10 … includes a modulation information generator 11, a pulse width modulator 13, an amplifier 14 and a bandpass filter (BPF) 15, as illustrated in FIG. 3 (see ¶ 0027). The pulse width modulator 13 generates a pulse width modulated signal (PWM signal) based on the amplitude information and the phase information generated by the modulation information generator 11. A pulse width of the PWM signal depends on the amplitude information (see ¶ 0031). The bandpass filter configured to filter the pulse width modulated signal so as to output the modulated signal (see ¶ 0014).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement LOZHKIN’s teaching of providing PWM modulator and filter for filtering at transmitting device in the network taught by ITO for PWM modulation provides high power efficiency with minimal power loss in the switching device such as base station or base station controller.
Regarding claim 6, ITO discloses a signal processing method performed by using a wireless access system including:
a centralized control station (central station reception unit 1, see figure 1); and an access point connected (base station device 2, see figure 1) to the centralized control station through an optical network (the central station is connected to base station via optical network 4, see figure 1), the signal processing method comprising:
performing a process on an analog uplink signal to be transmitted from the access point to the centralized control station, thereby to generate an analog modulation signal (the E/O conversion unit 224 performs intensity modulation on the electrical signal outputted from the antenna device 221 corresponding to itself to generate the optical signal of the wavelength corresponding to itself. The E/O conversion unit 224 outputs the generated optical signal to an optical multiplexing unit 225, see ¶ 0088 and figure 8); and
converting the analog modulation signal to an optical uplink signal (the E/O conversion unit 224 performs intensity modulation on the electrical signal outputted from the antenna device 221 corresponding to itself to generate the optical signal of the wavelength corresponding to itself. The E/O conversion unit 224 outputs the generated optical signal to an optical multiplexing unit 225, see figure 8 and ¶ 0088),
the centralized control station including (Central Station Device, see figures 1, 2, 5-6, 9-10, 13-14, 17, 21):
converting the optical uplink signal transmitted from the access point to the centralized control station through the optical network, to an electrical uplink signal (the O/E conversion unit 121a generates electrical signals different for each of the wavelengths by demodulating the optical signals of each of the wavelengths received from the optical transmission path 4. The O/E conversion unit 121a outputs each of the generated electrical signals to the signal processing control unit 123a, see ¶ 0092 and figure 9);
a filter that performs, on the electrical uplink signal, a filtering process for extracting an analog extraction signal including a signal component corresponding to the analog uplink signal, from the electrical uplink signal (the O/E conversion unit 121a outputs each of the generated electrical signals to the signal processing control unit 123a, see ¶ 0092 figure 9);
converting the analog extraction signal to a digital uplink signal representing a signal level of the analog extraction signal by two or more bits; and a signal processor that performs a predetermined digital signal process on the digital uplink signal (the signal processing unit 124 operates in accordance with the type of the wireless system allocated in advance. The signal processing unit 124 performs signal processing such as demodulation processing on the signals received from the signal processing control unit 123 according to the specifications of each of the wireless systems. The signal processing unit 124 outputs the electrical signal generated as a result of the signal processing to the transmission path directed toward the host device, see ¶ 0067).
ITO fails to disclose the access point performs pulse width modulation process for uplink transmission to the central control station and the central control station comprising a filter for filtering process for extracting an analog extracting signal.
In the same field of endeavor, LOZHKIN discloses a transmission device for Radio over Fiber (RoF) or IFoF (see ¶ 0032). The transmission device 10 … includes a modulation information generator 11, a pulse width modulator 13, an amplifier 14 and a bandpass filter (BPF) 15, as illustrated in FIG. 3 (see ¶ 0027). The pulse width modulator 13 generates a pulse width modulated signal (PWM signal) based on the amplitude information and the phase information generated by the modulation information generator 11. A pulse width of the PWM signal depends on the amplitude information (see ¶ 0031). The bandpass filter configured to filter the pulse width modulated signal so as to output the modulated signal (see ¶ 0014).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement LOZHKIN’s teaching of providing PWM modulator and filter for filtering at transmitting device in the network taught by ITO for PWM modulation provides high power efficiency with minimal power loss in the switching device such as base station or base station controller.
