DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is a reply to the RCE filed on 8/3/2026. Currently, claims 1-16 and 18-20 are pending. Claim 17 has been cancelled. No claims have been withdrawn. No new claims have been added.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The Replacement Drawing filed on 5/28/2026 is acceptable for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 4217200 A1 (‘DE ‘200’) in view of Yamada (US 6032421).
Claim 1, DE ‘200 teaches a portable housing (the housing is prefabricated and thus is suitable to be portable, as exceedingly broadly claimed), comprising:
a roof (annotated Fig. 6 of DE ‘200 shown below in Examiner’s Notes), a floor (annotated Fig. 6), side walls (annotated Fig. 6) attached to the floor (annotated Fig. 6), and at least one door (15; Figs. 5-6) formed within at least one of the side walls (15 is formed within an upper portion of the side walls; Figs. 5-6); and
a lift (3; annotated Fig. 6) installed on the floor of the portable housing by vertical lift support beams (annotated Fig. 6), the lift including a platform (annotated Fig. 6) adapted to move by operation of the lift in a range of vertical positions together with the roof coupled to the platform via a plurality of vertical roof supports (note that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the platform is suitable to move by operation of the lift in a range of vertical positions together with the roof coupled to the platform via the plurality of vertical roof supports; annotated Fig. 6) extending upward from a connection to the platform (connection between the vertical lift support beams and the platform; annotated Fig. 6) creating a first covered storage space between the platform and the roof (note that such movement is not positively recited and thus not required due to recitation of “adapted to”, but that DE ‘200 is nonetheless suitable for such movement by operation of the lift in a range of vertical positions as shown in Fig. 5-6), wherein the platform can be mechanically raised or lowered along the vertical lift support beams with respect to the floor to various vertical positions within the portable housing thereby creating a second covered storage space between the floor and the platform (see two platform positions each defining a covered storage space shown in Figs. 5 and 6).
DE ‘200 does not teach skids mounted to a support frame beneath the floor, wherein the skids are adapted to enable loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location.
However, Yamada teaches a portable housing, comprising skids (203/203a and/or 204/204a; Figs. 14-20) mounted to a support frame beneath the floor (bottom of 1a/1b or alternatively 100; Figs. 14-20), wherein the skids are adapted to enable loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location (it is understood that the skids are suitable to permit loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location, as exceedingly broadly claimed; Figs. 14-20). In the event that applicant disagrees that the housing is portable, Yamada teaches the portable housing being portable (“for handling and transportation” col. 22, lines 29-34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the portable housing to be portable and to include skids mounted to a support frame beneath the floor, wherein the skids are adapted to enable loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location, with the reasonable expectation of success of using a known means to transport the portable housing, since it has been previously held that making a device portable or movable is within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Lindberg, 194 F.2d 732, 93 USPQ 23 (CCPA 1952) (Fact that a claimed device is portable or movable is not sufficient by itself to patentably distinguish over an otherwise old device unless there are new or unexpected results.).
Claim 5, DE ‘200 further teaches wherein the lift is adapted to enable covered storage of two vehicles within the portable housing with a first of the two vehicles supported by and raised on the lift platform and the second vehicle parked beneath the first vehicle and platform when the platform is raised within the portable housing (Figs. 5-6).
Claim 6, DE ‘200 further teaches wherein the at least one door can be provided as at least one of a roll-up door, swing out door, a slide door or hanger door such that opening of the door does not interfere with the lift or storage areas within the portable housing (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, it is understood that the door—“garage door”—is considered a swing out door, as the door opens upward to open and does not interfere with the lift or roof area above the lift; Figs. 5-6).
Claim(s) 1 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 4217200 A1 (‘DE ‘200’) in view of KR 101884995 B1 (‘KR ‘995’).
Claim 1, DE ‘200 teaches a portable housing (the housing is prefabricated and thus is suitable to be portable, as exceedingly broadly claimed), comprising:
a roof (annotated Fig. 6 of DE ‘200 shown below in Examiner’s Notes), a floor (annotated Fig. 6), side walls (annotated Fig. 6) attached to the floor (annotated Fig. 6), and at least one door (15; Figs. 5-6) formed within at least one of the side walls (15 is formed within an upper portion of the side walls; Figs. 5-6); and
a lift (3; annotated Fig. 6) installed on the floor of the portable housing by vertical lift support beams (annotated Fig. 6), the lift including a platform (annotated Fig. 6) adapted to move by operation of the lift in a range of vertical positions together with the roof coupled to the platform via a plurality of vertical roof supports (note that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the platform is suitable to move by operation of the lift in a range of vertical positions together with the roof coupled to the platform via the plurality of vertical roof supports; annotated Fig. 6) extending upward from a connection to the platform (connection between the vertical lift support beams and the platform; annotated Fig. 6) creating a first covered storage space between the platform and the roof (note that such movement is not positively recited and thus not required due to recitation of “adapted to”, but that DE ‘200 is nonetheless suitable for such movement by operation of the lift in a range of vertical positions as shown in Fig. 5-6), wherein the platform can be mechanically raised or lowered along the vertical lift support beams with respect to the floor to various vertical positions within the portable housing thereby creating a second covered storage space between the floor and the platform (see two platform positions each defining a covered storage space shown in Figs. 5 and 6).
DE ‘200 does not teach skids mounted to a support frame beneath the floor, wherein the skids are adapted to enable loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location.
However, KR ‘995 teaches a portable housing, comprising skids (pallet 103 with grooves 105; Fig. 1) mounted to a support frame beneath the floor (at 107; Fig. 1), wherein the skids are adapted to enable loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location (it is understood that the skids are suitable to permit loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location, as exceedingly broadly claimed; Fig.1). In the event that applicant disagrees that the housing is portable, KR ‘995 teaches the portable housing being portable (“mobile house” abstract; Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the portable housing to be portable and to include skids mounted to a support frame beneath the floor, wherein the skids are adapted to enable loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location, with the reasonable expectation of success of using a known means to transport the portable housing, since it has been previously held that making a device portable or movable is within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Lindberg, 194 F.2d 732, 93 USPQ 23 (CCPA 1952) (Fact that a claimed device is portable or movable is not sufficient by itself to patentably distinguish over an otherwise old device unless there are new or unexpected results.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the portable housing to include skids mounted to a support frame beneath the floor, wherein the skids are adapted to enable loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location, with the reasonable expectation of success of using a known means to transport the portable housing.
Claim 5, DE ‘200 further teaches wherein the lift is adapted to enable covered storage of two vehicles within the portable housing with a first of the two vehicles supported by and raised on the lift platform and the second vehicle parked beneath the first vehicle and platform when the platform is raised within the portable housing (Figs. 5-6).
Claim 6, DE ‘200 further teaches wherein the at least one door can be provided as at least one of a roll-up door, swing out door, a slide door or hanger door such that opening of the door does not interfere with the lift or storage areas within the portable housing (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, it is understood that the door—“garage door”—is considered a swing out door, as the door opens upward to open and does not interfere with the lift or roof area above the lift; Figs. 5-6).
Claim(s) 1 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 29914542 U1 (‘DE ‘542’) in view of DE 4217200 A1 (‘DE ‘200’) and further in view of Bigelow, Jr. (US 3095616) (‘Bigelow’).
