DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, Figures 1A-7D in the reply filed on 7/31/26 is acknowledged.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18854405 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“payload coupling feature” in claims 1, 7, and 9. Where the “payload coupling feature” is interpreted as “portions… sized and shaped… that enables the payload to fit into the receptable” according to the specification paragraph [0062] and equivalents thereof.
“complimentary alignment features” in claim 11. Where the “complimentary alignment features” have been interpreted as a “tab” according to the specification paragraph [0075] and equivalents thereof.
“a universal coupling feature" in claims 7 and 9. Where the “universal coupling feature” has been interpreted as a “receptacle” according to the specification paragraph [0062] and equivalents thereof.
“securing features’ in claim 12. Where the “securing features” have been interpreted as a “coiled structure, of the universal payload” and/or “payload receptacle 702 includes an annular recess 708” according to the specification paragraph [0084] and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bailey (US2019/0350520 - cited in Applicant’s IDS dated 1/26/24).
Regarding claim 1, Bailey discloses a universal payload (206) comprising:
an electronics assembly (214, 3004, 3006) comprising at least one sensor (inertial measurement circuit 3006), and a controller (processing circuit 3004) having at least two joint-specific modules (implantable reporting processor 206 can be used with a knee prosthesis, [0133]; and can be used with a hip prosthesis, [0134], [0169]; where a “joint-specific module” is interpreted as when the base station 3500 communicates with processors 206, where the data communication with each joint is considered to be the module and it is joint specific by being dependent on the patients joint that needs a prosthesis, [0242], further the kinematic data collected may be different for different body parts and therefore joint-specific, [0311]), each joint-specific module respectively configured to collect kinematic data resulting from movement of a respective specific joint sensed by the at least one sensor ([0105]); and
a housing (210) enclosing the electronics assembly ([0109]); and
a payload coupling feature (2026, where the coupling section 2026 is an equivalent structure to the “payload coupling feature” interpreted under 112(f) by being a section of the housing 210 having a shape that is received in the prosthesis, [0137], see Fig. 18A-18B) configured to couple to each of a plurality of different orthopedic implants (the reporting processor 206 may be disposed inside of a hip prosthesis, shoulder prosthesis, elbow prosthesis as discussed in [0134]) configured to replace or functionally supplement a natural joint of a body.
Regarding claim 2, Bailey discloses the universal payload of claim 1, wherein the at least two joint specific modules comprise two or more of:
a knee module (reporting processor 206 communicating with the base station 3500 when within a knee prosthesis, [0133] , [0242]) configured to collect kinematic data resulting from movement of a knee sensed by the at least one sensor ([0105]), a hip module (reporting processor 206 communicating with the base station 3500 when within a hip prosthesis, [0134], [0242]) configured to collect kinematic data resulting from movement of a hip sensed by the at least one sensor ([0105]), and a shoulder module (reporting processor 206 communicating with the base station 3500 when within a shoulder prosthesis, [0134] , [0242]) configured to collect kinematic data resulting from movement of a shoulder sensed by the at least one sensor ([0105]).
Regarding claim 3, Bailey discloses the universal payload of claim 1, wherein each of the at least two joint-specific modules is configured to be placed in one of an active state and an inactive state (can control what portions of the circuit 3006 are active, therefore, the joint specific module can be activated and deactivated by this control, [0206]).
Regarding claim 4, Bailey discloses the universal payload of claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor comprises one or more accelerometers, one or more gyroscopes, or a combination of one or more accelerometers and one or more gyroscopes (the inertial measurement circuit 3006 includes three accelerometers and three gyroscopes, [0189]).
Regarding claim 5, Bailey discloses the universal payload of claim 1, further comprising an antenna assembly (215/216) coupled to the electronics assembly ([0110]) and extending from an end of the housing (covered by the radome 215 that extends from the casing 210, [0109]).
Regarding claim 6, Bailey discloses the universal payload of claim 5, wherein: the antenna assembly comprises an antenna (216) that couples to the electronics assembly ([0110]), and a cap (215) that covers the antenna ([0109]); and the universal payload further comprises an external sensor (2070) associated with the cap and that couples to the electronics assembly (the module 2070 includes sensors that can be somewhere else on the knee prosthesis, [0163]).
