DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the above identified application field October 12, 2023. Claims 1-20 are pending, all examined and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 12, 2023, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 19 are objected to because of the following informality: The claim limitation states “Wherein the action is to flag an address on the network has having source code” which makes the scenario unclear. Changing this to 'as having source code' instead of 'has having source code' will make the claims sufficient. (An appropriate correction is required.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent
therefore, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
With regard to Claim 1,
Step 2A, Prong 1
This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. As
explained in MPEP 2106.04, subsection II, a claim "recites" a judicial exception when the
judicial exception is "set forth" or "described" in the claim.
Claim 1 recites:
A system comprising: a microprocessor; and a computer readable medium, coupled with the microprocessor and comprising microprocessor readable and executable instructions that, when executed by the microprocessor, cause the microprocessor to: retrieve a training corpus for training a similarity algorithm; train the similarity algorithm using the training corpus; crawl a network to identify data; run the data through the similarity algorithm to determine a likely match between the training corpus and the identified data on the network; and in response to determining the likely match between the training corpus and the identified data on the network, take an action.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of the balded limitations above are directed to a mental process able to be performed in the human mind or by a human using pen and paper. A human can determine similarity between data and identify data points to determine a likely match, according to the identified path mentally or with pen and paper.
With respect to "and in response to determining the likely match between the training corpus and the identified data on the network, take action" this is mere instructions to implement or apply the abstract idea on a computer. See 2106.05(f).
Step 2A, Prong1 (Yes)
Step 2A, Prong 2
This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception or whether the claim is "directed to" the judicial exception. This evaluation is performed by (1) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (2) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. See MP E P 21 06. 04( d).
The additional elements in this claim are "A system comprising: a microprocessor; and a computer readable medium, coupled with the microprocessor and comprising microprocessor readable and executable instructions that, when executed by the microprocessor, cause the microprocessor to; train the similarity algorithm using the training corpus; crawl a network to identify data; “and in response to determining the likely match between the training corpus and the identified data on the network, take an action” (Is insignificant extra solution activity).
These elements are recited at a high level of generality and thus is a generic computer component performing computer functions. Thus, these are mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. See M PEP 2106.05(f).
Even when viewed in combination the additional element does not integrate the recited
judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2A, Prong 2 (No)
Step 2B
This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole amounts to
significantly more than the recited exception i.e., whether any additional element, or
combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. See M PEP 2106.05.
As explained with respect to Step 2A, the only additional element is " A system comprising: a microprocessor; and a computer readable medium, coupled with the microprocessor and comprising microprocessor readable and executable instructions that, when executed by the microprocessor, cause the microprocessor to, crawl a network to identify data " which at best is mere instructions to apply the abstract ideas and cannot provide an inventive concept, even when considered in combination. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
As discussed in Step 2A, Prong Two above, the recitations of “and in response to determining the likely match between the training corpus and the identified data on the network, take an action” These elements are well-understood and routine conventional activity See MPEP 2106.05(d).
Step 2B (No)
Claim 1 is ineligible.
With respect to Claims 13 and 20,
These claims are similar in scope to Claim 1 and are rejected under a similar rationale. The processors and memory recited in these claims are also generic computing components.
Claims 13 and 20 are ineligible.
Dependent Claims:
Claims 2-9 further recite mere instructions to implement or apply the abstract idea on a computer and thus are ineligible.
Claims 10, 11, 12 merely limit the character of data in the training corpus and thus are mere data gathering, generic computer terms (“is used to retrain the similarity algorithm”) performing computer functions and thus are ineligible.
