Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cyganik et al (FOR no. PL234236, hereinafter “Cyganik,” translation attached) in view of Aviguetero (U.S. PGPUB no. 20210220860, hereinafter “Aviguetero”).
Regarding claim 1, Cyganik discloses a torque transfer system for slotted nuts, the system comprising:
an adapter (block 1 pg 2 [5]-pg 3 [1] Figs 1-2 shown below) comprising an input portion (left seat 1.1 annotated Fig 1-2 below) and an output portion (right seat 1.1 illustrated as being a square shaped protrusion in annotated Fig 1, also shown in annotated Fig 2 and 3 below), the input portion and the output portion being coupled to each other (both seats are coupled together via wall 1.2 pg 2 [5]-pg 3 [1] Fig 2), a cross section of the input portion taken perpendicularly to a central axis of the adapter extending through the input portion and the output portion (central axis shown in annotated Fig 2 below) having a different shape to a cross section of the output portion taken perpendicularly to the central axis (Shown in Fig 3 below there are different modular socket shapes to be placed in the seats of the adapter block pg 2 [5]).
Cyganik fails to disclose a socket being engageable by the output portion of the adapter, the socket comprising a slotted nut engagement portion and a drive engagement portion, the slotted nut engagement portion and the drive engagement portion being coupled to each other, the drive engagement portion defining a drive receptacle which is complementary in shape to the output portion of the adapter, the slotted nut engagement portion having a plurality of pins positioned opposite the drive engagement portion, the plurality of pins being radially spaced from each other around a center axis extending through the slotted nut engagement portion and the drive engagement portion, the plurality of pins being sized and positioned wherein the plurality of pins is configured to engage a plurality of slots of a slotted nut.
Aviguetero is also concerned with torque transfer systems and teaches a socket comprising a slotted nut engagement portion and a drive engagement portion (socket defined as device 36, slotted nut engagement portion defined as open end 42 and the drive engagement portion defined as the first end 40 [0033] [0034] Fig 2 shown below), the slotted nut engagement portion and the drive engagement portion being coupled to each other (ends 40 and 42 are coupled to each other through tube 38 [0033] Fig 2), the slotted nut engagement portion having a plurality of pins positioned opposite the drive engagement portion (defined as the plurality of teeth 46 located on end 42 which is opposite the drive engagement portion [0034] Fig 6), the plurality of pins being radially spaced from each other around a center axis extending through the slotted nut engagement portion and the drive engagement portion (center axis and teeth spacing shown in annotated Fig 6 shown below (Examiner is interpreting radially spaced to correspond to being circumferentially or angularly spaced, consistent with Applicant’s disclosure)), the plurality of pins being sized and positioned wherein the plurality of pins is configured to engage a plurality of slots of a slotted nut (the teeth are configured to engage with a plurality of slots [0034]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a socket like that of Aviguetero to the torque transfer system of Cyganik in order to engage with the slots of a slotted nut. With Aviguetero modifying the torque transfer system of Cyganik, the final claim limitations are met: a socket being engageable by the output portion of the adapter (socket defined as device 36 has aperture 48 positioned in the first end 40 [0034] Figs 4, 6 shown below, which is engageable to the square shaped output portion of Cyganik’s adapter), the drive engagement portion defining a drive receptacle which is complementary in shape to the output portion of the adapter (drive receptacle defined as aperture 48 positioned in the first end 40 [0034] Figs 4, 6 which is complementary in shape to the square shaped output portion 1.1.2 of Cyganik’s adapter seen below in Fig 3).
Cyganik Figs annotated 1-3:
Aviguetero Figs 2, 4 and annotated 6:
Regarding claim 2, Cyganik, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses wherein the cross section of the input portion has a hexagonal shape (as seen in Fig 3 above, the seat 1.1.3 of the input portion is a hexagonal shape pg 2 [5]).
