DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over Us Pub No.: 20210318061 (“Lee et al.”) in view of US Pub No.: CN 109297246 ("Chen et al.").
Regarding Claim 1, Lee et al. discloses a refrigerator, comprising:
a main body (10) including a storage room; and
a door (32) coupled to the main body (10) to open and close the storage room, and including a door body (40) coupled to the main body (10) and a panel (70) detachably coupled to a front surface of the door body (40) to cover the front surface of the door body (40),
wherein the panel (70) includes:
a display (71) including a screen configured to display an image;
a glass panel (90) provided in front of the display (71)
an upper trim (180) fixed to an upper portion and of a rear surface of the glass panel (90), and a lower trim (160) fixed to a lower portion of the rear surface of the glass panel (90, the upper trim (180) and the lower trim (160) configured to be detachably assembled with the front surface of the door body (40); and
a display cover (100) fixed to the rear surface of the glass panel and on which the display detachably mounted, the display cover 100 including:
a display mounting portion (101) configured to support side edges of the display (via 140).
Lee et al. discloses a plurality of hooks on the left and right side of the display mounting portion but does not expressly disclose that the assembly hooks that allow the display cover to be detachably assembled to the front surface of the door body.
Chen et al. discloses a refrigerator with a display assembly (best seen in Figs. 1-10 ); having a display cover (21) with display mounting portion (22, best seen in Figs. 2 and 7-8) that supports the side of edges of the display (23), and a plurality of assembly hooks (223) extending directly from a supporting portion of the mounting portion (22) that directly contacts and supports the side edges of the display (23, as seen in Fig. 2), and at least one assembly hook (223) of the plurality of assembly hooks is formed on each of left and right sides of the display mounting portion and so that the plurality of assembly hooks (223) are detachably assembled with the front surface of the door body.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that the display cover could also be improved with a plurality of assembly hooks that directly contact and support side edges of the display on the mounting portion of the display cover and also secure within the door body, as demonstrated by Chen et al.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination discloses (LEE et al.) wherein the display cover (100) includes: an opening (102) having a size corresponding to the screen of the display (71).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination discloses (LEE et al.) the display mounting portion is provided to have a square frame shape and extend from the rear surface of the display (71) cover toward a rear side of the display (71) mounting portion.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination discloses (LEE et al.) wherein the display (71) mounting portion includes a fixing hook (140) to fix the display (71) mounted on the display mounting portion.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination discloses (LEE et al.) wherein a plurality of fixing hooks (140) are formed on left and right sides of the display mounting portion (101) and are formed toward the display (71) mounted on the display mounting portion (101) to fix the display (71).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination discloses (Chen et al.) wherein the door body includes an assembly groove (33) into which each assembly hook (223) of the plurality of assembly hooks (223) is assembled.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination discloses (LEE et al.) wherein the door body includes:
a door outer case (41, see Fig. 10); and
a door inner case (55) coupled to a rear surface of the door outer case (41),
wherein the door outer case (41) includes a heat dissipation plate (51, 52) configured to dissipate heat generated by the display (71)
Regarding Claim 10, the combination discloses (LEE et al.) wherein the heat dissipation plate (51, 52) includes: a first heat dissipation plate (52) including a display accommodating portion in which the display (71) is accommodated, and a central opening (53) formed in a center of the first heat dissipation plate (52); and a second heat dissipation plate (51) coupled to the central opening to cover the central opening on a rear surface of the first heat dissipation plate (52).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination discloses (Chen et al.) wherein the assembly hooks (223) are detachably assembled with the front surface of the door body (via 33) to prevent left and right sides of the panel from being lifted.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims 1-5, 8-10 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KIMBERLEY S WRIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637