Claims 14-19 are similar in scope to claims 2-9 and further recite mere instructions to implement or apply the abstract idea on a computer and thus are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC§ 103
Claims 1, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US
20240112486 A1, in view of Abhayankar US 20080222308 A1 .
With regards to Independent Claim 1,
Chen teaches A system comprising a microprocessor; (US 20240112486 A1., See Paragraph 0029 Line 8-14) (“The Processor 202 may be physical and/or virtual and may include a single processing unit or a plurality of processing units and/or cores. In some implementations, processor 202 may be capable of generating and providing electronic display signals to a display device, supporting the display of images, capturing and transmitting images, and performing complex tasks and determinations”)
(Chen further teaches A non-transient computer readable medium; (US 20240112486 A1., See Paragraph 0069 Line 6-14) (“Such a computer program may be stored in a computer readable storage medium, including, but is not limited to, any type of disk including floppy disks, optical disks, CD-ROMs, and magnetic disks, read-only memories (ROMs), random access memories (RAMs), EPROMs, EEPROMs, magnetic or optical cards, flash memories including USB keys with non-volatile memory or any type of media suitable for storing electronic instructions, each coupled to a computer system bus”)
Chen also teaches Retrieve a training corpus for training a similarity algorithm; train the similarity algorithm using the training corpus; (US 20240112486 A1., See Paragraph 0006, 0026 & 0053) 0006 Line 21-22 (“For instance, the intra-signature detection model is taught to learn the anomalous consistency using prior signatures as training data) 0026 Line 9-11 (For example, as described below, some implementations may use machine learning e.g., one or more algorithms to train one or more models) 0053 Line 8-14 (In some implementation, the inter-signature analyzer 322 perform inter signature analysis … to determine whether the signature under analysis is similar to another, previously received signature, and responsive to determining that a similarity exists … common document or not”)
Chen further teaches Run the data through the similarity algorithm to determine a likely match between the training corpus and the identified data on the network; (See Column 0054 Line 1-6 ) (“In some implementations, the inter-signature analyzer 322 compares other document information associated with the document under analysis and the document associated with the previously received, similar signature to determine whether the similar signatures are associated with a common document”)
Chen also teaches And in response to determining the likely match between the training corpus and the identified data on the network, take an action; (See Paragraph 0054 & 0063) 0054 Line 14-19 (“In some implementations, when a match exists between the two sets of other information … as such may be the case if a user has previously been asked to photograph his/her ID) 0063 Line 11-13 (At block 410, the action engine 308, optionally in some implementations, takes an action based on the determination at block 406”) Chen doesn’t explicitly disclose Crawl a network to identify data.
Abhayanker teaches Crawl a network to identify data; (US 20080222308 A1., See Paragraph 0053 Line 5-9) (“Furthermore, the internet may be crawled to discover data associated with the profile based on a neural network algorithm that compares the profile with matching data on the internet that matches a criterion associated with the profile”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the detection model of Chen with teaching of Abhayanker. One would be motivated to do so to discover data through similarity algorithms on the network.
With regards to independent Claims 13 and 20,
Claims 13 and 20 are similar in scope to Claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US 20240112486 A1, Abhayankar US 20080222308 A1, in view of Kumari US 20230297956 A1.
With regards to dependent Claim 12,
As discussed with Claim 1, Chen disclosed Wherein the data that is a likely match between the training corpus and the identified data on the network; (US 20240112486 A1., See Paragraph 0054 Line 1-5 & Line14-19) Line 1-5 (“In some implementations, the inter-signature analyzer 322 compares other document information associated with the document under analysis and the document associated with the previously received, similar signature to determine whether the similar signatures are associated with a common document”) Line 14-19 (“In some implementations, when a match exists between the two sets of other information … as such may be the case if a user has previously been asked to photograph his/her ID”) but don’t explicitly disclose “Is used to retrain the similarity algorithm”
However, Kumari teaches Wherein the data that is a likely match … is used to retrain the similarity algorithm; (US 20230297956 A1., See Paragraph 0042) Line 1-10 (In some embodiments, deterministic logic 208 is used in the matching process to determine whether an invoice has a matching receipt and generate and provide an output (e.g., including match recommendation and/or claims) based on the matching determination. Deterministic logic 208 may use one or more artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning (ML) models 210 to determine the match/mismatch between the invoice and receipt data. Once a match/mismatch determination is made, user feedback is collected and fed into the model(s) to retrain the model(s) to enhance the match determination”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the detection model of Chen with teaching of Kumari. One would be motivated to use this matching process to retrain the ML model with user feedback data, thereby continuously enhancing future match accuracy.
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US 20240112486 A1, Abhayanker US 20080222308 A1 in view of Grover US 20220058264 A1.
