DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Freda et al (US 2025/0294625).
For claim 1, R1 discloses (Fig 1) a relay User Equipment (UE) connects with a network node (paragraphs 76-77, 128-129,139-146, 160, 196, 211, 239, Fig 4-5 relay); the relay UE connects with a remote UE via a non-3GPP standard interface (paragraphs 76-77, 128-129,139-146, 160, 196, 211, 239, Fig 4-5 non-3GPP); the relay UE is configured with a Radio Link Control (RLC) entity associated with an indirect bearer of the remote UE by the network node (paragraphs 76-77, 128-129,139-146, 160, 196, 211, 239, Fig 4-5 RLC with indirect association); and the relay UE transmits a buffer status report (BSR) to the network node, wherein the BSR includes data volume in a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity and the RLC entity and wherein the PDCP entity is associated with the indirect bearer and is established in the remote UE (paragraphs 76-77, 128-129,139-146, 160, 196, 211, 239, Fig 4-5 transmits a BSR which includes a volume of data in an indirect PDCP entity).
For claim 2, R1 discloses the indirect bearer is a radio bearer configured to the remote UE and mapped to an indirect path via the relay UE (paragraphs 76-77, 128-129,139-146, 160, 196, 211, 239, Fig 4-5 indirect bearer mapped to indirect paths).
For claim 3, R1 discloses the indirect bearer is associated with a logical channel in the relay UE and the logical channel belongs to a logical channel group (LCG) (paragraphs 76-77, 128-129,139-146, 160, 196, 211, 239, Fig 4-5 Uu).
For claim 4, R1 discloses a control circuit (Fig 1B); a processor installed in the control circuit (Fig 1B); and a memory installed in the control circuit and operatively coupled to the processor (Fig 1B); wherein the processor is configured to execute a program code stored in the memory to (paragraphs 28-29, 284): connect with a network node (paragraphs 76-77, 128-129,139-146, 160, 196, 211, 239, Fig 4-5); connect with a remote UE via a non-3GPP standard interface (paragraphs 76-77, 128-129,139-146, 160, 196, 211, 239, Fig 4-5); be configured with a Radio Link Control (RLC) entity associated with an indirect bearer of the remote UE by the network node (paragraphs 76-77, 128-129,139-146, 160, 196, 211, 239, Fig 4-5); and transmit a buffer status report (BSR) to the network node, wherein the BSR includes data volume in a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity and the RLC entity and wherein the PDCP entity is associated with the indirect bearer and is established in the remote UE (paragraphs 76-77, 128-129,139-146, 160, 196, 211, 239, Fig 4-5).
For claim 5, R1 discloses the indirect bearer is a radio bearer configured to the remote UE and mapped to an indirect path via the relay UE (paragraphs 76-77, 128-129,139-146, 160, 196, 211, 239, Fig 4-5).
For claim 6, R1 discloses the indirect bearer is associated with a logical channel in the relay UE and the logical channel belongs to a logical channel group (LCG) (paragraphs 76-77, 128-129,139-146, 160, 196, 211, 239, Fig 4-5).
For claim 7, R1 discloses a remote User Equipment (UE) communicates with a network node via a direct path and an indirect path (paragraphs 70, 76-77, 128-129,139-146, 160, 196, 211, 239, Fig 4-5); the remote UE connects with a relay UE via a non-3GPP standard interface to support the indirect path (paragraphs 76-77, 128-129,139-146, 160, 196, 211, 239, Fig 4-5); the remote UE is configured with an indirect bearer by the network node, wherein the indirect bearer is mapped to a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity in the remote UE and a Radio Link Control (RLC) entity in the relay UE (paragraphs 76-77, 128-129,139-146, 160, 196, 211, 239, Fig 4-5); and the remote UE transmits a buffer status report (BSR) to the network node over the direct path, wherein the BSR includes data volume in the PDCP entity and the RLC entity (paragraphs 76-77, 128-129,139-146, 160, 196, 211, 239, Fig 4-5).
For claim 8, R1 discloses the indirect bearer is a radio bearer mapped to the indirect path (paragraphs 76-77, 128-129,139-146, 160, 196, 211, 239, Fig 4-5).
For claim 9, R1 discloses the indirect bearer is associated with a logical channel in the relay UE and the logical channel belongs to a logical channel group (LCG) (paragraphs 76-77, 128-129,139-146, 160, 196, 211, 239, Fig 4-5).
For claim 10, R1 discloses a network node communicates with a remote User Equipment (UE) via a direct path and an indirect path (paragraphs 76-77, 128-129,139-146, 160, 196, 211, 239, Fig 4-5); the network node connects with a relay UE to support the indirect path (paragraphs 76-77, 128-129,139-146, 160, 196, 211, 239, Fig 4-5); the network node configures an indirect bearer to the remote UE, wherein the indirect bearer is mapped to a Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) entity in the remote UE (paragraphs 76-77, 128-129,139-146, 160, 196, 211, 239, Fig 4-5); the network node configures a Radio Link Control (RLC) entity to the relay UE, wherein the RLC entity is associated with the indirect bearer (paragraphs 76-77, 128-129,139-146, 160, 196, 211, 239, Fig 4-5); and the network node receives a buffer status report (BSR) from the remote UE or the relay UE, wherein the BSR includes data volume in the PDCP entity and the RLC entity (paragraphs 76-77, 128-129,139-146, 160, 196, 211, 239, Fig 4-5).
For claim 11, R1 discloses a non-3GPP standard interface is used between the remote UE and the relay UE (paragraphs 76-77, 128-129,139-146, 160, 196, 211, 239, Fig 4-5).
For claim 12, R1 discloses the indirect bearer is a radio bearer mapped to the indirect path (paragraphs 76-77, 128-129,139-146, 160, 196, 211, 239, Fig 4-5).
For claim 13, R1 discloses the indirect bearer is associated with a logical channel in the relay UE and the logical channel belongs to a logical channel group (LCG) (paragraphs 76-77, 128-129,139-146, 160, 196, 211, 239, Fig 4-5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Xu et al (US 11831448) discloses buffer status reports.
/CHRISTOPHER R CROMPTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463