Claim 1, DE ‘542 teaches a portable housing (the housing is prefabricated and thus is suitable to be portable, as exceedingly broadly claimed), comprising:
a roof 2, a floor 14, side walls (side walls of 1; Fig. 1) attached to the floor (Fig. 1), and at least one door (“garage door” that may use a “garage door drive” if necessary; specification) formed within at least one of the side walls (it is understood that the garage door is formed in the garage door opening 15; Fig. 1); and
a lift (“lifting device” comprising columns 3 and 4; specification; Figs.1-3) installed on the floor of the portable housing by vertical lift support beams (1 and 3), the lift including a platform 5 adapted to move by operation of the lift in a range of vertical positions (the platform can move in a range of vertical positions via pull chains and/or a common motor gear unit; specification) creating a first covered storage space between the platform and the roof (upper space; Figs. 1 and 6), wherein the platform can be mechanically raised or lowered along the vertical lift support beams with respect to the floor to various vertical positions within the portable housing thereby creating a second covered storage space between the floor and the platform (lower space; Figs. 1 and 6).
DE ‘542 does not teach the platform being adapted to move together with the roof coupled to the platform via a plurality of vertical roof supports extending upward from a connection to the platform, and does not teach skids mounted to a support frame beneath the floor, wherein the skids are adapted to enable loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location.
However, DE ‘200 teaches a housing comprising a platform comprising a lift (3; annotated Fig. 6 shown below in Examiner’s Notes) installed on the floor of the portable housing by vertical lift support beams (annotated Fig. 6), the lift including a platform (annotated Fig. 6) adapted to move by operation of the lift in a range of vertical positions together with the roof coupled to the platform via a plurality of vertical roof supports (note that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the platform is suitable to move by operation of the lift in a range of vertical positions together with the roof coupled to the platform via the plurality of vertical roof supports; annotated Fig. 6) extending upward from a connection to the platform (connection between the vertical lift support beams and the platform; annotated Fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the invention, to modify the portable housing such that the platform is adapted to move together with the roof coupled to the platform via a plurality of vertical roof supports extending upward from a connection to the platform, and does not teach skids mounted to a support frame beneath the floor, wherein the skids are adapted to enable loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location, with the reasonable expectation of success of minimizing the space taken up by the portable housing while the upper lift is not in use, and/or to further seal the upper portion of the portable housing to further prevent rain or moisture from coming into the structure when the upper lift is not in use, and/or to increase the portability of the structure during transportation.
Bigelow teaches a portable housing, comprising skids 10 mounted to a support frame (frame shown in Figs. 5-6 including portions 12, 14, 16) beneath a floor 38, wherein the skids are adapted to enable loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location (it is understood that the skids are suitable to permit loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location, as exceedingly broadly claimed; col. 5, lines 25-40; Figs.1-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the portable housing to include skids mounted to a support frame beneath the floor, wherein the skids are adapted to enable loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location, with the reasonable expectation of success of using a known means to transport the portable housing.
Claim 5, DE ‘542 further teaches wherein the lift is adapted to enable covered storage of two vehicles within the portable housing with a first of the two vehicles supported by and raised on the lift platform and the second vehicle parked beneath the first vehicle and platform when the platform is raised within the portable housing (Fig. 6).
Claim 6, DE ‘542 further teaches wherein the at least one door can be provided as at least one of a roll-up door, swing out door, a slide door or hanger door such that opening of the door does not interfere with the lift or storage areas within the portable housing (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, it is understood that the door—“garage door”—is considered a swing out door or roll up door, as the door opens upward to open and does not interfere with the lift or roof area above the lift; Figs. 1-6).
Claim(s) 2, 4, 7-12, 14-16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 4217200 A1 (‘DE ‘200’) in view of Yamada (US 6032421) and further in view of Markel (US 3161433).
Claim 2, DE ‘200 further teaches upper wall (portions 14 form a “closed upper shell”; Figs. 5-6) and the roof 16 comprising downwardly extending panels located inwardly of the wall 14 (Figs. 5-6). DE ‘200 does not teach a weather barrier including a fabric material attached near an outer perimeter of the roof and upper interior surfaces of the side walls to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls. However, Markel teaches a portable housing, comprising side walls (42 first, 42 second, 46, 48) and a weather barrier (86, 88, 90, 92) including a fabric material (“waterproof fabric”) attached near an outer perimeter of a roof 20 and upper interior surfaces of the side walls (note that the connection to the side walls was treated as upper interior surfaces of the side walls) to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (it is understood that the fabric material is attached near an outer perimeter of the roof and upper interior surfaces of the side walls to prevent weather elements from entering the housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls; col. 3, lines 20-46; Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the housing such that a weather barrier including a fabric material is attached near an outer perimeter of the roof and upper interior surfaces of the side walls to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls, with the reasonable expectation of success of utilizing a known roof extension material to protect the interior of the portable housing.
Claim 4, as modified above, the combination of DE ‘200, Yamada and Markel teaches all the limitations of claim 2, and further teaches wherein the weather barrier material is provided as canvas (Markel “canvas” col. 3, line 39) attached at an outer perimeter of the roof and near upper interior surfaces of the side walls (DE ‘200 Figs. 5-6; Markel Figs. 1 and 3-4) and presents a weather barrier (DE ‘200 walls of 16; Markel “waterproof fabric” col. 3, line 39) up to a maximum raised level of the roof (DE ‘200 Figs. 5-6; Markel Figs. 1 and 3-4) and is adapted to self-retract into the portable housing when the roof is lowered back into contact with the portable housing side walls (DE ‘200 it is understood that the weather barrier is suitable to self-retract into the portable housing when the roof is lowered back into contact with the housing walls, with the electric motor or hydraulic pump Figs. 5-6).
Claim 7, DE ‘200 teaches a portable housing (the housing is prefabricated and thus is suitable to be portable, as exceedingly broadly claimed), comprising:
a roof (see annotated Fig. 6 shown below in Examiner’s Notes), a floor (annotated Fig. 6), side walls (annotated Fig. 6) attached to the floor (annotated Fig. 6) and at least one door (15; Figs. 5-6) formed within at least one of the side walls (the door is formed within an upper portion of the side walls; annotated Fig. 6); and
a lift (annotated Fig. 6) installed on the floor of the portable housing by vertical lift support beams (annotated Figs. 5-6) including a platform (annotated Fig. 6) adapted to move by operation of the lift in a range of vertical positions together with the roof coupled to the platform via a plurality of vertical roof supports extending upward from a connection to the platform creating a first covered storage space between the platform and the roof (note that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, DE ‘200’s platform is nonetheless suitable to move by operation of the lift in a range of vertical positions together with the roof coupled to the platform via a plurality of vertical roof supports extending upward from a connection to the platform creating a first covered storage space between the platform and the roof, as two platforms defining storage areas are movable along a vertical axis; as exceedingly broadly claimed; Figs. 5-6), wherein the platform can be mechanically raised or lowered along the vertical lift support beams with respect to the floor to various vertical positions within the housing thereby creating a second covered storage space between the floor and the platform (it is understood that the platform is suitable to be mechanically raised or lowered along the vertical lift support beams with respect to the floor to various vertical positions within the housing thereby creating a second covered storage space between the floor and the platform; Figs. 5-6); and
a weather barrier (side walls of the roof when extended as shown in Fig. 6) attached to an outer perimeter of the roof (Figs. 5-6) to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (Fig. 6).
DE ‘200 does not teach skids mounted to a support frame beneath the floor, wherein the skids are adapted to enable loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location.