With regards to dependent Claim 2,
As discussed with Claim 1, Chen-Abhayanker teaches all the limitations, they disclosed training corpus (see above), but they don’t explicitly disclose “Malware source code and wherein the action is to flag an address on the network as being compromised or likely being compromised”
Grover teaches Malware source code and wherein the action is to flag an address on the network as being compromised or likely being compromised; (US 20220058264 A1 See Paragraph 0007 & 0010) 0007 Line 20-25 (“In other cases, determining whether the detected thread pattern variation indicates presence of malware can additionally, or alternatively, comprise comparing 525 network addresses used by a thread having a detected thread pattern variation to previous network addresses used by the thread) 0010 (One or more actions can be performed based on determining the detected thread pattern variation indicates the presence of malware. For example, performing one or more actions based on determining the detected thread pattern variation indicates the presence of malware can comprise one or more of quarantining a thread having a detected thread pattern variation, blocking a thread having a detected thread pattern variation from accessing resources, flagging a thread having a detected thread pattern variation, providing thread pattern variation identification information and/or others”)
Examiner Notes: (The system flags a network address by comparing its current activity pattern against historical data to catch hidden malware.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen with teaching of Grover. One would be motivated to do so to identify network addresses exhibiting malware-related activity and implement protective measures to secure the network.
With regards to dependent Claim 14,
As discussed with Claim 2, claim 14 is similar in scope and rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US 20240112486 A1, Abhayanker US 20080222308, Grover US 20220058264 A1 in view of Briliauskas US-20230342466 A1.
With regards to dependent Claim 3,
As discussed with Claim 1, Chen-Abhayanker teaches all the limitations, they disclosed training corpus (see above), but they don’t explicitly disclose “Malware source code that is mutated by an artificial intelligence algorithm and wherein the action is to flag an address on the network as being compromised or likely being compromised”
Grover teaches Wherein the action is to flag an address on the network as being compromised or likely being compromised; (US 20220058264 A1., See Paragraph 0010) (“One or more actions can be performed based on determining the detected thread pattern variation indicates the presence of malware … a detected thread pattern variation, blocking a thread having a detected thread pattern variation from accessing resources, flagging a thread having a detected thread pattern variation, providing thread pattern variation identification information and/or others”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen with teaching of Grover. One would be motivated to do so to take protective actions by flagging compromised network addresses, thereby improving data integrity and securing the network against unauthorized access.
Chen-Abhayanker-Grover doesn’t explicitly disclose Malware source code that is mutated by an artificial intelligence algorithm.
However, Briliauskas teaches Malware source code that is mutated by an artificial intelligence algorithm; (US-20230342466-A1., See Paragraph 0053 & 0055) 0053 Line 1-4 (“In some embodiments of the present principles, a machine learning model of the present principles trained to modify a binary structure of binary files can be configured to follow predefined modification rules.”) 0055 (“At 504, a second training set is created of a second plurality of binary files each having a second binary structure that is different from the first binary structure, each of the second plurality of binary files having been produced by altering a source code of each of the first plurality of known binary files, and wherein each altered binary file is functionality similar to a corresponding file in the first plurality of binary files from which it was produced. The method 500 can proceed to 506”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen with teaching of Briliauskas. One would be motivated to do so to track malware mutation and detect its presence on the network, thereby taking protective actions such as flagging compromised network addresses to secure the network.
With regards to dependent Claim 15,
As discussed with Claim 3, claim 15 is similar in scope and rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US 20240112486 A1, Abhayanker US 20080222308 A1, Grover US 20220058264 A1, in view of Baldwin US 20130235037 A1.