Regarding claim 3, Cyganik, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 2, as described above. However, Cyganik does not explicitly disclose wherein a width of the cross section of the input portion is between 2.0 inches and 2.5 inches.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that a width of the cross section of the input portion between 2.0 and 2.5 inches would result in a difference in function of the Cyganik device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the input portion of the adapter of Cyganik would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended given the claimed width of 2.0 and 2.5 inches. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed range solves any stated problem, offering that in other embodiments the acceptable range of the widths may vary (pg 4 lines 21-22) and therefore applicant has assigned no criticality to the range as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the input portion of the adapter of Cyganik to have a width between 2.0 and 2.5 inches as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 4, Cyganik, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses wherein the cross section of the output portion has a square shape (as seen in Fig 3 above, the seat 1.1.2 of the output portion is a square shape pg 2 [5]).
Regarding claim 5, Cyganik, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 4, as described above, however Cyganik does not explicitly disclose wherein a width of the cross section of the output portion is between 0.7 inches and 0.8 inches.
There is no evidence of record that establishes that a width of the cross section of the output portion between 0.7 and 0.8 inches would result in a difference in function of the Cyganik device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the output portion of the adapter of Cyganik would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended given the claimed width of 0.7 and 0.8 inches. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed range solves any stated problem, offering that in other embodiments the acceptable range of the widths may vary (pg 4 lines 21-22) and therefore applicant has assigned no criticality to the range as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the output portion of the adapter of Cyganik to have a width between 0.7 and 0.8 inches as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Regarding claim 6, Cyganik, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses wherein the input portion is integrally formed with the output portion (both seats are coupled together via wall 1.2 pg 2 [5] Fig 2).
Regarding claim 8, Cyganik, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses that the socket comprises a centering member (defined as the inner circumferential surface of second end 42 as pointed out by annotated Fig 2 below), the centering member being coupled to the slotted nut engagement portion, the centering member being positioned inwardly of the plurality of pins, the centering member having a tubular shape, an inner dimension of the centering member having a size such that the centering member is capable of receiving a shaft into the centering member (inner circumferential surface of second end 42 (centering member) is coupled to open end 42 (slotted engagement portion), is positioned inwardly of the teeth 46 (pins), and generally defines a tubular shape, and is dimensioned such that it is capable of receiving a shaft of compatible dimension [0034] Figs 2, 6).
Annotated Fig 2 of Aviguetero:
Regarding claim 9, Cyganik as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses wherein each pin of the plurality of pins extends away from the drive engagement portion parallel to the center axis (teeth 46 extend away from first end 40 and are shown as parallel to the center axis in annotated Fig. 6 above).
Regarding claim 11, Cyganik as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses wherein the socket has a monolithic structure (the socket has a uniform structure as shown in above figures (*note: examiner interprets monolithic to mean uniform in this context).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cyganik, as modified above, further in view of Zhang et al (U.S. PGPUB no. 20180043512, hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 7, Cyganik, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above. But fails to explicitly disclose wherein the adapter further comprises a retention detent ball mounted to a perimeter wall of the output portion, the retention detent ball being biased away from the output portion.
Zhang is also concerned with a torque transfer system having an adapter, and further teaches that the adapter comprises a retention detent ball mounted to a perimeter wall of the output portion, the retention detent ball being biased away from the output portion (drive shaft 36 (adapter) includes a retention detent ball 52 on the lower portion drive fitting 46 (output portion) which is biased away from the drive fitting exhibited in Figs 5, 9 [0049] [0051]). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the retention detent ball of Zhang to the torque transfer system of Cyganik, as modified, in order to hold and retain the positioning of the adapter when the device is in use.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cyganik, as modified above, further in view of Hauk et al (U.S. Patent no. 3038502, hereinafter “Hauk”).
Regarding claim 10, Cyganik, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Cyganik fails to disclose wherein a perimeter surface of the drive engagement portion tapers away from the slotted nut engagement portion.