Regarding claim 7, ITO discloses a non-transitory recording medium on which a computer program that allows a computer to execute a signal processing method is recorded, the signal processing method being performed by using a wireless access system including:
a centralized control station (central station reception unit 1, see figure 1); and an access point connected (base station device 2, see figure 1) to the centralized control station through an optical network (the central station is connected to base station via optical network 4, see figure 1), the signal processing method including:
performing a process on an analog uplink signal to be transmitted from the access point to the centralized control station, thereby to generate an analog modulation signal (the E/O conversion unit 224 performs intensity modulation on the electrical signal outputted from the antenna device 221 corresponding to itself to generate the optical signal of the wavelength corresponding to itself. The E/O conversion unit 224 outputs the generated optical signal to an optical multiplexing unit 225, see ¶ 0088 and figure 8); and
converting the analog modulation signal to an optical uplink signal (the E/O conversion unit 224 performs intensity modulation on the electrical signal outputted from the antenna device 221 corresponding to itself to generate the optical signal of the wavelength corresponding to itself. The E/O conversion unit 224 outputs the generated optical signal to an optical multiplexing unit 225, see figure 8 and ¶ 0088),
the centralized control station including (Central Station Device, see figures 1, 2, 5-6, 9-10, 13-14, 17, 21):
converting the optical uplink signal transmitted from the access point to the centralized control station through the optical network, to an electrical uplink signal (the O/E conversion unit 121a generates electrical signals different for each of the wavelengths by demodulating the optical signals of each of the wavelengths received from the optical transmission path 4. The O/E conversion unit 121a outputs each of the generated electrical signals to the signal processing control unit 123a, see ¶ 0092 and figure 9);
a filter that performs, on the electrical uplink signal, a filtering process for extracting an analog extraction signal including a signal component corresponding to the analog uplink signal, from the electrical uplink signal (the O/E conversion unit 121a outputs each of the generated electrical signals to the signal processing control unit 123a, see ¶ 0092 figure 9);
converting the analog extraction signal to a digital uplink signal representing a signal level of the analog extraction signal by two or more bits; and a signal processor that performs a predetermined digital signal process on the digital uplink signal (the signal processing unit 124 operates in accordance with the type of the wireless system allocated in advance. The signal processing unit 124 performs signal processing such as demodulation processing on the signals received from the signal processing control unit 123 according to the specifications of each of the wireless systems. The signal processing unit 124 outputs the electrical signal generated as a result of the signal processing to the transmission path directed toward the host device, see ¶ 0067).
ITO fails to disclose the access point performs pulse width modulation process for uplink transmission to the central control station and the central control station comprising a filter for filtering process for extracting an analog extracting signal.
In the same field of endeavor, LOZHKIN discloses a transmission device for Radio over Fiber (RoF) or IFoF (see ¶ 0032). The transmission device 10 … includes a modulation information generator 11, a pulse width modulator 13, an amplifier 14 and a bandpass filter (BPF) 15, as illustrated in FIG. 3 (see ¶ 0027). The pulse width modulator 13 generates a pulse width modulated signal (PWM signal) based on the amplitude information and the phase information generated by the modulation information generator 11. A pulse width of the PWM signal depends on the amplitude information (see ¶ 0031). The bandpass filter configured to filter the pulse width modulated signal so as to output the modulated signal (see ¶ 0014).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement LOZHKIN’s teaching of providing PWM modulator and filter for filtering at transmitting device in the network taught by ITO for PWM modulation provides high power efficiency with minimal power loss in the switching device such as base station or base station controller.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, it is well known in the art that the PWM modulation provides high power efficiency with minimal power loss in a switching device1. It would have been desirable to provide the PWM modulation techniques in the base station or the base station controller of the network taught by the combination of ITO-LOZHKIN for providing the base station’s power efficiency.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
The following address mail to be delivered by the United States Postal Service (USPS) only:
Mail Stop _____________
Commissioner for Patents
P. O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
/BOB A PHUNKULH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412
1 https://www.sameskydevices.com/blog/pulse-width-modulation-pwm-how-it-works-and-why-its-essential-in-electronics?srsltid=AfmBOorYAVCzSj6PnzSKT0W9FsMw1yrnZkJbsij5LPtmfixs6SzNgsjx#what-are-the-advantages-of-using-pwm-