However, Yamada teaches a portable housing, comprising skids (203/203a and/or 204/204a; Figs. 14-20) mounted to a support frame beneath the floor (bottom of 1a/1b or alternatively 100; Figs. 14-20), wherein the skids are adapted to enable loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location (it is understood that the skids are suitable to permit loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location, as exceedingly broadly claimed; Figs. 14-20). In the event that applicant disagrees that the housing is portable, Yamada teaches the portable housing being portable (“for handling and transportation” col. 22, lines 29-34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the portable housing to be portable and to include skids mounted to a support frame beneath the floor, wherein the skids are adapted to enable loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location, with the reasonable expectation of success of using a known means to transport the portable housing, since it has been previously held that making a device portable or movable is within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Lindberg, 194 F.2d 732, 93 USPQ 23 (CCPA 1952) (Fact that a claimed device is portable or movable is not sufficient by itself to patentably distinguish over an otherwise old device unless there are new or unexpected results.).
In the event that applicant disagrees that DE ‘200 provides such weather barrier, the examiner takes the position that such weather barriers are known in the art. Markel teaches a weather barrier (86, 88, 90, 92) attached to an outer perimeter of a roof 20 to prevent weather elements from entering a portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (it is understood that the fabric material is attached to a perimeter of the roof to prevent weather elements from entering the housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls; col. 3, lines 20-46; Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the housing such that a weather barrier is attached to an outer perimeter of the roof to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls, with the reasonable expectation of success of utilizing a known roof extension material to protect the interior of the housing.
Claim 8, DE ‘200 further teaches wherein the lift is adapted to enable covered storage of two vehicles within the portable housing with a first of the two vehicles supported by and raised on the platform and the second vehicle parked on the floor beneath the first vehicle and the platform when the platform is raised within the portable housing (Figs. 5-6).
Claim 9, DE ‘200 further teaches wherein the at least one door can be provided as at least one of a roll-up door, swing out door, a slide door or hanger door such that opening of the door does not interfere with the lift or areas within the portable housing (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, it is understood that the door—“garage door”—is considered a swing-out door, as the door opens upward to open and does not interfere with the lift or areas within the portable housing; Figs. 5-6).
Claim 10, DE ‘200 further teaches upper wall (portions 14 form a “closed upper shell”; Figs. 5-6) and the roof 16 comprising downwardly extending panels located inwardly of the wall 14 (Figs. 5-6). DE ‘200 does not teach a weather barrier including a fabric material attached to a perimeter of the roof and upper interior surfaces of the side walls to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls. However, Markel teaches a portable housing, comprising side walls (42 first, 42 second, 46, 48) and a weather barrier (86, 88, 90, 92) including a fabric material (“waterproof fabric”) attached to a perimeter of a roof 20 and upper interior surfaces of the side walls (note that the connection to the side walls was treated as upper interior surfaces of the side walls) to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (it is understood that the fabric material is attached to a perimeter of the roof and upper interior surfaces of the side walls to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls; col. 3, lines 20-46; Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the portable housing such that a weather barrier including a fabric material is attached to a perimeter of the roof and upper interior surfaces of the side walls to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls, with the reasonable expectation of success of utilizing a known roof extension material to protect the interior of the portable housing.
Claim 11, DE ‘200 further teaches the weather barrier being attached to an outer perimeter of the roof and near upper interior surfaces of the side walls (Figs. 5-6) and presents a weather barrier (walls of 16) up to a maximum raised level of the roof (Figs. 5-6) and is adapted to self-retract into the portable housing when the roof is lowered back into contact with the side walls (it is understood that the weather barrier is suitable to self-retract into the portable housing when the roof is lowered back into contact with the side walls, with the electric motor or hydraulic pump Figs. 5-6). DE ‘200 does not teach the weather barrier being provided as canvas. However, Markel teaches a weather barrier being provided as canvas (Markel “canvas” col. 3, line 39). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the weather barrier to be provided as canvas, with the reasonable expectation of success of utilizing a known roof extension material to protect the interior of the housing.
Claim 12, DE ‘200 further teaches the weather barrier being attached to an outer perimeter of the roof and near upper interior surfaces of the side walls (Figs. 5-6) and presents a weather barrier (walls of 16) up to the maximum raised level of the roof (Figs. 5-6) and is adapted to self-retract into the portable housing when the roof is lowered back into contact with the side walls (it is understood that the weather barrier is suitable to self-retract into the portable housing when the roof is lowered back into contact with the side walls, with the electric motor or hydraulic pump Figs. 5-6). DE ‘200 does not teach the weather barrier being provided as canvas. However, Markel teaches a weather barrier being provided as canvas (Markel “canvas” col. 3, line 39). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the weather barrier to be provided as canvas, with the reasonable expectation of success of utilizing a known roof extension material to protect the interior of the portable housing.
Claim 14, DE ‘200 teaches a housing (the housing is prefabricated and thus is suitable to be portable, as exceedingly broadly claimed), comprising:
a roof (annotated Fig. 6 of DE ‘200 shown below in Examiner’s Notes), a floor (annotated Fig. 6), side walls (annotated Fig. 6) attached to the floor (annotated Fig. 6), and at least one door (15; Figs. 5-6) formed within at least one of the side walls (15 is formed within an upper portion of the side walls; Figs. 5-6);
a lift (annotated Fig. 6) installed on a floor of the portable housing by vertical lift support beams (annotated Fig. 6), the lift including a platform (annotated Fig. 6) adapted to move by operation of the lift in a range of vertical positions together with the roof coupled to the platform via a plurality of vertical roof supports (it is understood that the platform is suitable to move by operation of the lift in a range of vertical positions together with the roof coupled to the platform via a plurality of vertical roof supports, as exceedingly broadly claimed; Figs. 5-6; annotated Fig. 6), wherein the platform can be mechanically raised or lowered along the vertical lift support beams with respect to the floor to various vertical positions within the portable housing (the platform is suitable to be mechanically raised or lowered along the vertical lift support beams with respect to the floor to various positions within the portable housing, as exceedingly broadly claimed; Figs. 5-6) thereby creating a second covered storage space between the floor and the platform (annotated Fig. 6 shows two platform areas each having a storage space), wherein the side walls enclose the lift and the platform (annotated Fig. 6); and
a weather barrier (side walls of 16; Figs. 5-6) attached to a perimeter of the roof (Figs. 5-6) to prevent weather elements from entering the housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (Fig. 6);
wherein the at least one door can be provided as at least one of a roll-up door, swing out door, a slide door or hanger door such that opening of the door does not interfere with the lift or areas within the portable housing (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, it is understood that the door—“garage door”—is considered a swing-out door, as the door opens upward to open and does not interfere with the lift or areas within the portable housing; Figs. 5-6).
DE ‘200 does not teach skids mounted to a support frame beneath the floor, wherein the skids are adapted to enable loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location.
However, Yamada teaches a portable housing, comprising skids (203/203a and/or 204/204a; Figs. 14-20) mounted to a support frame beneath the floor (bottom of 1a/1b or alternatively 100; Figs. 14-20), wherein the skids are adapted to enable loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location (it is understood that the skids are suitable to permit loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location, as exceedingly broadly claimed; Figs. 14-20). In the event that applicant disagrees that the housing is portable, Yamada teaches the portable housing being portable (“for handling and transportation” col. 22, lines 29-34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the portable housing to be portable and to include skids mounted to a support frame beneath the floor, wherein the skids are adapted to enable loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location, with the reasonable expectation of success of using a known means to transport the portable housing, since it has been previously held that making a device portable or movable is within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Lindberg, 194 F.2d 732, 93 USPQ 23 (CCPA 1952) (Fact that a claimed device is portable or movable is not sufficient by itself to patentably distinguish over an otherwise old device unless there are new or unexpected results.).