With regards to dependent Claim 4,
As discussed with Claim 1, Chen- Abhayanker teaches all the limitations, they disclosed training corpus (see above), but they don’t explicitly disclose “Source code that infringes a patent and wherein action is to flag an address on the network as having source code that infringes the patent, likely infringes the patent, infringes a portion of the patent, and/or a likely infringes portion of the patent”
Grover disclosed Source code that infringes a patent and wherein the action is to flag an address on the network as having the source code; (US 20220058264 A1 See Paragraph 0007 & 0010)., 0007 Line 20-25 (“In other cases, determining whether the detected thread pattern variation indicates presence of malware can additionally, or alternatively, comprise comparing 525 network addresses used by a thread having a detected thread pattern variation to previous network addresses used by the thread”) 0010 (One or more actions can be performed based on determining the detected thread pattern variation indicates the presence of malware. For example, performing one or more actions based on determining the detected thread pattern variation indicates the presence of malware can comprise one or more of quarantining a thread having a detected thread pattern variation, blocking a thread having a detected thread pattern variation from accessing resources, flagging a thread having a detected thread pattern variation, providing thread pattern variation identification information and/or others”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen with teaching of Grover. One would be motivated to do so to identify network addresses exhibiting malware related activity and implement protective measures by flagging them to secure the network.
Chen-Abhyankar- Grover don’t explicitly disclose “Infringes the patent, likely infringes the patent, infringes a portion of the patent, and/or a likely infringes portion of the patent”
However, Baldwin teaches Infringes the patent, likely infringes the patent, infringes a portion of the patent, and/or a likely infringes portion of the patent; (US 20130235037 A1., See Paragraph 0042 Line 1-3 & 16-18) Line 1-3 (“In other embodiments the protected subject matter could be a patent that contains a plurality of limitations for various objects”) Line 16 -18 (“If all three objects are viewable on or about the three dimensional object, the system could flag the object as being one that potentially infringes a patent”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen with teaching of Grover-Baldwin. One would be motivated to do so to identify network addresses exhibiting infringing source code potentially infringes Intellectual property rights, such as copyright and trademark infringements, thereby taking protective actions such as flagging it to secure the network.
With regards to dependent Claim 16,
As discussed with Claim 4, claim 16 is similar in scope and rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 8 and is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US 20240112486 A1, Abhayanker US 20080222308 A1, Baldwin US 20130235037 A1 in view of Grover US 20220058264 A1.
With regards to dependent Claim 8,
As discussed with Claim 1, Chen-Abhayanker teaches all the limitations, they disclosed training corpus (see above), but don’t explicitly disclose “Wherein the training corpus comprises one or more documents that describes claims of a patent and wherein the action is to flag an address on the network as having one or more documents that indicates potential infringement of the patent”
Baldwin disclosed Wherein the training corpus comprises one or more documents that describes claims of a patent and wherein the action is to flag an address on the network as having one or more documents that indicates potential infringement of the patent; (US 20130235037 A1., See Paragraph 007, 0041 & 0042) 0042 Line 1-3 (“In other embodiments the protected subject matter could be a patent that contains a plurality of limitations for various objects”) 0042 Line 7-18 (“For example, where an independent claim of an issued patent could contain three physical elements, the system should have at least one image of each physical element, and then should analyze and pattern match the three dimensional object to determine if the three dimensional object has viewing angles that contain items that are substantially similar to each of the three physical elements”) 0007 Line 1-6 (“US2011/0276449 to Funderburk et al. and US2012/0011105 to Brock also teach systems and methods of reviewing electronic documents to determine whether those electronic documents infringe a party's intellectual property rights, and also analyze metadata track down specific infringement actions or users that violate a content owner's usage rules”) 0041 Line 1-11 (The system is generally configured to send an alert to a remote facility 240 which could then judge to see if a likely infringement has occurred and notify the appropriate authorities … and could then notify the appropriate authorities that the distributor of the file has violated license terms”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen with teaching of Baldwin. One would be motivated to identify patent-infringing documents to enable the organization to take immediate corrective actions, significantly reducing intellectual property risks and strengthening network security against potential data leaks.
Chen-Abhayankar-Baldwin don’t explicitly disclose “Wherein the action is to flag an address on the network as having one or more documents that indicates potential infringement of the patent”
However, Grover disclosed Wherein the action is to flag an address on the network as having one or more documents that indicates potential infringement of the patent; (US 20220058264 A1., See Paragraph 0010) (“One or more actions can be performed based on determining the detected thread pattern variation indicates the presence of malware. For example, performing one or more actions based on determining the detected thread pattern variation indicates the presence of malware can comprise one or more of quarantining a thread having a detected thread pattern variation, blocking a thread having a detected thread pattern variation from accessing resources, flagging a thread having a detected thread pattern variation, providing thread pattern variation identification information and/or others”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen with teaching of Baldwin-Grover. One would be motivated to Identifying network addresses that host patent-infringing documents allows the organization to take immediate protective action, thereby flagging these addresses reduce intellectual property risks and enhances overall network security.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US 20240112486 A1, Abhayanker, US 20080222308 A1, Baldwin, US 20130235037 A1 in view of Nash, US 20140189871 A1.