Hauk is also concerned with hand tools and teaches a beveled edge (the beveled edge of body 12 as shown in Fig 1, col. 5 lines 42-46). Hauk further explains in this paragraph that the beveled edge will result in a minimum of operator injury or equipment damage (col. 5 lines 42-46). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a beveled edge of Hauk to the torque transfer system of Cyganik, as modified, specifically to the edge exhibited in annotated Fig 1 of Aviguetero below, in order to minimize injury to operators and damage to equipment, as taught by Hauk. One of ordinary skill would understand that this circumferential bevel would define a tapered surface at the drive engagement portion (first end 40), tapering away from the slotted nut engagement portion (open end 42) consistent with the claim limitation: wherein a perimeter surface of the drive engagement portion tapers away from the slotted nut engagement portion.
Annotated Fig 1 of Aviguetero:
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cyganik, as modified above, further in view of Barzelay (U.S. PGPUB no. 20180272512, hereinafter “Barzelay”).
Regarding claim 12, Cyganik, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Cyganik fails to disclose a torque multiplier, the torque multiplier being engageable to the input portion of the adapter, the torque multiplier comprising:
a housing;
an input member being mounted in the housing, the input member being rotatable with respect to the housing around a medial axis extending through the input member, the input member defining an input receptacle, the input receptacle having a hexagonal cross section taken perpendicularly to the medial axis extending through the input member;
an output member being mounted in the housing, the output member being rotatable with respect to the housing around the medial axis, the output member defining an output receptacle, the output receptacle being complementary in shape to the input portion of the adapter; and
a gear system being operatively coupled to the input member and the output member wherein the gear system is configured to magnify an input torque applied to the input member to a multiplied torque applied by the output member.
Barzelay is also concerned with torque wrenches and teaches a torque multiplier (torque multiplier 92 [0029] Fig 6-7), the torque multiplier comprising:
a housing (housing 30 [0029] Fig 6-7);
an input member being mounted in the housing, the input member being rotatable with respect to the housing around a medial axis extending through the input member, the input member defining an input receptacle, the input receptacle having a hexagonal cross section taken perpendicularly to the medial axis extending through the input member (input member defined as the top end of drive fitting 22, 22 rotatable via planet carrier 94 [0031] Fig 7, input receptacle defined as the interior surface of the top end of 22, input receptacle having a hexagonal cross section as shown by Fig 1 (Fig 1 is used here as an example to illustrate the hexagonal shape, however the embodiment of Fig 7 is what is being mapped here) [0017]);
an output member being mounted in the housing, the output member being rotatable with respect to the housing around the medial axis, the output member defining an output receptacle (output member defined as the bottom end of drive fitting 22, 22 rotatable via planet carrier 94 [0031] Fig 7, output receptacle defined as the interior surface of the bottom end of 22);
and a gear system being operatively coupled to the input member and the output member wherein the gear system is configured to magnify an input torque applied to the input member to a multiplied torque applied by the output member (gear system including planet gears 96, sun gear 106, planet carrier 94, ring gear 108, and gear train 28, which is coupled to the input and output member and magnifies an input torque to a multiplied output torque Figs 6-7 [0030]-[0031]). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the torque multiplier of Barzelay to the torque transfer system of Cyganik in order to increase torque exerted on the work piece. With Barzelay modifying the torque transfer system of Cyganik, as modified above, the final claim limitations are met: the torque multiplier being engageable to the input portion of the adapter (engageable with the input portion of an adapter like Cyganik’s via the matching hexagonal shape of the input and output members of the torque multiplier housing with the hexagonal shape of the input portion of the adapter), the output receptacle being complementary in shape to the input portion of the adapter (output receptacle having a hexagonal cross section as shown by Fig 1 (Fig 1 is used here as an example to illustrate the hexagonal shape, however the embodiment of Fig 7 is what is being mapped here) [0017] which complements the shape of the instant application’s preferred embodiment of the input portion).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cyganik, as modified above, in view of Johnson (GB 2563067, hereinafter “Johnson”).
Regarding claim 13, Cyganik, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 12, as described above. Cyganik fails to disclose wherein the torque multiplier further comprises a reaction arm being coupled to the housing, the reaction arm extending radially away from the housing.