In the event that applicant disagrees that DE ‘200 provides such weather barrier, the examiner takes the position that such weather barriers are known in the art. Markel teaches a weather barrier (86, 88, 90, 92) attached near an outer perimeter of a roof 20 to prevent weather elements from entering a portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (it is understood that the fabric material is attached to a perimeter of the roof to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls; col. 3, lines 20-46; Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the housing such that a weather barrier is attached near an outer perimeter of the roof to prevent weather elements from entering the housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls, with the reasonable expectation of success of utilizing a known roof extension material to protect the interior of the housing.
Claim 15, DE ‘200 further teaches wherein the lift is adapted to enable storage of articles supported by and raised on the lift platform (on one of the platforms; Fig. 6) and a vehicle parked beneath the articles supported by the platform when the platform is raised within the portable housing (annotated Fig. 6).
Claim 16, DE ‘200 further teaches wherein the lift is adapted to enable storage of two vehicles within the portable housing with a first of the two vehicles supported by and raised on the platform and the second vehicle parked beneath the first vehicle and the platform when the platform is raised within the portable housing (see two vehicles on respective platforms shown in annotated Fig. 6).
Claim 18, DE ‘200 further teaches upper wall (portions 14 form a “closed upper shell”; Figs. 5-6) and the roof 16 comprising downwardly extending panels located inwardly of the wall 14 (Figs. 5-6). DE ‘200 does not teach a weather barrier including a fabric material attached to a perimeter of the roof and upper interior surfaces of the side walls to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls. However, Markel teaches a portable housing, comprising side walls (42 first, 42 second, 46, 48) and a weather barrier (86, 88, 90, 92) including a fabric material (“waterproof fabric”) attached to a perimeter of a roof 20 and upper interior surfaces of the side walls (note that the connection to the side walls was treated as upper interior surfaces of the side walls) to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (it is understood that the fabric material is attached to a perimeter of the roof and upper interior surfaces of the side walls to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls; col. 3, lines 20-46; Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the portable housing such that a weather barrier including a fabric material is attached to a perimeter of the roof and upper interior surfaces of the side walls to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls, with the reasonable expectation of success of utilizing a known roof extension material to protect the interior of the portable housing.
Claim 19, DE ‘200 further teaches the weather barrier being attached near an outer perimeter of the roof and near upper interior surfaces of the side walls (Figs. 5-6) and presents a weather barrier (walls of 16) up to a maximum raised level of the roof (Figs. 5-6) and is adapted to self-retract into the portable housing when the roof is lowered back into contact with the side walls (it is understood that the weather barrier is suitable to self-retract into the portable housing when the roof is lowered back into contact with the side walls, with the electric motor or hydraulic pump Figs. 5-6). DE ‘200 does not teach the weather barrier being provided as canvas. However, Markel teaches a weather barrier being provided as canvas (Markel “canvas” col. 3, line 39). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the weather barrier to be provided as canvas, with the reasonable expectation of success of utilizing a known roof extension material to protect the interior of the portable housing.
Claim(s) 2, 4, 7-12, 14-16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 4217200 A1 (‘DE ‘200’) in view of KR 101884995 B1 (‘KR ‘995’) and further in view of Markel (US 3161433).
Claim 2, DE ‘200 further teaches upper wall (portions 14 form a “closed upper shell”; Figs. 5-6) and the roof 16 comprising downwardly extending panels located inwardly of the wall 14 (Figs. 5-6). DE ‘200 does not teach a weather barrier including a fabric material attached near an outer perimeter of the roof and upper interior surfaces of the side walls to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls. However, Markel teaches a portable housing, comprising side walls (42 first, 42 second, 46, 48) and a weather barrier (86, 88, 90, 92) including a fabric material (“waterproof fabric”) attached near an outer perimeter of a roof 20 and upper interior surfaces of the side walls (note that the connection to the side walls was treated as upper interior surfaces of the side walls) to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (it is understood that the fabric material is attached near an outer perimeter of the roof and upper interior surfaces of the side walls to prevent weather elements from entering the housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls; col. 3, lines 20-46; Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the housing such that a weather barrier including a fabric material is attached near an outer perimeter of the roof and upper interior surfaces of the side walls to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls, with the reasonable expectation of success of utilizing a known roof extension material to protect the interior of the portable housing.
Claim 4, as modified above, the combination of DE ‘200, KR ‘995 and Markel teaches all the limitations of claim 2, and further teaches wherein the weather barrier material is provided as canvas (Markel “canvas” col. 3, line 39) attached at an outer perimeter of the roof and near upper interior surfaces of the side walls (DE ‘200 Figs. 5-6; Markel Figs. 1 and 3-4) and presents a weather barrier (DE ‘200 walls of 16; Markel “waterproof fabric” col. 3, line 39) up to a maximum raised level of the roof (DE ‘200 Figs. 5-6; Markel Figs. 1 and 3-4) and is adapted to self-retract into the portable housing when the roof is lowered back into contact with the portable housing side walls (DE ‘200 it is understood that the weather barrier is suitable to self-retract into the portable housing when the roof is lowered back into contact with the housing walls, with the electric motor or hydraulic pump Figs. 5-6).
Claim 7, DE ‘200 teaches a portable housing (the housing is prefabricated and thus is suitable to be portable, as exceedingly broadly claimed), comprising:
a roof (see annotated Fig. 6 shown below in Examiner’s Notes), a floor (annotated Fig. 6), side walls (annotated Fig. 6) attached to the floor (annotated Fig. 6) and at least one door (15; Figs. 5-6) formed within at least one of the side walls (the door is formed within an upper portion of the side walls; annotated Fig. 6); and
a lift (annotated Fig. 6) installed on the floor of the portable housing by vertical lift support beams (annotated Figs. 5-6) including a platform (annotated Fig. 6) adapted to move by operation of the lift in a range of vertical positions together with the roof coupled to the platform via a plurality of vertical roof supports extending upward from a connection to the platform creating a first covered storage space between the platform and the roof (note that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, DE ‘200’s platform is nonetheless suitable to move by operation of the lift in a range of vertical positions together with the roof coupled to the platform via a plurality of vertical roof supports extending upward from a connection to the platform creating a first covered storage space between the platform and the roof, as two platforms defining storage areas are movable along a vertical axis; as exceedingly broadly claimed; Figs. 5-6), wherein the platform can be mechanically raised or lowered along the vertical lift support beams with respect to the floor to various vertical positions within the housing thereby creating a second covered storage space between the floor and the platform (it is understood that the platform is suitable to be mechanically raised or lowered along the vertical lift support beams with respect to the floor to various vertical positions within the housing thereby creating a second covered storage space between the floor and the platform; Figs. 5-6); and
a weather barrier (side walls of the roof when extended as shown in Fig. 6) attached to an outer perimeter of the roof (Figs. 5-6) to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (Fig. 6).
DE ‘200 does not teach skids mounted to a support frame beneath the floor, wherein the skids are adapted to enable loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location.
