Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the storage region (claims 1 & 17) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US 2012/0318940 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a multipurpose worktable comprising: a work surface (frame 10) having an upper surface (upper portion of frame 10 that is in contact with tool 100), a lower surface (underside of frame 10), and at least one side surface extending between the upper surface and lower surface; a leg assembly (leg 41 with 51) coupled to the lower surface (see side surface of frame 10), the leg assembly being configured to transition between an extended position and a collapsed position (Paras. 0021-0022); at least one wheel coupled to the leg assembly (wheels 52); and a platform (bracket 32) coupled to the leg assembly (leg 31), wherein in the collapsed position, an upper surface of the platform extends generally perpendicular relative to the upper surface of the work surface to form a storage region between the platform and the upper surface of the work surface (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses the multipurpose worktable of claim 1. Chen further discloses wherein in the collapsed position, the multipurpose worktable forms a transport dolly (Figs. 4 & 6).
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses the multipurpose worktable of claim 1. Chen further discloses wherein in the collapsed position, the at least one wheel and the platform are disposed at one end of the work surface (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses the multipurpose worktable of claim 1. Chen further discloses wherein in the collapsed position, the multipurpose worktable is configured to stand self-supported in a vertical orientation having the upper surface extending vertically and in a horizontal orientation having the upper surface extending horizontally (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses the multipurpose worktable of claim 1. Chen further discloses wherein in the extended position, the at least one wheel and the platform are disposed at opposite ends of the multipurpose worktable (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses the multipurpose worktable of claim 1. Chen further discloses the leg assembly further comprising a handle (handle 20; Fig. 2; Para. 0020).
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses the multipurpose worktable of claim 7. Chen further discloses the handle (handle 20) being disposed at an opposite end of the leg assembly relative to the platform (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses the multipurpose worktable of claim 1. Chen further discloses wherein a first leg of the leg assembly is pivotally coupled to the work surface (Paras. 0020-0023).
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses the multipurpose worktable of claim 10. Chen further discloses wherein the platform is coupled to a second leg of the leg assembly (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, Chen discloses a multipurpose transport dolly comprising: a frame (Fig. 2); a platform (bracket 32) coupled to the frame; a support surface (frame 10) extending generally perpendicular to the platform and supported by the frame (Fig. 2); a wheel assembly coupled to the frame (wheel 52); and a handle (handle 20) coupled to the frame (Figs. 3 & 6); wherein the frame comprises a pair of legs (leg 41 with leg 51 and leg 31 with shaft 312) configured to transition between a storage position and an extended position (Figs. 2 & 4), wherein in the storage position, a storage region is formed by the platform and the support surface (Fig. 4), and wherein in the extended position, the pair of legs supports the support surface and the support surface forms a worktable (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen.
Regarding claim 5, Chen differs from the invention as claimed because Chen does not disclose the upper surface having a height of less than about 15 inches from a ground surface when the multipurpose worktable is in the horizontal orientation of the collapsed position. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have the upper surface having a height of less than about 15 inches from a ground surface when the multipurpose worktable is in the horizontal orientation of the collapsed position, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. The purpose for making the modification would be to make it easier to load items from the ground onto the work surface, since less physical effort would be needed to lift less than 15 inches, the low ground clearance also makes it easier to off load heavy items as well.
Claim 9 discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly stating that the platform is removably coupled to the leg assembly. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have the platform removably coupled to the leg assembly, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179. The purpose for making the modification would be to provide means for removing a damaged platform and replacing it with a new functional platform, or additionally allowing a user to customize the platform size to their needs, thereby providing more versatility to the device.
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Smith et al. (US 2024/0010255 A1).
Regarding claims 12-16: Chen differs from the invention as claimed because Chen does not disclose further comprising a storage support interface coupled to the work surface, the storage support interface comprising at least one mount configured to receive a complementary bracket; wherein the storage support interface extends downward from the lower surface of the work surface; wherein the storage support interface extends along at least one side of the work surface; each mount comprising two protrusions and a bracket receiving space is formed between the two protrusions; and wherein the storage support interface is formed from a single piece of material.
Smith et al., however, teaches a storage support interface coupled to the work surface (bed assembly 48), the storage support interface (plate 46) comprising at least one mount configured to receive a complementary bracket (Para. 0353); wherein the storage support interface extends downward from the lower surface of the work surface (Fig. 39); wherein the storage support interface extends along at least one side of the work surface (Fig. 39); each mount comprising two protrusions and a bracket receiving space is formed between the two protrusions (see mounting holes in plate 46; Fig. 39); and wherein the storage support interface is formed from a single piece of material (Fig. 39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have included a storage support interface coupled to the work surface, the storage support interface comprising at least one mount configured to receive a complementary bracket; wherein the storage support interface extends downward from the lower surface of the work surface; wherein the storage support interface extends along at least one side of the work surface; each mount comprising two protrusions and a bracket receiving space is formed between the two protrusions; and wherein the storage support interface is formed from a single piece of material as taught by Smith et al. on the invention of Chen for the purpose of carrying a variety of tools.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
4. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/HILARY L JOHNS/Examiner, Art Unit 3613
/JAMES A SHRIVER II/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3613