DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group III, claims 8-15, in the reply filed on 12/18/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 10/01/24 and 11/25/24, have all been considered and made of record (note the attached copy of form PTO/SB/08a).
Specification
4. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
8. Claims 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Marcouiller et al. (US 20110280525 A1) in view of Jones (US 5774618 A).
With respect to claim 8, Marcouiller et al. (figure 118) disclose a splice unit for a spliced cable connection, comprising a splice module (710) configured for positioning within an enclosure (700), the splice module (710) including a first cable anchoring portion (cable retention member 720 and a lock 730) for securing to a first cable (110), a second cable anchoring portion (cable retention member 720 and a lock 730) for securing to a second cable (120), a cable routing portion (space within the enclosure tube 710) for routing the first cable (110) and the second cable (120) within the splice module, and a splice protection tube (705) surrounding a splice between the first cable (110) and the second cable (120).
Marcouiller et al. do not explicitly disclose a splice protection tube holding portion for accommodating a splice protection tube.
However, Jones (figure 1) teaches an optical device including a splice protection tube holding portion (splice tray 49 is adapted to hold a plurality of stacked splice holders 52) for accommodating a splice (figure 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Marcouiller et al. to include the splice protection tube holding portion (accordance with the teaching of Jones) for the purpose of supporting the splice tray within the closure (column 3, line 30).
With respect to claim 9, Marcouiller et al. (figure 118) disclose the splice unit, further comprising a first cable grommet (740) and a first cable grommet stopper (750) for providing a first water-tight seal between the first cable and the enclosure (700), and a second cable grommet (740’) and a second cable grommet stopper (780) for providing a second water-tight seal between the second cable and the enclosure (figure 118).
With respect to claim 10, Marcouiller et al. (figure 118) disclose the splice unit, wherein the first water-tight seal is created by compressing the first cable grommet (740) between the first cable grommet stopper (750) and the enclosure (710, 760, 790), and the second water-tight seal is created by compressing the second cable grommet (740’) between the second cable grommet stopper (780) and the enclosure (710, 760, 790).
With respect to claim 11, Marcouiller et al. (figure 118) disclose the splice unit, further comprising the enclosure (710, 760, 790).
With respect to claim 12, Marcouiller et al. (figure 118) disclose the splice unit, wherein the enclosure comprises a first enclosure portion (710, 760) having a first body with an opening for the first cable (110), and a second enclosure portion (790) having a second body with an opening for the second cable (120).
With respect to claim 13, Marcouiller et al. (figure 118) substantially disclose all the limitations of claimed invention except the first enclosure portion comprises a catch, and the second enclosure portion comprises a lever and a latch, the lever movably attaching the latch to the second body, and wherein the first enclosure portion and second enclosure portion are configured for mating to one another by positioning the catch and latch to engage with one another and moving the lever to secure the catch to the latch.
However, Jones (figure 1) teaches an optical device including the first enclosure portion comprises a catch (16), and the second enclosure portion comprises a lever and a latch (17), the lever movably attaching the latch to the second body, and wherein the first enclosure portion and second enclosure portion are configured for mating to one another by positioning the catch and latch to engage with one another and moving the lever to secure the catch to the latch (column 5, lines 23-34). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Marcouiller et al. to include the above features (accordance with the teaching of Jones) for the purpose of supporting the splice tray within the closure (column 3, line 30).
With respect to claim 14, Marcouiller et al. (figure 118) substantially disclose all the limitations of claimed invention except at least one of the first enclosure portion or the second enclosure portion comprises an O-ring.
However, Jones (figure 1) teaches an optical device including at least one of the first enclosure portion or the second enclosure portion comprises an O-ring (18). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Marcouiller et al. to include the above feature (accordance with the teaching of Jones) for the purpose of supporting the splice tray within the closure (column 3, line 30).
With respect to claim 15, Marcouiller et al. (figure 118) substantially disclose all the limitations of claimed invention except the enclosure comprises: a first enclosure portion having a first body with first multiple openings, including an opening for the first cable; and a second enclosure portion having a second body with second multiple openings, including an opening for the second cable.
However, the first body with first multiple openings, including an opening for the first cable; and the second body with second multiple openings, including an opening for the second cable are considered to be obvious to provide higher efficiency of optical signal transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Marcouiller to include the above features for the purpose of obtaining higher efficiency of optical signal transmission. It is also noted that it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Claessens et al. (US-10663684-B2) disclose a fiber optic module. Morioka et al. (US-20160139341-A1) disclose an optical fiber splicing unit. Allen (US-20150117829-A1) teaches a fiber management tray.
/JENNIFER DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874