DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over Us Pub No.: 20210318061 (“Lee et al.”) in view of US Pub No.: CN 114508888 ("Feng et al.").
Regarding Claim 1, Lee et al. discloses a refrigerator, comprising:
a main body (10) including a storage room; and
a door (32) coupled to the main body (10) to open and close the storage room, and including a door body (40) coupled to the main body (10) and a panel (70) detachably coupled to a front surface of the door body (40) to cover the front surface of the door body (40),
wherein the panel (70) includes:
a display (71) including a screen configured to display an image;
a glass panel (90) provided in front of the display (71)
an upper trim (180) fixed to an upper portion and of a rear surface of the glass panel (90), and a lower trim (160) fixed to a lower portion of the rear surface of the glass panel (90, the upper trim (180) and the lower trim (160) configured to be detachably assembled with the front surface of the door body (40); and
a display cover (100) fixed to the rear surface of the glass panel and on which the display detachably mounted, the display cover 100 including:
a display mounting portion (101) configured to support side edges of the display, and a plurality of hooks (140) extending from a support portion (106, 105)) of the display mounting potion (101) that supports the side edge of the display.
Lee et al. discloses a plurality of hooks on the left and right side of the display mounting portion but does not does not expressly disclose the such that they are assembly hooks allowing the display cover to be detachably assembled to the front surface of the door body.
Feng et al. discloses a refrigerator with a display assembly (40); having a display cover (41) with display mounting portion that supports the side of edges of the display (42) via a plurity of fixing hooks (71) that supports the side edges of the display, and a plurality of assembly hooks (74) extending from the mounting portion, and the assembly hooks (74) secure the display assembly to the door body (via 75 and 76) to prevent the display panel assembly from moving. It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that the display cover could also be provided with assembly hooks to secure the display cover in place within the door body, as demonstrated by Feng et al.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination discloses (LEE et al.) wherein the display cover (100) includes: an opening (102) having a size corresponding to the screen of the display (71).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination discloses (LEE et al.) the display mounting portion is provided to have a square frame shape and extend from the rear surface of the display (71) cover toward a rear side of the display (71) mounting portion.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination discloses (LEE et al.) wherein the display (71) mounting portion includes a fixing hook (140) to fix the display (71) mounted on the display mounting portion.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination discloses (LEE et al.) wherein a plurality of fixing hooks (140) are formed on left and right sides of the display mounting portion (101), and are formed toward the display (71) mounted on the display mounting portion (101) to fix the display (71).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination discloses (Feng et al.) wherein a plurality of assembly hooks (74) are formed on the left and right sides of the display mounting portion, and are formed toward a direction opposite to fixing hooks (71) of the plurality of fixing hooks (71) formed on same sides of the left and right sides of the display mounting portion.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination discloses (Feng et al.) wherein the plurality of assembly hooks (74) and the plurality of fixing hooks (71) are alternately formed along each of the left and right sides of the display mounting portion. Furthermore, such an arraignment or configuration would be an obvious matter of design choice, to one having ordinary skill in the art, to improve the stability of the entire display assembly.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination discloses (Feng et al.) wherein the door body includes an assembly groove (via 51, see 75, 76) into which each assembly hook (74) of the plurality of assembly hooks is assembled.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination discloses (LEE et al.) wherein the door body includes:
a door outer case (41, see Fig. 10); and
a door inner case (55) coupled to a rear surface of the door outer case (41),
wherein the door outer case (41) includes a heat dissipation plate (51, 52) configured to dissipate heat generated by the display (71)
Regarding Claim 10, the combination discloses (LEE et al.) wherein the heat dissipation plate (51, 52) includes: a first heat dissipation plate (52) including a display accommodating portion in which the display (71) is accommodated, and a central opening (53) formed in a center of the first heat dissipation plate (52); and a second heat dissipation plate (51) coupled to the central opening to cover the central opening on a rear surface of the first heat dissipation plate (52).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination discloses (LEE et al.) wherein a plurality of assembly grooves are formed on left and right side edges of the first heat dissipation plate (52, as seen in Fig. 10). Feng et al. teaches the display panel is mounted to the grooves (75, 76) along plate 52, mounted in the door body, as seen in Figs. 10-13. It would be obvious to one having skill in the art to provide the heart dissipation plate with grooves in the similar to the mounting grooves taught by Feng et al. to receive the assembly books when mounting the display assembly onto the heat dissipation plate of the door body., in the same manner as the
Regarding Claim 12, the combination discloses (Feng et al.) wherein the assembly hooks (74) are detachably assembled with the front surface of the door body (via 51) to prevent left and right sides of the panel from being lifted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KIMBERLEY S WRIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637