However, KR ‘995 teaches a portable housing, comprising skids (pallet 103 with grooves 105; Fig. 1) mounted to a support frame beneath the floor (at 107; Fig. 1), wherein the skids are adapted to enable loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location (it is understood that the skids are suitable to permit loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location, as exceedingly broadly claimed; Fig.1). In the event that applicant disagrees that the housing is portable, KR ‘995 teaches the portable housing being portable (“mobile house” abstract; Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the portable housing to be portable and to include skids mounted to a support frame beneath the floor, wherein the skids are adapted to enable loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location, with the reasonable expectation of success of using a known means to transport the portable housing, since it has been previously held that making a device portable or movable is within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Lindberg, 194 F.2d 732, 93 USPQ 23 (CCPA 1952) (Fact that a claimed device is portable or movable is not sufficient by itself to patentably distinguish over an otherwise old device unless there are new or unexpected results.).
In the event that applicant disagrees that DE ‘200 provides such weather barrier, the examiner takes the position that such weather barriers are known in the art. Markel teaches a weather barrier (86, 88, 90, 92) attached to an outer perimeter of a roof 20 to prevent weather elements from entering a portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (it is understood that the fabric material is attached to a perimeter of the roof to prevent weather elements from entering the housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls; col. 3, lines 20-46; Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the housing such that a weather barrier is attached to an outer perimeter of the roof to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls, with the reasonable expectation of success of utilizing a known roof extension material to protect the interior of the housing.
Claim 8, DE ‘200 further teaches wherein the lift is adapted to enable covered storage of two vehicles within the portable housing with a first of the two vehicles supported by and raised on the platform and the second vehicle parked on the floor beneath the first vehicle and the platform when the platform is raised within the portable housing (Figs. 5-6).
Claim 9, DE ‘200 further teaches wherein the at least one door can be provided as at least one of a roll-up door, swing out door, a slide door or hanger door such that opening of the door does not interfere with the lift or areas within the portable housing (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, it is understood that the door—“garage door”—is considered a swing-out door, as the door opens upward to open and does not interfere with the lift or areas within the portable housing; Figs. 5-6).
Claim 10, DE ‘200 further teaches upper wall (portions 14 form a “closed upper shell”; Figs. 5-6) and the roof 16 comprising downwardly extending panels located inwardly of the wall 14 (Figs. 5-6). DE ‘200 does not teach a weather barrier including a fabric material attached to a perimeter of the roof and upper interior surfaces of the side walls to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls. However, Markel teaches a portable housing, comprising side walls (42 first, 42 second, 46, 48) and a weather barrier (86, 88, 90, 92) including a fabric material (“waterproof fabric”) attached to a perimeter of a roof 20 and upper interior surfaces of the side walls (note that the connection to the side walls was treated as upper interior surfaces of the side walls) to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (it is understood that the fabric material is attached to a perimeter of the roof and upper interior surfaces of the side walls to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls; col. 3, lines 20-46; Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the portable housing such that a weather barrier including a fabric material is attached to a perimeter of the roof and upper interior surfaces of the side walls to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls, with the reasonable expectation of success of utilizing a known roof extension material to protect the interior of the portable housing.
Claim 11, DE ‘200 further teaches the weather barrier being attached to an outer perimeter of the roof and near upper interior surfaces of the side walls (Figs. 5-6) and presents a weather barrier (walls of 16) up to a maximum raised level of the roof (Figs. 5-6) and is adapted to self-retract into the portable housing when the roof is lowered back into contact with the side walls (it is understood that the weather barrier is suitable to self-retract into the portable housing when the roof is lowered back into contact with the side walls, with the electric motor or hydraulic pump Figs. 5-6). DE ‘200 does not teach the weather barrier being provided as canvas. However, Markel teaches a weather barrier being provided as canvas (Markel “canvas” col. 3, line 39). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the weather barrier to be provided as canvas, with the reasonable expectation of success of utilizing a known roof extension material to protect the interior of the housing.
Claim 12, DE ‘200 further teaches the weather barrier being attached to an outer perimeter of the roof and near upper interior surfaces of the side walls (Figs. 5-6) and presents a weather barrier (walls of 16) up to the maximum raised level of the roof (Figs. 5-6) and is adapted to self-retract into the portable housing when the roof is lowered back into contact with the side walls (it is understood that the weather barrier is suitable to self-retract into the portable housing when the roof is lowered back into contact with the side walls, with the electric motor or hydraulic pump Figs. 5-6). DE ‘200 does not teach the weather barrier being provided as canvas. However, Markel teaches a weather barrier being provided as canvas (Markel “canvas” col. 3, line 39). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the weather barrier to be provided as canvas, with the reasonable expectation of success of utilizing a known roof extension material to protect the interior of the portable housing.
Claim(s) 2, 4, 7-12, 14-16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 29914542 U1 (‘DE ‘542’) in view of DE 4217200 A1 (‘DE ‘200’) and further in view of Bigelow, Jr. (US 3095616) (‘Bigelow’) further in view of Markel (US 3161433).
Claim 2, DE ‘542 further teaches upper wall (side portions of 1 nonetheless define vertical surfaces that define a wall) and the roof 2 comprising downwardly extending panels located inwardly of the wall (roof 2 nonetheless has vertical portions that are located slightly inwardly of walls of 1; Figs. 1-2 and 5-6). DE ‘542 does not teach a weather barrier including a fabric material attached near an outer perimeter of the roof and upper interior surfaces of the side walls to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls. However, Markel teaches a portable housing, comprising side walls (42 first, 42 second, 46, 48) and a weather barrier (86, 88, 90, 92) including a fabric material (“waterproof fabric”) attached near an outer perimeter of a roof 20 and upper interior surfaces of the side walls (note that the connection to the side walls was treated as upper interior surfaces of the side walls) to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (it is understood that the fabric material is attached near an outer perimeter of the roof and upper interior surfaces of the side walls to prevent weather elements from entering the housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls; col. 3, lines 20-46; Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the housing such that a weather barrier including a fabric material is attached near an outer perimeter of the roof and upper interior surfaces of the side walls to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls, with the reasonable expectation of success of utilizing a known roof extension material to protect the interior of the portable housing.
Claim 4, as modified above, the combination of DE ‘542, DE ‘200, Bigelow and Markel teaches all the limitations of claim 2, and further teaches wherein the weather barrier material is provided as canvas (Markel “canvas” col. 3, line 39) attached at an outer perimeter of the roof and near upper interior surfaces of the side walls (DE ‘200 Figs. 5-6; Markel Figs. 1 and 3-4) and presents a weather barrier (DE ‘200 walls of 16; Markel “waterproof fabric” col. 3, line 39) up to a maximum raised level of the roof (DE ‘200 Figs. 5-6; Markel Figs. 1 and 3-4) and is adapted to self-retract into the portable housing when the roof is lowered back into contact with the portable housing side walls (DE ‘200 it is understood that the weather barrier is suitable to self-retract into the portable housing when the roof is lowered back into contact with the housing walls, with the electric motor or hydraulic pump Figs. 5-6).
Claim 7, DE ‘542 teaches a portable housing (the housing is prefabricated and thus is suitable to be portable, as exceedingly broadly claimed), comprising:
a roof 2, a floor 14, side walls (side walls of 1; Fig. 1) attached to the floor (Fig. 1) and at least one door (“garage door” that may use a “garage door drive” if necessary; specification) formed within at least one of the side walls (it is understood that the door is formed within a door opening of at least one of the side walls; Fig. 1); and
a lift (lift shown in Figs. 1-6 including columns 3 and 4) installed on the floor of the portable housing by vertical lift support beams (3 and 4) including a platform 5 adapted to move by operation of the lift in a range of vertical positions creating a first covered storage space between the platform and the roof (Fig. 6), wherein the platform can be mechanically raised or lowered along the vertical lift support beams with respect to the floor to various vertical positions within the housing thereby creating a second covered storage space between the floor and the platform (it is understood that the platform is suitable to be mechanically raised or lowered along the vertical lift support beams with respect to the floor to various vertical positions within the housing thereby creating a second covered storage space between the floor and the platform; Figs. 1-6).