Johnson is also concerned with torque wrenches and teaches wherein the torque multiplier further comprises a reaction arm (torque wrench (1) has a reaction arm (2) [Abstract] Fig 1a shown below). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the reaction arm of Johnson to the torque transfer system of Cyganik in order to prevent rotation of the housing relative to the shaft, which one of ordinary skill in the art understands is the purpose of adding a reaction arm to a torque wrench. With Johnson modifying the torque transfer system of Cyganik, as modified above, the final claim limitations are met: being coupled to the housing, the reaction arm extending radially away from the housing (the reaction arm (2) like that of Johnson coupled to the housing of the torque multiplier housing (described above) would extend radially away from the housing).
Fig 1a of Johnson:
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cyganik in view of Aviguetero, further in view of Zhang, further in view of Hauk, further in view of Barzelay, and further in view of Johnson.
Regarding claim 14, Cyganik discloses a torque transfer system for slotted nuts, the system comprising:
an adapter (block 1 pg 2 [5] Figs 1-2 shown above) comprising an input portion (left seat 1.1 denoted by annotated Fig 1-2 above) and an output portion (right seat 1.1 illustrated as being a square shaped protrusion in annotated Fig 1, also shown in annotated Fig 2 and 3 above),
the input portion and the output portion being coupled to each other (both seats are coupled together via wall 1.2 pg 2 [5] Fig 2),
the input portion having a hexagonal cross section taken perpendicularly to a central axis of the adapter which extends through the input portion and the output portion (central axis shown in annotated Fig 2 shown above; as seen in Fig 3 above, the seat 1.1.3 of the input portion is a hexagonal shape pg 2 [5]),
the output portion having a square cross section taken perpendicularly to the central axis (as seen in Fig 3 above, the seat 1.1.2 of the output portion is a square shape pg 2 [5]),
a width of the input portion being between 2.0 inches and 2.5 inches (There is no evidence of record that establishes that a width of the cross section of the input portion between 2.0 and 2.5 inches would result in a difference in function of the Cyganik device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the input portion of the adapter of Cyganik would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended given the claimed width of 2.0 and 2.5 inches. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed range solves any stated problem, offering that in other embodiments the acceptable range of the widths may vary (pg 4 lines 21-22) and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the range as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the input portion of the adapter of Cyganik to have a width between 2.0 and 2.5 inches as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.),
a width of the output portion being between 0.7 inches and 0.8 inches (There is no evidence of record that establishes that a width of the cross section of the output portion between 0.7 and 0.8 inches would result in a difference in function of the Cyganik device. Further, a person having ordinary skill in the art, being faced with modifying the output portion of the adapter of Cyganik would have a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification and it appears the device would function as intended given the claimed width of 0.7 and 0.8 inches. Lastly, applicant has not disclosed that the claimed range solves any stated problem, offering that in other embodiments the acceptable range of the widths may vary (pg 4 lines 21-22) and therefore there appears to be no criticality placed on the range as claimed such that it produces an unexpected result. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the output portion of the adapter of Cyganik to have a width between 0.7 and 0.8 inches as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.), the input portion being integrally formed with the output portion (both seats are coupled together via wall 1.2 pg 2 [5] Fig 2).
