DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a third elastic sealing element in a third recess” “a further elastic sealing element in a further recess” in claim 2, “a third interior space” “a fourth interior space” “further interior spaces”, “the third recess” and “the further recess” in claim 3 and “the third recess” “the further recess” in claim 4,must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 11 objected to because of the following informalities: “an overpressure” should be “the overpressure”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5, 11-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3, recites the limitation "the second recess" in line 5, “the third recess”, “the further recess” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4, recites the limitation "the second recess" in line 3, “the third recess” in lines 2-3 and “the further recess” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the elastic sealing elements" in line 3. It is unclear if these sealing elements are the same as “the at least one elastic sealing element” in claim 1.
Claim 11, page 5, recites the limitation "the drive device" in line 3, “the cavity of the guide tube” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the sonotrode" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0181606 to Waagen et al. (Waagen).
Waagen teaches:
Claim 1: A medical instrument configured to treat a body, wherein the medical instrument has comprises:
a carrier unit (100, Fig. 1) having an outside to an environment and at least one first interior space (105, Fig. 1) within the carrier, and an overpressure can be applied to the interior space (functional limitation) (abstract), wherein the medical instrument has a pressure relief device (200, Fig. 4) having at least one elastic sealing element (416, fig. 4), wherein the at least one elastic sealing element is arranged in a first recess (interior volume of the vent closure, para. 0038) in and/or on the outside of the carrier unit and the at least one interior space (105, Fig. 1) is connected to the first recess by at least one pressure relief channel (420, Fig. 4), such that, when the overpressure is applied to the at least one interior space, the overpressure can be discharged into the environment by the first recess being freed by the at least one elastic sealing element (functional limitation, the pressure relief device 200 is doing just that).
Claim 5: The elastic sealing element (416, Fig. 4) is designed as an elastic sealing band and/or elastic sealing ring (O-ring, para. 0038).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2002/0010486 to Hirt in view of Waagen.
Hirt teaches:
A medical instrument configured to treat a body (Fig. 1) comprises a hollow probe or sonotrode (8, Fig. 1).
Hirt fails to teach:
A carrier unit having an outside to an environment and at least one first interior space within the carrier, and an overpressure can be applied to the interior space, wherein the medical instrument has a pressure relief device having at least one elastic sealing element, wherein the at least one elastic sealing element is arranged in a first recess in and/or on the outside of the carrier unit and the at least one interior space is connected to the first recess by at least one pressure relief channel, such that, when the overpressure is applied to the at least one interior space, the overpressure can be discharged into the environment by the first recess being freed by the at least one elastic sealing element.
Waagen teaches:
A carrier unit (100, Fig. 1) having an outside to an environment and at least one first interior space (105, Fig. 1) within the carrier, and an overpressure can be applied to the interior space (functional limitation) (abstract), wherein the medical instrument has a pressure relief device (200, Fig. 4) having at least one elastic sealing element (416, fig. 4), wherein the at least one elastic sealing element is arranged in a first recess (interior volume of the vent closure, para. 0038) in and/or on the outside of the carrier unit and the at least one interior space (105, Fig. 1) is connected to the first recess by at least one pressure relief channel (420, Fig. 4), such that, when the overpressure is applied to the at least one interior space, the overpressure can be discharged into the environment by the first recess being freed by the at least one elastic sealing element
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the medical device of Hirt with the medical device having the mechanism for pressure relief as taught by Waagen in order to provide pressure relief during the procedure after the sonotrode which is excited by an electrically controlled ultrasonic transducer for generating oscillations for the fragmentation of calculi via the distal end of the sonotrode (Hirt’s abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 6-11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 2, the prior art Waagen fails to disclose a second elastic sealing element in a second recess. Regarding claim 3, the prior art fails to disclose a second interior space connected via a respective pressure relief channel. Regarding claim 4, the prior art fails to disclose second recess connected to two or more pressure relief channels. Regarding claim 6, the prior art fails to disclose the recess is shaped conically on the side wall. Regarding claim 7, the prior art fails to disclose the recess has a shaped contact surface for the sealing element. Regarding claim 8, the prior art fails to disclose the recess has sealing rib. Regarding claim 9, the prior art fails to disclose a fluid-passage configured to transport a crushed stone fragment away and/or to transporting heat. Regarding claim 10, the prior art fails to disclose a ballistic lithotripsy device, a sonotrode to oscillation by mechanical impact of the projectile.
Claim 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PHONG SON H DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771