DE ‘542 does not teach the platform being adapted to move together with the roof coupled to the platform via a plurality of vertical roof supports extending upward from a connection to the platform, skids mounted to a support frame beneath the floor, and a weather barrier.
However, DE ‘200 teaches a housing comprising a platform comprising a lift (3; annotated Fig. 6 shown below in Examiner’s Notes) installed on the floor of the portable housing by vertical lift support beams (annotated Fig. 6), the lift including a platform (annotated Fig. 6) adapted to move by operation of the lift in a range of vertical positions together with the roof coupled to the platform via a plurality of vertical roof supports (note that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the platform is suitable to move by operation of the lift in a range of vertical positions together with the roof coupled to the platform via the plurality of vertical roof supports; annotated Fig. 6) extending upward from a connection to the platform (connection between the vertical lift support beams and the platform; annotated Fig. 6), and a weather barrier (side walls of the roof when extended as shown in Fig. 6) attached to an outer perimeter of the roof (Figs. 5-6) to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (Fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the invention, to modify the portable housing such that the platform is adapted to move together with the roof coupled to the platform via a plurality of vertical roof supports extending upward from a connection to the platform, and does not teach skids mounted to a support frame beneath the floor, wherein the skids are adapted to enable loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location, and a weather barrier (side walls of the roof when extended as shown in Fig. 6) attached to an outer perimeter of the roof (Figs. 5-6) to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (Fig. 6), with the reasonable expectation of success of minimizing the space taken up by the portable housing while the upper lift is not in use, and/or to further seal the upper portion of the portable housing to further prevent rain or moisture from coming into the structure when the upper lift is not in use, and/or to increase the portability of the structure during transportation.
Bigelow teaches a portable housing, comprising skids 10 mounted to a support frame (frame shown in Figs. 5-6 including portions 12, 14, 16) beneath a floor 38, wherein the skids are adapted to enable loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location (it is understood that the skids are suitable to permit loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location, as exceedingly broadly claimed; col. 5, lines 25-40; Figs.1-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the portable housing to include skids mounted to a support frame beneath the floor, wherein the skids are adapted to enable loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location, with the reasonable expectation of success of using a known means to transport the portable housing.
In the event that applicant disagrees that DE ‘200 provides such weather barrier, the examiner takes the position that such weather barriers are known in the art. Markel teaches a weather barrier (86, 88, 90, 92) attached to an outer perimeter of a roof 20 to prevent weather elements from entering a portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (it is understood that the fabric material is attached to a perimeter of the roof to prevent weather elements from entering the housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls; col. 3, lines 20-46; Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the housing such that a weather barrier is attached to an outer perimeter of the roof to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls, with the reasonable expectation of success of utilizing a known roof extension material to protect the interior of the housing.
Claim 8, DE ‘542 further teaches wherein the lift is adapted to enable covered storage of two vehicles within the portable housing with a first of the two vehicles supported by and raised on the platform and the second vehicle parked on the floor beneath the first vehicle and the platform when the platform is raised within the portable housing (Figs. 1-6).
Claim 9, DE ‘542 further teaches wherein the at least one door can be provided as at least one of a roll-up door, swing out door, a slide door or hanger door such that opening of the door does not interfere with the lift or areas within the portable housing (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, it is understood that the door—“garage door”—is considered a swing-out door or roll up door, as the door opens upward to open and does not interfere with the lift or areas within the portable housing; Fig. 1).
Claim 10, DE ‘542 further teaches upper wall (side portions of 1 nonetheless define vertical surfaces that define a wall) and the roof 2 comprising downwardly extending panels located inwardly of the wall (roof 2 nonetheless has vertical portions that are located slightly inwardly of walls of 1; Figs. 1-2 and 5-6). DE ‘542 does not teach a weather barrier including a fabric material attached near an outer perimeter of the roof and upper interior surfaces of the side walls to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls. However, Markel teaches a portable housing, comprising side walls (42 first, 42 second, 46, 48) and a weather barrier (86, 88, 90, 92) including a fabric material (“waterproof fabric”) attached near an outer perimeter of a roof 20 and upper interior surfaces of the side walls (note that the connection to the side walls was treated as upper interior surfaces of the side walls) to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (it is understood that the fabric material is attached near an outer perimeter of the roof and upper interior surfaces of the side walls to prevent weather elements from entering the housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls; col. 3, lines 20-46; Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the housing such that a weather barrier including a fabric material is attached near an outer perimeter of the roof and upper interior surfaces of the side walls to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls, with the reasonable expectation of success of utilizing a known roof extension material to protect the interior of the portable housing.
Claim 11, as modified above, the combination of DE ‘542, DE ‘200, Bigelow and Markel teaches all the limitations of claim 7, and further teaches the weather barrier being attached to an outer perimeter of the roof and near upper interior surfaces of the side walls (DE ‘200 Figs. 5-6) and presents a weather barrier (DE ‘200 walls of 16) up to a maximum raised level of the roof (DE ‘200 Figs. 5-6) and is adapted to self-retract into the portable housing when the roof is lowered back into contact with the side walls (DE ‘200 it is understood that the weather barrier is suitable to self-retract into the portable housing when the roof is lowered back into contact with the side walls, with the electric motor or hydraulic pump Figs. 5-6). DE ‘542 does not teach the weather barrier being provided as canvas. However, Markel teaches a weather barrier being provided as canvas (Markel “canvas” col. 3, line 39). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the weather barrier to be provided as canvas, with the reasonable expectation of success of utilizing a known roof extension material to protect the interior of the housing.
Claim 12, as modified above, the combination of DE ‘542, DE ‘200, Bigelow and Markel teaches all the limitations of claim 10, and further teaches the weather barrier being attached to an outer perimeter of the roof and near upper interior surfaces of the side walls (DE ‘200 Figs. 5-6) and presents a weather barrier (DE ‘200 walls of 16) up to a maximum raised level of the roof (DE ‘200 Figs. 5-6) and is adapted to self-retract into the portable housing when the roof is lowered back into contact with the side walls (DE ‘200 it is understood that the weather barrier is suitable to self-retract into the portable housing when the roof is lowered back into contact with the side walls, with the electric motor or hydraulic pump Figs. 5-6). DE ‘542 does not teach the weather barrier being provided as canvas. However, Markel teaches a weather barrier being provided as canvas (Markel “canvas” col. 3, line 39). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the weather barrier to be provided as canvas, with the reasonable expectation of success of utilizing a known roof extension material to protect the interior of the housing.