With regards to dependent Claim 11,
As discussed with Claim 1, Chen- Abhayanker teaches all the limitations, they disclosed training corpus (see above), but they don’t explicitly disclose “Patent claims and source code that infringes a patent”
Baldwin disclosed Patent claims; (US 20130235037 A1., See Paragraph 0042 Line 1-3 & 7-18) Line 1-3 (“In other embodiments the protected subject matter could be a patent that contains a plurality of limitations for various objects”) Line 7-18 (“For example, where an independent claim of an issued patent could contain three physical elements, the system should have at least one image of each physical element, and then should analyze and pattern match the three dimensional object to determine if the three dimensional object has viewing angles that contain items that are substantially similar to each of the three physical elements”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen with teaching of Baldwin. One would be motivated to do so to disclose general training corpus to demonstrate that patent claims contain structured physical and functional limitations, which are ideal for object pattern matching and infringement analysis.
Chen-Abhayankar-Baldwin don’t explicitly disclose “Source code that infringes a patent”
However, Nash teaches Source code that infringes a patent; (US 20140189871 A1., See Paragraph 17) (“The module 16 may begin by receiving a code segment of interest as indicated in block 24. This code segment may be one that is suspected of being malware or one that is suspected of being patent or copyright infringing”)
Examiner notes: (Baldwin's framework matches network objects while Nash's method isolates suspicious code segments; By combining them, the system can quickly pinpoint the exact areas of copyright or patent infringement within a network.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen with teaching of Baldwin-Nash. Integrating these two systems makes network security and compliance tools much more efficient, allowing a user to identify a specific code segment on the network to determine whether the source code causes copyright or patent infringement.
Claims 5, 6, and 17,are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US 20240112486 A1, Abhayanker US 20080222308 A1, Grover US 20220058264 A1, in view of Dwarakanath US 20190108443 A1.
With regards to dependent Claim 5,
As discussed with Claim 1, Chen- Abhayanker teaches all the limitations, they disclosed training corpus (see above), Grover disclosed Wherein the action is to flag an address on the network as having the source code; (“US 20220058264 A1., See Paragraph 0007 & 0010) 0007 Line 20-25 (“In other cases, determining whether the detected thread pattern variation indicates presence of malware can additionally, or alternatively, comprise comparing 525 network addresses used by a thread having a detected thread pattern variation to previous network addresses used by the thread)., 0010 (One or more actions can be performed based on determining the detected thread pattern variation indicates the presence of malware. For example, performing one or more actions based on determining the detected thread pattern variation indicates the presence of malware can comprise one or more of quarantining a thread having a detected thread pattern variation, blocking a thread having a detected thread pattern variation from accessing resources, flagging a thread having a detected thread pattern variation, providing thread pattern variation identification information and/or others”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen with teaching of Grover. One would be motivated to do so to identify network addresses exhibiting malware related activity and implement protective measures by flagging them to secure the network.
Chen-Abhayankar-Grover doesn’t explicitly disclose Source code of a software application … or likely having the source code of the software application.
However, Dwarakanath teaches Source code of a software application … or likely having the source code of the software application; (US 20190108443 A1., Paragraph 0046 Line 3-8) (“For example, if developers of an organization that use services of the verification platform have created a data model using open source code and known training data, the source code and the known training data may be available to the verification platform while performing the metamorphic testing procedure.”)
Examiner Notes: (“Grove” teaches execution threads for unusual network behavior and applies automated security controls, where “Dwarakanath” teaches the source code used by the verification platform, along with the training data for the model.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen with teaching of Grover-Dwarakanath. One would be motivated to do so to train an analysis model on application source code to accurately flag network addresses linked to that software, thereby securing the network.
With regards to dependent Claim 17,
As discussed with Claim 5, claim 17 is similar in scope and rejected under the same rationale.