Cyganik fails to disclose: the adapter further comprising a retention detent ball mounted to a perimeter wall of the output portion, the retention detent ball being biased away from the output portion;
a socket being engageable by the output portion of the adapter, the socket comprising a slotted nut engagement portion and a drive engagement portion, the slotted nut engagement portion and the drive engagement portion being coupled to each other, the drive engagement portion defining a drive receptacle which is complementary in shape to the output portion of the adapter, the slotted nut engagement portion having a plurality of pins positioned opposite the drive engagement portion, the plurality of pins being radially spaced from each other around a center axis extending through the slotted nut engagement portion and the drive engagement portion, the plurality of pins being sized and positioned wherein the plurality of pins is configured to engage a plurality of slots of a slotted nut, the socket further comprising a centering member, the centering member being coupled to the slotted nut engagement portion, the centering member being positioned inwardly of the plurality of pins, the centering member having a tubular shape, an inner dimension of the centering member having a size such that the centering member is configured to receive a shaft into the centering member, each pin of the plurality of pins extending away from the drive engagement portion parallel to the center axis, a perimeter surface of the drive engagement portion tapering away from the slotted nut engagement portion, the socket having a monolithic structure;
and a torque multiplier being engageable to the input portion of the adapter, the torque multiplier comprising:
a housing;
an input member being mounted in the housing, the input member being rotatable with respect to the housing around a medial axis extending through the input member, the input member defining an input receptacle, the input receptacle having a hexagonal cross section taken perpendicularly to the medial axis extending through the input member;
an output member being mounted in the housing, the output member being rotatable with respect to the housing around the medial axis, the output member defining an output receptacle, the output receptacle being complementary in shape to the input portion of the adapter;
a gear system being operatively coupled to the input member and the output member wherein the gear system is configured to magnify an input torque applied to the input member to a multiplied torque applied by the output member;
and a reaction arm being coupled to the housing, the reaction arm extending radially away from the housing.
Aviguetero is also concerned with torque transfer systems and teaches the socket comprising a slotted nut engagement portion and a drive engagement portion (socket defined as device 36, slotted nut engagement portion defined as open end 42 and the drive engagement portion defined as the first end 40 [0033] [0034] Fig 2 shown above),
the slotted nut engagement portion and the drive engagement portion being coupled to each other (ends 40 and 42 are coupled to each other through tube 38 [0033] Fig 2),
the slotted nut engagement portion having a plurality of pins positioned opposite the drive engagement portion (defined as the plurality of teeth 46 located on end 42 which is opposite the drive engagement portion [0034] Fig 6),
the plurality of pins being radially spaced from each other around a center axis extending through the slotted nut engagement portion and the drive engagement portion (center axis and teeth spacing shown in annotated Fig 6 shown below (Examiner is interpreting radially spaced to correspond to being circumferentially or angularly spaced, consistent with Applicant’s disclosure)),
the plurality of pins being sized and positioned wherein the plurality of pins is configured to engage a plurality of slots of a slotted nut (the teeth are configured to engage with a plurality of slots [0034]),
the socket further comprising a centering member, the centering member being coupled to the slotted nut engagement portion, the centering member being positioned inwardly of the plurality of pins, the centering member having a tubular shape, an inner dimension of the centering member having a size such that the centering member is configured to receive a shaft into the centering member (inner circumferential surface of second end 42 (centering member) is coupled to open end 42 (slotted engagement portion), is positioned inwardly of the teeth 46 (pins), and generally defines a tubular shape, and is dimensioned such that it can receive a shaft of compatible dimension [0034] Figs 2, 6),
each pin of the plurality of pins extending away from the drive engagement portion parallel to the center axis (teeth 46 extend away from first end 40 and are shown as parallel to the center axis in annotated Fig. 6 above),
the socket having a monolithic structure (the socket has a uniform structure as shown in above figures (*note: examiner interprets monolithic to mean uniform in this context).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a socket like that of Aviguetero to the torque transfer system of Cyganik in order to engage with the slots of a slotted nut. With Aviguetero modifying the torque transfer system of Cyganik, the final claim limitations are met: a socket being engageable by the output portion of the adapter (socket defined as device 36 has aperture 48 positioned in the first end 40 [0034] Figs 4, 6 shown above, which is engageable to the square shaped output portion of Cyganik’s adapter),
the drive engagement portion defining a drive receptacle which is complementary in shape to the output portion of the adapter (drive receptacle defined as aperture 48 positioned in the first end 40 [0034] Figs 4, 6 which is complementary in shape to the square shaped output portion 1.1.2 of Cyganik’s adapter seen above in Fig 3).