Claim 14, DE ‘542 teaches a housing (the housing is prefabricated and thus is suitable to be portable, as exceedingly broadly claimed), comprising:
a roof 2, a floor 14, side walls (side walls of 1; Figs. 1-2 and 5-6) attached to the floor (Figs. 1-2 and 5-6), and at least one door (it is understood that the portable housing comprises a door “garage door” provided in a door opening; specification) formed within at least one of the side walls (formed within a door opening; Fig. 1);
a lift (lift comprising columns 3 and 4) installed on a floor of the portable housing by vertical lift support beams (3 and 4), the lift including a platform 5 adapted to move by operation of the lift in a range of vertical positions (it is understood that the platform is suitable to move by operation of the lift in a range of vertical positions Figs. 1-6), wherein the platform can be mechanically raised or lowered along the vertical lift support beams with respect to the floor to various vertical positions within the portable housing (the platform is suitable to be mechanically raised or lowered along the vertical lift support beams with respect to the floor to various positions within the portable housing, as exceedingly broadly claimed; Figs. 1-6) thereby creating a second covered storage space between the floor and the platform (Fig. 6), wherein the side walls enclose the lift and the platform (Fig. 6); and
wherein the at least one door can be provided as at least one of a roll-up door, swing out door, a slide door or hanger door such that opening of the door does not interfere with the lift or areas within the portable housing (under the broadest reasonable interpretation, it is understood that the door—“garage door”—is considered a swing-out door or roll up door, as the door opens upward to open and does not interfere with the lift or areas within the portable housing; Figs. 1-2 and 5-6).
DE ‘542 does not teach skids mounted to a support frame beneath the floor, the lift including a platform 5 adapted to move by operation of the lift in a range of vertical positions together with the roof coupled to the platform via a plurality of vertical roof supports and a weather barrier.
However, DE ‘200 teaches a housing comprising a platform comprising a lift (3; annotated Fig. 6 shown below in Examiner’s Notes) installed on the floor of the portable housing by vertical lift support beams (annotated Fig. 6), the lift including a platform (annotated Fig. 6) adapted to move by operation of the lift in a range of vertical positions together with the roof coupled to the platform via a plurality of vertical roof supports (note that under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the platform is suitable to move by operation of the lift in a range of vertical positions together with the roof coupled to the platform via the plurality of vertical roof supports; annotated Fig. 6) extending upward from a connection to the platform (connection between the vertical lift support beams and the platform; annotated Fig. 6), and a weather barrier (side walls of the roof when extended as shown in Fig. 6) attached to an outer perimeter of the roof (Figs. 5-6) to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (Fig. 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the invention, to modify the portable housing such that the platform is adapted to move together with the roof coupled to the platform via a plurality of vertical roof supports extending upward from a connection to the platform, and does not teach skids mounted to a support frame beneath the floor, wherein the skids are adapted to enable loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location, and a weather barrier (side walls of the roof when extended as shown in Fig. 6) attached to an outer perimeter of the roof (Figs. 5-6) to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (Fig. 6), with the reasonable expectation of success of minimizing the space taken up by the portable housing while the upper lift is not in use, and/or to further seal the upper portion of the portable housing to further prevent rain or moisture from coming into the structure when the upper lift is not in use, and/or to increase the portability of the structure during transportation.
Bigelow teaches a portable housing, comprising skids 10 mounted to a support frame (frame shown in Figs. 5-6 including portions 12, 14, 16) beneath a floor 38, wherein the skids are adapted to enable loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location (it is understood that the skids are suitable to permit loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location, as exceedingly broadly claimed; col. 5, lines 25-40; Figs.1-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the portable housing to include skids mounted to a support frame beneath the floor, wherein the skids are adapted to enable loading the portable housing onto a truck or trailer bed for transport and unloading the portable housing at a use location, with the reasonable expectation of success of using a known means to transport the portable housing.
In the event that applicant disagrees that DE ‘200 provides such weather barrier, the examiner takes the position that such weather barriers are known in the art. Markel teaches a weather barrier (86, 88, 90, 92) attached to an outer perimeter of a roof 20 to prevent weather elements from entering a portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (it is understood that the fabric material is attached to a perimeter of the roof to prevent weather elements from entering the housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls; col. 3, lines 20-46; Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the housing such that a weather barrier is attached to an outer perimeter of the roof to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls, with the reasonable expectation of success of utilizing a known roof extension material to protect the interior of the housing.
Claim 15, DE ‘542 further teaches wherein the lift is adapted to enable storage of articles supported by and raised on the lift platform (on one of the platforms; Fig. 6) and a vehicle parked beneath the articles supported by the platform when the platform is raised within the portable housing (annotated Fig. 6).
Claim 16, DE ‘542 further teaches wherein the lift is adapted to enable storage of two vehicles within the portable housing with a first of the two vehicles supported by and raised on the platform and the second vehicle parked beneath the first vehicle and the platform when the platform is raised within the portable housing (Fig. 6).
Claim 18, DE ‘542 further teaches upper wall (side portions of 1 nonetheless define vertical surfaces that define a wall) and the roof 2 comprising downwardly extending panels located inwardly of the wall (roof 2 nonetheless has vertical portions that are located slightly inwardly of walls of 1; Figs. 1-2 and 5-6). DE ‘542 does not teach a weather barrier including a fabric material attached near an outer perimeter of the roof and upper interior surfaces of the side walls to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls. However, Markel teaches a portable housing, comprising side walls (42 first, 42 second, 46, 48) and a weather barrier (86, 88, 90, 92) including a fabric material (“waterproof fabric”) attached near an outer perimeter of a roof 20 and upper interior surfaces of the side walls (note that the connection to the side walls was treated as upper interior surfaces of the side walls) to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (it is understood that the fabric material is attached near an outer perimeter of the roof and upper interior surfaces of the side walls to prevent weather elements from entering the housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls; col. 3, lines 20-46; Fig. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the housing such that a weather barrier including a fabric material is attached near an outer perimeter of the roof and upper interior surfaces of the side walls to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls, with the reasonable expectation of success of utilizing a known roof extension material to protect the interior of the portable housing.
Claim 19, as modified above, the combination of DE ‘542, DE ‘200, Bigelow and Markel teaches all the limitations of claim 14, and further teaches wherein the weather barrier material is provided as canvas (Markel “canvas” col. 3, line 39) attached at an outer perimeter of the roof and near upper interior surfaces of the side walls (DE ‘200 Figs. 5-6; Markel Figs. 1 and 3-4) and presents a weather barrier (DE ‘200 walls of 16; Markel “waterproof fabric” col. 3, line 39) up to a maximum raised level of the roof (DE ‘200 Figs. 5-6; Markel Figs. 1 and 3-4) and is adapted to self-retract into the portable housing when the roof is lowered back into contact with the portable housing side walls (DE ‘200 it is understood that the weather barrier is suitable to self-retract into the portable housing when the roof is lowered back into contact with the housing walls, with the electric motor or hydraulic pump Figs. 5-6).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 4217200 A1 (‘DE ‘200’) in view of Yamada (US 6032421) and further in view of Hache (US 8484908).
Claim 3, DE ‘200 further teaches a weather barrier comprising downwardly extending walls extending from the horizontal surface of the roof 16. DE ‘200 does not teach the weather barrier being adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of the side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls. However, Hache teaches a portable housing, comprising a weather barrier (expandable walls) provided as of wall panels (wall panels on expandable portion 11; Figs. 3 and 11) attached to an outer perimeter of the roof 13 and adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of side walls 15 and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (it is understood that the wall panels are suitable to surround and maintain a position outside of side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls; Figs. 3 and 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the weather barrier wall panels attached to an outer perimeter of the roof to be adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of the side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls, with the reasonable expectation of utilizing a known arrangement of expandable wall and roof panels to form the portable housing to protect the interior of the portable housing.
Claim(s) 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 4217200 A1 (‘DE ‘200’) in view of Yamada (US 6032421) further in view of Markel (US 3161433) and further in view of Hache (US 8484908).