Regarding claim 7, Bailey discloses an orthopedic implant comprising:
an implant component (tibial plate 202) configured to extend at least partially into a bone of a body (2028 extends into the bone, [0116]); and
a universal coupling feature (receptacle 2030, see Fig. 18A-18B, where the receptacle 2030 is an equivalent structure to the “universal coupling feature” interpreted under 112(f) by being a receptacle) associated with the implant component, the universal coupling feature being identical to a coupling feature in each of a plurality of different implant components (the processor 206 is configured to fit inside of a prosthesis receptacle of another implant in the same manner and would therefore have a receptacle of the same dimension, [0024], [0172], [0738]-0743]), and, wherein the universal coupling feature is configured to couple to a payload coupling feature (2026, where the coupling section 2026 is an equivalent structure to the “payload coupling feature” interpreted under 112(f) by being a section of the housing 210 having a shape that is received in the prosthesis, [0137], see Fig. 18A-18B) of a universal payload (206) having an electronics assembly (214, 3004, 3006) comprising at least one sensor (inertial measurement circuit 3006), and a controller (processing circuit 3004) having at least two joint-specific modules (implantable reporting processor 206 can be used with a knee prosthesis, [0133]; and can be used with a hip prosthesis, [0134], [0169]; where a “joint-specific module” is interpreted as when the base station 3500 communicates with processors 206, where the data communication with each joint is considered to be the module and it is joint specific by being dependent on the patients joint that needs a prosthesis, [0242], further the kinematic data collected may be different for different body parts and therefore joint-specific, [0311]), each joint-specific module respectively configured to collect kinematic data resulting from movement of a respective specific joint sensed by the at least one sensor ([0105]) .
Regarding claim 8, Bailey discloses the orthopedic implant of claim 7, wherein the implant component comprises one of a tibial stem (support 2028, [0143]).
Regarding claim 9, Bailey discloses an intelligent implant comprising:
an orthopedic implant having a universal coupling feature (receptacle 2030, see Fig. 18A-18B, where the receptacle 2030 is an equivalent structure to the “universal coupling feature” interpreted under 112(f) by being a receptacle) identical to a coupling feature of each of a plurality of different orthopedic implants (the processor 206 is configured to fit inside of a prosthesis receptacle of another implant in the same manner and would therefore have a receptacle of the same dimension, [0024], [0172], [0738]-0743]); and
a universal payload (206) comprising:
an electronics assembly (214, 3004, 3006) comprising at least one sensor (inertial measurement circuit 3006), and a controller (processing circuit 3004) having at least two joint-specific modules (implantable reporting processor 206 can be used with a knee prosthesis, [0133]; and can be used with a hip prosthesis, [0134], [0169]; where a “joint-specific module” is interpreted as when the base station 3500 communicates with processors 206, where the data communication with each joint is considered to be the module and it is joint specific by being dependent on the patients joint that needs a prosthesis, [0242], further the kinematic data collected may be different for different body parts and therefore joint-specific, [0311]), each joint-specific module respectively configured to collect kinematic data resulting from movement of a respective specific joint sensed by the at least one sensor ([0105]), a housing (210) enclosing the electronics assembly ([0109]), and a payload coupling feature (2026, where the coupling section 2026 is an equivalent structure to the “payload coupling feature” interpreted under 112(f) by being a section of the housing 210 having a shape that is received in the prosthesis, [0137], see Fig. 18A-18B) configured to couple to the universal coupling feature.
Regarding claim 10, Bailey discloses the intelligent implant of claim 9, wherein the orthopedic implant is a component of one of a knee implant ([0133]).
Regarding claim 11, Bailey discloses the intelligent implant of claim 9, wherein: the at least one sensor (3006) is aligned within the universal payload relative to an axis of a coordinate system of the universal payload to thereby sense movement relative to the axis ([0189]); and
the universal payload and the universal coupling feature have complimentary alignment features (alignment mark 2032, [0141]; where the alignment mark 2032 is an equivalent structure to the “complimentary alignment features” by being a mark for alignment in the same manner as a tab for alignment) that engage to align the coordinate system of the universal payload with a corresponding coordinate system of the orthopedic implant during coupling of the universal payload with the universal coupling feature (lining up the mark 2032 with the mark on receptacle ensures that the processor 206 is in a desired orientation, [0141]).
Regarding claim 12, Bailey discloses the intelligent implant of claim 9, wherein the universal payload and the universal coupling feature have corresponding securing features (the coupling section 2026 is fit to the receptacle 2030 with clips, [0142]; where the clip and the surface that the clip engages is equivalent to the “securing features” structure by being a clip that engages a surface for securement) that function to secure the universal payload relative to the orthopedic implant during coupling of the universal payload with the universal coupling feature ([0142]).
Conclusion
/MIKAIL A MANNAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3774