With Regards to dependent Claim 6,
As discussed with Claims 1 and 5, Chen- Abhyanker teaches all the limitations, they disclosed training corpus (see above), Dwarakanath disclosed Source code of the software application or likely having the source code of the software application; Grover disclosed Wherein the action is to flag an address on the network as having the source code;
Grover further teaches Is completed in response to the address on the network not being in a list of legitimate copies of the software application; (US 20220058264 A1., See Paragraph 0007 & 0066) 0007 Line 20-29 (“In other cases, determining whether the detected thread pattern variation indicates presence of malware can additionally, or alternatively, comprise comparing network addresses used by a thread having a detected thread pattern variation to previous network addresses used by the thread. Additionally, or alternatively, determining whether the detected thread pattern variation indicates presence of malware can comprise comparing API usage for a thread having a detected thread pattern variation to previous API usage for the thread.”) 0066 (“The malware detection functions 330 can additionally, or alternatively, identify specific types of new API calls, such as operating system calls, that are being made in the thread 325A, e.g., in a changed thread or a completely new thread, that were not previously being made. This could include a list of API calls that are typically associated with malicious code to determine whether any of these new API calls are being made in the new thread or changed thread. For example, if the thread 325A now has a system call that opens up a stream to an external IP address this can be considered to indicate possible malware”)
Examiner Notes: (Grover's algorithm maps network address patterns against a predefined API list to identify anomalies, in response to it, the malware detection system can flag threats by comparing an active thread's current behavior against its historical standard.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen with teaching of Grover-Dwarakanath. One would be motivated to do so to train an analysis model on application source code to accurately flag network addresses linked to that software, which is completed in response to the address on the network not being in a list of legitimate copies of the software application.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US 20240112486 A1, Abhayanker, US 20080222308 A1, Briliauskas, US 20230342466 A1 in view of Grover US 20220058264 A1.
With regards to dependent Claim 9,
As discussed with Claim 1, Chen- Abhyanker teaches all the limitations, they disclosed training corpus (see above), but they don’t explicitly disclose “Wherein the training corpus comprises sources code of a software application where at least a portion of the source code has been mutated by an artificial intelligence algorithm and wherein the action is to flag an address on the network as having source code derived from the software application and/or likely having source code derived from the software application”
Briliauskas discloses A training corpus wherein the training corpus comprises sources code of a software application where at least a portion of the source code has been mutated by an artificial intelligence algorithm; (US-20230342466-A1., See Paragraph 0052, 0053 & 0055) 0052 Line 16-17 (“The machine learning models can be trained using training data sets, which may be labeled or unlabeled”) 0053 Line 1-4 (“In some embodiments of the present principles, a machine learning model of the present principles trained to modify a binary structure of binary files can be configured to follow predefined modification rules.”) 0055 (“At 504, a second training set is created of a second plurality of binary files each having a second binary structure that is different from the first binary structure, each of the second plurality of binary files having been produced by altering a source code of each of the first plurality of known binary files, and wherein each altered binary file is functionality similar to a corresponding file in the first plurality of binary files from which it was produced. The method 500 can proceed to 506”)
Therefore, It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen with teaching of Briliauskas. One would be motivated to use ML techniques to scan for malware in order to keep up with cyber threats and ensure robust network security, See generally, Briliauskas, Paragraph (0018).
Chen-Abhayanker-Briliauskas don’t explicitly disclose “Wherein the action is to flag an address on the network as having the source code”
However, Grover disclosed Wherein the action is to flag an address on the network as having the source code derived from the software application and/or likely having source code derived from the software application; (“US 20220058264 A1 See Paragraph 0007 & 0010) 0007 Line 20-25 (“In other cases, determining whether the detected thread pattern variation indicates presence of malware can additionally, or alternatively, comprise comparing 525 network addresses used by a thread having a detected thread pattern variation to previous network addresses used by the thread)., 0010 (One or more actions can be performed based on determining the detected thread pattern variation indicates the presence of malware. For example, performing one or more actions based on determining the detected thread pattern variation indicates the presence of malware can comprise one or more of quarantining a thread having a detected thread pattern variation, blocking a thread having a detected thread pattern variation from accessing resources, flagging a thread having a detected thread pattern variation, providing thread pattern variation identification information and/or others”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen with teaching of Grover. One would be motivated to do so to train an analysis model on application source code including portions mutated by an artificial intelligence algorithm to accurately flag network addresses linked to that software, as it enhances detection accuracy when responding to network addresses that are missing from an authorized list of legitimate software copies.