Zhang is also concerned with torque transfer systems and teaches the adapter further comprising a retention detent ball mounted to a perimeter wall of the output portion, the retention detent ball being biased away from the output portion (drive shaft 36 (adapter) includes a retention detent ball 52 on the lower portion drive fitting 46 (output portion) which is biased away from the drive fitting exhibited in Figs 5, 9 [0049] [0051]). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a retention detent ball like that of Zhang to the torque transfer system of Cyganik in order to hold and retain the positioning of the adapter when the device is in use.
Hauk is also concerned with hand tools and teaches a beveled edge (the beveled edge of body 12 as shown in Fig 1, col. 5 lines 42-46). Hauk further explains in this paragraph that the beveled edge will result in a minimum of operator injury or equipment damage (col. 5 lines 42-46). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a beveled edge of Hauk to the torque transfer system of Cyganik, as modified, specifically to the edge exhibited in annotated Fig 1 of Aviguetero above, in order to minimize injury to operators and damage to equipment, as taught by Hauk. One of ordinary skill would understand that this circumferential bevel would define a tapered surface at the drive engagement portion (first end 40), tapering away from the slotted nut engagement portion (open end 42) consistent with the claim limitation: wherein a perimeter surface of the drive engagement portion tapers away from the slotted nut engagement portion.
Barzelay is also concerned with torque wrenches and teaches a torque multiplier (torque multiplier 92 [0029] Fig 6-7) the torque multiplier comprising:
a housing (housing 30 [0029] Fig 6-7);
an input member being mounted in the housing, the input member being rotatable with respect to the housing around a medial axis extending through the input member, the input member defining an input receptacle, the input receptacle having a hexagonal cross section taken perpendicularly to the medial axis extending through the input member (input member defined as the top end of drive fitting 22, 22 rotatable via planet carrier 94 [0031] Fig 7, input receptacle defined as the interior surface of the top end of 22, input receptacle having a hexagonal cross section as shown by Fig 1 (Fig 1 is used here as an example to illustrate the hexagonal shape, however the embodiment of Fig 7 is what is being mapped here) [0017]);
an output member being mounted in the housing, the output member being rotatable with respect to the housing around the medial axis, the output member defining an output receptacle (output member defined as the bottom end of drive fitting 22, 22 rotatable via planet carrier 94 [0031] Fig 7, output receptacle defined as the interior surface of the bottom end of 22);
a gear system being operatively coupled to the input member and the output member wherein the gear system is configured to magnify an input torque applied to the input member to a multiplied torque applied by the output member (gear system including planet gears 96, sun gear 106, planet carrier 94, ring gear 108, and gear train 28, which is coupled to the input and output member and magnifies an input torque to a multiplied output torque Figs 6-7 [0030]-[0031]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a torque multiplier like that of Barzelay to the torque transfer system of Cyganik in order to increase torque exerted on the work piece. With Barzelay modifying the torque transfer system of Cyganik, as modified above, the final claim limitations are met: the torque multiplier being engageable to the input portion of the adapter (engageable with the input portion of an adapter like Cyganik’s via the matching hexagonal shape of the input and output members of the torque multiplier housing with the hexagonal shape of the input portion of the adapter),
the output receptacle being complementary in shape to the input portion of the adapter (output receptacle having a hexagonal cross section as shown by Fig 1 (Fig 1 is used here as an example to illustrate the hexagonal shape, however the embodiment of Fig 7 is what is being mapped here) [0017] which complements the shape of the instant application’s preferred embodiment of the input portion).
Johnson is also concerned with torque wrenches and teaches a reaction arm (torque wrench (1) has a reaction arm (2) [Abstract] Fig 1a shown below). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a reaction arm like that of Johnson to the torque transfer system of Cyganik in order to prevent rotation of the housing relative to the shaft, which one of ordinary skill in the art understands is the purpose of adding a reaction arm to a torque wrench. With Johnson modifying the torque transfer system of Cyganik, as modified above, the final claim limitations are met: being coupled to the housing, the reaction arm extending radially away from the housing (the reaction arm (2) like that of Johnson coupled to the housing of the torque multiplier housing (described above) would extend radially away from the housing).
Conclusion
/JOHN MICHAEL LARSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723