Claim 13, DE ‘200 further teaches a weather barrier comprising downwardly extending walls extending from the horizontal surface of the roof 16. DE ‘200 does not teach the weather barrier being adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of the side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls. However, Hache teaches a portable housing, comprising a weather barrier (expandable walls) provided as of wall panels (wall panels on expandable portion 11; Figs. 3 and 11) attached to an outer perimeter of a roof 13 and adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of side walls 15 and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (it is understood that the wall panels are suitable to surround and maintain a position outside of side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls; Figs. 3 and 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the weather barrier wall panels attached to an outer perimeter of the roof to be adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of the side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls, with the reasonable expectation of utilizing a known arrangement of expandable wall and roof panels to form the portable housing to protect the interior of the portable housing.
Claim 20, DE ‘200 further teaches a weather barrier comprising downwardly extending walls extending from the horizontal surface of the roof 16. DE ‘200 does not teach the weather barrier being adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of the side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls. However, Hache teaches a housing, comprising a weather barrier (expandable walls) provided as of wall panels (wall panels on expandable portion 11; Figs. 3 and 11) attached to a perimeter a roof 13 and adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of side walls 15 and to prevent weather elements from entering the housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (it is understood that the wall panels are suitable to surround and maintain a position outside of side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls; Figs. 3 and 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the weather barrier wall panels attached to the roof to be adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of the side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls, with the reasonable expectation of utilizing a known arrangement of expandable wall and roof panels to form the housing to protect the interior of the housing.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 4217200 A1 (‘DE ‘200’) in view of KR 101884995 B1 (‘KR ‘995’) and further in view of Hache (US 8484908).
Claim 3, DE ‘200 further teaches a weather barrier comprising downwardly extending walls extending from the horizontal surface of the roof 16. DE ‘200 does not teach the weather barrier being adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of the side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls. However, Hache teaches a portable housing, comprising a weather barrier (expandable walls) provided as of wall panels (wall panels on expandable portion 11; Figs. 3 and 11) attached to an outer perimeter of the roof 13 and adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of side walls 15 and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (it is understood that the wall panels are suitable to surround and maintain a position outside of side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls; Figs. 3 and 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the weather barrier wall panels attached to an outer perimeter of the roof to be adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of the side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls, with the reasonable expectation of utilizing a known arrangement of expandable wall and roof panels to form the portable housing to protect the interior of the portable housing.
Claim(s) 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 4217200 A1 (‘DE ‘200’) in view of KR 101884995 B1 (‘KR ‘995’) further in view of Markel (US 3161433) and further in view of Hache (US 8484908).
Claim 13, DE ‘200 further teaches a weather barrier comprising downwardly extending walls extending from the horizontal surface of the roof 16. DE ‘200 does not teach the weather barrier being adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of the side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls. However, Hache teaches a portable housing, comprising a weather barrier (expandable walls) provided as of wall panels (wall panels on expandable portion 11; Figs. 3 and 11) attached to an outer perimeter of a roof 13 and adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of side walls 15 and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (it is understood that the wall panels are suitable to surround and maintain a position outside of side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls; Figs. 3 and 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the weather barrier wall panels attached to an outer perimeter of the roof to be adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of the side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls, with the reasonable expectation of utilizing a known arrangement of expandable wall and roof panels to form the portable housing to protect the interior of the portable housing.
Claim 20, DE ‘200 further teaches a weather barrier comprising downwardly extending walls extending from the horizontal surface of the roof 16. DE ‘200 does not teach the weather barrier being adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of the side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls. However, Hache teaches a housing, comprising a weather barrier (expandable walls) provided as of wall panels (wall panels on expandable portion 11; Figs. 3 and 11) attached to a perimeter a roof 13 and adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of side walls 15 and to prevent weather elements from entering the housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (it is understood that the wall panels are suitable to surround and maintain a position outside of side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls; Figs. 3 and 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the weather barrier wall panels attached to the roof to be adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of the side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls, with the reasonable expectation of utilizing a known arrangement of expandable wall and roof panels to form the housing to protect the interior of the housing.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 29914542 U1 (‘DE ‘542’) in view of DE 4217200 A1 (‘DE ‘200’) and further in view of Bigelow, Jr. (US 3095616) (‘Bigelow’) and further in view of Hache (US 8484908).
Claim 3, as modified above, the combination of DE ‘542, DE ‘200 and Bigelow teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches a weather barrier comprising downwardly extending walls extending from the horizontal surface of the roof (DE ‘200 16). DE ‘542 does not teach a weather barrier being adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of the side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls. However, Hache teaches a portable housing, comprising a weather barrier (expandable walls) provided as of wall panels (wall panels on expandable portion 11; Figs. 3 and 11) attached to an outer perimeter of the roof 13 and adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of side walls 15 and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (it is understood that the wall panels are suitable to surround and maintain a position outside of side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls; Figs. 3 and 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the weather barrier wall panels attached to an outer perimeter of the roof to be adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of the side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls, with the reasonable expectation of utilizing a known arrangement of expandable wall and roof panels to form the portable housing to protect the interior of the portable housing.
Claim(s) 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 29914542 U1 (‘DE ‘542’) in view of DE 4217200 A1 (‘DE ‘200’) and further in view of Bigelow, Jr. (US 3095616) (‘Bigelow’) further in view of Markel (US 3161433) and further in view of Hache (US 8484908).
Claim 13, as modified above, the combination of DE ‘542, DE ‘200, Bigelow and Markel teaches all the limitations of claim 7, and further teaches a weather barrier comprising downwardly extending walls extending from the horizontal surface of the roof (DE ‘200 16). DE ‘542 does not teach the weather barrier being adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of the side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls. However, Hache teaches a portable housing, comprising a weather barrier (expandable walls) provided as of wall panels (wall panels on expandable portion 11; Figs. 3 and 11) attached to an outer perimeter of a roof 13 and adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of side walls 15 and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (it is understood that the wall panels are suitable to surround and maintain a position outside of side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls; Figs. 3 and 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the weather barrier wall panels attached to an outer perimeter of the roof to be adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of the side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls, with the reasonable expectation of utilizing a known arrangement of expandable wall and roof panels to form the portable housing to protect the interior of the portable housing.
Claim 20, as modified above, the combination of DE ‘542, DE ‘200, Bigelow and Markel teaches all the limitations of claim 14, and further teaches a weather barrier comprising downwardly extending walls extending from the horizontal surface of the roof (DE ‘200 16). DE ‘542 does not teach the weather barrier being adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of the side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls. However, Hache teaches a portable housing, comprising a weather barrier (expandable walls) provided as of wall panels (wall panels on expandable portion 11; Figs. 3 and 11) attached to an outer perimeter of a roof 13 and adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of side walls 15 and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls (it is understood that the wall panels are suitable to surround and maintain a position outside of side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls; Figs. 3 and 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try modifying the weather barrier wall panels attached to an outer perimeter of the roof to be adapted to surround and maintain a position outside of the side walls and to prevent weather elements from entering the portable housing when the roof is in a raised position with respect to the side walls, with the reasonable expectation of utilizing a known arrangement of expandable wall and roof panels to form the portable housing to protect the interior of the portable housing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner’s Notes
Annotated Fig. 6 of DE 4217200 A1 (‘DE ‘200’)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wright (US 4275533) specifically teaches a portable building being transported via a truck (Figs. 2-3).
JAMES M. FERENCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/JAMES M FERENCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635