With regards to dependent Claim 19,
As discussed with Claim 9, claim 19 is similar in scope and rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US 20240112486 A1, Abhayanker, US 20080222308 A1, Omar US 12105755 B1 in view of Grover US 20220058264 A1.
With regards to dependent Claim 7,
As discussed with Claim 1, Chen-Abhayanker teaches all the limitations, they disclosed training corpus (see above), but they don’t explicitly disclose “ Training corpus comprises at least one of: documents, images, videos, and music and wherein the action is to flag an address on the network as having illegal copyrighted material and/or likely having illegal copyrighted material”
Omar teaches Training corpus comprises at least one of: documents, images, videos, and music … having illegal copyrighted material and/or likely having illegal copyrighted material; (US 12105755 B1., See Columns 3 & 2 ) Column 3 Line 45-46 (“The video data may then be used as training data for training machine learning models, for example to classify content within the video catalog.”)
Column 2 Line 51-55 (“The techniques use the various modalities (e.g., audio, video, and text) to enable video clip retrieval. This enables the platform to search for any video content of interest or detect any red flags within a video in terms of copyright infringement or policy violation”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen with teaching of Omar. One would be motivated to use these techniques for security improvement to detect content flagged for infringement or policy violations, thereby securing the network.
Omar don’t explicitly disclose “Wherein the action is to flag an address on the network as having illegal copyrighted material and/or likely having illegal copyrighted material”
However, Grover disclosed Wherein the action is to flag an address on the network…having illegal copyright material; (US 20220058264 A1., See Column 0010) (“One or more actions can be performed based on determining the detected thread pattern variation indicates the presence of malware … a detected thread pattern variation, blocking a thread having a detected thread pattern variation from accessing resources, flagging a thread having a detected thread pattern variation, providing thread pattern variation identification information and/or others”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen with teaching of Grover. One would be motivated to improve network security through the detection of policy violations and illegal copyrighted material, thereby allowing operators to reduce threats by flagging offending addresses and effectively securing the network.
With regards to Claim 18,
As discussed with Claim 7, claim 18 is similar in scope and rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, US 20240112486 A1, Abhayanker US 20080222308 A1, in view of Dalli US 20220012591 A1.
With regards to dependent Claim 10,
As discussed with Claim 1, Chen- Abhayanker teaches all the limitations, they disclosed training corpus (see above), but don’t explicitly disclose “Wherein the training corpus is not source code and wherein at least a portion of the training corpus has been mutated by an artificial intelligence algorithm”
Dalli teaches Wherein the training corpus is not source code … mutated by an artificial intelligence algorithm; (US 20220012591 A1., Paragraph 0004 Line 8-14) (“First (i), if the algorithm is allowed to modify the training data, then pre-processing algorithms can be used. Second (ii), if the algorithm is allowed to change the learning process, then in-processing algorithms can be used. Finally (iii), if the algorithm can only treat the learned model as a black box without any ability to modify the training data or learning algorithm, then only post-processing algorithms can be used”)
Examiner Notes: (The reference includes training data, which is not a source code and points to data sets that are, image, video, etc. See Paragraph 0092 Line 7-10., (In a similar approach, the kernel importance may be calculated across multiple samples (i.e. images), in order to create a global view of the kernel importance, training/test data may be used to test for such bias.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Chen with teaching of Dalli. One would be motivated to do so to use pre-processing algorithms to modify the training data, provided they have the system permissions to alter the dataset before training begins.
Conclusion
should be directed to ZURAIN JAVED whose telephone number is 571-270-0997. The examiner
can normally be reached 10AM - 6PM EST.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicants are
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Matthew Ell can be reached at (571) 270-3264. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ZURAIN JAVED/
Examiner, Art Unit 2141
/MATTHEW ELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2141